Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Jamestown Conanicut Island Retreat - The Island Life!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Sleeps 4

The Village 59 second floor unit was recently remodeled with everything brand new! We have new granite counter tops, appliances and furniture! Village 59 is situated in the heart of the Village of Jamestown, RI walking distance to all the village has to offer, shopping, restaurants, Newport Ferry (seasonal), fishing, bike and kayak rentals, the beaches.

* Fully Stocked Kitchen

* All Linens, Paper Products and Towels provided

* Laundry room with new LG washer 2015 and and dryer

* Hair dryer and Ironing Board

* Beach chairs and beach towels are provided

* Sleeps up to 5 guest comfortably with 1 twin bed and two queen beds.

* Space for additional air mattress is available. (not provided)

* 2 Samsung LCD TV with Blue Ray DVD/Blue Ray players (movies provided)

* Convenience Store and Redbox located about one block away

* Grocery Store about 3 blocks away

* Closest Airport TF Green (PVD) about 20 miles next closest Boston about 65 miles

Things to do in the area:

* Village 59 is located in the middle of the Southern New England Winery Tours

* Great central location to Boston, Cape Cod and NYC

* Closest Beaches Mackeral Cove and East Ferry both within 1 mile

* 2 Beautiful Rhode Island State Parks Beavertail and Fort Wetherill within 2 miles

* Newport Mansion tours begin just 3-4 miles away

* Kayak, Jet Ski and Bike rentals within 1/2 mile.

* Lots of Shopping along historic streets of Newport and Jamestown

* Jamestown Fire Station Museum

* Hiking trails of Beavertail State Park (3 miles away)

* Newport Walking trail be sure to visit the Cliff Walk

* Sailing aboard a private boat or be a guest aboard the Madeleine (Newport)

* Jamestown Golf Course about 1/2 mile away for Golfers who bring clubs

* Public & Private Tennis Courts about 1/2 mile away.

A limit of no more than 5 adult guest are allowed overnight.

We know you will enjoy your stay in this beautifully updated unit and we look forward to having you as our guest.

Strict NO SMOKING And NO PET policy.

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

More Details

Property Manager
Paul Sylvia
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Paul Sylvia

Paul was born and raised, in his early childhood, in Jamestown. He later moved out of state and has continued to return to visit family and friends. The home has been in the family for many years being handed down generation after generation. It was his goal a few years ago to refurbish the 2nd floor unit and continue the tradition of returning to the home each summer with his family. The owners just recently began to offer it available to friends and other guest.

Paul and Kimberly enjoy returning each year to the quiet historic town to visit the many fine restaurants, bakeries, shops in the area. They also enjoy hiking trails, kayaking, fishing, sailing, golf and relaxing at the local beaches. In addition to the many things to do close by, they sometimes take road trips to nearby Boston and New York City. The owners are confident you will enjoy the accommodations and the beautiful town of Jamestown.

Please feel free to contact Paul regarding any questions you may have and we look forward to you staying in our home away from home in one of the best kept secrets of New England, Jamestown, RI.

Why Paul Sylvia chose Newport and Aquidneck Island

Our vacation rental recently had a complete remodel with all new furnishings and kitchen. This property is also in the best location close to the town center (Village) and walking distance to playground, shopping, Jamestown Ferry, and all of the restaurants in the village. A Cumberland Farms convenience store is located less than 500 feet away from the unit to pick up items during your stay. The unit is within 2-3 miles to two of the most beautiful State Parks you will find in the state of Rhode Island.

What makes this apartment unique

Our central location in New England to New York City, Boston and Cape Cod is a huge plus. All three locations make a drivable day trip.

Amenities

Jamestown Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom is a full bath with shower, tub, sink and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 has one Queen. Bedroom 2 has two Twins and room for an air mattress for a 5th guest. Air mattress is not supplied
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Jamestown Conanicut Island Retreat - The Island Life!
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
5

Clean, quaint, hospitable.

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 stayed at Paul's wonderful

apartment. Paul (the owner) was very responsible and helpful. He provided all the necessary information to enjoy our stay, and was very kind. The apartment was clean when we arrived. Typically the tenants clean upon departure so there is no cleaning fee - unless you request cleaning service. The location was perfect - walking distance to the waterfront and downtown. This is a great location if you are looking to visit the area - easy drive to Newport.

One important note - the apartment is on the second floor and there are tenants on the first floor. There are quiet hours from 10pm-7am, so be mindful of this if you have young children. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying at our place in Jamestown! We look forward to you returning in the future and you and your family are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot and host

  • 5 of 5

Super convenient location, spacious rooms, well-kept and clean and very helpful and responsive host. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay in Jamestown. The house was perfect for us, and the location was fantastic; walking distance to the market and downtown area with Cumberland Farms one block down to pick up a few things if you don't want to walk to the market further down the road. The house is neat and comfortable. Even with being on a main road, you don't hear any outside noise or traffic. The owner was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with, and we thank him for opening up his home to us. Jamestown is a great little town. We were able to catch the fireworks on July 2 which had that small-town feel with kids running about wearing red, white and blue and light up batons. I was sorry I missed the local parade on the 4th! Beavertail State Park is a great place to visit and hang out. We didn't have much time to visit much of Newport since we had wedding events to attend, but were able to do the Cliff Walk one morning which was challenging but fun. With not being familiar with the area and it being a holiday weekend, we took advantage of Uber to and from Newport and found the drivers to be both friendly and informative. We plan to come back to Rhode Island (and Jamestown) again when we have more time.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super duper!

  • 5 of 5

This is a such a nice home, well furnished and great location. The owner was exceptional, great to work with. He takes great detail to make sure things are nice. Bedrooms are spacious. Great front porch sitting area, we enjoyed that a lot in the mornings especially. Very nice convenience store within walking distance for food/snacks. Easy walk to restaurants and ocean. We would go back! It was a comfy & fun stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we do when we are there. We look forward to your future visits! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great location, quaint!

  • 4 of 5

My 2 teenagers and I enjoyed staying here. This is a second floor apartment of a house. It has a great location near Jamestown main drag with restaraunts and Harbor. It is also a 10-20 minute drive to Newport, although main summer holidays could take longer getting over the Pell Bridge (toll $4 each way).

There is ample room for 3-4 people. Beds are comfy, a renovated bathroom and fully stocked kitchen, and is appointed with nice IKEA furnishings and New England-style deckr. There are a washing machine and dryer in a shared laundry room outside adjacent to the downstairs unit. Street noise was minimal and the neighbors are quiet. There are window AC units in the bedrooms if it gets humid.

What's missing is WiFi, and the surprise fees and end of stay self cleaning / linen laundry requirement turned out to be a hassle. Instead of enjoying a final morning breakfast, I'm writing this review while waiting for the towels and sheets to dry to avoid a hefty cleaning service fee. Be sure to allow plenty of time to get to your flight if you stay here. All in all, a great stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your positive review and for booking your stay at "Village 59" in Jamestown. We will be addidng WIFI for the 2017 summer rental season for our future guest. However, free WIFI is available at almost every restaurant in the area. We do not have any "surprise fees" I am not sure what you meant by this because everything is upfront. However, I am assuming it is related to booking fees or the online booking agent in which we have no control over. It may be a "hassel" to wash and dry the linens but worth saving $149 in my opinion. We also provide the washer, dryer and laundry supplies making this simple and easy for our guest. Having the option to clean yourself or hire the cleaning service will always be an option to our guests since most guest would rather save the cleaning fee at least we offer it as an option where most do not. If our guest are driving into town we also suggest bringing their own towels and sheets so they do not waste time doing laundry before they check out and this works really well allowing our guest to have that last breakfast and relaxation before checking-out. Yes, we agree with you on return home flights our guest need to book afternoon flights to ensure the unit is cleaned and allow enough time to return a rental and catch flight. I also suggest flying into PVD (TF Green) rather than Boston (Logan) if possible since it is a much closer airport. Thank you again for your stay and the positive view.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Place in Jamestown!

  • 5 of 5

This second story apartment is the perfect place for a Jamestown stay. It's location is very central - right by the library and Jamestown Art Center. A gas station with a great convenience store, Island Scoop and the best wood-fired pizza on the island (Village Hearth) are all just a block away, and the East Ferry Village is an easy walk (less than half a mile) or bike ride away. The central location cannot be beat.

The apartment itself is very well furnished. There are plenty of dishes, pans, towels, etc. If you need it, it's here! The kitchen has beautiful cabinets, granite counters and the appliances all look like they're brand new and are far nicer than what I have at home. The decor is very classic/modern with a Jamestown nautical theme. We stayed in August during a New England heat wave and the window AC units and ceiling fans (one in each bedroom and living room) kept us cool and the humidity at bay. The laundry room is a huge benefit, and again, the washer and dryer are large and look brand new.

PJ, the owner, is the best I've ever worked with! He is very responsive and extremely helpful. We are so happy that we stayed here, and can't wait to come back sometime!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
TF Green
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
The Narragansett
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
East Ferry
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Jamestown Country Club
Nearest Train
10 Miles
North Kingstown
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
138
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Many to chose from within walking distance
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Mackeral Cove
Car: necessary

Just a short walk away you will find shopping less than a half mile. Grocery store 2 blocks away. Convenience store with fuel less than one block, public library with playground one block away. This area is loaded with things to do in the immediate surrounding area being located on an island with beautiful scenery from the southern end of the island where you will find one of the oldest lighthouses in the United States Beavertail Lighthouse. Tanning on the rocks at Beavertail State Park during the summer months or just sitting there listening to the surf crash against the rocks is so relaxing for the soul. If you are adventurous enjoy a swim in one of the coves. Tour the mansions of Newport or a winery tour in Middletown. Visit Sweetberry Farm to pick fresh fruit from the farm. Walk downtown into the Village to enjoy the small shops or fine restaurants. Kayak, snorkle, scuba from Fort Wetheral. Just a short drive to Boston or the Cape with this centrally located unit. These are just a few things to do in the area. If you would like help planning your trip to Jamestown we will be glad to help!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jamestown Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Peak
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$249
From
$279
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Fall
Sep 7 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$259
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $250

Our cleaning fee is $0 because it is a leave it as you found it listing. However, cleaning services are available upon check out for $150 if scheduled 10 days in advance of your stay. Guest are expected to complete regular cleaning task before checking out: wash linens, towels, dishes, take out trash, remove items from fridge, clean tub and sinks. A check list is provided for our guest. Many of our guest bring there own sheets and towels and this is an acceptable option if you are a guest that is driving into town to save on laundry. The unit is supplied with all cleaning products for shower, sinks, a mop, swiffer and vacuum for the floors. A cleaning fee of $200 is charged if unit is not cleaned after check out. Your booking is not complete until the rental agreement is signed and returned to property management.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable