check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gary Lee

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Delightful Casa Gina ~ Large Jungle Lot & Private Pool ~ Close to Everything

14 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Valle Pura Vida House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Stunning Pool, Sleeps 6

Casa Gina is a private, romantic and secure home on a 1 1/2 acre jungle lot, located within the community of Manuel Antonio. Just minutes by bus or car to Quepos or the national park, our two bedroom, two bath fully air conditioned including the living room and kitchen home was designed from the start to provide you with a peaceful and rejuvenating experience.

A beautiful private pool with sandstone deck and palm roofed wet bar is the perfect place to spend your day. Double teak doors greet you from the main entrance and continue in each of the rooms. The home is furnished with high end custom made Guanacaste furniture, a dark and luscious wood that is the national tree of Costa Rica.

We brought the outside in: The main living area features a twelve foot ceiling decorated with teak and comfortable seating for eight. Whole house A/C units will keep everything cool and dry. Six sliders open into the pool area and main deck from the living area to form one large room, opening the home to the outside rain forest. Abundant recessed dimmer controlled lighting throughout the home provide a soft comfortable glow for entertaining or relaxing.

A comfortable place to spend your day is on one of Casa Gina's four decks. Many birds including toucans, three types of monkeys, sloths, iguanas and the majestic Blue Morpho butterfly call this area home. A gas grille is the perfect way to cook all of the fresh fish, chicken and vegetables that are available from the farmers market in town.

Our kitchen is tastefully designed with teak cabinets, granite counter-tops and quality stainless steel appliances. All expected small appliances are provided including an ice maker. A very complete set of utensils, pots and pans will make creating your own meals a delight. A breakfast island and wet bar for four invite you to linger and share a laugh or two with friends. The Guanacaste wood dining table has seating for six.

Both bedrooms feature king sized beds and quality bedding. Store your personal belongings in the beautiful matching armoires and nightstands. A remote controlled, A/C unit plus ceiling fans assure a comfortable nights rest. Individual private covered decks with large sliders bring the outside in and give you a quiet place to sit and read or to enjoy the sounds and sights of the rain forest. Each of the two full baths are finished with sandstone floors and shower enclosures. Teak counters, vessel sinks, rainfall shower heads and mood lighting complete the rooms.

Enjoy the quiet privacy of Casa Gina or immerse yourself in the warm friendly culture that is Costa Rica. Casa Gina is located five minutes from the town of Quepos and seven minutes from the beautiful white sand beaches of Manuel Antonio National Park. There are dozens of restaurants ranging from typical Costa Rican “sodas” to gourmet dining within minutes of the home.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gary Lee (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Date of Arrival: February 20, 2013



Title: Just What We Needed



Review:



As advertised, Casa Gina was private, romantic and secure. It was also just the type of sanctuary my husband and I needed for a truly relaxing getaway. We spent a week there.



The house was immaculate and very well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. The grounds were well-maintained. The house was situated such that it was easy to appreciate all the sights and sounds of the outdoors from indoors or the patio. The best monkey pictures we got were taken from the patio by the pool! The resident iguanas were greatly amusing. I only wish I had remembered to pack binoculars.



Jeannette and Carlos were very helpful, arranging for outing reservations, and promptly responding to any questions we had. The mid-week maid service was a treat we had forgotten about. The young women who cleaned Casa Gina did a great job and were very pleasant.



Most of our days involved rising early and heading out for some type of outing. We would return to Casa Gina mid afternoon and relax by the pool until we felt inclined to venture out for dinner. Outings included Manuel Antonio National Park, MidWorld for zip line tours (very fun), a mangrove tour by boat in Isla Dalmas, and driving further south to explore Ballena Marine National Park and Playa Matapalo. These were both beautiful beach areas with very little development. If you are looking for privacy and what feels like your own beach, Playa Matapalo is the place to go. There is also a great little restaurant/bar in town that has excellent Casado con Pollo en Salsa! We did not feel comfortable swimming here though. Signs warned of strong rip currents and there were no lifeguards. But the scenery was beautiful and the water was surprisingly warm. It was more refreshing to go in the pool at Casa Gina.



All restaurants that we tried in Manuel Antonio were good. Costa Verde, Victoria's, Salsipuedes (?) to name a few. We purchased food at the Super Joseth market in Manuel Antonio. It was nice to have breakfast at the house and cook on the grill one night.



The little we saw of Costa Rica on this trip has inspired us to learn about other parts of the country. Whenever we want to return to the Central Pacific region I would want to stay at Casa Gina again.





Thank you Gina and Gary for making your lovely home available to us!



Best wishes,



Stephanie
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Delightful Casa Gina ~ Large Jungle Lot & Private Pool ~ Close to Everything
average rating of 4.928571 based on 16 reviews
5

Beautiful home in Manuel Antonio away from it all

  • 5 of 5

My wife, eight year old son and I stayed at Casa Gina from 3/25-3/31/2016 and it is a wonderful home. Situated atop a high hill in a nice gated community you feel secluded, but you're only 2 minutes away from restaurants, sights and beaches. The home is well appointed, very clean and large enough to accommodate 6 very comfortably. You have all the comforts of home with washer/dryer, full kitchen with dishwasher, BBQ, pool, safe and alarm. They have an always hot hot water system that some complained about, and at first we agreed until we figured out to keep the handles about middle and the water will stay a pretty constant warm...otherwise you will cycle between extreme heat and then cold water. My one complaint is the wifi, it is very slow and only allows for checking email, sending text messages (no pictures in those) and maybe doing some light web browsing, but don't expect pages to load quickly. Also, don't expect to stream anything either, it was enough for what we needed, but had hoped for a slightly faster connection.You can expect to see sloths, monkeys, iguanas and lots of birds in the back yard, which was nice when we'd relax at the pool.

Tip, if you are going to do any tours of any kind, they will usually pick you up right from the house or at least the front gate of the community saving you from having to find places there, which is not always easy since many streets don't have signs in CR. Take the ATV tour to Rainmaker, its a great area and has a local brewery there serving fantastic beer.

Gary and Gina were very easy to work with and Jeannette and Carlos (the local contacts in Costa Rica) were great. We would definitely go back again and recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Stay! Will be back.

  • 5 of 5

Casa Gina was everything we expected and more! The home is truly "as pictured" and possibly even more beautiful in person.

Similar to other reviews, we met Carlos in Quepos. Our flight got in late and we did not arrive until very late in the evening. Carlos was still very available and responsive to us. We were a bit confused where to find the meeting place as it was dark and we were in an unfamiliar town. However, we communicated via email / phone until we met him. He graciously drove us up to the home. The first ride up to the home was a bit intimidating. However, we became very familiar with the drive and loved the privacy and secluded environment.

We stayed with one other couple and the home was very spacious for us four! We spent a lot of time in the mornings and evenings outside on the balcony and near the pool enjoying the scenery and wild life that surrounds the house. During our stay, we saw many different types of butterflies, hummingbirds and other birds, iguanas, lizards, as well as the white faced capuchin monkey a few times. We also heard the howler monkeys in the morning and evenings. There is a trail near the pool/balcony that we hiked the last day.

The home is secluded in the jungle, but close enough to many incredible restaurants. Near the entrance to the drive up to the house is a restaurant called TA-CHOs. This was a newer Mexican restaurant in 2015 with delicious food and wonderful owners. We highly recommend visiting them around 5 PM. There is a troop of squirrel monkeys and even two sloths that pass by each day.

Among the entire group, we do not have any negative reviews about this home. We loved every minute there! We did not experience any issues with water temperature. The property is extremely well-maintained and clean. I will definitely recommend this home to friends and be back myself in the future!! The owners were very kind and responsive to work with during booking and payment process. The house managers in Costa Rica (Carlos and Jeannette) were also very responsive. We booked a fishing trip through Carlos (JP Sport Fishing). We had such a wonderful experience! We caught sail fish and a barracuda. Carlos also provided us with great recommendations for excursions and dining.

THANK YOU GINA, GARY, JEANNETTE AND CARLOS! We had a wonderful time and appreciate your gracious hospitality. We hope to be back very soon! It was a trip of a lifetime for us four.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I have shared it will all of the staff at Casa Gina so they may see that their hard work really does make our guests happy. You were wonderful guests and we look forward to your return. Thanks as well for the tip on the new restaurant near the house, we have not had a chance to visit and will be sure to suggest the place to our future guests. The time that you spent writing a review for us was truly appreciated as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto, Ontario Canada
5

Bliss, Comfort & Value

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I shared Casa Gina with another couple for 4 days in January before moving onto another area in Costa Rica. We were a little fatigued upon arrival from Toronto as our journey took longer than it should have, but our arrival in paradise erased all memory of the challenges of our travels that day. We met Carlos in Quespos as arranged & followed him to the house. Initially, in the dark, the road to the house seemed very long, windy, & bumpy, but that is generally the norm off of the main roads in Costa Rica & once we knew where we were going, we became accustomed to it.

The house truly is in a very private location. The gardens are lush & the home is well cared for. There were so many details about this home to appreciate from the beautiful bathrooms to the monkey railing to the tiki bar by the pool to the comfortable beds. We were absolutely spoiled for a few days. We were torn as we wanted to get out & see the area but also wanted to spend as much time as possible in Casa Gina. The home is exactly as pictured with clean working appliances & barbecue. Every kitchen accessory you will need can be found there.

There are so many cute sitting areas that we actually took turns at each to ensure we experienced what every spot had to offer. That may be Tedious to mention but it's just to point out that every single offering in this home is well thought out.

We were awoken by howler monkeys a couple of mornings & saw many, many humming birds. This was our second visit to this area, so we did not visit the park this trip. We did visit the public beach one day where we were actually served drinks by a nice gentleman named Jose from a near by restaurant. Unexpected, but something we really appreciated. We also spent one morning at The Rainmaker Walk on the other side of Quespos where we did see Tucans. We enjoyed cocktails , snacks & the sunset at El Avion.

Our time here was an escape from the everyday grind at home & it was a perfect place to start off our vacation. We were immediately embraced by the peace & serenity offered here. It wasn't until we moved on to our other 3 areas of travel that we truly appreciated our Casa Gina experience. The other homes we rented were no where near as comfortable, not really "as pictured" & lacked basic kitchen tools & appliances. The value of this vacation rental far exceeded everywhere else we visited, yet this was one of the most beautiful areas we visited in Costa Rica!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Revisit did not disappoint

  • 5 of 5

We first stayed at Casa Gina three years ago for a too brief three day visit to the Manuel Antonio area. We decided to return for a week and were once again pleased with our lodgings. Carlos met us in town and reacquainted us with Casa Gina. The house is well maintained and fully appointed. Located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, we were able to take advantage of activities and restaurants in the area. Ronny's Place, literally across the street, was our favorite this year. Get there early for a beautiful sunset view and a pitcher of margaritas. The Monkey Mangrove tour, the Villa Vanilla farm and the Rainmaker hike were the highlights this time around. Having a pool on site provided relaxing afternoons to decide dinner destinations. The kitchen was fully stocked in the event you want to eat in- complete with barbecue on the patio. We were treated to howler monkey calls each morning. Beautiful spot in the jungle, complete with granite, stainless steel appliances and walk in showers.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic, clean, amazing secluded home

  • 5 of 5

Casa Gina is an absolutely fantastic home. It's very clean, very modern, and extremely comfortable. I've stayed there twice and have no problems whatsoever.

It is well stocked with everything you'll need and Carlos, our contact, was always a phone call away and willing to come by if we needed anything.

The pool and patio are what make Casa Gina THE place to stay. My newlywed wife and I spent the majority of our stay at Casa Gina out there enjoying the monkeys, iguanas, butterflies, and birds.

If there was one thing I'd put down as a con in this list of pros it would be the finicky hot water. It takes a bit of experimentation to get the showers to be just right. It tends to go from super hot to cool on its own at times. Once you figure it out all is well though.

My wife and I will definitely be staying there again soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corrales New Mexico
5

A little slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful property. Carlos met us in Quepos and took us to the property, which was a real blessing. The property was well maintained and very nice. The pool was a wonderful place to hang out and enjoy the sights and sounds of the rain forest. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The housekeeping mid week, was a pleasant surprise. We had zero problems, and thoroughly loved our experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Quepos
Nearest Barpub
0.05 Miles
Ronnie's Place
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Main Road to Beach & Town
Nearest Restaurant
0.05 Miles
Ronnie's Place
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Manuel Antonio National Park
Car: recommended

The amazing Manual Antonio National Park is a seven minute ride by car from Casa Gina. The town of Quepos is a five minute drive from the house. There is a bus stop that is a five to seven minute walk from the house. You will most likely want to rent a car. Cabs are everywhere.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Valle Pura Vida House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low 2016
May 14 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,796
 
 
Peak 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$399
 
 
High 2017
Jan 2 2017 - May 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
$1,858
 
 
Low 2017
May 14 2017 - Dec 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,796
 
 
Peak 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$399
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$285
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Call Owner Direct at 719-635-2443 10-6 (MST) with any questions
10% Discount for stays > 6 Nights Except Peak Season
10% Discount for repeat clients
No refunds for cancellations if made by client, 100% credit for a future stay with no time limit

50% Due when reserving dates (less damage deposit)
50% Due 30 days prior to arrival + $300 damage deposit
100% Due if reservation is 30 days or less from arrival date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Valle Pura Vida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Local Calls
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Rainfall Shower Heads, Sandstone tile, teak counters
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2) Each bedroom has a custom made king size bed with quality mattress and bedding, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Located in the living area sleeps two
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Beautiful Sandstone shower and bath with rain shower heads adventure,romantic, housekeeper included, self-catering, spices, freezer, stove top burners, toaster, blender, oven, wet bar, gourmet kitchen, radio, books, books adult, games adults, internet access, outdoor grill gas, porch furniture, barbecue, outdoor furniture, deck furniture,porch/lanai,terrace, garden, gated community, patio stone/concrete, yard, outdoor pool, free local calls, activities guide, bottled water, cold water dispenser, filtered water, local activities guide,staff, security system, local maps, concierge, alarm clock, ceiling fans, laundry soap, restaurant dining guide,shampoo, toilet paper,alarm system, safe, soaps basic, towels provided,hair dryer, paper towels, split-system air ,sofabed, Property is better suited to children over 12 Mid week cleaning and towel service is included Additional cleaning can be added for a small fee House Manager can book tours at your request

Partner Offers