Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Clean and Comfy Cottage & Close to all!! . Enjoy our quaint mountain town!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedroom, 2 Full Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Two bedroom/ TWO full baths (yep, TWO); lusciously comfortable & relaxing space. Air Conditioned. Wi-Fi. Centrally located in the Beautiful Black Hills, close to all local area attractions. See the sights all day and come back and you are only a short and wonderful walk to shop & dining (who wants to cook on vacation?) if you do, we have a new grill and well stocked kitchen at your disposal. Don't miss the atmosphere this location offers...it truly is the best of both worlds!

A super cozy, super fun place to hang your hat while exploring all the Hills have to offer.

The Winston offers all of the comforts of home and the convienence of being close to all the major attractions. Did you forget something, walk to the market....still want that fun trinket you saw earlier at the store.....take an evening stroll and pick it up before its gone.

Simply relax and enjoy!

Keywords: House, Black Hills, Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, Cabin, Cottage, Hill City

More Details

Owner
Julie Beer
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Julie Beer

We are a family that has hospitality in our blood. I was raised in a family resort setting in Northern Minnesota and fully understand and desire to give a great guest expierinece here in Custer. We fell in love with South Dakota and the Black Hills 8 years ago while on a family road trip. We had stayed on this property and the rest, as they say is history.

Julie Beer purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Julie Beer chose Black Hills

We love the convenience that Custer has to offer. We originally vacationed in more remote settings but really loved the proximity to all the must see/must do's the Hills has to offer. On a short stay this location makes more of them possible....oh, and the ability to get items that we forgot at the store etc..

What makes this cottage unique

Clean, Comfortable, Cozy and CloseCloseClose to Everything!

Amenities

Custer Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Full size tub/shower, toilet, sink and vanity on both levels!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2) Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

Clean and Comfy Cottage & Close to all!! . Enjoy our quaint mountain town!
average rating of 4.707317 based on 41 reviews
4

It's tiny but a great place to wind down and relax after a full day of visiting South Dakota.

  • 4 of 5

Owner was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that's close to lots of attractions this is a great place. Only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is it's tiny for 5 folks and it doesn't have a decent view to enjoy in evenings.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Paul, Mn
5

Perfect for weekend stay! Close to All!

  • 5 of 5

Walked in and absolutely loved it! As pictured too! Loved having the patio out front for drinks and coffee.. loved the brightness of it all.. and loved that we could walk to town (One block off main street). Quiet peaceful neighborhood too. Fully stocked kitchen and the beds were very comfortable. Def recommend this to families or couples. Will keep in my favorites for hopefully future visits. Thanks Winston Cottage! Oh and Julie was always quick with replies to any inquiries. Spent the Memorial Weekend in the Black Hills.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northern CA
5

Charming and Cozy Cottage that made our 4 night stay in Custer a pleasure!

  • 5 of 5

The Winston Cottage has a welcoming atmosphere and just the right amount of decor. The kitchen is well appointed with very good pots & pans etc. Being The Cook of our group, the kitchen equipment is high on my priority list and this kitchen gets top marks. Julie has a decorators eye and is focused on making certain you are comfortable and enjoying your stay in the cottage, as well as your visit to Custer. Cottage lets you walk into town and explore the shops and restaurants. A pleasure to return to the cottage after a day of hiking the trails or visiting the monuments and pour a glass of wine and sit on the little patio. Our Grill Master did a delicious planked salmon on the Charbroil grill. I seldom give a 5 star review but Winston Cottage deserves one!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for a trip to the Black Hills!

  • 5 of 5

It was clean and warm for our winter stay, had everything we needed. It became our home base for a week of adventures all around the Black Hills.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, lovely home close to everything

  • 5 of 5

We arrived after dark and the hosts checked in (via text) to make sure we arrived safely. Custer is cute. It is very quiet this time of year and many of the restaurants, shops are closed. We loved the Sage Creek Café. The visitor center is very helpful for regional attractions. We went to Custer State Park, MT. Rushmore, and Deadwood. A special treat was Sylvan Lake, great for family picnic.

The home itself looked newly remodeled, cute décor, loved this house for our family of 5!! They had a pack and play, so I didn't need to bring one. Washer/dryer on site was nice.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean, Comfortable, Convenient

  • 3 of 5

The Custer Cottage was exactly as described. Very comfortable for two travelers, extremely clean and well kept, and convenient to all the Black Hills have to offer. I gave our stay only three stars and not five for just one reason. The listed price was totally misleading. After the addition of a cleaning fee and Home Away's take and taxes, the price increased significantly. Then came the clincher - a Security Fee. Not a security deposit, a security "fee". That fee alone added significantly to our rate. And, for what, I still do not know. I would have been happy to pay for a refundable security deposit which would have been returned to us since we took excellent care of the cottage. But a "Fee"??

A nice place to stay and we were happy with the accommodation, just shocked and disappointed when the actual nightly cost was almost double the listed price.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for agreeing that our cottage is extremely clean and well cared for. As for the rate, HA takes our on and off season rates and averages them for their display ad, we have no control over how that is used. We have reduced our nightly rates to compensate for the HA service fee that most of us do not like since we also pay to list on HA. The security fee of $45 is a damage insurance policy that covers both of us AND is cheaper than refundable deposits when you factor the expense incurred to take and then refund that deposit which costs every time you do it. We work very hard to keep costs down while still being able to provide an extremely clean and well cared for cottage for our customers. All pricing is presented up front and you have to agree before a reservation can be made. Hope this helps and thank you for caring for our cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport

Mt Rushmore 20 minutes

Crazy Horse 5 minutes

Sylvan Lake 20 minutes

Custer State Park 8 minutes

Fun and Frolic Already there

Also, WInd and Jewel Cave 20 mins

Mammoth site 35 mins

Wild Horse Sanctuary 50 mins

Photos

Rates & Availability

Custer Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season 2017
May 21 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$179
$1,075
 
 
Sturgis Rally Week 2017
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,465
Flat fee
 
 
Shoulder Season
Oct 1 2017 - May 23 2018
2 night minimum stay
$99
$600
 
 
High Season 2018
May 24 2018 - Sep 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$179
$1,075
 
 
Sturgis Rally Week 2018
Aug 4 2018 - Aug 10 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,465
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Damage Protect. to $750 $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties