Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

RIVER RETREAT (Skanee, MI): 2 Bedrooms, Winter dates open, Pets OK!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,054 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, riverfront, scenic getaway in Skanee, MI

RIVER RETREAT

SLEEPS: 4

BEDROOMS: 2

BATHROOMS: 1

*RIVERFRONT (Ravine River-small bubbling stream in 2016)

*SNOWMOBILING FROM PROPERTY

*PETS ARE WELCOMED

This quaint 2 bedroom cabin faces the beautiful, Ravine River in Skanee, MI. Just a short distance from Witz's Marina. 2 upstairs bedrooms, full main floor kitchen, main floor bathroom with a shower and comfortable living room. Just 15 miles from the Baraga Community Hospital. Excellent for visiting physicians, visiting your college student at Michigan Tech or just a relaxing couple get-away for nature lovers.

There are two bedrooms, but there is additional sleeping arrangements with an extra futon provided for you in the rooms! The upstairs staircase provides a open-air see-through view, with narrow, wooden slats heading upstairs. Yes, a small dog could fit through the wooden bars. This cabin is pet-friendly with  a small fenced in area outside. 

Snuggle up to the wood-burning stove.

Bedrooms: 2

Bedroom #1 (Master bedroom- Upstairs)- One queen-size bed.

Bedroom Two (Upstairs)- Two twin-size beds with additional twin pull-out bed.

Bathroom (Main floor)- One full bathroom.

NEARBY CITIES

L'Anse

Baraga: approximately 35 minutes away.

Houghton: 48 miles (1 hour northwest)

Copper Harbor: Michigan's northernmost community, a truly unique community is about 1 hour North, you can take your time enjoying Baraga State Park as well as Houghton City on your way. The port of Copper Harbor, one of the main shipping points for copper going out and supplies coming in, much of what was built back in the late 1800's is still there for you too appreciate today.

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS

Mt. Avron: The highest peak in Michigan.

Golfing: Nearest golf course is in L'Anse. 9 hole course with driving range.

Porcupine Mountains:

Ojibwa Casino: Located in Baraga (35 min. away)

How far is...

Tahquamenon Falls State Park: 3 hours 15 minutes away. (174 miles)

Mackinac Bridge: 3 hours 52 minutes away. (211 miles)

WINTER FUN!

Cross country skiing- "Pinery Lakes Trail" is a great place to check out . Here you will find 3.9 miles of groomed trails. Only 20 minutes away.

Snowmobiling: Lots of area to explore here in Baraga County! 146 miles of state-assisted and groomed trails, and 150+ miles of un-groomed trails.

Snowshoeing: 5 minutes away at L'Anse Township Park on Skanee Rd.

Cell phone service: Cell phone service is generally unreliable in the Upper Peninsula when you travel outside of Marquette and Escanaba. AT&T has been very unreliable in the cabin. Walking down to the road is the best option.

Grills: There is a charcoal grill.

Fire-pit: There is an outdoor fire-pit for your use. Please provide your own wood, we cannot guarantee there will be any at the property!

Fishing: There is not gear here. However, you are more than welcome to bring your own fishing supplies.

Marina: Witz's Marina in Skanee. (906) 524-7795

Patio Chairs: There is a patio set with chairs provided.

Pets: *Pets are welcome! Freshwater Vacation Rentals currently charges $50/per pet. Yes-pets are welcome for a flat fee. Yes! There is a small fenced in area outside that they may use.

Phone: Yes, we do have a basic landline for LOCAL calls only.

Privacy: Yes, there is more privacy here than in most standard cottage. Still, you can see your neighbors.

Swimming: Swimming is not available on the property. There is a beach that is 3 miles down the road and you can also launch your boat here.

TV: We have a flat screen TV (no cable) + a DVD player.

Washer/Dryer: Yes, there is a washer and dryer on the main level.

Wi-Fi: Yes! There is WiFi.

More Details

Property Manager
Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

• Established in 2005

• 734-284-5677

• reservations@freshwatervacationrentals.com

• http://www.freshwatervacationrentals.com

If you are looking for a vacation rental, you have come to the right spot! We specialize in vacation rentals throughout Michigan. From your own private island to a lodge big enough to host your family reunion or a relaxing getaway on one of the Great Lakes. If you feel like a social vacation where you have neighbors to enjoy the evening fires together, to remote places where you won't see another soul, give us a call and we'll find the right place for you.

Our philosophy

We work hard so you don't have to. Our goal is for guests have a wonderful vacation experience and assist our owners in maximizing their investment. We started this business 10 years ago, with the purchase of Republic Island, and added the Rapid River Lodge. We have a unique perspective, as we are both owners and property managers. We love the business and are enjoying it as it grows.

Why Freshwater Vacation Rentals chose Upper Peninsula Michigan

The coziness of this beautiful cabin nestled between the trees along the Ravine River is the perfect backdrop to "unplugging" and enjoying some relaxation.

What makes this cabin unique

Wood-burning stove to enjoy on those chilly nights. Washer & dryer. The remodeled bathroom with tub/shower is a nice touch. The deck facing the Ravine River is a great gathering spot with table and chairs.

Amenities

Skanee Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1054 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • main floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master bedroom (upstairs) - 1 queen
    Upstairs - 1 twin/ single , 2-twin beds
  • both bedrooms are upstairs, next to each other
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • marina ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services ...
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf ...
  • hiking
Notes:
~Pets are welcome! ~We have an outdoor fire-pit you may use. (Please provide your own wood). ~Washer & dryer included!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
RIVER RETREAT (Skanee, MI): 2 Bedrooms, Winter dates open, Pets OK!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
5

A beautiful 2 days

  • 5 of 5

I posted a review right after my stay but i dont think you got it. The cabin perfectly fit into the Northwood setting. Expectations were surpassed and photos on the website didnt do it justice. Very clean, well stocked with pots, pans, linens, towels, etc. Only 2 concerns. 1st the left sink pipe came loose and it fit back in place but will come lose again. There is a cottage a bit too close for comfort and to our horror they set off fireworks! However it was very short-lived and we didn't hear or see them again.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Freshwater Vacation Rentals for your vacation! The River Retreat is truly a nice place to stay, and thank you for your kind words. Also thank you for letting us know about the sink pipe, it has since been fixed! Fireworks in September? Glad they didn't stick around and ruin the rest of your stay. We would love to have you back in the future, we manage over 45 properties throughout Michigan. Freshwater Vacation Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely lovely

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us rent your great place. We'd recommend!

By a small river away in the woods. Quiet and peaceful. There were neighbors, but they were rarely around. Everything worked well. Good price.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear you had a nice stay! We hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Jackson, MI
4

Fabulously relaxing stay!

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our time away from it all at this cabin in the beautiful U.P. The home was very clean yet comfortable and we felt at home right away. The kids loved putting on their boots and tromping through the river. There were so many beautiful sights nearby from gorgeous waterfalls to Mount Arvon. We are already planning when we want to go back!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy your family had a great time at River Retreat! We would love to have you back next year! The waterfalls are breathtaking. Thank you for booking with us. Freshwater Team
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful cabin in the woods!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this place! Not only is the cabin beautiful, the location is amazing!!! It's so calming to be surrounded by woods next to a river. It was so quiet you could hear the river flowing. When we woke, the first morning, there were deer sitting right in the yard! So exciting! It was hard for us to leave. We can't wait to go back in the summer.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Rustic and Secluded

  • 4 of 5

This is a spacious cabin in a wooded area along a bubbling stream. The kitchen is well-equipped and the furniture is comfortable. The wood stove works well and we had a good supply of firewood. One caution is that if the wood stove door is open so the fire can be viewed, it tends to make the cabin quite smokey, so windows must be opened and ceiling fans on when in use. There are two loft area bedrooms, both very comfortable; however, the stairway is steep with very narrow treads. This could be a difficulty for older folks or those with mobility problems.

Overall, this is a good place for nature lovers with plenty of beautiful waterfalls and trails to enjoy in the immediate area.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful waterfalls and were able to experience feeling encompassed by the nature the gorgeous Upper Peninsula supplies. We sincerely, appreciate your feedback. I've further clarified the website to reflect your experience, especially for those with mobility concerns. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Mixed review - feedback for future guests

  • 2 of 5

The location of the cabin, the river, fire pit and property were great. The cabin was fine but many things should be noted by the management company (who I hope reads this!) prior to the next guest staying -- there was a dead mouse in the corner by the dining room table; the kitchen was dirty; outside left side of fridge was gross; the dishes and pots and pans I needed to wash prior to using; the outsides of the oven and microwave were dirty. I washed everything and wiped things down and feel the place was cleaner when we left than when we arrived). Finally, the dead bolts on both doors didn't work so that was a security item that we would have liked.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, we read and respond to all of our feedback. We were happy to talk with you on several occasions about the WiFi connection during your stay. I'm very sorry the cleaning didn't meet your expectations. We would have immediately sent another cleaner back to re-clean if you would have shared that with us while you were at the cabin. Also, this is the first we have heard about the deadbolts not working on the doors. We have investigated and can not find a problem with the deadbolt locks. If we were aware when we spoke during your stay, we would have sent a handyman over immediately. It is always a priority for our guests to feel safe. I appreciate your feedback. We will continue to look for ways to improve our guest experience all-around. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Houghton
Finns
Mt Bohemia
Hardwood Steakhouse
"Love the breakfast and steak dinners! Great place to go for the evening while staying at th..."
L'Anse Golf Club
Nearest Airport
57 Miles
Houghton County Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
The Finns Bar & Grill
Nearest Ferry
300 Miles
Shepler's, Arnold Lines to Mackinac Island
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
L'Anse Golf Course
Nearest Train
200 Miles
Green Bay
Nearest Motorway
32 Miles
US 41
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
The Finns Bar & Grill
Nearest Ski
89 Miles
Mt. Bohemia
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
L'Anse Waterfront Park
Car: necessary

Area Attractions:

*Mount Arvon! Michigan's highest point. 1,979 ft. above sea level!

*Also check out: The Hanka Finnish Homestead in Arnheim, The Alberta Village & Ford Sawmill Museum in Alberta, Historic Pelkie One-Room Schoolhouse in Pelkie, and the Baraga County Historical Museum located on US 41 in Baraga.

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable