check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family friendly waterfront home with hot tub, boat dock and perfect location.

Sleeps30
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
30
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Tool House Rental Photos and Description

Modern waterfront home for large families, retreats and group gatherings!

Get ready for family fun when you make this lakefront house your home-away-from-home!

With its ideal location 15 feet from the shore of deep water on Cedar Creek Lake, you and the whole family will delight in the cool morning breezes, the spacious wraparound deck, and the many games and gathering areas this cozily sophisticated waterfront vacation home has to offer.

Located in Arnold Hills, less than one hour from downtown Dallas and within 90 minutes from most of the DFW Metroplex, the home is centrally located close to the shopping and attractions of Gun Barrel City, Canton and Seven Points.

This vacation home is set up for family fun!

Key features include:

- Sleeps large groups with 5 private bedrooms + 4 bonus sleeping areas, 1 sleeper sofa and 4 air mattresses (see Amenities page for breakdown of bed configurations)

- No need to bring all of your USB chargers! We have USB outlets installed throughout the house, for easy device charging.

- Cook and entertain with ease in the fully stocked kitchen. Plenty of kitchen appliances,tools, dinnerware and glassware

- Build memories in the game room with board games, darts, a pool table and even a slot machine.

- Enjoy splashing around in the lake in our inflatable fishing/rowboat with oars for 4 people

- Relax in one of our three hammocks overlooking the water

- Play with the kids at the sand and water table

- Nap on the screened porch

- Grill for a large group with 6-burner propane BBQ

- Enjoy your meals overlooking the water from the dining room with dramatic views and vaulted ceilings

- 3.5 bathrooms and a second downstairs kitchenette

- Ample parking and space to spread out

Ground Level Features

The spacious living room features a wall of windows, exposed beams, a stone wood-burning fireplace, a comfortable leather sofa and a second sleeper sofa. The large dining table seats 8 with folding chairs. The breakfast table and bar combined seat an additional 8 people. Outdoors on the wraparound deck there is a dining table for six, a hammock and rocking chairs.

Downstairs Features

This floor features a relaxing screen porch that runs the width of the home. On the screened porch you will find another outdoor dining table, a hammock and other seating. In the billiard room there is a pool table, slot machine, dart board and a foldout sleeper couch. Adjacent to the billiard room is a kitchenette with second full sized refrigerator, microwave and double sink. On this floor there is also an office/half bath with full size bed.

Upstairs Features

The upstairs loft has the most magical views of the lake. It fronts the two story wall of windows so you can lay in bed and see for miles across the lake. The loft also has relaxing chairs in the loft for taking in the view.

Are you ready for serious family fun? Book our beautiful vacation home today!

Event fee for weddings $250

Extra deposit for large groups (>25 ppl) $100

We offer a free midweek refresh cleanup service for stays of six nights or more. You arrange the time and date directly with our cleaning crew and they spend two hours tidying up to let you relax on your vacation.

We can also arrange to have the fridge stocked upon your arrival with a list of groceries items you request for a small charge if you prefer to spend your time relaxing instead of grocery shopping.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Christina & Karl, Owners
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian, swedish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

About Christina & Karl, Owners

We are world travelers, each speaking three languages and having lived outside of our home countries most of our lives. We love to travel and when we do we often rent homes.

When we are away we love to share our lake front home with guests.

Why Christina & Karl, Owners chose Cedar Creek Lake

We have been renting vacation rentals for many years ourselves and this property gives us so much of what we love about vacation rentals - the views, the sounds and the character of the home.

What makes this house unique

The 180+ degree views of the water! The gorgeous kitchen and the water views really captured us, but overall this home has so much to offer our family.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Family friendly waterfront home with hot tub, boat dock and perfect location.
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews
4

Very pleasant

  • 4 of 5

We were 16 people in our group and the home accomodated us very well. Owners very easy to work with and communicate with. A great stay for the price!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning Location On The Water

  • 5 of 5

The first thing I noticed when I turned into the driveway was that the long driveway deposited you at the huge house at the bottom and waterfront just beyond that. The view was stunning! I enjoyed much of my time laying in one of the hammocks on the upper deck. The dining room table being able to extend out with just a simple pull made things easy too so all of us could eat in the same place. I thought the USB chargers built into the outlets were great too. So many plates, cups, and utensils that we never have to hunt for anything when we prepared food. We had 5 cars there and had plenty of parking. We could have parked quite a few more with no problem!

One of the best things about this weekend is that the house itself is quiet- it feels remote with only the sound of the crashing waves when one in on the deck. But we discovered that there are a lot of amenities within 10 minutes. We were able to buy food at a grocery story around the corner, Cedar Creek Brewery makes a mean burger and beer, and Jalapeño Tree in Gun Barrel makes great margaritas. So you really get the best of all worlds- a country feeling with a waterside view but with civilization just a few minutes away.

When we arrived, there was a book that had a basic list of dos and don'ts that was easy to read and understand. Various signs were posted in places throughout the house that reminded us of basic things to remember. There was also a few shelves in the pantry that were set aside for guests with some common items on them, which was a nice touch. The living room had a nice TV with a soundbar that got pretty loud. Being able to hook our computer up to the TV and share videos was also nice. Most of the rental houses I've stayed in have the bare minimum in cable, so staying in a place that had a decent collection of channels as well as a Tivo was really nice. One can only lay in a hammock so long after all! We also took advantage of the portable Bluetooth Speakers to bring the party down to the dock as well, which provided a great spot to sit down and fish.

All in all, I found the place great. It was peaceful, spacious, and convenient. I will be telling my friends about this place in the hopes that they invite me down with them too when they come here!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

A large group of us from Austin stayed here a couple nights on the weekend of the TX-OK game at the Cotton Bowl. The owners were incredibly helpful and understanding throughout the process, always quickly answering any questions we had. The house itself was awesome as well. There were a lot of thoughtful and convenient amenities included and everything was right where you'd expect them to be. I usually don't post reviews for anything, but it was such a great weekend, I couldn't not - largely thanks to this house and its awesome owners!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5

We really had a very very bad experience at your vacation house .

1) The whole house was not clean even the refrigerators photos attached.The whole house had crickets.

2) The AC in one of the room was not working

3) The whole bedrooms at the queen sizes bed had animal fur all over the sheets and it was not fun at all .I wish I could have captured that too.

4) The Dishwasher was not working .

5) The Bathroom latch was not getting locked instead of informing nobody came ,this should have taken care before

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry about your bad experience and did everything we could to please you. We also understand that you are unhappy about having to pay for the damages your group left. Our housekeepers did miss cleaning out one of the refrigerators and we all apologized to you for that. They came over again to clean it out as soon as you told us about it. We had our housekeeper clean the crickets you let into the house too. When you leave doors open insects can get inside. Our alarm system registered that your group left exterior doors open for 20+ minutes several times. We discuss this hazard in the welcome guide. All AC units in the home were working the day you arrived and the day you left. Our temperature and electricity sensors on the alarm system verified that they were functioning throughout your stay. We have asked several times which AC wasn’t working with no response. Our housekeeper saw no animal hair anywhere on the sheets, but she changed them as a courtesy to you. We have our sheets sent out to a professional laundry service between each group. If there had been animal hair on them, I would have liked to see it too because I would take it up with my laundry service. The dishwasher stopped working when your group used liquid dish soap instead of dishwasher tabs as we provide. It bubbled over with suds. It worked fine after all that was cleared. All the doors latched properly before you arrived and they latched properly 2 hours after your left. Our housekeeper told you there was nothing wrong with it and said no one would be coming to look at it. Because we knew you were unhappy we extended to you a late checkout. However, you damaged our pool table by spilling liquid on it, leaving stains, and it will need to be recovered now. Someone in your group put a wire coat hanger into our video poker machine, jamming it and causing hundreds of dollars in damage. You tied 11 blankets to the railings of beds, hung all the hangers from the house from railings and left game pieces strewn on all three levels of the house. We will have to replace several of our games, recover the pool table and have a technician repair or replace the poker machine. You also complained that the front door lock didn’t work and the oven didn’t work, but it turned out it was user error, like the dishwasher, the door latch and the crickets. We wish you had read the welcome guide we sent you four times. So much information was in there that would have solved a lot of this.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great lake house!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this house for a girls weekend trip. There were 14 of us. Ages ranged from 31 - 83. The house was spacious and easily kept all of us. The fully stocked kitchen made it easy for us to prepare meals. We loved the sunroom and patio for playing games and having some drinks. Having two refrigerators was nice as well to stock drinks and ice. We actually loved the throne room as it gave us a toilet downstairs. We had two small issues. We didn't use the hot tub because it was a little dirty. (We didn't even tell the owners as we had plenty of other stuff to do). I am sure if we would have told them, they would have had someone over to clean it asap. The lift station was backing up and the neighbor came over to tell us the light was on. We reached out to the owners and they had someone come fix the problem within 30 minutes. We used the little fire pit to make smores. We loved the USB chargers and bose stereo. The boat dock was great for us to lay out on. We tied up a big island float and brought some chairs down and hung out most of the day on Saturday. The location is perfect! We were within a 5 minute drive to all gas stations / liquor stores / grocery stores, etc. A quiet little cove of the lake with great water. Everyone in the group was really impressed with the house and amenities. I hope to be able to stay again!!! I highly recommend this rental for a large group!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location for family get together

  • 4 of 5

We had 20 people at this home over Labor Day weekend and it accommodated everyone fairly well. We thoroughly had a great time boating, floating off the boat dock in the quiet cove, playing pool in the gameroom, and relaxing on the porch. The home is well stocked with everything you need from bed linens to cooking/dining needs. I'm not sure, but I may have been the first person to cook on the grill as it was spotless. The boat lift was not working correctly and the yard was not cut upon our arrival, but Christina and Karl were very responsive and made sure both items were corrected quickly. Overall great time with family and friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Mc Clains Restaurant & Willows
Cedar Creek Brewery
"The brewery is located in Seven Points on our side of the bridge. They brew their beer loca..."
Coconut Island Bar & Grill
"Service has been so-so. We have been three times. The first time was shortly after opening..."
Jalapeno Tree
"This is my husband's favorite Mexican place on the lake. There are several good Mexican pla..."
Lake Jackson Seafood #2
"Pretty good seafood - crawfish etouffe, gumbo, grilled fish, jalapeno shrimp poppers are all..."
Coffee Love
"There's no starbucks in town but this little coffee shop does a good job of making up for that!"
Tavi's Italian Restaurant
"Nice little italian place with pizza and good pasta as well. Does not deliver, so only four ..."
Milano's Pizza
"Good pizza and they deliver to our house!"
Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Dallas-Ft Worth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Cedar Creek Brewery
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cedar Creek Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
McClain's DIner
Car: recommended

Convenient to Cedar Creek Brewery, Tara Winery, Canton Trade Days. Lone Star Marina and Whatz Up Family Fun park with go-karts, mini golf, laser tag and much more.

Rates & Availability

Tool House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
December 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$650
From
$700
Fri,Sat
$3,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 20 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$650
From
$700
Fri,Sat
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 20 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2017
Mar 3 2017 - Apr 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Easter
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Late Spring 2017
Apr 19 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
Summer 2017
May 31 2017 - Jun 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$700
From
$750
Fri,Sat
 
 
Independence Day 2017
Jun 27 2017 - Jul 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$800
From
$850
Fri,Sat
$5,000
 
 
Summer II 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$700
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 20 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

We require an additional deposit for large groups due to the potential for greater damage. For very large groups (>25) or for events, please check with us for additional fees. Larger groups use much more in utilities and create more wear and tear on the home, so there are additional fees for large groups.

For 6 nights or more we offer a midstay refresh for free with our cleaning team coming in and tidying up the house so you can enjoy your vacation. Ask for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tool House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ensuite on Main Floor
    Main Floor Hall Bath - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Full Bath - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Half Bath - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Master Bedroom Main Floor - 1 king , with ensuite bath
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , access to shared full bath/3rd floor & hall bath main floor
    Main Floor Guest Bedroom - 3 double , 1 twin/ single , with full bath on the hallway
    3rd Floor Large Room - 1 queen , 1 double , access to shared full bath on 3rd floor
    King - Walkout to Water - 1 king
    Downstairs Game Room - sofa that 1 can sleep on
    3rd Floor Queen Bedroom - 1 queen
    TV Room - 3rd floor - 1 twin/ single , daybed
    Bonus Sleeping Space/Half Bath - 1 double , has half bath, access to main floor baths
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fishing trips, girls' weekends, church retreats, corporate events and group gatherings.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties