check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Charlie

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Right On The Slopes, Building Nearest The Lift, Walk To Village...Be Spoiled !!!

71 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

West Virginia Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whistlepunk's 'SLOPESIDE ATTRACTION'...on the slopes, near the village. CHECK OUT OUR Mid-Week & MULTI-NIGHT DISCOUNTS!

No lines to wait in...no off-site check-in, a keyless entry system at the villa makes check-in a snap!

OUR CALENDAR IS UPDATED as we receive bookings...please click on availability to see if your dates are open before inquiring.

You couldn't ask for a better location on the mountain....Imagine being so close to the slopes that you can talk to skiers as they slide past the deck of this alpine-inspired villa. The Powder Monkey lift is a few steps away, as is the Western Territory where expert skiers take on Cupp Run and Shay's Revenge.

It's an easy walk to the village, five minutes or less, where you can find dining, entertainment, and great shopping! A shuttle bus stop is located just a few yards from the door, so... just park your car directly in front of the villa and leave it!

The villa is well-furnished with all of the comforts of home, including 3 T.V.'s (2 flat screens), full-size washer / dryer, and wine fridge. The master bath has just been remodeled completely. There are even flannel sheets on all of the beds and heated indoor boot and ski storage!

Enjoy one of the nicest wood-burning fireplaces on the mountain and dry wood is provided in the mudroom.

'Slopeside Attraction' will be your favorite place to stay for years to come!!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Charlie (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

About Charlie

Charlie and I are from South Carolina. We were college sweethearts. We have two daughters and lots of pets. We live in a relatively rural part of our city and love the outdoors. Charlie loves golf and skiing and is happiest doing either. Donna loves to garden, bike, ski and ride horses. Our girls love to do anything adventurous. They are fearless. We have been involved in managing property since 1992.

Charlie purchased this condo in 2005

Why Charlie chose West Virginia

We are a big skiing family. Both of our girls are skiing black diamond runs and learned to ski at Snowshoe. The location at Whistlepunk just can't be beat. It is so close to the village... to the shuttle stop and to the Western Territory. Parking has never been an issue and that is huge! We can park our car and never move it. In addition, we love the roominess of the villas at Whistlepunk. They just don't build 'em like that anymore!

What makes this condo unique

Whistlepunk is known for wildlife sightings...rabbit, deer, bear and an occasional ground hog. We love the alpine feel as well. Convenience is the key...you won't find a better villa on the mountain for this....you can park your car directly in front of the building and never use it again. Shuttle is a few feet from the door and the village is an easy 5 minute walk...the Western Territory is across the street so you can please all levels of skiier and boarders from this location....

Reviews

4.8
based on 71 traveler reviews

Right On The Slopes, Building Nearest The Lift, Walk To Village...Be Spoiled !!!
average rating of 4.8450704 based on 71 reviews
Waynesville, NC
5

Perfect slope side condo- our favorite on the mountain!

  • 5 of 5

We have been coming to Snowshoe for 10 years and this is by far our favorite place to stay. The location is ideal- even if your trip is early or late season when limited slopes are open. The condo is wonderfully appointed with a well equipped kitchen and great open layout. It has the feel of a ski chalet which provides a great ambiance. We use VRBO to find lodging for almost all of our family trips and the owners of this condo have been the best we have ever dealt with. They are accessible when the need arises and genuinely care about the quality of their renter's experience while at this condo. The unit is always very clean and comfortable and functions so well with a perfect mudroom for skis and an area to warm boots and other gear. The wifi and smart TV are wonderful to have when you come in off of the slopes. You will not be disappointed with a stay at this condo!!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family ski trip, from Cincinnati, Ohio

  • 5 of 5

Loved the ski-in/ski-out. Charlie was easy to work with from beginning to end. Condo was clean and well equipped. Had and a great weekend! Look forward to renting from you again.

3 day passes were a nice bonus. Will definitely use those again in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro, NC
5

Amazing Slopeside Condo

  • 5 of 5

Thanks so much for sharing your home with us! We found it to be set up perfectly and really enjoyed our stay. The setup for the boots, skis, gloves, snowboards and the heat warmers was amazing and helped our group to keep all our "stuff" organized. The home was clean and very cozy with the wood burning fireplace. Our group prepared all our meals and found everything we needed in the kitchen. The location is unbeatable with such close proximity to the powder monkey lift. The owner was clear and organized with all the information we needed for renting and making our stay more enjoyable. Our family looks forward to renting your home again next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Norfolk, VA
5

Great Slopeside Condo

  • 5 of 5

Location, location, location! You can ski out the front door! We loved the ski storage room, keyless entry and wood burning fireplace. The condo was perfect for our family. It was convenient to meet back for lunch and its just a 5 minute walk to the village. The owner communicated before, during and after our stay to make sure everything was perfect for us. We will definitely book this condo again and I highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Slopeside Perfection

  • 5 of 5

Everything about Slopeside Attraction is 5-star! It was my families first trip to Snowshoe so I had to rely heavily on the pictures and description by the owners, Charlie and Donna, and on reviews. We were not disappointed!! We arrived late at night, but because of the keyless entry there was no hassle with check-in. It was also very convenient that our ski passes were waiting for us in the safe. As a family of six with four teenage skiiers, this was a perfect setup for us. Plenty of room and a bed for everyone. And two HUGE advantages of this condo - the mud room for storing skis and the boot drying area. And with plenty of hooks for coats and ample closets in the bedrooms, we were able to enjoy the living area without being cluttered. The location directly across the street from the black runs of the Western Territory was perfect for my family of skiiers. However, if you are new to skiing this is the perfect location as well - you can literally ski right onto a green run from the condo. The location also makes it easy to come back to the condo for lunch. Also convenient is the shuttle stop just across the street for a ride to the village area, but the walk is very doable. I cooked two of our three nights (plenty of pots, pans, dishes, etc) and we ate at the Foxfire Grille the other night - which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Charlie was very responsive to any questions I had and very helpful with recommendations for ski equipment rentals as well as food shopping details. I highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Greg

  • 3 of 5

We definitely agree it is a great location but we experienced one problem after another throughout our stay. Charlie and Donna tried to help to resolve the issues but they never were. The condo above was very noisy with a dog barking on and off for our entire five day stay. The can opener broke and a new one was never delivered by property mgmt. Additionally, the noise level of the above condo was a little more than what we were looking for. I would not recommend the unit if you are looking for a nice quiet stay. We did have a great week skiing and snowboarding so all was not lost.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg, first of all we'd like to thank you for choosing our "Slopeside Attraction" and thank you for your complimenting of our location and the overall skiing and snowboarding experience....however there is a huge difference in "one problem after another" and the two issues that you mentioned in your review. We have been owners and managers of this villa for 8 years now and we have never received noise complaints. We are not doubting that there was a barking dog however , we immediately called the owner when you alerted us and he assured us that his guest would not leave the dog alone again. At that point, we do not know if the dog continued to bark or not but we did not hear from you again. Your other call was regarding a can opener....we understand that mechanical devices can break but we checked with our house keeper and there were two in the utility drawer during your stay. She confirmed that she found a working can opener. We would encourage all of our prospective guests to consult with our previous and subsequent reviews before making a judgement about where to book. Our complex was one of the first built on Snowshoe Mountain and the walls are thick concrete and the villa is as soundproof as any villa can be.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Greenbrier Valley
Nearest Barpub
Yodelers (next door)
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
The Raven
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 66
Nearest Restaurant
Yodelers (next door)
Nearest Ski
on the slopes
Car: recommended

Historic Cass Railway about 20 minutes away. Greenbank Planetarium/Observatory about 25 minutes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Snowshoe Mountain Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 10 2016 - Nov 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Wild & Wonderful
Nov 19 2016 - Dec 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Winter I
Dec 12 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$295
From
$350
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Holiday I
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Winter II
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Holiday II (MLK)
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Winter II
Jan 17 2017 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$425
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Winter II
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$425
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Holiday III (Pres)
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
WINTER II
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$425
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Virginia Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Stone shower in Master with concrete vanity. 2nd bathroom has a tub/shower combination
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Den - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , This room has pyramid bed( twin over full)plus another twin
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa(queen) (1),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...