Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

York Harbor 1890's Estate with In-Ground Heated Pool

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, In-Ground Pool, Large Patio, Perfect for Entertaining

"Moonbeam Manor" is a charm-filled turn-of-the-century Victorian in the heart of York Harbor offering 3,600 square feet of comfortable living space. The home is privately nestled off York Street, set on nearly 1.5 well-manicured acres, with an in-ground pool and large patio. With an outdoor shower for those warm summer days. Extensively renovated throughout, yet retaining its original details and character, this spacious home with 9 foot high ceilings features a fully-applianced kitchen with breakfast nook and granite counters, spacious family room, formal living and dining rooms, two fireplaces, main level office and baby grand piano. The third level has been recently renovated to include two bedrooms and a full bathroom. (Please note there are no bedrooms on the ground floor.)

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Alexandra

We're back! After renting our 9 Bedroom house in Cape Neddick since 1995 we are onto another holiday rental adventure. This beautiful family managed home is located in York Harbor and offers a great getaway, quaint location for your family gathering and even a heated pool!

Alexandra purchased this house in 2015

Why Alexandra chose Southern Coast of Maine

Only house in York Harbor with a heated swimming pool!


What makes this house unique

Heated pool with diving board and outdoor shower and heat retention blanket.

Covered outdoor BBQ cooking area & stone bar.

Baby grand piano in entry foyer.


Nearest Airport
49 Miles
Portland Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
York Harbor Inn & The Pub
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cape Neddick
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Wells, Maine
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
York Harbor Inn
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
York Harbor or Long Sands
Car: necessary

Nearest Airports: Boston Logan at 65 Miles; Portland Jetport at 49 Miles

Nearest Motorway : 95 at 2 Miles;

Nearest Beach : York Harbor, Short Sands, Long Sands at 0.2 Miles;

Nearest Bar/pub : Ships Cellar Pub at York Harbor Inn at 0.2 Miles;

Nearest Restaurant : York Harbor Inn at 0.2 Miles;

Conveniently located in Southern Maine only 1 hour 10 minutes from Boston/Logan, 45 minutes from Portland Jetport, Maine, & 15 minutes from Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Here are a few ideas: Kayak rentals, surfing or stand up paddle boarding, fishing. Stonewall Kitchen is opposite the I-95 exit for York is a lovely place to shop for delicious goodies, have lunch, or just sample and browse. They also have cooking classes! For history buffs, there is an old wharf owned by John Hancock, An Old Gaol (jail) which is also a museum. There is York's Wild Kingdom with petting zoo in York Beach that also includes a Boardwalk and Arcade. There are a few golf courses/country clubs near by. York village is full of art, craft & touristy shops!


York Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - shower , outdoor shower
  • 1/2 bath, ground floor. Outdoor shower, full hot & cold water. Master bed room ensuite.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
York Harbor 1890's Estate with In-Ground Heated Pool
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews

Lovely long weekend

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Moonbeam Manor was lovely. There was more than enough space for the 10 of us. While the weather was rainy and chilly, we had an incredible time. When the rain subsided, we made good use of the outdoor fire pit making s'mores. We most certainly will return!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, unfortunately the weather is the one thing we cannot control! However we try to do our best in all other controllable aspects. Glad the visit met your expectations. Welcome back any time. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming well maintained home in a beautiful peaceful setting.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 12 thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful pool and yard, spacious home with all conveniences. Walking distance to beach area and several restaurants. Landlord was very easy and responsive to any questions or concerns.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Week at York

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moonbeam Manor. We had two small children and six adults. The pool was a big hit as were the beaches. It is easy walking to delightful beaches with stretches of sand and rock outcroppings. We collected crabs and shells with the children and also went to the zoo.

The house was comfortable and the kitchen roomy enough so that multiple meals could be prepared at the same time. There is an outdoor porch that over looks the pool plus a patio right by the pool.

A lovely spot.

We are happy we selected Moonbeam Manor and would return in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 adults and 5 children had a wonderful stay at Moonbeam Manor. The home is beautiful, very comfortable, and clean, with a well equipped gourmet kitchen. Porch, patio, fire pit, and pool are great for entertaining, and the grounds are nicely kept and private. We appreciated having long and short beaches, York Harbor, a grocery store, and restaurants in close proximity. Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth are short drives. Alexandra was great, and made the reservation process easy. We hope to return soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, MA


  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Moonbeam Manor. The house was great for a large group and family summer vacation. Close to York harbor and long and short sands beaches. Short drive to golf, Ogunquit, Portland and Portsmouth NH and other fun things to do. The pool and patio were great and the grounds were very private. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This is a beautiful home that truly accommodates 12 adults comfortably.

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this home for rental. It was comfortable, clean, and very well equipped with kitchen supplies and a bathroom for visitors on each floor. The grounds are also lovely and private. We appreciated the close proximity to town, restaurants and the grocery store. We were here to attend my daughter's wedding, and I could not have made a better choice. I would definitely return.

The only disappointment was the pool. It was not heated. The owner said the heater was not turned on due to a cool, rainy forecast. We spent a lot of time cleaning it thinking it would get warm. We would have been in it despite the cooler air temperature! The pool was one of the reasons I chose to rent this home. On the day of the wedding, it was 68 degrees and sunny. The pool temperature was supposed to be 72 degrees. We all wanted to swim! I wish the owners would have let us know it was not going to be heated as expected.

We did not use the outdoor grill. It is quite small in surface area- more like a George Foreman grill. We were very happy with all kitchen appliances. They are excellent quality. The dishwasher was silent! Please be careful not to inadvertently hit the red switch on the stairs going down to the basement! The morning we left, several family members brought towels and sheets down and the switch was turned off. As a result, we had no hot water and did not know why! The switch should be covered with a wire cage so it cannot be accidently turned off.

In summary, I would absolutely highly recommend this property to potential renters. It is spacious, comfortable, quiet, private, and accommodating. The kitchen is perfect with several choices inside and out for dining areas. The bedrooms and bathrooms are delightful. Living areas many and comfortable. The property is clean, and beautifully landscaped. It has a great location. The pool is wonderful and we would have liked to have used it. Just wished we knew ahead of time it was NOT going to be available! The owners should inform renters under what circumstances the pool will not be heated for swimming.

I would love to return to this property. It was truly perfect for our needs. All amenities are of high quality and plentiful. You do not have to worry about bringing everyday essentials like towels, pots and pans, utensils, dishes, etc. Laundry detergent, dishwasher soap and toilet paper were supplied. Great place, exceeded expectations

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi: Well glad the house met your expectations and the stay was overall successful. As for the pool, we did open it up earlier than normal this year, in anticipation of the global warming phenomenon. However the weather let us down and was pretty much in 50's and rainy thru most of your stay except that one afternoon you cite. So yes the pool does have a heater but in light of the bad weather we did not see any point in burning a couple of hundred dollars of propane for a weekend that was not really pool weather anyways. Maybe your next visit pool use will work out better. And certainly we cannot guarantee use of pool when booking several months in advance of occupancy, before summer season, sorry. Richard RADA
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning Fee $300
Tax Rate 9.0%

During Summer Season we rent Saturday to Saturday. ONE WEEK MINIMUM BOOKING.
September 4 nights minimum stay, October 3 nights minimum stay.
Minimum Stay Off Season is two nights.

WINTER SPECIAL: Any 3 weekday nights $600.

We ask for a $750 deposit to hold booking that is promptly returned after occupancy if all is in order upon check-out.

All rentals are subject to Maine State Lodging Tax (9%).

We do not start taking reservations for the next summer until JANUARY of that year. Sorry, but overwhelming demand for summer weeks and we try to prioritize repeat renters. We do attempt to rent to first come first serve.

General Guidelines for Rentals

Right now we are not using CC payments via HomeAway or VRBO. FYI: if we were to accept CC there is obviously a charge to us, which we could stand to absorb. However HomeAway has a policy of now charging YOU an extra 4-9% (at their sole discretion) of the rental price for CC or bank transfer thru them, which we think is a bit exorbitant so we just use checks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.