Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

18 miles from Potsdam/22 miles from Canton. Waterfront Cottage S. Colton

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property


Featured article in the Latitudes Attiudes sections in the LakeHomeRealEstate . com. SORRY DISCOVER CARD NOT ACCEPTED. NO PETS. I have tried allowing in the past but it wasn't working out.

Wall of windows to view Fall colors reflecting off the water from Kitchen, dining room, living room and master bedroom.

Relax on a floating island or connecting tubes during the day and sit around a bon fire by the lake in the evening.

Hickory kitchen cabinets and appliances are new with a peninsula that accommodates four stools. Dining has a hickory log dinette. All the conveniences of home. As you walk out of the kitchen, please enjoy your 10'x20' deck with a view. A charcoal smoker/grill is available for you and your guests to enjoy.

From the deck, steps lead down to a large grassy area. You'll see a group of blue Adirondack chairs around a fire ring near the waters edge.

The beach is fairly sandy and gradually deepens, great for swimming which can be hard to find and safe for children. State Land across the lake so boat traffic is not a problem. Rarely a boat seen.

Bring your fishing poles......walleye pike, northern pike, small-mouth bass and yellow perch are ready for you to catch and release, or better yet, make use of the smoker.

You'll love it!

Have fun and take lots of pictures! Be sure to find my fb page and post them there.


More Details

Doris Rorick
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 9, 2018

About Doris Rorick

I love upstate New York and miss it very much. I had lived there for 12 years, before that I grew up in Southern California. My family is located in California and Texas so I moved to Texas to be closer to my children and grandchildren. I have 3 daughters, 1 son and 5 grandgirlies.

In upstate NY, you can't drive more than 30 minutes before seeing another river, stream or lake. I used to keep a fishing pole in my truck in case I had the urge to pull over and see what I might catch. NY is so obviously different that California (which I love as well). You take life at a much slower pace and enjoy the beauty of being in and around nature.

Doris Rorick purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Doris Rorick chose South Colton

Love at first sight with this property. I used to camp out on the reservoir just up the road from there. On my way home from the campgrounds I had seen the for sale sign and stopped in to take a look. It's hard to find homes for sale in the area. They are typically passed down. Anyway, I stepped in and fell in love with the view. and had to stop in my tracks when I saw the wall of windows facing out towards the lake.

What makes this cottage unique

The day that I stepped into the home I was hooked, couldn't take my eyes off the lake. When I go back to visit, I find myself instantly relaxing and starring out, just like the first day that I stepped in. The area is in very peaceful location. You wont have to worry about boat traffic so you can relax and let the kids play in the lake. The cabin has a cozy, homey feel to it. I love hanging out on the deck.There's a conversational sitting area on the deck where I sink myself into the love seat to talk with friends over a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Another pass time that I enjoy is to dip in the lake. In the summer the water is perfect. When my kids would visit, there was always a campfire going.


South Colton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Remove all trash from yard and and home and place in dumpster.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shampoo Conditioner Soap Hair Dryer
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen platform bed sleeps 2. Linens provided.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , linens provided.Twin/full sleeps 3.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Linens provided.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
18 miles from Potsdam/22 miles from Canton. Waterfront Cottage S. Colton
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews

Great secluded cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We had our honeymoon at the shack last week and it was everything we could have ever hoped for! Everything we needed was provided and it was decorated beautifully. The cabin was very clean and even had some games to play and movies to watch. We enjoyed waking up to beautiful waterfront and enjoyed our coffee out on the deck. We had a fire by the water, used the rowboat and floated around in the tubes. It was such a relaxing stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay. Congratulations once again. I look forward to having you two back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Relaxing and great for kids!

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect, spacious, updated waterfront escape! The kids were able to splash around in the water at any time, while we were able to fish at the same time. Perfect body of water for kayaking. Lots of rocky alcoves to explore, including an active beaver lodge. Great photo opportunities! Shade and sun are always easily accessible for lounging in by the water. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook gourmet meals; complete with many small appliances, and newer microwave and dishwasher. We also came home with all clean laundry, as there is a washer and dryer at the cottage. The owner insisted we call with any questions or issues, and she always answered her phone immediately. A mechanism in the toilet needed to be replaced during our stay, and she called someone to come and fix it immediately. Wonderful getaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Britanny! It's wonderful knowing that you and your Family enjoyed all the things that I love and miss about the Adirondacks. Back in the day my Grandchildren had really enjoyed the swimming and fishing so your review brought back some really lovely memories. You may want to visit us again one Fall season. It's my favorite time of the year and extra pretty to explore on a canoe or kayak, watch the leaves reflect off the water and bon fires at night with loved ones near the water to star gaze, that special time with the Family. I always run really good specials off and on during the Fall. Take care and best wishes to you and your Family this Holiday Season coming up! (My gosh right around the corner) Dorrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Had a great time.

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time! We fished in the morning, relaxed in the afternoon, did some bike riding, fished in the evening, and relaxed in the house at night. House was nice on the inside. The woodwork looked great. The kitchen was new and nice. Make sure to bring bottles of water as the water in the house is supplied by the lake - not a big deal for us. It was in a nice quiet remote area, but close enough to a small store in Colton (10 mins) and large grocery store in Potsdam (30mins) if you need anything.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you all enjoyed yourselves!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

great lake, but house fell short

  • 2 of 5

We planned to stay for a week, but really had to leave after 3 days. The lake was great and we enjoyed kayaking, but when we saw multiple mice running through our bedrooms we knew we needed to leave. The homeowner let us know that she had pest control come through and they did not see any evidence, however the only evidence I needed was the cute little guys running circles around the bed. We requested a partial refund, only asking for half back, but the homeowner reminded us that she did not need to provide us a refund according to the terms of the contract, so we were out the money. The location was nice enough, a lawnmower was provided which was good since I needed to mow the shin high grass the first day. Air pumps were provided, which was good since the floating "docks" were only half inflated. Garbage bags were provided, which was good since I needed to pick up the beer cans and broken bottles left in the fire-pit. All in all we wish we didn't have to cut our vacation short by 4 days, but we weren't getting much sleep since mice made us feel uncomfortable in our room.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: To this day there still are no mice. I paid a well known pest control that arrived after your leaving. Nothing. Many guest have stayed since with no problem. In a message your wife sent me you had wanted to add a day then cancelled "Due to a conflict at home". The lawn was mowed two days before your arrival. Housekeeping checks the yard for any trash that might have been left by previous guest and she told me that there was nothing in the fire pit. She had tossed in a few twigs that were on the grass and that there was nothing but some ash. I am willing to work with guests that need to leave early. If I can run a special and rent it out I would give the guest a refund towards what the difference was. I have repeatedly left messages on this site to call me anytime with any problems at all and I feel you might have called me on that Sunday if mice were crawling up the walls or if you didn't like the length of the lawn that was just mowed two days earlier. You are asking for all of your money back which is a free vacation for you and I get left with housekeeping fees plus other fees.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5

First off I would like to say that Kim A. who left a very poor review on Homeaway about this house is a blatant whiner. This house was gorgeous and very well maintained inside. I was just here June 17-24th and all of the things she described in her review were untrue other than that the bedrooms are on the small side which they are. I don't know about you but when I'm staying at a nice house on the lake the last thing I am worried about is bedroom size, the whole reason we came here certainly wasn't to spend time in the bedroom. We used our bedroom to change our clothes and sleep only. The rest of our stay we spent time enjoying the rest of the common areas in the house, the spacious yard and gorgeous water in front of us. Also the previous review mentions a stench of smoke in the home which definitely couldn't be farther from the truth, as a smoker myself I am very familiar with the smell of smoke in a home (the majority of my group were not smoker and no one smell even a hint of smoke the whole time we were here). This was not the case here. They also mentioned having issues with the water/toilet. The listing clearly states the house runs off water from the lake and that it is not clean enough for drinking so why you would be surprised that the water wasn't crystal clear coming out of the faucet I cannot understand. In regards to the bathroom/toilet yes when using the toilet in close frequency with a large group of people it did take longer than your average home toilet for the tank to refill to be ready for another full flush. Remember that the water is being pumped up from the lake not being directly fed from a city water line so this makes total sense. And the bathroom is no smaller than any average bathroom (its the same size as my bathroom at home!) I can assure any and all who read this review that I have no connection to the owner of this house and was not coerced in any way to leave a kind review. Everything I have said was based on my very recent pleasant experience here. If you are looking for a hidden gem this is the house for you, don't let one sour apples review ruin your chances of staying at this beautiful home! My group of 8 ranging in ages from 24-mid 50's all had an exceptional time here and we will definitely be back again next summer :)

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mary. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay. I look forward to having you back next year! I so appreciate your wonderful review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

I don't recommend this home

  • 1 of 5

This home was so disappointing. We were booked for three nights but left after two. We only stayed because there were no other options in the area and we were at my son's college graduation. The owner is a smoker and the smell of smoke permeates everything in the home. There is no source of heat except for a wood stove, and the temperature was in the 40's during our stay in May. The water comes directly from the lake and is brown and gritty. The plumbing does not work well; we had to pour water into the toilet to get it to flush. The bathroom is the size of a small closet. The carpet is dirty and stained. Two of the three bedrooms are tiny (and so smelly). It does not look at all like the pictures. I feel bad writing such a terrible review, but I also don't believe that the previous reviews are authentic and feel rather exploited. We paid a lot for a pretty gross place.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm terribly sorry that your stay was not up to your standards. Two of the bedrooms are small. The photos are not elongated in the pictures seen online. They show the exact size. My carpets were cleaned the day before your arrival. This is a lakehouse with many renters in and out of the water during the summer so I expect wear but the carpets are in really good shape and were all replaced several years ago. Except the master bedroom, every room in the cottage was remodeled. The entire exterior of the home is recently painted with a new roof. I'm very proud of my home and amenities. The restroom is exactly as the online pictures. The water pressure is really good coming out of the plumming. As far as the toilet, all you needed to do was hold the handle down a couple seconds if a quick flush didn't do it. I never had a problem with the toilet. I checked it and it's working fine. The cottage was recently opened. It has all new line coming into the cottage and yes lake water is not clear. Most of the cabins here run from the lake. There is a thermostat in the master bedroom and heaters in the other bedrooms. I did call a plumber to add extra screening to the end of the waterline to filter better. Kim, once again, I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Paying customers have submitted reviews. The reviews are not fictitious. Thanks for you time, Doris
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Akwesasne Mohawk Casino
This is an hour drive from the Inn. It's a locals favorite spot to have fun and unwind. This...
Thousand Island Park
If you have time for the drive it well worth it. Thousands of island to tour through. Charte...
Frederic Remington Art Museum
The largest collection of Frederic Remington bronzes. A prominent artist of the late 1800's....
Singer Castle on Dark Island
This is a 45 minute tour, loved it. After the tour you can walk around the castle and enjoy ...
Adirondack Toboggan Company Microbrewery
The brewers are Kevin Archer and Dale Freeman and let me tell you that they are the real dea...
Lampsons Falls
Lampson Falls, the most popular waterfall in St. Lawrence County, is easily accessed at the ...
American restaurant boasts an antique mahogany bar, riverside patio & live music
Mamma Lucia's
Great atmoshphere, wonderful food.
Olympic Center
Blues Festival
The Dirty Gringo
Really good Mexican Food.
Roxy Theater
Small theatre. Line are small and it's easy to grab a seat.
Market Lanes
Good fun!
1844 House
Quaint restaurant. Awesome food. Call for reservations. You may or may not need them. Addres...
Upper Canada Village
Authentic buildings comprise this village from the 1860's. Period costuming and activities c...
Champagne Balloon Adventures
Rating this a 3 because I haven't been on a ride. Not into heights but have heard from other...
1000 Islands Fishing Charters
There's nothing like relaxing on a river with you pole out. Charters are a great way to find...
The Hideaway Cafe
This is the place to eat a home cooked breakfast! I go here every chance I get.
Potsdam Farmers Market
The place to go when you want it fresh.
Timber Tavern
Great food... great prices. What more can I say.
First Crush Bistro
Another local favorite. I love this place. Good food, quick service and a friendly staff. Lo...
Gouverneur & Saint Lawrence County Fair 2015
So far the line up for concerts are Craig Campbell (Keep them Kisses Coming) and Caroline Ko...
Between the Bun
One of the best burger joints with a sports bar feel but also family friendly 6 Elm St, Pots...
Foxy Roxy's
I love their breakfast menu. Small, quaint restaurant. A locals favorite.
Cactus Grill & Cantina
Good service and food. Closed on Mondays.
Hotel Grande
I love love love this place! Reasonably priced. I always took my company there when they wer...
Jake's of the Water
This is actually in Hannawa Falls, which is 13.4 miles from the cabin. Under new ownership, ...
Eben's Hearth
Some people love this restaurant. Its middle of the road for me. It's a good place to take t...
Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Brewery and Restaurant. Great steak and a beautiful drive. Worth the time. No reservation un...
Ausable Chasm
You will have to visit this gorgeous place. Worth the drive, especially if you are staying w...
Glazier Packing Co
This company has been around since 1903. They started off delivery by buggy. Get your rib ey...
Thai Cuisine Restaurant
No frills, delicious food. They're open 7 days a week from 11 AM until 9 PM.
Asian Buffet & Mongolian Grill
Good food for a buffet, great price. Nice decor. One thing I'd recommend is to get there for...
Ponderosa Steakhouse
Have been going here for years. The prices are very reasonable. The food is really good. Ski...
The Thirsty Moose Pub & Grub
A great place to grab some good food.
Lobster House
Always delicious. Reasonable prices.
Hometown Cafe Own
Good home cooked breakfast. Great service.
Sabad's Restaurant
I recommend the Veal Marsala, delish.
The Olde Smokehouse
Love the atmosphere. Great place to eat
Seaway Internationa Bridge
Visit Canada through this bridge. Make sure you have an extended license.
Lake Placid Horseback Riding
Honey Dew Acres, L.L.C.
Horseback Riding.
Colton Community Center
Live Summer Music Performances, Festivals, Country Day.
Lilypad Pond
There are awesome hiking trail all over State Land region 6. This pond is stocked with brook...
Nearest Airport
44.4 Miles
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
South of the Rock Inn
Nearest Golf
15.8 Miles
Potsdam Town and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Route 56
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
South of the Rock Inn
Nearest Ski
90.2 Miles
Whiteface Mountain Ski Center
Car: necessary

North Country Wine, Beer & Food Festival

Name: North Country Wine, Beer & Food Festival

Date: May


Event Description:

This year's Wine, Beer & Food Festival is moving to Friday May 20th from 4:00pm-9:00pm and Saturday May 21st from Noon-6:00pm due to vendor and attendee feedback. We will also be kicking off our very successful Supermarket Sweeps Raffle!! We will be updating the website with a complete vendor list as soon as they come in, please visit and don't miss the signature event of the Spring!!!!


Lockwood Civic Center

Date/Time Information:

Friday May 20th from 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm and Saturday May 21st from Noon - 6:00 pm

Contact Information:

Laura Pearson, Executive Director 315-393-3620

Send an Email


$5.00 General Admission and $4.00 for Senior Citizens and Military

49th Annual Potsdam Summer Festival

Thursday 14 - Saturday 16 July, 2016

Potsdam NY

There will be live music on the main stage, sidewalk sales, and food all three days. Saturday July 16 features the craft show, antique car show in Ives Park, Laser Tag, the Parade and the Run to the River. Other Special happenings include: Thurs. Tour de Potsdam, Ice Cream Social, Fri. Community Band concert, outdoor movie Check out the Potsdam Summer Festival Facebook Page for most current information.

ADIRONDACK FLYING SERVICE, 27 Airport Ln., Lake Placid, 20-minute scenic flights over Adirondack High Peaks,, 1-866-439-2399.

ADIRONDACK MENNONITE HERITAGE FARM, 8778 Erie Canal Rd., Croghan, a historical farm recognized by the National and State Registries of Historic Places and built by the Moser brothers who settled in Lewis County in the 1830s. The property consists of an 1840s Greek Revival style house, two 1874 barns, granary, and garage. Today the farm is run as a historical learning center dedicated to the preservation of Mennonite faith and culture and the way of life of Lewis County farmers. (315) 346-1122,

ADIRONDACK MUSEUM, Museum’s exhibits and programs tell the stories of how people have lived, worked, played and traveled in the Adirondack region since the early 1800s. Twenty buildings on 32 acres of grounds and gardens, 22 engaging indoor and outdoor exhibits, historic buildings, incredible collections, great gardens, magnificent views, and on-going programs and special events offer a variety of interesting activities for the whole family. Route 30, Blue Mountain Lake, 518-352-7311,

ADIRONDACK SCENIC RAILROAD, destinations from Lake Placid, Saranac Lake, Old Forge and Utica, Experience the golden age of railroading, a time when the Adirondack line played host to the rich and famous on their way to their great camps. Check the website for schedules, toll free 1-800-819-2291 or

AKWESASNE MOHAWK CASINO RESORT, 873 State Route 37, Akwesasne, open 24 hours seven days a week, hundreds of exciting gaming machines, dozens of table games, native harvest buffet, Pair-A-Dice lounge, gift shops, buses welcome, 1-877-99CASINO or .

ALMANZO WILDER HOMESTEAD, 177 Stacy Rd., Burke, near Malone, home of Farmer Boy, real life character of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House book, store, museum, 518-483-1207,

AMERICAN MAPLE MUSEUM AND HALL OF FAME, 9753 State Rte. 812, Croghan; artifacts and maple syrup manufacturing equipment, logging tools, antiques; 346-1107; .

ANTIQUE BOAT MUSEUM, 750 Mary St., Clayton,, Over 200 antique freshwater boats, motors, and engines. Boat building classes, boat shows, speedboat rides. 315-686-4104.

BLUE MOUNTAIN LAKE BOAT LIVERY, Rte. 28, Blue Mountain Lake scenic boat trip, 1916 wooden launches, tours, rentals, instructions, sailing, canoeing, camping, 518-352-7351.

BOLDT CASTLE, on Heart Island, Alexandria Bay, Accessible by boat, 120 room Rhineland castle belonging to George Boldt, begun as a gift for his wife, but abandoned at her untimely death. Undergoing magnificent restoration. 482-9724 or 482-2501.

DOBISKY VISITOR'S CENTER, 100 Riverside Ave., Ogdensburg; nestled along the banks of the St. Lawrence River with a boater's lounge with showers and laundry facilities, meeting rooms that hold over 100 people. Maple City Recreation Trial - all within walking distance from the Dobisky Visitor's Center; 393-1980.

ENCHANTED FOREST/WATER SAFARI, 3183 Route 28, Old Forge, Over fifty water rides and attractions including "Tidal Wave Pool" and the "Amazon," a family river ride. 369-6145.

EVANS MILLS SPEEDWAY, 28412 Steinhelber Rd., Evans Mills. 777-7980 or

LAKE PLACID OLYMPIC SITE, Lake Placid-Wilmington area, 1932 and 1980 Olympic Museum.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 3.0%

Weekly Rental Cleaning Fee $175

Late check/Early check in, if available: $15 per hour and must be confirmed with owner before booking.
Water source is from the lake like any rural cabins in the area. It comes out pretty clear. Bring drinking water to cook with or save your jugs to fill at the well. The neighborhood uses an artisan rated well down the road. It's better than any bottled water you can buy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties