check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Quaint house on corner lot with charm. Private location makes this a must see!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Cape May House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths, 2 sleeper sofas, grill A/C washer & dryer

Great location in a quiet family neighborhood.  10 minute walk to the beach, less than 5 minutes on bicycle, or a minute in the car.

Very private with nice sized grass yard and patio to use our chairs and loungers.  Off-street parking for two cars and lots of on street parking since this a quiet neighborhood.

Large enclosed sun porch with screened windows all the way around plus a circulating fan to allow for great ocean breezes.  In the porch we provide comfortable heavy-duty patio chairs and a round table.  This is a great location for breakfast or relaxing after dinner.

There is a two car garage for you to store any toys or beach items, as well as an enclosed outdoor shower to clean up after the beach (we actually prefer it to taking a full shower outside, since it’s something you can’t do at home).  Inside the garage we provide a BBQ for you to enjoy.  There are many beach items such as chairs, beach toys, and umbrellas provided for your use, however we do not guarantee how many.  There are two children’s bikes (teen) and two adult bikes provided for a short ride to the beach or into town.

Inside the house you will find a nice size master bedroom with a king sized bed.  There are two large closets, tables, and multiple drawer units for you to put your clothes and personal items.  The second bedroom has a large closet, bedside table, drawer unit, and two twin beds.

There are two areas for lounging in the house.  There is the front living room that has a large L shape couch unit for lots of seating.  The couch has a fold out bed for extra guests.  There is a flat screen TV with Comcast cable and an AppleTV that includes Netflix.  

The rear living room also has a flat screen TV with Comcast cable and an AppleTV that includes Netflix, so if the kids want to watch something different, you have no problems.  There are side tables a drawer unit and fold-out couch.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to enjoy yourself and make food and drinks.  Some examples include large pots for crabs, blender, two toasters, storage containers, wine glasses, spices and condiments, coffee maker, Keurig machine as well as the basic knives, cooking tools, plates and silverware.  There is a fridge with ice maker, microwave, and dishwasher in the kitchen as well as a kitchen table and chairs.

Every room in the house has a ceiling fan to keep you comfortable and increase airflow if desired, as well as central air.

There are one and a half bathrooms in the house.  The main bathroom is handicapped equipped with a large walk in shower, handrails and a fold down seat.

Don’t bring too many clothes.  You can use the washer and dryer to keep your clothes clean and make packing lighter.

House is professionally cleaned in-between tenants.  Outside lawn and shrubs are maintained by a yard service.

Cape May is a great family town in all seasons.  Enjoy leisurely strolls to the beach, bike around town, walk to the harbor for a great dinner and do some shopping too.  Some of our favorite things to do are wine tasting at the two local wineries, cheese tasting at the cheese shop, visiting the wide variety of restaurants (from fine dining to casual) and getting pizza delivered to us on the beach at sunset.  If you like the water, there is a variety of things to do from whale watching to deep sea fishing.

There are several beaches in Cape May all with a different styles and feels.  You can check out Poverty beach with the large dunes and great views, go surfing or relax at the Cove with its tide pools, enjoy magnificent sunsets at Sunset Beach, enjoy world class bird watching and climbing the lighthouse at Lighthouse beach, check out Higgsbee Beach for a secluded desert island feel, or one of our favorites, drive up beach avenue in West Cape May and enjoy one of the quiet calm beaches overlooking the bay, then walk up to Harpoon Henry’s for a frozen drink and play some games in the sandy outside patio.

There are so many clubs, restaurants and bars around the area that there is something for everyone.  Many of the restaurants have outdoor seating (The Rusty Nail even has an outdoor  sandy beach), that there is something for everyone.  You will never run out of places to go and enjoy a sunset, drink in hand and some live music.

There are many events and festivals in Cape may throughout the year from beer festivals, dog parades, harvest festivals, restaurant weeks, Victorian Christmas, Christmas parades, July 4th fireworks, theatre festivals, nature center tours, lighthouse events, historical tours, bike rides, air festivals at the airport, surfing contests, fishing events,  art festivals, concerts, runs, car shows, beach movies, Celtic festival, Pirate day, art classes, TED talks, military events, Dragon boat races, antique and crafts events, strawberry festival, children’s events, dances, garden tours, house tours, bird watches, events at the Coast Guard Station, auctions, and lots more.

About the owner.

We bought the house after many years of visiting Cape May and falling in love with the town.  We bought the house so we would have a place for our children to make memories and for us to enjoy the tranquility and fun that Cape May has to offer.  We also made sure that the house was easily accessible for my older father who has trouble getting around.  This isn’t just an investment property, this is our house that we plan on keeping through retirement, so it is in great shape and well maintained.

Why Cape May.

Cape May offers a resort experience without resort headaches.  Cape May is one of only a few locations to see incredible sunsets over the water on the East Coast.  The town allows you to hide away and enjoy privacy, spend quality time with your family or get out and enjoy the great food, drink events, culture, and shopping that Cape May has to offer. Cape May is definitely a cut above your typical Jersey Shore town. It's quiet, family oriented, artsy and classy.

What makes this house unique.

It is extremely serene, quiet and private.  You are not on top of each other like you would find in downtown Cape May.  The beach is so close with life guards, beach showers, lots of parking and rest room facilities.  The house is decorated in a beach and ocean theme with lots of art to reflect the location.  This house truly is easy living at its best.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
Tina Loux
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Tina Loux

We bought the house after many years of visiting Cape May and falling in love with the town.  We bought the house so we would have a place for our children to make memories and for us to enjoy the tranquility and fun that Cape May has to offer.  We also made sure that the house was easily accessible for my older father who has trouble getting around.  This isn’t just an investment property, this is our house that we plan on keeping through retirement, so it is in great shape and well maintained.

Why Tina Loux chose South NJ Shore

Cape May offers a resort experience without resort headaches.  Cape May is one of only a few locations to see incredible sunsets over the water on the East Coast.  The town allows you to hide away and enjoy privacy, spend quality time with your family or get out and enjoy the great food, drink events, culture, and shopping that Cape May has to offer. Cape May is definitely a cut above your typical Jersey Shore town. It's quiet, family oriented, artsy and classy.

What makes this house unique

It is extremely serene, quiet and private.  You are not on top of each other like you would find in downtown Cape May.  The beach is so close with life guards, beach showers, lots of parking and rest room facilities.  The house is decorated in a beach and ocean theme with lots of art to reflect the location.  This house truly is easy living at its best.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Thanks Tina and Tim, we had a great stay. We had come down for our daughter's dance competition and as such unfortunately did not get a chance to enjoy the beaches or just ride the bikes around in the scenic neighborhood to our heart's content.



Again we had a lovely time and will hopefully be able to come again as a facility and enjoy your pristine beaches and the beauty of this region. My parents were visiting us from India and I am glad they got to see this beautiful beach town.



Thanks also for the wine bottle - we enjoyed it!!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Quaint house on corner lot with charm. Private location makes this a must see!
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews
5

Great Cape May vacation house for grandparents and grandkids

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay in this very functional bungalow with walk in shower and a WONDERFUL private screened in patio..The owner was always obliging and even let us come for a walk thru before we decided...would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

House was not as it was described by owner or by other reviewers

  • 1 of 5

Upon entering the house we were hit with a very musty wet carpet smell, it was quite overwhelming. We ended up changing out a very dirty air filter and putting glade plug ins in every room and it still didn't help. When we pulled out the sofa beds it was filthy underneath food, crumbs, lost items etc. there were also a lot of water stains on carpets where rug met with sofa like it had been flooded. The master bedroom smelled so bad that the smell permeated our clothing and when we got home we had to wash even our luggage. One of the sofa beds was completely broken and unusable as were the beach umbrellas, and the one adult size bike. The wifi didn't work while we were there at all. We entered the passcode correctly numerous times and it continued to kick us off saying the network was unsupported. There were also some amenities (pool and ping pong tables, bikes) that were listed with this property that were not there. I did notify the owner of the problems and she pretty much dismissed them and said she hadn't had other complaints...hmmm I wonder. We made the best of it but I would never rent from her again.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I almost don't want to respond as I don't want to give any give any legitimacy to this review. It offers comments that are hard to comprehend since they are so different from all other renter’s experiences. We've been renting this property for over 6 seasons and have always received positive comments. We provide our phone # for renters to contact us throughout the visit if they have questions.  We did not receive any contact from this renter during their stay. If there were issues we would have immediately had someone take care of anything needed.  - The carpets are commercially shampooed prior to the season. A professional cleaning service fully cleans the house in between tenants. We've had the same service for many years, if there was ever a problem they would contact us immediately. - This renter may have some extremely unusual issues with smell. The A/C is left on a higher setting in between as well as a whole house attic fan, so there is airflow in the house. - If there were items under the couch, I suppose it could happen. The cleaners move furniture when vacuuming, but dont move a large couch several feet to pick up everything under the couch unless they were doing an end of season or beginning of season cleaning. We are unsure why this renter would have completely moved the couch to look under it. - There are multiple umbrellas in the garage. They are our umbrellas and we tell renters they can use them if they would like. We offer them as a courtesy (along with lounge chairs, beach chairs, games, recliners, BBQ, and more). One of several umbrellas broke during the previous season.  - The WIFI is a simple Comcast wireless router. It has instructions and passwords printed on the bottom of it by Comcast.  Perhaps they were trying to connect to a neighbor's network.  - There are 4 bikes. Two adult and two children’s bicycles.  I am not sure if they didn’t like the bikes , or expected more of them. They are more than adequate for riding to the beach or in to town. - A previous tenant damaged the pool table/ping pong table by moving it outside in the rain. It is not able to be repaired.  - We use the property a few times a year when it is not rented. We always perform maintenance and make sure everything is in good shape during those visits. We want the house to remain in good condition (it is our house after all), and take great care with it. It appears that this renter may have problems where ever they rent.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Very Clean and Inviting home with a great deal of amenities

  • 5 of 5

My children and I went for a week and we couldn't have been happier. The house is very clean and just the right size for us. The walk to the beach was nice(the beach passes were much appreciated). Ms. Loux goes above and beyond in the care of her home and makes sure her renters are taken care of. Would definitely rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. I'm so glad to know that you and your children enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lilburn, GA
5

Our family get together

  • 5 of 5

This vacation home was everything that our family could have asked for. It was clean, and very well stocked with supplies that we needed. We had 8 adults staying there and all of the beds were made, the bathroom linens supplied as requested and the kitchen was ready for us to use. It was close enough to the beach to satisfy my sun loving family, and close enough to the main boardwalk after a short ride. We had spent the greater part of our lives enjoying Cape May until our move to GA. in 1978 and since then there have been some great improvements to the town of Cape May. Overall, this vacation rental made our trip very enjoyable. And, yes, I would recommend it to my friends if they ever wanted to travel to the Jersey Coast.

Jane A

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jane - Thank you so very much for your review. I'm so happy that you had such a great time with your family and friends. I look forward to your return. We are accepting 2016 reservations now.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at this home in Cape May. The house was clean, and everything was in working order. It is a great place for families and kids. Our favorite part was the back porch, and it was great to get a nice breeze out there. We were attracted to this house in particular because it had a yard, and the kids had fun playing kickball out there. It's nice having all the space. We have no complaints, and would definitely rent this house again. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! So glad you and your family had a fantastic vacation. Yes, the back porch is our favorite place to be too. We hope you can return soon! We are booking for the 2014 season now.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Clean, Homey, Spacious!

  • 5 of 5

This house is in a very quiet neighborhood, a few minute bike ride to the beach. Evening walks around the neighborhood were wonderful. The den and the screened in porch make the house feel very spacious. We loved sitting on the porch as there was usually a breeze. The owners have included bikes and a nice gas grill, and the house has all the furnishings to make it comfortable and easy to live in. You rarely find a rental with a king sized bed, this was a huge plus! Nice neighbors too!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Caroline, Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and look forward to your return! Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Cape May is known for it's lovely beaches, great surfing, award winning restaurants, and quaint small town atmosphere. Ride your bike all over town, go wine tasting, go shopping and end the day at beautiful Sunset Beach looking for Cape May diamonds. Nearby attractions include the Cape May Zoo (which has free admission) and whale watching boat tours.

Our home has been masterfully renovated to provide you with the finest beach vacation experience!

Other Activities: The Cape May Nature Center is just a short bike ride away form the house and well worth the visit. It is free too! It's a great place to bird watch, sit on their deck and enjoy a cup of coffee and to rent a kayak or participate in their children's programs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape May House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning Fee $100

1. Smoking is NOT allowed even on the porch.
2. People other than those in the Guest party set forth above may not stay overnight in the property. Any other person in the property is the sole responsibility of Guest.
3. The house is privately owned; the owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries or illness that occurs while on the premises, its facilities, or use of it's amenities.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cape May House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Outside Shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • Please note that you must supply your own sheets/bed linens unless you wish to take advantage of the Linen service for an additional cost of $150 per week. Linen service includes bedding, sheets, kitchen and bath towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Sofa bed in front living room - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Sofa bed in back den - 1 double
  • Please note that you must supply your own sheets/bed linens unless you wish to take advantage of the Linen service for an additional cost of $150 per week. Linen service includes bedding, sheets, kitchen and bath towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 4 bicycles
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Bed linens and towels are available for an extra fee of $150 per week.

Partner Offers