check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Contemporary 'Castle in the Sky' on 15 Acres

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights

Description

Lanesborough Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Large Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Escape to the timeless beauty of nature while spoiling yourself with all the comfort and convenience of your modern lifestyle. Relax, restore, rejuvenate, rejoice!

Travel the well-kept dirt road to your secluded country retreat on 15 acres at the base of Greylock Mountain. This contemporary high-end unit is one of two in Our Castle in the Sky. On the left side as you face the house (see photo of exterior), this unit is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath vacation condo that is fit for fun or retreat.. One of our sisters, Joanne, an international interior designer, lives on the other side. Often traveling the four corners of the Earth, Jo's favorite moment is always coming back to the beauty, peace and quiet of Lanesboro.

The house was designed by a renowned architect as a kind of contemporary cathedral. One of the goals was to make each side independent. He succeeded brilliantly as each condo is devinely private. Once inside your condo, you'll feel truly alone in the world--a 'secret garden', of sorts!

Nestled at the base of the mountain and spanning a brook, the house has two decks: you can enjoy your morning on the private back deck listening to nature's bird song, go hiking or snow shoeing right out the back door and relax with the sun setting over the mountain views, enjoy outdoor dining and barbecues on the front deck.

Rental Details: Spacious, well-designed rooms organized around a central living room with cathedral ceilings and a suspended circular fireplace. Stunning views from each and every window (and there are a number of them!) Wood floors throughout. The master bedroom, just next to one bathroom, has a king bed and flat screen television. The second bedroom, just opposite the second bathroom, has a queen bed and daybed with pull-out trundle. The full eat-in kitchen not only has a dishwasher, full size refrigerator, microwave, electric stove and oven, separate vegetable sink and two work areas, it also has a cathedral ceiling and windows. It's a lovely place not only to prepare and share meals, but to admire the majesty of nature.

High-quality washer and dryer, Jacuzzi, 2 decks, private parking.

All linens are organic. All cleaning products are natural.

Also available: Fully stocked refrigerator to your specs. Regularly restocked at your convenience. Chef services available if booked in advance. Relaxation therapies and massage services available.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Joanne and Jeanne Riley
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2016
Call Owner

About Joanne and Jeanne Riley

The home was built in 1973 by The Riley's. They custom designed it along with a noted architect. It was their dream for many years to move from Long Island to 'the country'. They bought 144 acres, built the dream house, and moved to the beautiful Berkshires with their six children. After all the kids moved on to their own lives the house was much too big for two people so it was split it half, hence we have a rental unit. There is a magical feel to 'The Castle' on the hill. Maybe because of the river that runs underneath it or the serenity around it or the view from the large cathedral-like windows...

We call it the castle because when the younger children went to school that's what their friends called it.... 'oh you live in that white castle on the hill'.

Now it is entrusted to the six children who recently renovated it for a rental income and keep half for their own vacation place. Everything about the land speaks of timelessness and a happy dream come true.

Why Joanne and Jeanne Riley chose Berkshires

The house is as stunningly beautiful and peaceful as the nature that surrounds it. Being at the base of Mount Greylock is a real privilege...as is being part of the Berkshire. Not only does nature abound here, it is an area loaded with art and culture--theatre, concerts, museums. It doesn't matter what you like to do, you will find it in the Berkshires...all year long.

What makes this condo unique

The most unique benefits of Our Castle in the Sky are the stream that runs under the living room, the circular fireplace, a wonderful eat-in, work-in, light-filled kitchen, spacious bedrooms equipped with high-quality bedding and two wonderful outdoor decks to vary the ambiances. The house's architecture is as exceptional as the height, the sound and the beauty of the trees.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The place was great to stay, so homey and comfy. I'd come back again.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 27

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Contemporary 'Castle in the Sky' on 15 Acres
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 50 reviews
Groton, Connecticut
5

Great getaway in the Berkshires

  • 5 of 5

The house is exactly as described, it was a quiet and relaxing retreat in the mountains. Mt. Greylock is right around the corner, so there's lots of great hiking trails and scenic views of the Berkshires practically on your doorstep. The house was well-stocked with everything we needed, and our pup loved the huge front yard!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope you come again!!! Love and light, The Riley's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean and well stocked with challenges

  • 3 of 5

Great location and great views. The outside is private and beautifully landscaped. The house is quite old and the renovations seemed slipshod. Beds were comfortable and kitchen had good amenities but the layout of the kitchen was awkward and hard to move around. There are two bathrooms but only one shower and the bathroom door is cheap and hard to open. The windows are old and difficult to work and the living room furniture is uncomfortable. The WIFI is weak and cuts out constantly. We wouldn't go back.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We were quite surprised by some of your comments because we have all 5 star reviews. We were mostly surprised because you never contacted us regarding any issues you were having. You did not even mention anything when I briefly met you to ask if it was OK to measure the very large windows that we will be replacing, not because they are ugly or broken, but because we are energy conscious and need thermapane windows. We definitely would have addressed any internet issues. Sometimes boxes need to be reset or something quite simple. I run an international company and often work from that location with ease when I am in the area. The sectional is a $6,000.00 Taylor King Leather piece. We have it because we owned furniture stores and wanted to have the best quality for our guests. It is  a comfy sofa, not as structured as some. In the living room, there is also an upholstered chair which is quite structured, providing for a variety of tastes. We will have to check the bathroom doors to see which one and exactly what you are referring to. The people staying now are staying for the fourth year in a row and are back for three weeks because it is their happy place!! We do like to keep the property up. Built in the early 70s, this house is architecturally a dream. Spending time in a house that is spanned over a small creek and that lifts you to the sky with the expanse of the windows is a unique experience. The renovations are well suited to the design and use.  The bathroom fixtures are all Kohler or American Standard. As well as the shower, the Jacuzzi tub, with a 36" high waterfall spout, hits the spot when relaxation is called for. The kitchen is designed along professional lines, one side for food preparation, from fridge to vegetable sink to stove and oven. The other side is for clean-up: a large sink and dishwasher. In between lies the spacious and convivial dining table. The separation of the two work areas is not only hygienic but is great for teamwork and whatever side of the kitchen you're on, you're always looking out the window. Thanks again for letting us know where improvement may be needed. We hope anyone staying with us will feel free to text, call or email us at the time they may be having issues, as our goal at the Castle is to allow people to appreciate the beauty around, both inside and out. The Riley family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Property with a central location!

  • 5 of 5

The property owners could not have made this, my first VRBO, experience any better. Was touring through the area and needed something last minute and they worked well (responded to many emails) in helping me get into the property quickly and without a hitch. The pictures online don't do it justice in conveying what a comfortable space this is to relax after a day long exploring the area. It is close to New York and especially the small quaint towns of Southern Vermont and is an easy drive to any areas in the general vicinity. While it fortunately didn't happen to me, if you had a rain day on your Holiday and were stuck inside this would be the property to do it in. Thanks Again! Steve B.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steve, It was a pleasure having you stay! We're delighted you were able to discover the beauty and tranquility of our house and its setting. We hope you'll come again! Best wishes, Joanne and Jeanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brooklyn, NY
5

Beautiful house in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The house was beautiful, clean and well appointed. The windows in the living room looking out into the woods felt like we were living in a tree house. The bed in the master bedroom was super comfortable. Our little dog loved running around in the yard and playing in the woods.

Great hiking a few miles away at Mt. Greylock.

Jeanie and Joanne were wonderful hosts. Very nice and responsive.

We definitely plan on coming back and would highly recommend the Castle.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House & Very Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Castle. The design of the home was so nice and we felt right at home. Everything was very clean, neat and comfortable including the beds. Location and property were great as well and we were able to stay with our lil dog which enjoyed running around outside.

All in all I would absolutely recommend the home to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for coming! The castle is special:-) Hope you come again:-) Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Queens, NY
5

Another wonderful stay at the Castle

  • 5 of 5

This was our third visit to the Castle and we had another wonderful time. Despite having missed peak season the trees still hung to color, Halloween preparations were in abundance in this peaceful slice of the Berkshires, and the Old Forge, a great neighborhood tavern, was celebrating Oktoberfest. The house itself was a joy, and Joanne's hospitality much welcomed and appreciated. We'll come again.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We love having you:-) All the best, Joanne and Jeanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Powder Hounds Restaurant
John Harvards Restaurant & Bar
"This is recommended by visiters, but I have not been there:-)"
Lenox Coffee
"This is recommended by visiters, but I have not been there:-)"
Old Forge Restaurant
"Fun, Casual, American food"
Country Village at Jiminy Peak
Skyline Country Club
Berkshire Museum
The Colonial Theatre
SHIRO LOUNGE
Tanglewood Music Center
Lee Premium Outlets
Jiminy Peak
Ioka Valley Farm
"Great place to visit for fall family festivities. "
Bousquet Ski Area
Berkshire Mall (Food Court)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Old Forge Tavern; Coyote Den
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Brodie, Lanesboro; Wabeeka Springs, Williamstown
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Rte. 7
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Jiminy Peak, Hancock, Ma
Car: necessary

Locally there is a plethora of fun and relaxation to be had. Including:

Zip line,kayaking, canoeing, yoga, massage, spa services

Rates & Availability

Lanesborough Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 2 2016 - Mar 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$850
$2,995
 
 
March 2017
Mar 6 2017 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$125
From
$149
Fri,Sat
$795
 
 
April 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$120
From
$140
Fri,Sat
$745
$1,950
 
 
May 2017
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$810
$2,200
 
 
June 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$140
From
$189
Fri,Sat
$915
$2,500
 
 
July 2-7, 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 7 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,080
 
 
July 8-28, 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 28 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
July 29-August 4, 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
August 5-September 1, 2017
Aug 5 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
September 2-5, 2017
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
From
$210
Sat,Sun
 
 
September 6-30, 2017
Sep 6 2017 - Sep 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$145
From
$180
Fri,Sat
$895
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $110

All rates are variable by night and by season.

Cancellation policy: If we re-rent your week to others at the same price then we will refund your deposit in full (minus bank charges).
If not there are no refunds. Thanks for understanding that we are serious about keeping our place at its best!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lanesborough Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , double-sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , jetted tub , Sink
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , high-quality bedding and organic sheets
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , single beds are trundle; high-quality bedding, organic sheet
  • King size beds (1) Brand new, Queen size Beds (1) Brand new, Twin or Single Beds (1) Brand new
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Organic Towels & Sheets, Secluded Setting, Quiet on 15 Acres, Housekeeping Services Available, Organic Healthful Weekly Grocery Packages Available, Hiking Right From Your Back Door, House Spans Over Brook, Wood Floors, Flat Screen TV, Vegetable Sink, Eat In Kitchen, Relaxation Therapies Available, Cleaning Products are Natural, Gardens, Smashing Views

Partner Offers