check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Romany Norris

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Modern Lakefront 'Cabin in the Woods' by Glacier National Park

44 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Columbia Falls Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms (1 king, 1 queen), plus queen size futon, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Now accepting 2017 reservations!

Looking for a waterfront cabin in the woods with modern amenities located just minutes to a town and major National Park? You've found it at this home on Duck Lake, just 8 miles north of Columbia Falls & minutes to the West Glacier and Camas Creek entrances of Glacier National Park.

Situated on an acre overlooking Duck Lake (a small, shallow lake on the *west* side of Glacier Park) and Forest Service land, the Duck Lake Vacation Rental by Glacier National Park has everything you need to get away from it all yet stay connected to civilization. This modern cabin the woods, built in 2002, has WiFi, washer/dryer, microwave, home theater system, iPod dock, gas grill & satellite TV, yet feels far and away from your busy, everyday world.

Enjoy quiet evenings by a crackling fire in the chiminea on the deck watching ducks, osprey, eagles & blue herons as the sun sets over the lake. Spend the rainy evening indoors with the warmth of the propane stove watching TV or DVDs & eating popcorn.

Drive the back roads to Glacier Park, seeing beautiful forest & river views typical Glacier Park visitors never see!

Suitability: Ideal for one or two couples, this home sleeps 2-4 quite comfortably and can accommodate up to 6 people utilizing the queen sized futon located in the ''office'' area.

Questions? Please send us a message via owner contact section, or call us directly at 801-230-3945.

*** INCLUDE THE AGES OF ANY CHILDREN IN YOUR PARTY WHEN SUBMITTING INQUIRIES. CONTACT OWNER REGARDING POLICIES FOR CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF SEVEN. ***

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Romany Norris (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Romany Norris

We've loved the Mountain West since we were introduced to it in the early 1980's and finally moved into the Rocky Mountain Region in 1995. We love to spend time in the National Parks located in the Western US and just generally explore this fabulous area of the country. When we aren't dreaming of being independently wealthy, we are working hard at our jobs to earn 'play' money so we can continue exploring the Western US and beyond.

Romany Norris purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Romany Norris chose Glacier Park

We bought our home near Glacier National Park because it was the quintessential 'cabin in the woods' on a small lake, yet close enough to civilization to give us all the comforts of life we have become accustomed to. The house's proximity to Glacier National Park, Kalispell, Whitefish and Bigfork (Flathead Lake) is fabulous! It's essentially 20 minutes away from everything.

What makes this cabin unique

We have thoroughly enjoyed watching the wildlife from our deck overlooking Duck Lake (moose, bear, beaver, heron, eagles, osprey and, of course, ducks) including the little squirrels and chipmunks around the house, and love the wonderful 'back road' access to Glacier National Park. The house is centrally located to virtually anything one would want to do while visiting the area -- Glacier Park, Flathead Lake, Polebridge, Whitefish & more. Secluded, yet still quite close to everything. Even Glacier International Airport is only about a 20 minute drive from the house!

Guestbook comments from the owner

First of all thank you so much for providing such a awesome vacation rental. I did get my refund and thank you for being so quick.. We had such a relaxing vacation.. I have been telling everyone about your rental and have displayed pics of the lake on my computer at work for all my patients to see.. I cant even remember a vacation where I was so relaxed. Your house is stocked well and we did not need anything else.. We really do hope to return and enjoy even more that Montana has to offer.. hopefully a little later in the year so the road to the sun will be open... Once again thank you so very much for all the restaurant suggestions. Both your suggestions were right on... The [Whitefish] Golf course did not disappoint for our anniversary!!! I am so glad I choose Montana over Hawaii!!!
May 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 44 traveler reviews

Modern Lakefront 'Cabin in the Woods' by Glacier National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 46 reviews
5

Beautiful rustic cabin with all the required amenities

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the cabin - it was spacious , updated and everything was in excellent working condition. It was obvious that the owners took great care and pride in making sure their cabin met our expectations. We will definitely recommend this property to any of our relatives and friends planning a visit to Glacier National park.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved Duck Lake Rental!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time at the 'Cabin in the woods', it is literally just that, but in the best way possible. It is such a serene place that is nice and peaceful especially for those who are really looking forward to visiting Montana. We were far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to everything that the drive to anywhere we needed to go was not awful, and most of the times pretty scenic!

We enjoyed having a rental right in the middle of the great outdoors as that is why we go to Montana is to escape! When we were at the rental we spent a lot of time outside on the deck, did some grilling, but mostly just sitting there and letting it all sink in. Our daughter absolutely loved the outdoors of the cabins and enjoyed playing out there.

We enjoyed everything about the cabin! Everything that was advertised was absolutely true, and there was some recent renovations done to the place as well that were wonderful. It was nice to go to a rental and not have to supply EVERYTHING you could ever possibly need, there were a lot of amenities that we were thankful for in this cabin. The owners were wonderful and by chance we were even lucky enough to meet the house keeper and her daughter, and they were delightful people as well. It was also very kid friendly, as I mentioned before, our daughter loved it there! All around our experience at this cabin could not have been better, everyone was happy with the choice to stay here! If you get the chance to stay here, I wouldn't pass it up!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quiet, nicely furnished and well equipped vacation home on a small lake

  • 5 of 5

We (three adults) spent a week at the Duck Lake vacation home. Everything in the house worked well - the kitchen has all the utensils you could possibly want and the two bathrooms come with lots of towels, shampoo, tissue boxes, etc. The place is very comfortable and offers plenty of space. The owners provide well-written instructions for appliances and light switches. The house comes with all the appliances that one would expect in a regular home, including wireless internet and a small printer.

We also really enjoyed the fact that basic cooking supplies were available - oil, salt, sugar, pepper, etc. Previous renters had left two cans of bear spray - much appreciated! We took them on hikes but were glad to be able to put them back on the shelf unused.

The lake is rather small but makes a nice backdrop to the deck. There were remarkably few mosquitoes for late June! We watched birds on the lake, saw a few deer, and a small frog or toad that climbed on the deck every evening. The neighborhood dogs kept us company but were very well behaved and knew that they had to stay outside.

The back road to the West entrance to Glacier National Park was very convenient. A good grocery store is about 8 miles drive away; if you are looking for a more upscale restaurant, it's a longer drive (about 30 minutes to Whitefish, a ski resort).

There are several homes built around the lake and the neighbors are quite close. However, the layout and design of the property are such that one feels very private inside the house and on the deck. Even though some of the neighbors were around, it was very quiet.

There is quite an extensive trail system that one can access directly from the house. You can hike, run, or mountain bike, wildlife permitting.

Our email interactions with the owners were very positive. They are responsive, friendly, and clearly want to be helpful.

In summary, this is a very nice, quiet, and convenient place to stay if you want to explore Glacier National Park and the Flathead National Forest. Definitely recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Woodsy Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Our time at the wonderfully secluded yet convenient Duck Lake cabin near Columbia Falls, Montana was all we hoped it would be. The cabin is convenient to Whitefish, Glacier National Park, Kalispell and Flathead Lake. We enjoyed each of these areas on day trips, and came home to a comfortable, clean and very well organized "home away from home." The cabin is well stocked with the basic supplies needed and the owners were eager to be helpful and were very thorough in their explanations of what to expect. A plus for our family were the two neighborhood dogs, a Golden Retriever and A Lab mix that welcomed us home each evening. It made it more homelike and we missed our own pets less:-) To quote one of the earlier guests who left a note in the book, "it was the best cabin ever!"

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful little get away

  • 5 of 5

If you need to completely unplug, this is the place. So peaceful and relaxing. Love the deck and the lake. Love the hassle free fire place. Cabin is clean, comfy and beautiful. Love the neighbors dogs! Love those mountains. Just awesome. A great place to put life in perspective.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Berkeley Springs
5

Amazing 25th Anniversary Trip

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the cabin was from 09.27-10.04.15. We chose to stay here for our 25th Anniversary trip to Glacier National Park. The cabin is lovely and the view of the lake is beautiful. They thought of everything that you would need to stay. We enjoyed being able to come to our "Glacier Home" every day after exploring the park. The cabin is on a lake with very quiet surroundings and we made 2 friends that came to visit us on a daily basis throughout our stay. They came to greet us either in the am or when we got back from our day. Wildlife on the lake included the harlequin ducks and a blue heron one afternoon/evening. Cabin is very near the West Entrance of GNP which is where we spent all of our days but 1. About the Park....Beautiful Scenery...mountains, lakes, waterfalls, streams and lots of wildlife....Grizzlies, black bears, eagles, bighorn sheep, mountain goats, eagles, moose, and even a wolverine on hidden lake trail. Hiked Hidden Lake, Iceberg Lake, Avalanche Lake, John's Run trails and seen some sort of wildlife each time. Driving the Going to the Sun Road is a must. Met lots of fellow hikers on the trails to share memories with. Went to the National Bison Range 1 day. About an hour or so away. Went to photograph bison and pronghorn and the range is wonderful. 19 mile road you can drive through and view the wildlife on the range. Thank You to Roger and Romany for opening up their home and allowing us to have a home for a week during our visit. We brought home lots of pictures, videos and memories to cherish and to share.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Glacier Park International Airport (FCA)
Nearest Barpub
8.5 Miles
Bandit Saloon, Columbia Falls, MT
Nearest Golf
9.75 Miles
Meadow Lake Resort, Columbia Falls, MT
Nearest Train
18.25 Miles
Amtrak, West Glacier, MT
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Several located in Columbia Falls
Car: necessary

On the *west* side of Glacier National Park. 8 Miles North of Columbia Falls, Just off the North Fork Rd.

Near the west border of Glacier National Park; House is located in mountains 8 miles north of Columbia Falls; 20 minutes to Whitefish and Kalispell, 10 minutes to Camas Creek entrance of Glacier National Park, 15 - 20 minutes to West Glacier entrance of Glacier National Park via Blankenship Road.

Other Activities: Glacier National Park, Kayaking, Canoeing, Hiking, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing, Shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

Columbia Falls Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Fall
Sep 11 2016 - Oct 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$215
$1,330
 
 
2017 Spring
May 20 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
2017 Peak
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,890
 
 
2017 Fall
Sep 17 2017 - Oct 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,890
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Exit Cleaning $130 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

3 night min. If only 2 nights are open on the calendar, minimum is 2 nights. No single night rentals allowed.
7 nights = week
10% discount for return guests

HOUSE RULES:
* Maximum occupancy is 6 guests. No exceptions.
* No children under age 7 without owner approval.
* No smoking.
* No pets.
* Be respectful of area residents and wildlife. If we we receive reports of obnoxious behavior towards area residents or harassment of area wildlife, your security deposit will not be refunded and you may be evicted with no refunds whatsoever.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Columbia Falls Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Printer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Full size clothes washer and dryer located in the downstairs bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs - 1 king , Extra thick plush mattress
    Downstairs - 1 queen , Extra thick mattress
  • Queen size futon located in the 'office' area downstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
CONTACT OWNER REGARDING POLICIES FOR CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF SEVEN. Unlimited long distance calls to anywhere in the U.S.A! Call all your friends and family living in the United States from the home phone & tell them what a great time you are having at Glacier National Park! . Satellite TV, all-in-one color printer (fax, scan, copy, print), iPod dock, iron with table top ironing board, hair dryer. Full kitchen with quality, non-stick cookware/bakeware, cutting boards, cooking utensils and serving dishes, coffee maker with filters, coffee grinder, blender & toaster oven. Side by side refrigerator/freezer with external ice/water dispenser. Paper products, shampoo, conditioner, dish soap, bath soap and laundry detergent provided.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties