check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Seaside Home Tucked In The Woods

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Georgetown House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Contemporary year round home right by the shore. Very private house is nestled in the woods. There are 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths with an open plan design downstairs. There is a large deck on the ocean side. Large kitchen with granite counters. Lovely little sun room is a great spot for casual dining. Master bedroom is large with walk in closet. Short walk to scenic picnic spot on the ocean with 2 acre island you can cross to at low tide. Next door is a horse farm, which you can visit by appointment.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Liia Becker
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Seaside Home Tucked In The Woods
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
1

Beautiful house, bad luck, unprofessional owner

  • 1 of 5

Five minutes after our arrival at this lovely house, the water pump died and we had no running water. The owner, Liia, very nicely reimbursed us for the first two nights. However, the problem did not abate after the pump was replaced, and a lack of dependable running water plagued us for the entirety of our stay (sometimes there was not enough water even to wash hands, and we used rainbarrel water for dishes and other things). This put an undue stress on our vacation, but it was also just bad luck. The worst part was having to deal with an unprofessional owner, who seemed completely flustered by the crisis, talked to us at length about her personal problems, and repeatedly intimated that we were somehow to blame for this situation. When I let her know on our last day that we had left, she texted me to say that seeing our car pull away “was a sight I will never forget.” I felt that was truly uncalled for, and a mark of a rental owner lacking in experience and maturity.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was unfortunate that 4 hours into vacation the well pump would die. I immediately offered to pay for a hotel, but Claudia refused, as the children were in bed. After research, the best was repair Mon. morning. Text to Claudia, "We have called every well servicing company in the area and unfortunately the best we were able to do was to get someone to come on Monday at 9am. Obviously this is not a solution that is going to be acceptable for either of us. We are terribly sorry that your vacation has started like this; as soon as you are ready in the morning I will come down and give you a full refund with our sincerest apologies. If you are interested as an alternative I think we have found a lovely rental close by that is available for the week" Next day, they refused to move out and asked for a 2 day refund. To make a long story short, well pump gets replaced. Contractor said plenty of water. The family ran baths, lots of laundry, invited guests to dinner and ran the well dry by Tues.morning. Our rental contract specifies conserving water. I do not accept renters without telling them that. I texted"Once again we are truly sorry about this situation and totally understand your frustration and disappointment. we are just not able to make this work. I will just refund you and say I am sorry we could not work this out" They refused to leave. I paid $470 to refill the well and did not hear a word until after departure .Assuming all was fine no communication otherwise. Received emails the following week demanding money. They issued a complaint with VRBO, which was closed when I informed them of my interaction with Claudia. I was never flustered or discussed anything personal. I have owned a B&B for 15 years and been renting for a few years, never had a situation like this Most unprofessional thing I did was the last text which referred to the condition of house. Arriving on Saturday, the professional cleaning crew had arrived before me. They clean rentals. They were appalled at the condition. There was garbage spread everywhere leaking on to the wood floors. Dirty dishes and pots and pans throughout house Ruined bedding and comforters. I was in shock. It took 11 hours to clean house up. I paid double to the cleaning crew and finished the cleaning myself, never running out of water. Please note the 5 star review we had from the guests that came right in. The house was rented the whole season with much larger parties and no one else had issues with water.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Time in a Beautiful Spot

  • 5 of 5

My family of three had a wonderful time at this home. The property is beautiful and quaint, and the location is perfect--Maine coast scenery, woods, and solitude are right outside the door, but restaurants and things to do are nearby as well. My 3-year-old loved watching the lobster boats come in at Georgetown, and the Robinhood Marina is close enough to walk to. Our host, Liia, was friendly and very responsive, and the property was extremely clean and well-provisioned when we arrived. Highly recommend! We'd love to visit again!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baton Rouge, LA
5

Comfort in the Maine woods

  • 5 of 5

If you enjoy a peaceful setting you have found the perfect place. All the creature comforts you need for a restful stay. Rooms are large with windows that frame the beautiful surrounding. Liia does everything she can to make her guests comfortable. Good restaurants in Georgetown and Bath without the hassle of larger towns. A visit to nearby Reid State Park is not to be missed. We loved the place. Liia's hospitality couldn't have been better.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, remote, and beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

It was very nicely set up. Liia is a wonderful host--very accommodating. She takes every effort to make sure that the needs of guests are met.

The house is very quiet and remote. It is set right on the harbor, so there is a little boat traffic when the lobstermen get going, but it is actually charming and authentic. The property has lots of woods to roam, and an island that can be accessed at low tide. Tons of birds and wildlife--we had the company of a young family of deer with three fawns, wild turkeys, and a kit of foxes.

Liia was also very accommodating to our dogs, who thoroughly enjoyed the woods.

If you want a quiet and remote seaside setting--this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Portland Maine
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Osprey(seasonal)
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Bath
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Brunswick
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Bath
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Osprey
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Reid State Park
Car: necessary

Horse farm next door. Lessons can be arranged. Also, if you have a large group, you can combine with another house rental a 3 minute walk away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Georgetown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

If dogs visit, they need to be on a leash or supervised when out. Horse farm is next door and we don't want dogs to get into pasture. This is the Maine coast and we do have to conserve our well water. Just normal care is appropriate.

We cannot be responsible for your safety in rented kayaks. You should have some experience with sea kayaking. There are easy trips through advanced paddles.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Amenities

Georgetown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 double , Large with fireplace and walk in closet Wonderful views
    Upstairs guestroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Dorm style with skylights
    Downstairs guest - 1 double , Bright downstairs bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties