check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner/Manager

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Vacation "A World Away" from the normal on Bald Head Island!

38 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bald Head Island House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

A World Away, located at 20 Captain Charlie's Court, is a fantastic oasis of stress-free vacationing! Located at the end of a semi-private cul-de-sac, this home boasts every amenity you need to escape the mundane world of the mainland and accomplish exactly what you come to Bald Head Island to do... RELAX!

This is a reverse floor plan vacation home, nestled in the lovely maritime forest, with great views of the Old Baldy Lighthouse from the upper deck and porch. You will also be within easy walking distance to the marina, restaurants and shops.

Located on the first floor is one of the home's two master suites as well as two more guest bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom. The master suite on the lower level features a king bed with its own private bathroom. The first of the two guest rooms is a bunk room with two twin bunks and two double beds. The second bedroom features a queen bed. Both of these connect to an entertainment space that is equipped with a sleeper sofa (thus turning this into a possible fifth bedroom), a mini fridge, TV, games, a Sony PS2, a Wii, deck access and laundry facilities.

Upstairs is a modern, open, inviting great room featuring a cozy sitting area with fireplace. Look out the rounded living room window and see a perfect vision of the Old Baldy Lighthouse framed within. It is like living art! The updated kitchen offers sleek black granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and a wine rack. The dining area comfortably seats eight, with three additional seats available at the kitchen bar. Of course, you can also dine on the deck or screened porch!

There is another master bedroom and bathroom upstairs, proffering a king bed and private balcony. This master bathroom is artfully tiled and features dual sinks and a jetted tub.

Visitors to A World Away enjoy wireless internet as well as access to fishing rods and adult and youngster golf clubs. A BHI Club membership (w/ golf access) is included with the rental. For an additional fee, a Shoals Club membership may be obtained.

(2K, 1Q, 2BB with doubles and twins, 1 SS, Sleeps 12)

week only rentals Memorial through Labor Day

NOTE: TRAM SPACE IS LIMITED - PLEASE CALL TO MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS TO AND FROM THE ISLAND WHEN BOOKING. WWP IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR GETTING YOU TO AND FROM YOUR RENTAL HOME. CHECK OUT IS 10AM AND CHECK IN IS 4PM.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner/Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

This was our second time staying on the island. This house was amazing. Very clean and the floor plan was perfect for a family with smaller kids and teenagers. A gentleman came and introduced himself the first afternoon we were there and someone else stopped by later in the week and left us a note with their number in case we needed anything. We have rented beach houses at least once a year for the last 12 years and that has never happened. I was very impressed! The decor is fabulous and the kitchen was impressive. Great appliances and everything you would need! Loved this house and rental company. Will be staying in this house again and recommending Wendy Wilmot Properties!
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 38 traveler reviews

Vacation "A World Away" from the normal on Bald Head Island!
average rating of 4.736842 based on 40 reviews
5

Ideallic

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

There are two properties by this name on the island. Do not be deceived. #20 Captain Charlie's Court is the REAL 'A World Away' and here's why: For starters, WWP manages this island home and does so with grace, ever attentive to renters, even during the busy weeks of July. After 12 years of vacationing at Bald Head, we finally landed on the perfect property for our family of 10. For the first time we stayed near the harbor and were able to walk or bike to restaurants and Old Baldy. The downstairs bunkroom, living space and bath comprise the perfect suite for our four grandchildren. Two master suites downstairs accommodated our married children. A real plus was the master suite on the upper level because my husband and I are always the first to rise and start the coffee, which we enjoyed on both porches as we watched the sun rise and the day unfold under the watch of Old Baldy. WWP could not have been more attentive when we needed anything at all, which only happened twice. We have rented through other companies in the past but WWP really knows the island and actually wants renters to have an excellent vacation, which we did.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Trish and John- Your review made my day! Thank YOU! for your kind words and acknowledging how much we strive to help our guests. So glad this property worked so well for y'all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Warrenton, VA
5

review of " A World Away"

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

fantastic week in a perfectly equipped home. Could not have been more satisfied

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anna- So pleased that your stay was perfect! Thanks for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Nicely furnished home with the benefit of extra living space.

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

From the start, to phone calls with questions, all went very smoothly. I would definitely rent from Wendy Wilmot again.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sharon- Thanks for the great review of and, especially, your kind commendation for our team. We work hard to make your vacation super.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fell in love with BHI

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our first trip to BHI. Stayed with 3 other families. The accomodations were perfect for our group (4 adults, 6 children). The bunk beds and downstairs play area (equipped with video games) was a hit with the younger ones (ages 3-9). Perfect location. We had trouble with the management company ignoring our request to have our ice machine checked out. There were 2 ice makers (one inside the freezer and a free-standing one which was built in) and neither of them produced ice. We spent on average $20-$25/day on ice to fill coolers and drinks. They never sent anyone out to look at it and promised us someone would be there on Wed (when we called on Sat) and no show!! The WWP representative had a bit of a poor attitude, explaining we are on an island and can't just get repairs done easily. We were hoping they could just take a look to see if it was hooked up properly. Sadly, the request fell on deaf ears! Otherwise, if the ice is working- great place!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am soooooooooooo sorry to hear about the ice situation as well as your non-satisfactory interaction with our staff. Be assured I will definitely pass this onto maintenance and all of our folks. Our quest is to assure you have a terrific stay and that we offer superior service. We fell down on this one. Since you "fell in love with BHI", I hope you return and I wish you would give us another chance to make your vacation perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Vacation at Bald Head Island

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great stay at this house and loved Bald Head Island for the second time. The house was just as we had expected from the pictures and was great for two families with kids. There were a couple of small repair issues needed when we checked in but WWP was very responsive and sent someone over on a sunday to fix the issue. Would rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your five-star rating. So glad you enjoyed the home and a special thanks for the compliment to our facilities team. They work hard to make your stay great. Thanks for letting us serve you. Please remember us when you return to BHI!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home, very well stocked and organized

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had 3 families for this house so it was close to perfect. If only the Queen was a 3rd King and had a TV in the room it would have been a 10! Everything was in order, golf carts ran fine, plenty of chairs, boogie boards, gas grill. Very clean. House is near Old Baldy, kids could walk to marina, house in lots of shade which was welcome at the end of a hot day. Would rent again. And Wendy Wilmot properties is the best!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed A World Away....it IS a GREAT home! Also, thanks for the shout-out for WWP! We work hard to make your vacation as perfect as possible. I hope you give us another chance to serve you when you return to Bald Head!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bald Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Bunk beds, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis
Notes:
Bald Head Island Club Membership (w/ Golf), Shoals Club Membership (Additional Fee), 2 Golf Carts (4 & 6 seats)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties