Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Genuine 1800's Maine Shore Summer Cottage-A Perfect Summer Place.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, four beds , two full baths. maximum of 5 guests.

DreamShore Cottage is a genuine old time Maine Summer House dating from the 1880s. Even with extensive renovation, you’ll find the rustic charm remains with all the modern conveniences and recent renovations. The first floor is heated in both the living room and bedroom. We offer a 15% discount for active US/UK/Canada military with ID.

* Bedroom 1 – 1 Queen 1st Floor Electric Heat

* Master Bedroom Bath - Full Bath with claw-foot tub All new appliances

* Main Bath - Extra large Shower. Washer/Dryer. All new appliances.

* Upstairs has 3 antique double beds in 2 rooms

RENOVATED KITCHEN & DINING AREA with updated kitchen appliances including refrigerator, electric stove, and microwave.

CLASSIC & COMFORTABLE LIVING ROOM with fireplace and automatic heater. Great Family Area! Standard cable TV and DVD. Stereo system w/ radio and CD player. Internet but no phone. Cellphone required.

DECK/PORCH: Large screened-in porch with furnishings. Gas grill, picnic table, and fire pit with rustic seating (weather permitting) in yard.

We are often asked about Air Conditioning. We are on the Coast of Maine - next to the salt water which is about 55 degrees in the summer. There are almost always breezes in the afternoon and the nights are usually cool. The downstairs is well shaded and there is a large fan for warm evenings in the downstairs bedroom. Afternoons can be warm on the second floor but there is an attic exhaust fan that will blow out the hot air and cool the place off quickly. Most homes on the shore here do not have AC. We do not have AC in our home which is next door- just an exhaust fan. Our family lived in this cottage all summer long for many years and we never considered AC necessary.

EXTRAS: Firewood provided. Maine law prohibits importing firewood from out of state. Please do not bring your own wood.

LANGUAGES: Frederick & Aija Cahn speak English, Latvian. French, German, & Russian.

Several years ago we were faced with what to do with this historic house. It is one of the last of its kind on the coast and most have been converted to McMansions or, long-ago, just fell down. Any serious upgrade would have lost the charm of a simpler life and we chose to keep it, as much as possible, in its original form. It was once a summer inn with several wharves on the shore and steamer service to Bar Harbor. We have upgraded all the bathrooms and bedding and made it easier to keep clean, but it is still an old time Maine Summer Camp.

Our wonderful land is located on the east end of Berry's Cove with great views of Frenchman’s Bay and Mt. Desert Island along with direct access to the shore across the front lawn. With a southwest exposure, you’ll love the bright sunny days and gorgeous sunsets. You’ll be surrounded by lots of wildlife, including eagles, loons, herons, and many other sea and shore birds.

There are so many tourist attractions in the area it would be impossible to name them all. Enjoy all the amenities of nearby Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor with just a 25 minute drive (approximately 3 miles away by water). Northeast and Southwest Harbor and Blue Hill are all close by.. The main commercial area is Ellsworth (15 minutes drive) with everything you could ever need. There are numerous music festivals throughout the summer, excellent restaurants, and even a cinema for rainy days. Fun attractions include several scenic flight and whale watch companies, professional kayak tours, logging shows, miniature golf, and much more. Blunt's Pond is a beautiful and clean spring-fed swimming pond within easy 12 minute walking distance on the woods path and of course you can brave the Atlantic on the shore. Lamoine Beach is a couple miles down the road as is the Lamoine State Park.

There is an outside Fire Pit available at owner's discretion. Use will be curtailed during dry weather.

Please Note: Dreamshore Cottage is on 12 acres of shorefront property that also includes our home and Dreamshore Studio which can be rented with the Cottage for additional guests. We do not accept pets of any kind. Please do not ask for an exception to this.

Minimum rental is 5 days due to significant cleaning time and costs. This is a large cottage.

More Details

Owner
Frederick & Aija Cahn
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, russian, Latvian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 5, 2017

About Frederick & Aija Cahn

Our family has owned this property since 1958. Although we have lived in many different places all over the globe, we have always called this place home. Our family speaks English, French, German, Russian, and Latvian.

Frederick & Aija Cahn purchased this cottage in 1958

Why Frederick & Aija Cahn chose Lamoine

This is a unique place to stay as it was originally built as a summer house. This is not someone's home that has been vacated for the summer - it was actually built to accommodate 'Rusticaters' from Bar Harbor who came over on regularly scheduled boat service. There used to be several docks in front. Although extensively renovated and improved, you can still live the life that existed back in a more leisurely and relaxed time.

What makes this cottage unique

A large and beautiful lawn with full grown trees down to the beach where you can enjoy a southwest exposure - that means afternoon sun and evening sun which is important on the sometimes cool Maine coast. A true historical setting. And, your hosts are close by and ready to help with any issues that might arise.

Amenities

Lamoine Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , washer/dryer
  • All new fixtures & washer/dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bed & bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , East 2nd floor bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , West 2nd floor bedroom
  • The Master bedroom is heated and has a separate, private bath. Upstairs is unheated and has exhaust fans in each bedroom. No air conditioning - we are on the Maine Coast.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Please note - Linen and towels included, please do not bring your own. TV is standard cable package. No telephone - cellphone required for telephone. Pets of any sort are not allowed. Please do not ask us to change this rule. No candles or incense allowed. There is an outdoor fire pit available at owner's discretion. Use will be curtailed in dry weather.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
A Genuine 1800's Maine Shore Summer Cottage-A Perfect Summer Place.
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
5

Peaceful, charming and a little rustic.

  • 5 of 5

Situated on a private lane, this late 19th century cottage looks out over a quiet bay. The owners live next door, and renters' privacy and comfort is their highest priority. A 10-12 minute walk takes you to a swimming pond from where you can wander through trails on foot or bicycle. It's a short drive to the historic town of Ellsworth, large stores, and a local farm stand. The Scoodic Penisula beckons to the East and Mount Desert Island to the West. We spent most of our time on the porch or by the bay reading, watching the changing light reflected off the water, and cooking simple meals in the fully-equipped (minus a dish washer) kitchen. This was probably one of the most restful vacations I've ever had!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you feel this way about our house. There has been four generations of our family who have lived here and there has been a great deal of life lived in it. The porch has always been where people gathered in the afternoon and evening. It is indeed a special and loved place and it takes special people to respond to it. Thank you very much indeed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thrilled to be at the shore!

  • 5 of 5

The Cahns were gracious hosts who took great care of us. The house was roomy, clean, and delightfully rustic. The setting was beautiful and private. The playground was a bonus for our granddaughter.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review. We loved having you folks stay with us. It makes everyone here happy when our guests are having a good time. We really hope you come back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect for our family of four! About a 25-30 min drive to beautiful Acadia park.

Cottage has a rustic charm and great waterfront view. Comfy beds and big screened in front porch. House looks just as pictured.

Our hosts were great! Hope we can come back and visit again sometime.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

It was ok...

  • 2 of 5

The location is nice and quiet. The porch is very nice. Having a washer/dryer is great.

There weren't any problems, just some disappointments.

While the cottage is on the waterfront, it's not good for swimming or searching for sea creatures.

The downstairs offers one quite private bedroom, but upstairs is an open area with no privacy, along with one semi-private room. So I'd say the upstairs is really meant for families - this was ok for us, but mostly because there were only 3 of us sleeping there. A larger non-related group might not love the arrangement.

And the cottage is a good 30-40 minute drive to Mt. Desert Island; groceries are at least a 15 minute drive.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were stunned when we saw this review. As stated: "There were no problems". The facts are that this is a bogus review written because, we surmise, a key member of her party did not show and she had other, obvious, issues with the group. We consistently get great reviews and everything she mentioned except the distance from Mt. Desert is exactly as described in our website. They arrived considerably before our posted arrival time and left 2 1/2 hours late. We said nothing about any of that. They were late with payments. The kids loved feeding our chickens and we have a charming memory of them doing it for the last time just before they left. They used our shore front extensively and gathered shellfish to cook. The party used their kayak in our beautiful Berry Cove. Few people swim in the ocean because it is very cold and tidal as it is everywhere in this area. We did inform them of several wonderful and very close by swimming options. We are not sure what "sea creatures" they were looking for on the shore. The shore is extensive and provides literally hours of hiking opportunities in an exhilarating and beautiful place. Our cottage is about 12 minutes from the bridge to Mount Desert Island. Once on the island, there can be slow traffic because the Bar Harbor Road is under construction. The cottage was exactly as described. Yes, it is better for families. Of course it is. Most houses are. The upstairs is clearly shown in the pictures on the website. We regret that these renters did not enjoy themselves. We sincerely doubt that the cottage had anything to do with that. We cannot fix problems we are unaware of. They said nothing to us at all about any issues and neglected to fill in our comment-sheet which we give all our guests. We are unsure how we could have changed this in any way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Wonderful time was had by all.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely setting with very attentive owners here to help. Would definitely recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. This is a great place for friends to get together!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic and rustic

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The property is just as presented online. The setting is beautiful and the water view and access is incredible. Super fun for a family with young kids - so much for kids to explore. Also great for adults- beautiful and quiet. The owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Hancock County Bar Harbor Airport (BHB)
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Ellsworth
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Trenton
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Ellsworth
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lamoine General Store
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lamoine Beach
Car: necessary

DreamShore Cottage is on the east end of Berry's Cove with a view of Mt. Desert Island. With a southwest exposure, there are bright sunny days with gorgeous sunsets. The Cottage has direct access to the shore across the front lawn. The shore is rocky and shale until the low water mark. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are about 25 minutes away by car and approximately 3 miles away by water. There are numerous music festivals nearby throughout the summer. Shopping is available in Ellsworth, about 15 minutes away, and there is the Lamoine General Store in town with a good lunch counter. Lamoine State Park is just down the road and Lamoine Beach, with a beautiful sand beach, is just past the Park with a great beach. Blunt's Pond is a 15 minute walk away through the woods for swimming with clear, clean water. This is a fantastic place for a summer vacation with your family.

Other Activities: canoeing, kayaking in nearby ponds and rivers. Please be aware of the fact that we are on an ocean and this can be treacherous for canoes and kayaks.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Arrival is after 5:00 PM on check-in day and departure is prior to 10:00 AM on check-out day. Normally, our changeover day is Saturday.

50% deposit is required for a booking and is refundable up to 60 days prior to arrival date. Full amount is due 14 days prior to arrival. No refunds after full payment is made.

We offer a 15% discount for active US/UK/Canada military with ID.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties