Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Secluded Retreat With Many Amenities

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom 2 bathroom house sleeps 6 near Sebago Lake attractions

1st floor has private bedroom and bathroom, open kitchen and den with wood stove. Ground floor den area is adorned with custom wood windows and features a spiral custom wood staircase that leads to 2nd floor open den with sleep sofa and large flat screen TV. Beyond the den is walk in closet, bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and reading parlor. Large walk in closet and stairs to loft bedroom with private balcony. Property features wood sauna, hot tub, fire pit, horse shoe pit, outdoor shower, BBQ and almost 2.4 wooded acres. Also included is Wifi and cable television. Premise is non-smoking

More Details

Owner
Josh and Gayle Genn
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Josh and Gayle Genn

We traveled 6 hours to view property and returned three times thereafter to marvel at it before we purchased it from the original owner, a local artist who built the house and viewed it as a work of art. We hope to continue his vision and share his passion for the intertwining of both a unique architectural structure and nature.

Josh and Gayle Genn purchased this house in 2015

Why Josh and Gayle Genn chose Sebago Lakes Region

This quiet, relaxing home is perfect for families, couples or friends seeking to find a peaceful getaway in a secluded, picturesque setting. The home is great for unwinding after an active day of Maine Life, recharging your personal batteries, reading or writing your next novel, painting or just dreaming. It is close to all seasonal amenities be it hiking the trails, cycling, all water sports and fishing on Lake Sebago, Winter sports include snowmobiling, cross country and down hill skiing. Property is just 5 minutes from Sebago Lake State Park.

Amenities

Casco House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • ground floor private bathroom with shower, upstairs has shower plus Jaccuzzi tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Secluded Retreat With Many Amenities
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
4

Beautiful Contemporary Style Home.

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable with lots of choice areas to relax both inside and out. The setting is very woodsy, private and quiet. The huge windows and spiral staircase made this a very unique home. We didn’t have any problems with air conditioning or lighting. A five-minute ride to Kettle Cove Marina made renting a boat for a few days very easy. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enchanting, Unusual House in the Woods

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoys unusual houses, so overall we were really pleased with the artist's retreat. It has two family living areas, which suited our family of four, since sometimes the kids wanted to do one thing while the adults did something else. The large bathroom on the second floor is also quite a treat, with a large Jacuzzi bathtub and a giant window that lets in abundant light. There is a great stash of games in the second-floor family room. Our girls enjoyed hours of fun playing a couple of them.

We appreciated how well-equipped the place is, with hair dryers in both bathrooms and a washer and dryer. There is a lovely fire pit for relaxing and enjoying s'mores, as well as a hot tub, which is great under the stars.

I will echo what other reviewers have said, which is that the cleaners are not always doing the best job on this house. Mainly, it's the abundant knick-knacks that are not getting dusted and thus make the house look dusty. My recommendation would be to lose the fake-flower arrangements and other unnecessary items from the decor. They don't enhance the house, take up needed space, and don't get cleaned enough. My other recommendation would be to get all of the windows working so they can be opened, especially in the bedrooms, and provide a fan for each bedroom rather than unit air conditioners. The AC units are loud, prohibiting sleep, and one of Maine's big attractions for us is the fresh air.

We didn't find the ladder to the 3rd-floor bedroom much of an impediment. The ladder has pretty wide steps, so for people who are reasonably fit and at least 4' or taller, it's not a deal breaker. I can see where it would be an issue for young children or individuals who struggle with stairs. The 3rd-floor bedroom is the most picturesque bedroom: light, airy and really beautiful. All in all, this is a very interesting home that makes you feel like you're nestled in nature, and just five minutes away from a state park beach on Sebago Lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice home, nice wooded lot, nice location.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed the house. It was clean upon our arrival, and had no issues like those stated below in the reviews. the lights were well labeled, so we had no problem figuring out which switch was for which light. I do wish it had been a little brighter in the kitchen, though. One thing we didn't realize was that the 2nd bedroom is not only up the spiral staircase, but then you must climb a ladder to get up to the actual bedroom. It was fine for our group for the most part (one small mishap), but if you're not very mobile this may not be the house for you (or plan to only use the downstairs bedroom/bathroom). Overall, it was very quiet and we really enjoyed the home, fire pit, and hot tub!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great, relaxing house with a sweet outdoor hot tub and plenty of space.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay last weekend and made great use out of the huge fire pit, amazingly comfortable hot tub and plenty of space for multiple lawn games. The owner made it super easy to coordinate everything and we had a great day Saturday at Songo beach which is about 5-10 minutes away at the state park. It was gorgeous out and we had the whole beach to ourselves for most of the day. I definitely would like to come back in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and apparently the weather helped make Maine a choice destination. We can't take credit for the weather but pledge to do everything we can to make your stay memorable. Warmest regards Josh and Gayle
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not as good as portrayed

  • 2 of 5

The property was portrayed as an excellent near-luxury house on a beautiful plot of land. The land around the house is beautiful, but there were no comfortable chairs and no chaise lounges or even a hammock. Inside was a nice but not fabulous house filled with a polyglot of used furniture and trinkets and an electrical system (switches for lights) that would challenge an electrical engineer. Eating arrangements were cramped. The two bathrooms were small and inconvenient. The crowning touch: the loft bedroom, which was air conditioned by the loudest window unit I have ever heard, was reachable only by a 90-degree step ladder that was scary to use. I believe that to warrant the rent being charged, the owners should rewire and renovate, replace the step ladder with an inclined one, and put comfortable furniture outside.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The property was purchased last year and numerous improvements have been made and there are additional upgrades planned for the future. Brand new hot tub, furniture for 2nd floor, 1st floor bedroom air conditioning, dryer water and air filtration, bbq. The electric switches are somewhat confusing and we are doing our best to correct that. Thank you for your feedback
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Overall not worth the price paid/Unclean

  • 3 of 5

Unfortunately I was very disappointed in my vacation at this property. We arrived an were immediately stifled by the heat . Not one window was opened and only two windows actually had screens in the windows and ac units were only in bedrooms. The cleaning people barely touched the place...dog hair was everywhere and my daughter immediately started sneezing and ended up having to leave... The oven did not work and had not been cleaned in months. We had to go out to dinner most nights and ended up having to bring home food we brought . The track lights above the island where you eat were so dusty, and the black canvas seats on the director chairs were covered in pet dander and old food. We contacted the owner who sounded sincere and did try to help by sending us a gift certificate for dinner but we had hoped for some type of refund since our vacation was ruined by uncleanliness and my daughters could not stay with us. If he is paying cleaning people to clean then he is getting ripped off. I would not recommend this property to anyone who likes a clean house. I still get the heeby Jeebies thinking about it. The only bright light was the hot tub but it was 100 degrees outside so that was not enjoyable at this time of the year.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Regrettably you had a bad experience. Immediately upon arrival you contacted me with a myriad of complaints. Given the opportunity to not stay and get a full refund which you declined I sent you a generous gift certificate for which you expressed gratitude. In an effort to provide quality vacations the cleaning service, which we hired this year due to dissatisfaction with the prior company, had left just prior to their arrival. Most homes in Maine do not have A/C but 2 weeks prior to their arrival purchased a new unit for the downstairs b/r. Additionally this year we purchased all new furniture for 2nd floor, new wood stove, new hot tub, new dryer, coffee table and much more. The cleaning service is the most highly rated in Lake Sebago Region and I forwarded a report of complaint to them. I always have gone beyond what is common place to satisfy guests but it is quite unfair to insist on getting a refund post stay when you could have requested one upon arrival. I didn't write any of the reviews posted but overwhelmingly they were favorable and I will continue to offer favorable experiences to our guests. As to the pricing it is based on comparable vacation rental homes in the vicinity that comfortably sleep 6.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 9.0%

Pets allowed only with prior consent of owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties