Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

EARLY BIRD SUMMER SALE! $99/nt MIDMARCH! GREATEST OCEANFRONT VIEW! ROMANTIC!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 10 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Heated Pool
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

EARLY BIRD SUMMER SALE!!! $99/nt for reservation stay dates starting March 13 to September 30, 2017. Price only applicable to new reservations. Offer not valid on existing reservations. Price does not include taxes and fees.

This is the REAL DEAL - A DIRECT OCEANFRONT CONDO in a OCEANFRONT COMPLEX. Not just an Oceanview Condo in an Oceanfront Complex!!

FREE NETFLIX AND LONG DISTANCE TO CANADA!

WATCH the DOLPHINS and WHALES (typically Dec. - March) from Your Own PRIVATE OCEANFRONT LANAI. Stay in a Beautiful, Tranquil and Romantic Oceanfront Condo.

'HALE HONU' is 'THE HOUSE OF THE TURTLE' - A truly spectacular Oceanfront Condo that reflects that ALOHA SPIRIT and an amazing view of Kailua Bay. The Pool and Spa are both Oceanfront as well. The Sea Village complex is in high demand and highly sought after by repeat guests year after year. Sea Village is very popular and located on the well known Alii' Drive and sits back off the main roadway, thus making it very quiet. The only thing you'll hear is the relaxing sounds of the waves from the Pacific Ocean. A perfect location for a much needed vacation in peaceful tranquility.

Enjoy the Hawaiian Tropical gardens with tables, chairs, and several Barbecue grills. Beautiful blooming Hibiscus and swaying palm trees complete the tropical grounds. FREE onsite 'Wi-Fi' is included at no extra cost. Our Oceanfront Condo includes some Snorkeling Equipment, Beach Chairs, Umbrella, and Cooler(s). There is a large selection of DVD movies (over 150) included for your enjoyment as well as books to sit back and relax.

New 50 Inch LCD HDTV in Living room and 32 Inch LCD HDTV in Master Bedroom!!

The condo is a short 1 mile walk to town, and located onsite is the Green Flash (independently owned) coffee/smoothie shop/cafe for all your morning coffee and smoothie desires, along with some light food and sandwich needs for lunch or breakfast.

Our condo is quiet, extremely clean, TOTALLY UPDATED with PROFESSIONAL TROPICAL DECOR and BEAUTIFUL CUSTOM TILE and very, very comfortable. Once you stay with us in our condo at Sea Village it will become your first choice when coming back to the 'Big Island' of Hawaii.

SUNSETS, SUNSETS, SUNSETS....Watch the dazzling colors of a ROMANTIC Hawaiian Sunset from your private Lanai or get lucky and see 'The Green Flash' on the horizon.

Our condo is always presented with the Aloha spirit in mind. It's advised to book early, because our unit is kept very busy.

Rate does not include tax, $115 cleaning fee and $150 refundable damage deposit (owners may require higher damage deposit). Sale or Special Rate Offers are only valid for new reservations, and not valid for existing reservations.

PERFECT for HONEYMOONERS or ANNIVERSARIES!

MAHALO!!!

Keywords: Beautiful Oceanfront Condo, ultra clean, well kept, many amenities. Spectacular Sunsets, Watch the Dolphins and Whales from your Private Lanai that is TOTALLY OCEANFRONT!!

Registration identification number for this property is: W93363780-01

More Details

Owner
Kyle Cunningham
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

About Kyle Cunningham

Aloha and welcome to the 'Hale Honu House' (The Turtle House). This unit it truly lovely with many upgrades and well appointed decorations. My husband fell in love with the view and the beautiful sunsets as well as the beautiful decor including custom 'hand' inlaid tile with fish, turtles (honu) and a beautiful colorful oval tile floor mosaic artwork with fish, coral, turtles and the ocean. It was a must buy for him due to the wonderful location and the uniqueness of the unit TOTALLY UPGRADED.

We hope you come stay with us!

Mahalo,

Margie and John Bartleman and son Kyle Cunningham

Kyle Cunningham purchased this condo in 2010

Why Kyle Cunningham chose Kona Coast

We own a couple condos in the popular Sea Village Resort located on ALii' Drive in Kailua-Kona, HI. Guests like Sea Village so much thst the complex gets a large number of repeat guests.

What makes this condo unique

BEAUTIFUL TILEWORK THROUGHOUT. TOTALLY OCEANFRONT for WHALE and DOLPHIN WATCHING.

Guestbook comments from the owner

John & Margie,



We wanted to let you know that we enjoyed staying at both of your oceanfront condos. They were both fantastic and the ocean views and sound of the waves was just spectacular. Your condos were by far the best places we have rented on any of the Hawaiian islands. We will definitely stay with you again on our next trip to Kona. You provided everything we needed to make this vacation one of our best ever. We cannot say cannot say enough about the condos or your great service and attention to make us feel right at home, except with much better views and sounds.



Mahalo,



Jan
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) Comfy Deluxe Queen Air Mattress (18' thick, self-inflating and deflating)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Honu House is a well appointed professionally decorated totally Location Location Location condo right on the water. The oceanfront view is breathtaking. Watch the spinner dolphins from your lanai while you sip your morning Kona coffee or whale watch Dec - March. Your lovely condo is a first floor unit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

EARLY BIRD SUMMER SALE! $99/nt MIDMARCH! GREATEST OCEANFRONT VIEW! ROMANTIC!
average rating of 4.520548 based on 77 reviews
5

Perfect Sunset

  • 5 of 5

The rental property is conveniently located for you to enjoy fantastic sunsets views. Enjoy dinner on the lanai and with the best Sunset dinning view available!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

The view of the ocean was spectacular

  • 4 of 5

Older unit but very comfortable

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camas, WA
4

Bucket list.

  • 4 of 5

Ideal location. Beautiful decor. Furniture and bed uncomfortable for older folks who like firmer furniture. Watched a mother whale with her baby for two hours 50 to 200 yards from our lanai. Can't beat that view.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bandon, Oregon
5

Beautiful well appointed condo right at the waters edge

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved Hina Hale codo at Sea Village. The minute you walk in the condo it is beautiful with the ocean laid out right in front of you. We had a spectacular high surf event when we first arrived with waves crashing and spray at times reaching up to the balcony. It was spectacular and one of the highlights of our trip. The condo is exceptionally clean and will appointed with everything you will need. We appreciated having the hot tub to go to after spending time snorkeling in the nearby beaches. We also appreciated the good quality snorkeling gear and beach chairs chairs. Most of the time we were perfectly fine with just the ceiling fans and the doors open only would turn the AC on in the bedroom right before bed for a little bit which was nice. Keith was wonderful to work with we thank you Keith for allowing others to share this beautiful space. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great view from the lanai!

  • 4 of 5

The condo was a wonderful retreat with a fantastic ocean FRONT view. It was nice to have air conditioning in the bedroom but would have preferred to have it in the living space as a fan in the bedroom would have been sufficient and there was one in the condo to use. It was clean and ready for us when we arrived after dark. Having a parking space was also a plus! Enjoyed having the movies, the free wi-fi, and the open communication with the owners when we noticed something amiss. We enjoyed the few evenings we had there watching the sunset and relaxing with a glass of wine out on the lanai. The pool / spa area is a bit small but the other guests were friendly and easy to visit with. The Sea Village condo was conveniently located by a side street with a three way stop allowing easy access away from Alii Dr. if heading into town. We would definitely consider coming back to this unit in the future!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

So Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

The lanai experience is exactly as advertised (thank goodness), however this property is very dated and not very clean. First impression, the doorplate for the outdoor handle was askew. Upon entering, we encountered: dried blood on the wall by the bathroom door, LOTS of bugs (beetles/cockroaches) in bathroom, a soaking wet bath mat that never dried the entire 8 days we were there (and no extra mats to replace it with), VERY OLD - threadbare bedsheets, stained pillow cases and stained accent pillows, older-mismatched towels in bathroom and kitchen (some of the kitchen linens had holes in them) and a bedroom ceiling fan that without any rhyme or reason was extremely noisy and other times quiet. (If we had encountered any bugs in the bedroom, we would have not stayed at this property.) Although property has been vacuumed, it had not been dusted recently and a LONG time since someone has washed the floors or walls. Lots of squished bug marks on wall of bathroom. Dirty, stained wine glasses in kitchen cupboard so going forward we washed every dish, cup, utensils before using. Lots of tiny ants in kitchen - but constantly wiping down counters seemed to keep the numbers down. Stackable washer/dryer very old and small - 2nd day in the badly corroded lint trap system collapsed into the dryer - maintenance person didn't come until the last day to replace the system although it was reported to him earlier in the week. The screen mesh of the lanai doors has separated from frame and there are holes in the mesh as well. Stains on the living couch - probably from someone sitting in wet bathing suit or shorts. We persevered and decided to think of our stay as staying at someone's cabin - because it was at least a step up from camping. The property does provide good snorkeling equipment and a collapsible cooler - lots of movies and books. There is good equipment in the kitchen, although the hood vent for the stove is corroded and stove itself is very dated. Although the property has a no smoking rule on lanais, often we were subjected to wafting cigarette smoke from other units. During booking, owner was quick to respond to emails, however during stay and after, no response. Had to send two email reminders to get damage deposit refunded - which was refunded 3 weeks AFTER our stay ended. This condo complex as a whole is very nice, clean, quiet and in a great location. If not for the lanai experience, we would have rated this property 1 star.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize that you stay was apparently worth a 2 star. You did not notify us of any issues other than the lint catcher in the dryer. If you had an issue, it is stated in your check-in document to notify the cleaning crew as the time difference to me is 5 hours since I run everything from chicago. We do not have a stock pile of replacement parts since our maintenance guy manages other properties as well, not just ours. He arrived to replace the part when he did since he had to special order it from the hardware store since they didnt have the one he needed in stock. Getting things in Hawaii take time since it is an island and not attached to other land like the states are. I respond as fast as I can, but again, I am 5 hours difference. That is 4 time zones difference from Hawaii. That is why we recommend you contact our cleaning and maintenance crew before us since they are local and can respond to issues faster than I can being 4 time zones away.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season 1 -2017
Mar 13 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Ironman
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 15 2017
10 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Low Season 2 -2017
Oct 16 2017 - Dec 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kona
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Huggos on the Rocks
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
On property Breakfast and Lunch
Car: recommended

Many extras like binoculars for whale and dolphin viewing, snorkel equipment, beach towels, boogie boards, beach gear, flashlights for Volcano National Park and much more....

2 LCD HDTVs and over 150 DVDs!

Photos

Partner Offers