Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Unplug and Listen to the Loons

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Private 2 br 1 ba cabin with dock, canoe, and rowboat

Looking to get away from it all? This cozy cabin, surrounded by meadow and woods, provides lots of privacy, birdsong, and beautiful views of forest on all sides.

The cabin can sleep up to 5 people. There are two bedrooms upstairs, and 1 full bath downstairs. One bedroom has a queen bed, and the other has 2 twins with room to play. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room, with a comfortable inflatable mattress. Blankets and pillows are provided, but please bring your own sheets and towels.

The living room has 2 comfy sofas - one is a sofa bed - and a very comfy recliner. A large screen porch with a picnic table invites you to dine outdoors in rain or shine or take an afternoon nap on the futon . For cooler days, you can dine indoors in the dining room. Should the weather turn cold, turn up the heat with the wood stove (wood not provided but readily available in the area) or the propane heater. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator and an electric stove, and is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, silverware, and basic spices.

Outside, there's an open fire pit for campfires and grilling. A large grill rack is provided, but you need to bring your own wood. A short walk down a wooded path from the cabin brings you to a private dock where a canoe and row boat are available for your exclusive use on Paradox Creek and Paradox Lake. Paradox Lake is known for good fishing, canoeing, and kayaking, and this end of the lake is especially known for the fishing! The creek is fun to paddle on. There are usually lots of birds and flowers to look at. Please bring your own life jackets - especially for children!

While you may feel like you're far from everything here, it's only an easy 10 minute drive to Schroon Lake and 20 minute drive to Ticonderoga, for shopping, historic Fort Ticonderoga, larger boat rentals at Schroon Lake Marina, music and musical theater at the Seagle Colony throughout the summer. There are lots of NYS DEC hiking trails (Pharoah Mountain Wilderness) just minutes away, and the Adirondack High Peaks are only about a half hour away. Bring your bicycles - there are quiet country roads for bicycling.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 7, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

Paradox Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub/Shower Clothes dryer Bathmat provided. Please bring your own towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , On 2nd floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , On second floor
  • Pillows and blankets are provided. Please bring your own linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
Notes:
Paradox Cozy Cabin is a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. There is NO internet, TV, or cell service. There is a landline for local and credit card calls. There is also a radio/CD player. It's a great place to unplug, enjoy your family or friends, get outside, or cozy up by the fireside. We hope you'll enjoy our little corner of Paradise as much as we do.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

30% Complete
61% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Unplug and Listen to the Loons
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
4

Peaceful base camp!!!

  • 4 of 5

Nice secluded place in the woods.At night the stars were amazing. We used the cozy cabin as a base camp. Day tripping in Vermont and Schroon Lake. It was also refreshing to truly unplug, No internet, no TV, no cell. service!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious, functional cabin that can accomodate 8 or more.

  • 4 of 5

First the pros. Kitchen was very adequate. Full size refrigerator freezer, microwave, full size electric stove and oven. Coffee maker and blender. All the basics. Nice dining area and living room. Screened in porch/deck with a futon for optional capacity in warm weather. The Federal air tight stove worked great for the chilly nights. Canoe and row boat were a fun filled asset. Information packet provided by the owner was excellent. It covered the cabin operation and provided abundant information about the surrounding area. No critters in the cabin; a few spiders, that's all.

A few cons. The outside light next to the front door needs to be fixed. The entrance facing the driveway needs to be keyed. Some suburbans are unnerved by needing to walk around the building in the pitch dark night. The hike down to the dock is steep and long; just be aware of the physical abilities that are necessary. Don't forget the deep woods OFF!

Not pro or con: Just the facts. There is no cell service or internet. How did we ever get by without it? Some may consider this pro, others may consider this con. Just know what your getting.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing your review! For the record, maximum occupancy at the cabin is 5 people. And we agree that it's a good place to unplug and listen to the loons! Thank you for staying with us. We'd love to have you back! Micki and David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice place.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our vacation at Paradox.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorial Day 2017

  • 5 of 5

My brother and I get together annual on Memorial Day to fish and hike in the Adirondack Mountains. For our 2017 trip we chose the Paradox Cozy Cabin. Living in NYC and Eastern LI, Paradox NY is a manageable drive for a long weekend getaway. The cabin was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, and the shower water remained warm. The lighting was excellent for reading and the heater kept the cabin comfortable. The arrival instruction package was detailed, clear, and understandable. The cabin is extremely private and quiet so we slept well in the upstairs bedrooms. It is a bit of a hike to the lake but use of the canoe is a great bonus. We hiked the Grizzle Ocean 5 mile loop located in the Putnam Pond State Campground and climbed Severance Mountain for views of Schroon and Paradox Lakes. We fished using the available canoe in Paradox Lake and caught small northern pike, bass, rock bass, crappie and a large catfish using artificial lures. The only negative were the mosquitoes and black flies.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5

Very quaint and private cottage in a beautiful setting. The use of the canoe was a bonus that we took advantage of every day! This was the perfect place to "unplug" for a few days, and spend quality time with the family.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the good review! We hope to host you again some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glen Ridge, NJ
3

As described.

  • 3 of 5

Location is beautiful.

Refrigerator broke 1day we were there. This was a major inconvenience with two small children I understand they were going to replace it after we left.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did replace the fridge (as well as the stove) as soon as we could get delivery, the day that our guests left. We offered to help them out with space in our fridge, but they managed on their own.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 3.0%

In addition to protection from damage, any sign of smoking or pets in the cabin will be result in forfeiture of the damage protection deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties