check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Autumn in the Adirondacks

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Queensbury Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Conveniently located midway between Lake George Village and Saratoga Springs

Newly renovated, beautifully furnished 3-story townhouse in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains. Enjoy the hiking trails of Lake George and the Adirondack Park, hunt for bargains at the Lake George Outlet malls, go apple picking, master nearby golf courses, or sample the spas, shopping and restaurants of nearby Saratoga area. The Warren County bikeway brings you right to Lake George Village. Visit a local distillery, winery or brewery. If you don’t want to drive, book a tour with the Hoppy Trails Brew Bus. A bit further afield, pick your own lavender at Lavenlair Farm, or visit the Adirondack Museum, Ft. Ticonderoga, or the Lake Placid/Whiteface Mountain area, home of the 1980 Winter Olympics. No matter where you are, you'll be in awe of the stunning fall foliage. And make note that this year's Adirondack Balloon festival is Sept. 22-25.

The unit is equipped with a/c, 2 flat screen televisions, cable, and wi-fi. On the 2nd floor is a full bath, washer and dryer, and 2 bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed, ceiling fan, and ample closet space. The open-concept main floor contains the kitchen, deck, living room and ½ bath, along with a deck that overlooks a pond and mountain views. The large basement, with sliding glass doors that open out to a patio, has a queen-size pullout couch and plenty of space to spread out and relax.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Barbara Durniak
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2016

About Barbara Durniak

My husband and I live in Poughkeepsie NY, where we raised our 2 sons. Tim's an information architect with IBM and I recently retired from my position as a librarian at Vassar College. I'm a graduate of the University of Vermont and the University at Albany, and Tim graduated from CUNY and Syracuse University. We love theater, biking, hiking, traveling, and hanging out with our family and friends.

Barbara Durniak purchased this townhome in 2009

Why Barbara Durniak chose Lake George Area

My childhood home was less than 2 miles from our vacation place. I have fond memories of riding bikes all over town with my friends, enjoying winter sports such as cross-country skiing and skating, taking that first plunge into Lake George at the beginning of the summer, and seeing the entire community turn out for the Memorial Day and 4th of July parades. We were lucky in that until 2008, my mom remained in the area, so my family and I were able to visit often. Once my mom moved closer to us, we realized how much we missed the north country. We purchased the townhouse in 2009, and rented it out immediately. We had great tenants, but every year I hoped they wouldn't renew their lease so we could enjoy the townhouse ourselves. Finally in 2014 my wish came true! We've spent the last year renovating the property and are now excited to share our idyllic area of New York with others.

What makes this townhome unique

With the exception of the bed, sofas, linens and kitchen utensils, we furnished the house with second-hand items. Some were from our families, but most were found through Craigslist, at garage sales, or at thrift/used furniture stores. Although saving money was a consideration, a more important goal was being able to re-use things that were no longer needed by others. We're happy we saved so much from ending up in landfills, and at the same time were able to decorate our place with beautiful and functional furniture and artwork.


based on 9 traveler reviews

Autumn in the Adirondacks
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews

Amazingly well kept home. Close to all major attractions. The Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I rented Barbara's home for 3 nights in August, 2016 and bottom line was every one of my 3 other guests loved this home. The house itself was very well maintained, no glaring flaws at all. Everything was cleaned when we got there as well as perfectly put back in its proper place. The bedrooms were cozy and airy and everywhere in the house had sufficient space. We barely used the basement because we only had four people so we mostly kept upstairs but in the short time that we did spend in the basement, it was absolutely wonderful. There is plenty of space down there and if you have someone who likes sleeping in colder conditions in the summer, then the basement is perfect for you.

The house was supplied with all our needs including sufficient toilet paper, towels, garbage bags, dish washing detergent. All of the essentials items were supplied more than enough to accommodate our stay.

We ended up going to Lake George for one of our days and it was only 20 minutes away as well as Six Flags being extremely close as well. We also went to some other major attractions in the area and nothing was so far out of the way that we were turned off by the distance. One also very important thing to us was that a Walmart was only about 10 minutes away and we were able to get almost everything we needed for our stay in 1 trip. This house had amazing proximity to everything and made traveling a breeze.

Another thing that we enjoyed was that the house was close to other houses/renters and we didn't feel too secluded, but it was peaceful enough that we still felt like we were isolated and away on our own vacation. The backyard grill and view were wonderful in achieving that feeling as well.

Overall, this house was absolutely everything we had hoped for and the owners were extremely nice and understanding as well as their friends that helped us who lived nearby. I do not have anything bad to say about my stay and would love to rent this home again in the future. I would rent any home owned by Barbara just because our experience dealing with her was so positive and outstanding.

Thank you for everything Barbara!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Disappointing Weekend

  • 1 of 5

The pictures on the site look beautiful, but renter beware, this property was filled with issues:

1) When we arrived the house smelled of stale smoke

2) The grill provided was filthy, we had to spend twenty minutes cleaning it before it could be used.

3) On night one, the batteries in the airc onditining control panel died, so we came home to a nice hot house

4) The owner advertises the fact that the basement TV has netflix, which is true and would have been great, if the wifi was strong enough in the basement for netflix to actually work

5) Then the topper, after the property manager inspected the house and told me everything "looked great" the owner withheld half of my security deposit.

Do you self a favor, avoid this house and these owners!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We'd like to address your complaints point by point: 1) We have a strict non-smoking policy. Had you mentioned an odor upon check-in, our property managers would have let you know that the carpets had been cleaned on August 15. Perhaps you smelled some residue from that? 2) Our apologies about the grill, it should have been checked and cleaned before your arrival. 3) We regret the a/c control failure. You brought this up at the exit walkthrough and informed our property managers that you used the TV remote batteries to replace them. We have added replacing these batteries to our property checklist. 4) The TV on the lower level is hardwired to the Internet router so the WIFI signal is not the issue. As an Internet-based service, the quality of the Netflix service can vary and is not something we can control. 5) This is an issue of latent damage. Neither you nor our property managers noticed during the exit walkthrough that there was a very wet section of the wood floor in the kitchen. As we explained in our communications with you, the flooring is permanently damaged and as a result we initially withheld one half your security deposit to cover repairs. Subsequently, our contractor advised us that any repair would be more noticeable than the current damage, and cost twice as much as we’d first anticipated. Therefore we have opted to live with the damage. On 9/1/16 we returned the balance of your security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

6 star rating for 2 bedroom condo in Queensbury

  • 5 of 5

It was very nice! Everything was clean and in good working order. I would highly recommend this nice condo for anyone interested in the Queensbury area. The location is perfect! Close to ski resorts- just down the street from West Mountain. It's close to Lake George and shopping areas and it's about only 10 minutes from the Northway. I would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our first home rental and I have to say it was amazing. The owners were nothing but helpful from beginning to end and the house itself was better in person then in the picture. This trip was nothing but memorable and we are deff making this house a yearly tradition.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Experience

  • 4 of 5

Nice clean and homey. Great location between Saratoga and Lake George, I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to enjoy a vacation in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideal location close to everything.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this comfy, roomy, well appointed townhouse in a peaceful neighborhood just 20 minutes from Saratoga Springs. The perfect place to stay when enjoying downtown Saratoga and the track. It's very clean, with parking directly in front of the property. Close to the outlets and Lake George. We loved it!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
48 Miles
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Haviland Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Route 87 (Northway)
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
West Mountain Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Lake George Village
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Queensbury Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Sep 12 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
May 23 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Security deposit $300

We require a $300 security deposit, which is fully refundable upon satisfactory inspection of the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Queensbury Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers