check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Sleep in unique bunkbeds & stare at majestic Damascus Peak 15 miles away in NC!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

Description

Blue Ridge Cabin Rental Photos and Description

The Bunkhouse has the COOLEST AND MOST UNIQUE BUNKBEDS east of the Mississippi!!

Want to visit the Old West? Don’t have time to travel over 1500 miles? Then rent the Bunkhouse at Damascus Ranch. Located near Blue Ridge in the North Georgia mountains, the Bunkhouse is a new 2 story 2 BR 2 full bath log cabin nestled in the woods. It is real close to the Cohutta Wilderness Area and Chattahoochee National Forest, and provides the most peaceful setting you have ever experienced.

Follow the directions that will be included with your Booking Confirmation to Damascus Trail. Go up the hill past the 14-stall stable and note the beautiful ten-mile view of the Cohutta Mountains seen over the stable roof. Continue past the old ranch mansion and through the woods to your adorable western-style home. It is all yours for the next few days. While it has beds for 6, another can use the comfy couch if someone would get left behind. The Bunkhouse is perfect for families, couples, friends…YOU!

Walk over the bridge, take off your muddy boots and enter the Old West. The Bunkhouse has lots of modern conveniences like a kitchen with tons of gadgets & service for 8, a gas log fireplace, flat-screen TV’s…even HDMI for you gamers! But you won’t notice, because you will be staring at the spectacular view of Damascus Peak. You will think it is painted on the family room windows.

The owner really fixed up the place…a horse singletree on the wall, a cowhide on the floor, and an antique water bucket with rope hanging from the ceiling. At night the bucket provides mood lighting not water. Yep, the boss thought of everything. Nobody that comes ever wants to leave!

Try to imagine tossing that bucket down a well and hauling it back up with water. Today you can fetch a jar from the kitchen and crank a faucet on to quench your thirst. Yes, sir…indoor plumbing! Put in when the old outhouse burned down. Even installed a full bath on the first floor for when you’re plum tuckered out and can’t walk upstairs.

Watch out for the Canadian goose landing when you climb the steps to the bedrooms. Check out the upstairs full bath with tub and gently touch the buffalo hide hanging in the hallway.

Now about them bedrooms! Everybody loves the one at the end of the hall! Not another like it east of the Mississippi. The bottom twins are XL for you taller trail blazers. The tenderfoots in your posse get the other BR. It has a queen bed with fancy slick sheets and a white fallow deer to guard them at night.

After you have put your stuff away, try out the Bunkhouse cypress swings. Feel the fresh mountain air cool your face while you enjoy the 10-mile mountain view and the rolling pastures. If you time it right – horses might be grazing in the field.

…Or rest your bones on the back porch and enjoy the same view. Might be a great time to climb in the inviting and soothing hot tub calling your name.

…Or rock on the front porch next to the empty brandy barrel (sorry) while listening to the birds. Keep your eyes open for Woody! If you don’t, don’t worry, that noisy critter will wake you.

…Or play horseshoes or darts, take a walk to enjoy nature, etc.

As the sun goes down, use the free wood provided to start a fire in the fire pit. Claim a rock, and relive the day and plan tomorrow. Cook up some grub over the fire with the Bunkhouse skewers…or use the grill on the front porch. Enjoy the outdoors! Food tastes better there – especially when eaten at the picnic table.

Try to relax at the Bunkhouse! Turn off them new-fangled electronics. But if you fail, we have high-speed Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s, DVD/CD players, etc. And if ET wants to call home, we get good cell phone reception.

So come’on you city slickers! Take off your suit and saddle up your Mustang…or whatever will get you here! Go West, cowboy…all the way to the North Georgia mountains that is. Enjoy a taste of the Old West at the Bunkhouse at Damascus Ranch!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Dan Kasal
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2016

About Dan Kasal

I'm an old Iowa farm boy that spent too many years as a chemical engineer in the Northeast before moving to the North Georgia mountains in 2012. I fell in love with this location because of the people and scenery. So I bought some land and the Bunkhouse.

Dan Kasal purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Dan Kasal chose North Georgia Mountains

The bunk bedroom is the most unique room I...and many others...have ever seen. Everyone loves it! So I decorated the rest of the Bunkhouse in an antique western decor to complement those custom-built bunk beds. After living in the Bunkhouse for almost a year, I moved to the other side of the property to the house I had built. Don't worry...you will barely see my house and I won't bother you during your visit...but I am available if I can help you in any way! So come enjoy the paradise I have found in the North Georgia mountains. You'll be glad you did!

What makes this cabin unique

The North Georgia mountains offers many activities for you to enjoy!! Area attractions include hiking, mountain biking, zip-lining, horseback riding, lazy river tubing, kayaking on the 1996 Olympic course, whitewater rafting, fishing one of the many trout streams, taking a scenic train ride, boating on Lake Blue Ridge, visiting one of the local waterfalls, picking your own apples, shopping at many quaint stores, eating at great local restaurants and hideaways, etc, etc, etc.

OR you can stay at the Bunkhouse to play horseshoes, darts, or card and board games; read; watch TV and movies; sleep; relax; enjoy the solitude; listen and watch for animals; sit around a campfire; etc. Or you can soak in the hot tub on the back porch, or rock on the front porch, or relive your childhood on the cypress swings down in the pasture while you take in the great view!! Regardless, you will enjoy the fresh mountain air and how remarkably peaceful it is here!!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Sleep in unique bunkbeds & stare at majestic Damascus Peak 15 miles away in NC!
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
5

Adorable, comfy, and cozy!

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we pulled in to park, we loved the cabin. It's private and has a nice view, even better when some leaves have fallen. The decor and kitchen provisions are perfect. The hot tub is newer than the one in photo (October photo). Felt secluded but only 10 minutes from stores. Loved all the helpful notes. Having Netflix was a bonus :-). It was just perfect and we hope to come back!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great host

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the bunk house! Everything was perfect and comfortable and Dan even checked in with us to make sure all was well. Will definitely return in the fall!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cabin!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at the cabin! It is beautiful! The accommodations are wonderful! Location is great (close enough to to town for convenience but far enough away to be secluded)! Mr. Kasan is a great host and the boys and I loved every minute we spent there. Only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!!! Looking forward to a stay next year at spring break again! Highly recommend this to cabin to any family!!!!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very clean and well equipped. The construction and décor were beautiful and unique. Very comfortable in all aspects, including temperature, beds, etc.

There is plenty of entertainment for the whole family even if you just want to hang out in the cabin for a week. It is only 15 min from downtown Blue Ridge, and about 5-7 min from Walmart.

We stayed for one week in a family of 5 with 3 children (ages 5, 8 and 11) and everybody was super excited to see the place when we arrived and everybody had a great time!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

VERY DISAPPOINTING!

  • 1 of 5

We thought that we had a good time at the Bunkhouse until we received a couple of very strange emails. The first started with, "I was very happy with the condition of the Bunkhouse after you left until: 1. I noticed you had taken almost all of your trash with you, everything except the plastic bottles in the gray trash tub for recyclables. The Bunkhouse has been rented for over 18 months. No one has ever taken their trash with them before. I thought it was odd that you did." Dan wants you to put the trash in a storage bin by the front door. The only reason I took it was that Dan uses very cheap garbage bags, so when you pull it out of the can it stretches and tears. I just thought I'd go the extra mile and not leave it in a storage bin. Can't imagine why it would upset someone so bad. This set the tone for a couple of very strange and self-incriminating emails. He went on to accuse us of losing or breaking a glass of which we were charged $1.07 for. Seriously? We were also charged over $10 for a trash can with no lid that he keeps under the sink.Yet he wonders why it stinks under there! Probably has more to do with his several jars of used grease! As you enter the house you will notice a large cabin right next door, that is Dans. You will also notice there are no blinds anywhere in the house or on the porch where the hot tub sits. There are burlap curtains that are tied back but they are more for looks than use. Dan had seen us smoke around the firepit so he assumed that we had smoked inside or close to the door where it would blow in. We stay in many vrbo's and also manage one and would never disrespect one. Dan stated that he walked into the queen room and smelled the "slight" smell of smoke. For that we were charged for a new comforter, shams and bed skirt! We were also fined $200. Unfortunately, your deposit is not protected and Dan appointed himself investigator, judge and jury. Your only recourse is taking him to court which I still may do out of principle, even though I would lose money. As a retired military vet with dwindling benefits I don't take lightly to being scammed. I am not telling you not to stay at the Bunkhouse, but if you do remember three things. Walk on eggshells, keep your clothes on and don't take your trash with you! And definitely do not bring your children. God forbid they broke something. Hard telling what he would charge you.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: FACT #1 - I've received over 60 reviews since starting to rent the Bunkhouse 18 months ago. This is the FIRST that wasn't a 5-star. FACT #2 - Kevin & Stacey left the following review in the Bunkhouse guest book: "Thanks for everything Dan! The Bunkhouse is amazing. We enjoyed our stay very much. The touches that you have added to the cabin are great. Very clean and well set up. Thanks Again!" No mention of privacy, cheap trash bags, smell under the kitchen sink, grease jars, etc issues. FACT #3 - Kevin admitted in an email after they checked out that they had indeed smoked while at the Bunkhouse. FACT #4 - The trash can under the sink DID stink when I opened the door because they had obviously dumped their cigarette ashes and butts in it. FACT #5 - Jars with lids are provided under the kitchen sink for guests to collect grease instead of pouring it down the drain which can cause severe damage to the septic system and lead to expensive repairs. FACT #6 - The Bunkhouse and my home are the last two of the three houses on a private dead end road. From the Bunkhouse, you can hardly see the neighbors house and only during winter when the trees are bare. My house is 300 feet away and separated from the Bunkhouse by a grove of trees including leyland cypress and other dense vegetation. FACT #7 - They were fined for violating my NO SMOKING policy. This fine is clearly stated in the rental agreement they indicated they had read before HomeAway would accept payment from them. I have and strictly enforce NO SMOKING and NO PETS policies out of respect for many guests with severe allergies!! FACT #8 - They were charged for a new comforter, bed skirt and shams because the "slight cigarette smell" in the queen bedroom was coming from those items. The local dry cleaner did not believe the smell could be removed. I could have charged them another $55 to try to remove it, but new items that definitely didn't smell were only $5.33 more. FACT #9 - I am also a vet. **READERS**: Why would someone write a glowing review in the Bunkhouse guest book and then write a 1-star review on HomeAway? Why would someone put a torn trash bag with 3 days of smelly garbage in their car to take with them? Why would someone admit they smoked but deny the Bunkhouse smelled of cigarette smoke? MY CONCLUSION: THEY GOT CAUGHT!! They used the missing glass as an ashtray, dumped their ashes and butts in the trash can, and took all the "evidence" with them - except the smell!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Bunkhouse Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place. The kids loved the bunks! We were able to do everything we hoped and also met Dan, the owner. He's very thoughtful and kind. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta International Airport
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Mini in Blue Ridge, several public within 15 miles
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Blue Ridge Scenic Railway
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 5
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Many excellent ones in Blue Ridge & McCaysville
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Blue Ridge Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$110
$660
 
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
New Year's Day
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

If you have any questions or would prefer terms different from those shown, please contact me. It never hurts to ask!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Blue Ridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1550 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Next to family room on first floor. Location of W/D also.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Down the hall from bedrooms on second floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single , Custom-built western-style bunk beds. Bottom two are XL.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 800 thread count luxury sheets & adorable white fallow deer.
    Family room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Big comfy sofa for 7th person instead of being left home!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers