check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sarah

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Sarah's Retreat: 3 Bedroom Home and Optional Guest House!

24 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Sarah's Retreat is 3 bedrooms, 2 baths. Guest House is 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath

This Cottage and Guest House can be rented together or separately. Located on all sports Lake Leelanau in beautiful Traverse City, Michigan. Sarah's retreat is the main cottage and consists of 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen, large living room that opens onto a deck, and a screened in porch perfect for sleeping on summer nights. One bedroom has a king size bed, one has 2 full sized beds, and the third has one full and twin bunk beds. The sleeping porch has an additional queen sized futon. The house sleeps 10 people. The optional Guest House is a 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath equipped with a sleeper sofa in living room, and futon in screened in porch. Each bedroom has a queen sized bed. It can sleep 6-8 people.

The two homes can be rented together with 120 ft of private lake frontage, or separately. Each house has a fire pit, BBQ grill and dock. Lake Leelanau has crystal clear water perfect for swimming and our homes face the west for the most beautiful sunsets!

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sarah (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sarah

This property was purchased by Joe and Sarah Albring. We met in 2002 and started enjoying northern Michigan together almost immediately. We traveled through all parts of northern MI, but during every trip we gravitated towards Traverse City. While the choices for lake homes in MI were abundant we knew we wanted to be near Traverse City. We also wanted a lake environment where are young children could play and grow up in a safe environment. We love Traverse City and Northern Michigan. We sincerely hope you start or continue your lover affair wit the great white north at our lake home.

Sarah purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Sarah chose Northern Michigan

Lake Leelanau and Traverse City are the perfect marriage of relaxation and sophistication. Location is everything for this property. The home is within 20 minutes of great dining, wineries, world class golf, bike and walking trails, fishing, kayaking, boating and skiing. This truly is outdoor playground. Enjoy!

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Sarah's Retreat: 3 Bedroom Home and Optional Guest House!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
4

Gorgeous Area!

  • 4 of 5

Just got back from a weeks stay. The area is gorgeous. Not far from Traverse City. House was clean and well pre-pared for our arrival. A couple bottles of wine as gifts were a nice surprise. There is a book put together to give you ideas on local attractions and such. We did struggle finding boat rentals but when I emailed Sarah she responded quickly. Adding boat rentals in the book would be nice. As well as local vets. We had to find a vet to take our dog.

If you have kids, make sure you bring water shoes for sure. Lots of rocks in the water up until you hit the dock. After that is it very sandy. The water is shallow for a ways so its pretty kid friendly in that respect. No sandy beach. The weather this summer is extremely warm so even with the air conditioner running upstairs it was difficult to cool the downstairs. But under normal circumstances, this probably would not be an issue.

Loved having the option of gas grill or charcoal. The upstairs deck has 2 sets of furniture so it seats many people. Downstairs patio has lots of chairs and a bar set up too. Great seating for the outdoor fire pit.

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed the area. It is a family friendly location and also very dog friendly.

Thank you for offering your great cottage to us!

Carolyn Pyret

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family-Friendly, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay with friends. Since we had a large group, we rented both houses. As our toddler was the only child in the group, this arrangement was perfect. He could go to bed in the guesthouse, and we didn't have to worry about disturbing him as we went about our evening activities. The amenities were superbly family-friendly as they included children's plates/cups/utensils, pack n plays in each cottage, booster chairs, a high chair, a closet full of toys, and (to my son's great, great delight) a sandbox and a slide!! The property was spacious and well laid-out for our large group, so we enjoyed just relaxing and hanging out as well as heading out for day trips to the many nearby sights and activities. I would highly recommend this property to singles and families alike!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Excellent property!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here over the Harvest Stompede weekend... Property was clean, comfortable and well stocked. Great location on the lake, convenient for wine tasting in the peninsula or a short drive into Traverse City! Exceptional value compared to hotels in the area. Would definitely recommend to family and friends!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
White Lake
5

amazing upnorth getaway

  • 5 of 5

Sarah's retreat was the best rental property we have ever stayed at. We had 10 guys upnorth for a long weekend golf trip, and we couldnt be more pleased with the house and renting process.

The house was clean, neat, and perfectly laid out. The backyard is perfect for lawn games and activities, and you cannot beat the views from the huge porch off the upstairs living room. The house is only 15 minutes from downtown Traverse, but far enough away to be secluded in your own area.

I highly recommend looking at this property when staying anywhere near Traverse.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Rapids, MI
5

What a beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the guest house at Sarah's Retreat on the lake. What a gorgeous lake! Not only was the water very clear, but the temperature was much better for swimming than it was in Traverse City. The guest house was very nice - clean and updated, and the sleeping porch was fantastic! What great views! It was even great to catch the sunset from the end of the dock. Having small kids, we appreciated that there was a high chair as well as cups and silverware for small kids. It was really nice also that the guest house had the area where the kids could walk right into the water. So much to do in the area in terms of hiking, kayaking, touring wineries, or even just enjoying Traverse City and Suttons Bay. Even Sleeping Bear Dunes was less than 45 minutes away, and it was gorgeous also! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

First week of July

  • 4 of 5

My family of 12 stayed at Sarah's Retreat the first week of July. The pictures were excellent representations of the house. We were all very comfortable in our rooms and in the community areas. The sleeping porch was an excellent area for the kids to hang out and relax at night with a movie. However, it was not the best area for sleeping. Many bugs and spiders including spiders' eggs nest had to be removed from the futon bed. The kids loved the lawn area in front of the water. The view is spectacular from the house. The house is very well situated for convenient trips into Traverse City and the rest of Leelanau. The only other problem we experienced was that three lifts were in the water surrounding the dock. With the waves and slippery rocks in the same area as the lifts, it was a bit difficult for the children and some adults to make it around the lifts and get to the sandy area of the lake. I would highly recommend Sarah's Retreat to all. Lake Leelanau is gorgeous and this property is a wonderful location to experience all of the wonder of the TC area.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. We are moving the steps on the dock to make it easier for young children, and we are having the futon professionally cleaned. Our family used it the week before, and I did not notice the spiders. Sorry about that.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Cherry Capital Airport -- TVC
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Leelanau Club at Bahle Farms
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Traverse City beaches
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Snowboarding, Racquetball, Snowmobiling, Hot Air Ballooning, Boating, Miniature golf, all in the area

Photos

Rates & Availability

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 19 2016 - Mar 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $100

We only do weekend rentals in off peak season, like the spring and the fall. In those times, a 2 night stay is minimum.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Full size Beds (3), twin Bunk Beds (1), Futon bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers