Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Saratoga Track opens July 21!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Conveniently located midway between Lake George Village and Saratoga Springs

Newly renovated, beautifully furnished 3-story townhouse in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains. Within 20 minutes, you and your family can enjoy the beaches or hiking trails of Lake George, experience thrills at the Great Escape Amusement Park, hunt for bargains the Lake George Outlet malls, master nearby golf courses, and sample all that the Saratoga area has to offer: shopping, concerts and the ballet at Saratoga Performing Arts Center, and both harness and flat track horse racing. If you like biking, the 10-mile long the Warren County bikeway will bring you right to Lake George’s Million Dollar Beach. Or, take the Lake George Trolley to avoid traffic at the popular weekly concerts and Thursday night fireworks. A bit further afield, notable sites are the Blue Mountain Lake Museum, Ft. Ticonderoga, the Wild Center Museum in Tupper Lake ajd the Lake Placid/Whiteface Mountain area, home of the 1980 Winter Olympics. Less than an hour south, explore Albany, New York's capital, or the newly opened (Feb. 2017) Rivers Casino in Schnectady.

After a full day of activity, relax by preparing a meal in the fully-equipped kitchen, by grilling on the gas grill, or by dining at one of the area’s fine restaurants. On Wednesday evenings from 5-7pm during the summer check out the "Take A Bite" event in downtown Glens Falls, where you can sample delicious fare from the city's restaurants and enjoy street entertainment. Be sure to visit the Saturday morning farmer's market in Glens Falls, or pick up tomatoes, corn and other produce at one of the many local farm stands. Other popular activities include fishing, white-water rafting, and boating.

The unit is equipped with a/c, 3 flat screen televisions, cable, and wi-fi. On the 2nd floor is a full bath, washer and dryer, and 2 bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed, ceiling fan, and ample closet space. The open-concept main floor contains the kitchen, deck, living room and ½ bath, along with a deck that overlooks a pond and mountain views. The large basement, with sliding glass doors that open out to a patio, has a queen-size pullout couch and plenty of space to spread out and relax.

More Details

Owner
Barbara Durniak
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Barbara Durniak

My husband and I live in Poughkeepsie NY, where we raised our 2 sons. Tim's an information architect with IBM and after 30 years as a librarian at Vassar College, I retired in 2014. I'm a graduate of the University of Vermont and the University at Albany, and Tim graduated from CUNY and Syracuse University. We love theater, biking, hiking, traveling, and hanging out with our family and friends.

Barbara Durniak purchased this townhome in 2009

Why Barbara Durniak chose Lake George Area

My childhood home was less than 2 miles from our vacation place. I have fond memories of riding bikes all over town with my friends, enjoying winter sports such as cross-country skiing and skating, taking that first plunge into Lake George at the beginning of the summer, and seeing the entire community turn out for the Memorial Day and 4th of July parades. We were lucky in that until 2008, my mom remained in the area, so my family and I were able to visit often. Once my mom moved closer to us, we realized how much we missed the north country. We purchased the townhouse in 2009, and rented it out immediately. We had great tenants, but every year I hoped they wouldn't renew their lease so we could enjoy the townhouse ourselves. Finally in 2014 my wish came true! We're excited to share our idyllic area of New York with others.

What makes this townhome unique

With the exception of the bed, sofas, linens and kitchen appliances/utensils, we furnished the house with second-hand items. Some were from our families, but most were found through Craigslist or at tag sales or thrift/used furniture stores. Although saving money was a consideration, a more important goal was being able to re-purpose things that were no longer needed by others. We're happy we saved so much from ending up in landfills, and at the same time were able to decorate our place with beautiful and functional furniture and artwork.

Amenities

Queensbury Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • 1. Two-car maximum. Please park directly in front of unit only.
  • 2. This is a residential neighborhood; please be respectful of our neighbors. Quiet hours between 11pm-8am. No loud music or vehicles.
  • 3. Candles/campfires/fire pits/fireworks are not permitted on the premises.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Saratoga Track opens July 21!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
4

Great Adirondack Getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Immaculate and comfortable. Close to Northway (I-87) for easy access to Lake George region and Saratoga Springs to enjoy many activities....boating, fishing, water-park, shopping,

race-track, loads of restaurants and more. Quiet area with pretty mountain view.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for booking with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Good

  • 5 of 5

It was very clean and nice house...

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

Barbara's home is beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. She's a great host who let us do our thing with very little interference but was there to help if we needed it. Would definitely stay here again when in the Lake George NY area!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazingly well kept home. Close to all major attractions. The Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I rented Barbara's home for 3 nights in August, 2016 and bottom line was every one of my 3 other guests loved this home. The house itself was very well maintained, no glaring flaws at all. Everything was cleaned when we got there as well as perfectly put back in its proper place. The bedrooms were cozy and airy and everywhere in the house had sufficient space. We barely used the basement because we only had four people so we mostly kept upstairs but in the short time that we did spend in the basement, it was absolutely wonderful. There is plenty of space down there and if you have someone who likes sleeping in colder conditions in the summer, then the basement is perfect for you.

The house was supplied with all our needs including sufficient toilet paper, towels, garbage bags, dish washing detergent. All of the essentials items were supplied more than enough to accommodate our stay.

We ended up going to Lake George for one of our days and it was only 20 minutes away as well as Six Flags being extremely close as well. We also went to some other major attractions in the area and nothing was so far out of the way that we were turned off by the distance. One also very important thing to us was that a Walmart was only about 10 minutes away and we were able to get almost everything we needed for our stay in 1 trip. This house had amazing proximity to everything and made traveling a breeze.

Another thing that we enjoyed was that the house was close to other houses/renters and we didn't feel too secluded, but it was peaceful enough that we still felt like we were isolated and away on our own vacation. The backyard grill and view were wonderful in achieving that feeling as well.

Overall, this house was absolutely everything we had hoped for and the owners were extremely nice and understanding as well as their friends that helped us who lived nearby. I do not have anything bad to say about my stay and would love to rent this home again in the future. I would rent any home owned by Barbara just because our experience dealing with her was so positive and outstanding.

Thank you for everything Barbara!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

A Disappointing Weekend

  • 1 of 5

The pictures on the site look beautiful, but renter beware, this property was filled with issues:

1) When we arrived the house smelled of stale smoke

2) The grill provided was filthy, we had to spend twenty minutes cleaning it before it could be used.

3) On night one, the batteries in the airc onditining control panel died, so we came home to a nice hot house

4) The owner advertises the fact that the basement TV has netflix, which is true and would have been great, if the wifi was strong enough in the basement for netflix to actually work

5) Then the topper, after the property manager inspected the house and told me everything "looked great" the owner withheld half of my security deposit.

Do you self a favor, avoid this house and these owners!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We'd like to address your complaints point by point: 1) We have a strict non-smoking policy. Had you mentioned an odor upon check-in, our property managers would have let you know that the carpets had been cleaned on August 15. Perhaps you smelled some residue from that? 2) Our apologies about the grill, it should have been checked and cleaned before your arrival. 3) We regret the a/c control failure. You brought this up at the exit walkthrough and informed our property managers that you used the TV remote batteries to replace them. We have added replacing these batteries to our property checklist. 4) The TV on the lower level is hardwired to the Internet router so the WIFI signal is not the issue. As an Internet-based service, the quality of the Netflix service can vary and is not something we can control. 5) This is an issue of latent damage. Neither you nor our property managers noticed during the exit walkthrough that there was a very wet section of the wood floor in the kitchen. As we explained in our communications with you, the flooring is permanently damaged and as a result we initially withheld one half your security deposit to cover repairs. Subsequently, our contractor advised us that any repair would be more noticeable than the current damage, and cost twice as much as we’d first anticipated. Therefore we have opted to live with the damage. On 9/1/16 we returned the balance of your security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

6 star rating for 2 bedroom condo in Queensbury

  • 5 of 5

It was very nice! Everything was clean and in good working order. I would highly recommend this nice condo for anyone interested in the Queensbury area. The location is perfect! Close to ski resorts- just down the street from West Mountain. It's close to Lake George and shopping areas and it's about only 10 minutes from the Northway. I would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Great Escape and Splashwater Kingdom - Six Flags
Martha's Dandee Creme
Bistro LeRoux
Cooper's Cave Ale Company
"Right off the Warren Co. rail trail. Stop by for a meal, home-made ice cream, or a locally c..."
The Wild Center
"Worth the 2 hour ride. Great introduction to the Adirondacks. "
Saratoga Performing Arts Center
"Ballet, jazz, big-name concerts - this venue has it all! "
UpRiver Cafe
"Lovely brookside dining in the small town of Lake Luzerne."
Up Yonda Farm Environmental Education Center
"Great place to take the kids."
Lavenlair Farm
Chic's Marina
"Boat rentals; or try stand-up paddleboarding in the quiet bay"
Prospect Mountain Road
"If you aren't up for the hike, you can drive up Memorial Highway."
Rivers Casino & Resort Schenectady
"Opening Feb. 8 2017. Can't wait to try it"
Saratoga Race Course
"6 weeks of fun - late July-Labor Day"
Adirondack Outlet Mall
Manchester Designer Outlets
Saratoga Spa State Park
Lake George Steamboat Company
"Great way to see the Lake and relax - look into the fireworks boats or sunset cruises !"
Oscar's Adirondack Smoke House
"Would rate this 7 stars if we could .... the place for smoked meats...and you can order on-l..."
Olympic Ski Jump
"Summer training grounds for US Olympic team"
Caffe Lena
"Iconic music venue"
National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame
Skidmore College
"Of special note is the Tang Art Museum"
The Hyde Collection
"Art museum and historic home, featuring 19th century US and European masters as well as a ne..."
Lake George Distilling Company
"Hand-crafted spirits"
Fort William Henry Museum
Adirondack Extreme Adventure Course LLC
Parasailing Adventures
Lake George Kayak Company
Boathouse Restaurant
Lake George Shoreline Cruise
Nearest Airport
48 Miles
Albany
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Haviland Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Route 87 (Northway)
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
West Mountain Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Lake George Village
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $300

We require a $300 security deposit, which is fully refundable upon satisfactory inspection of the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties