Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Contemporary 'Castle in the Sky' on 15 Acres

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Large Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Escape to the timeless beauty of nature while spoiling yourself with all the comfort and convenience of your modern lifestyle. Relax, restore, rejuvenate, rejoice!

Travel the well-kept dirt road to your secluded country retreat on 15 acres at the base of Greylock Mountain. This contemporary high-end unit is one of two in Our Castle in the Sky. On the left side as you face the house (see photo of exterior), you'll find a 2 bedroom, 2 bath vacation condo fit for fun or retreat.. One of our sisters, Joanne, an international interior designer, lives on the other side. Often traveling the four corners of the Earth, Jo's favorite moment is always coming back to the beauty, peace and quiet of Lanesboro.

The house was designed by a renowned architect as a kind of contemporary cathedral. One of the goals was to make each side independent. He succeeded brilliantly as each condo is devinely private. Once inside your condo, you'll feel truly alone in the world--a 'secret garden', of sorts!

Nestled at the base of the mountain and spanning a brook, the house has two decks: you can enjoy your morning on the private back deck listening to nature's bird song, go hiking or snow shoeing right out the back door and relax with the sun setting over the mountain views, enjoy outdoor dining and barbecues on the front deck.

Rental Details: Spacious, well-designed rooms organized around a central living room with cathedral ceilings and a suspended circular fireplace. Stunning views from each and every window (and there are a number of them!) Wood floors throughout. The master bedroom, just next to one bathroom, has a king bed and flat screen television. The second bedroom, just opposite the second bathroom, has a queen bed and daybed with pull-out trundle. The full eat-in kitchen not only has a dishwasher, full size refrigerator, microwave, electric stove and oven, separate vegetable sink and two work areas, it also has a cathedral ceiling and windows. It's a lovely place not only to prepare and share meals, but to admire the majesty of nature.

High-quality washer and dryer, Jacuzzi, 2 decks, private parking.

All linens are organic. All cleaning products are natural.

Also available: Fully stocked refrigerator to your specs. Regularly restocked at your convenience. Chef services available if booked in advance. Relaxation therapies and massage services available.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Joanne and Jeanne Riley
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Joanne and Jeanne Riley

The home was built in 1973 by The Riley's. They custom designed it along with a noted architect. It was their dream for many years to move from Long Island to 'the country'. They bought 144 acres, built the dream house, and moved to the beautiful Berkshires with their six children. After all the kids moved on to their own lives the house was much too big for two people so it was split it half, hence we have a rental unit. There is a magical feel to 'The Castle' on the hill. Maybe because of the river that runs underneath it or the serenity around it or the view from the large cathedral-like windows...

We call it the castle because when the younger children went to school that's what their friends called it.... 'oh you live in that white castle on the hill'.

Now it is entrusted to the six children who recently renovated it for a rental income and keep half for their own vacation place. Everything about the land speaks of timelessness and a happy dream come true.

Why Joanne and Jeanne Riley chose Lanesborough

The house is as stunningly beautiful and peaceful as the nature that surrounds it. Being at the base of Mount Greylock is a real is being part of the Berkshire. Not only does nature abound here, it is an area loaded with art and culture--theatre, concerts, museums. It doesn't matter what you like to do, you will find it in the Berkshires...all year long.

What makes this condo unique

The most unique benefits of Our Castle in the Sky are the stream that runs under the living room, the circular fireplace, a wonderful eat-in, work-in, light-filled kitchen, spacious bedrooms equipped with high-quality bedding and two wonderful outdoor decks to vary the ambiances. The house's architecture is as exceptional as the height, the sound and the beauty of the trees.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was very comfy for our family visit. We loved watching the chipmunks play! Beautiful setting besides the rain.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 31


Lanesborough Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , double-sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , jetted tub , Sink
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , high-quality bedding and organic sheets
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , single beds are trundle; high-quality bedding, organic sheet
  • King size beds (1) Brand new, Queen size Beds (1) Brand new, Twin or Single Beds (1) Brand new
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Organic Towels & Sheets, Secluded Setting, Quiet on 15 Acres, Housekeeping Services Available, Organic Healthful Weekly Grocery Packages Available, Hiking Right From Your Back Door, House Spans Over Brook, Wood Floors, Flat Screen TV, Vegetable Sink, Eat In Kitchen, Relaxation Therapies Available, Cleaning Products are Natural, Gardens, Smashing Views


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
18% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Contemporary 'Castle in the Sky' on 15 Acres
average rating of 4.763158 based on 69 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful long weekend skiing with the kids at nearby Jiminy Peak. The house was comfy, warm and perfect for our 3 adults and two children. Owners were easy to communicate with and all went well! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed Lanesboro! Thanks so much for the review and we hope you come back soon:-) All the best, Joanne and the Riley's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for family

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5 stayed for three nights and felt the house had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings of the whole house were very quaint and cozy. The fireplace and windows really add to the charm of the house.

Certain areas of the house were a little drafty but the house had 10 heating zones so we were able to adjust the heat were needed for those areas.

Overall very nice and we would definitely stay again.

The owners made the process very easy as well (quick to respond).

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing, Meaghan. We enjoyed having you as a guest and we're glad you had a great stay! We're also glad that you were comfy warm with the zoned heating system in this cold winter weather. We'll look into the drafty areas to see if we can further improve comfort! We look forward to having you stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Castle in the Sky. The owners made everything feel very warm and welcoming and we very much appreciated it! We skied at Jiminy Peak nearby and had the fire to cozy up to each evening. The place was neat, clean and felt like home. Thank you Joanne and Jeanne! and, Happy New Year!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad your time at Our Castle was a wondrous one. We loved having you as guests! Best wishes for 2018, Joanne and Jeanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous and comfortable respite

  • 5 of 5

Spent three relaxing days and nights. Great location with easy access to hiking. House was very comfortable, clean and cozy with all the necessities and then some. A completely positive experience!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!!! It was lovely meeting you all! Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday to spend in the Berkshires and especially at the castle. Please come and stay again soon:-) Until soon, Joanne and all the Riley's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A real haven

  • 4 of 5

We traveled with my in-laws and had a wonderful one night tay at Castle in the Sky.

My only regret is that we stayed only for one night, and arrived late, so we didn't get a chance to fully enjoy the place. The grounds are beautiful, as well as the house. Since arriving in total darkness, we couldn't really see anything, which made waking up in the morning and seeing the glorious views all the more spectacular.

Unfortunately, I didn't read the email from the hosts, and planned to rely on the Homeaway app - wrong move. The house info available on the app hasn't been updated in a while, and there is bad cell reception so you can't always get online. The info on the app for example re wifi was incorrect; I was also looking for info on using the fireplace. Eventually had to call Jeanne late at night; regardless she was super friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We have since updated the password for the wifi on the app,which was not updated on the app when you had arrived and you did not notice the instructions on the kitchen tack board. I apologize for that. We had updated the WiFi system so it's a full signal everywhere on the property. However, if you're not on it,sometimes AT&T does not work well there. It seems that all the other carriers do just fine. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back and stay for longer. Joanne and all the Rileys
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Perfect Get Away in the Berkshires

  • 5 of 5

Don't know about a "castle in the sky," but this proved to be a palatial and idyllic get away place for the two of us. Ensconced in the woods and yet within easy access of all that makes the Berkshires a rustic yet culturally rich destination; call it what you wish, but there's no question that this is a one of kind of a place. If we are reluctant to shower it with too many superlatives and from highlighting all its individual pluses, it's because we don't want it to gain such popularity and demand that we will find it unavailable the next time we will want to get away from our urban hubbub, without giving up any comfort and amenities of modern living. We came to visit the Berkshires, but developed such a liking for the house that we actually looked forward to getting back in the evening to sit and refuel in its cozy surroundings. We also found ourselves lingering over our morning coffee and just taking in the surrounding scenery and its tranquility. We found nothing lacking and Joanne was readily available to answer any questions that we had. This house is a logical "go-to" destination to decompress and and to leave all life worries behind from the moment that you cross the threshold. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words!! We are delighted you came and enjoyed yourselves. We cannot wait to see you again!!! Until soon, Joanne and all the RIley's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Powder Hounds Restaurant
John Harvards Restaurant & Bar
This is recommended by visiters, but I have not been there:-)
Lenox Coffee
This is recommended by visiters, but I have not been there:-)
Old Forge Restaurant
Fun, Casual, American food
Country Village at Jiminy Peak
Skyline Country Club
Berkshire Museum
The Colonial Theatre
Lee Premium Outlets
Jiminy Peak Mountain Resort
Ioka Valley Farm
Great place to visit for fall family festivities.
Bousquet Ski Area
Berkshire Mall (Food Court)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Old Forge Tavern; Coyote Den
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Brodie, Lanesboro; Wabeeka Springs, Williamstown
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Rte. 7
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Old Forge/Zucchini's/Powder Hounds, Hancock, Ma
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Jiminy Peak, Hancock, Ma
Car: necessary

Locally there is a plethora of fun and relaxation to be had. Including:

Zip line,kayaking, canoeing, yoga, massage, spa services.

Restaurants, organic markets and supermarkets are within a to 10 mile distance of our house--a 4 to 15 minute drive, depending on your choice--and choice there is! So enjoy!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $25

All rates are variable by night and by season.

Cancellation policy: If we re-rent your week to others at the same price then we will refund your deposit in full (minus bank charges).
If not there are no refunds. Thanks for understanding that we are serious about keeping our place at its best!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties