Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4x4 Beach, horses, private pool! Weeks going fast. BOOK NOW!!!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Covered Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fireplace
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Kitchen with granite, stainless appliances and all necessary items to prepare meals. Bedrooms consist of 1 - king with memory foam mattress; 2 queen bedrooms with memory foam mattresses and new for 2016, one bunk bed with double on bottom and one additional twin bed. Game room with small sectional and Wii gaming system. All bedrooms have fans and tv's with Direct TV in all rooms. Home comes with free wifi. Private hot tub on one of 2 wrap around decks. NEW IN 2016 - INGROUND PRIVATE POOL!!!!!!!! Fireplace in great room with large flat screen TV. DVD and CD library as well as books, games and puzzles for those rainy days. Ocean is approximately 400 yards away and you have ocean views from both decks. We are the last house before the wild life refuge. The horses come right to the house and you can sit in the hot tub and watch them graze. Direct TV with approximately 150 channels. Private area next to wildlife preserve. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature at its finest. You do need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get to the property.

Keywords: Newer renovated 4 Bedroom house in the 4 wheel area of the Outer Banks. Ponies in the yard and the ocean approximately 400 yards. See the dolphins, enjoy the hot tub in a very well appointed home.

More Details

Owner
Diane Hageman
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2017

About Diane Hageman

My husband and I love the 4 wheel area of the outer banks. The horses, the ocean and the wildlife is spectacular. This is our dream vacation home and hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do.

Diane Hageman purchased this house in 2011

Why Diane Hageman chose Outer Banks

Our family has been coming here for years. When we retired, we found a place we loved and made it ours.

What makes this house unique

Every morning we have coffee on the decks and watch the horses go by or walk down to the ocean and watch the dolphins. It doesn't get much better than this.

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With own master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has double bed on bottom and twin on top.
  • King size bed (1) Has memory foam with gel top mattress., Queen size Beds (1) Both queen bedrooms have memory foam with gel top mattresses., Twin or Single Beds (1) new for 2016, a bunk bed with full bed on bottom and twin on top and a separate twin bed. Child Beds (1) pack and play, Baby Cribs (1) Has pack and play ,space saver high chair/booster seat and baby gate .
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bottled water is available at a charge of $15 per 5 gallon bottle. Linens are NOT provided. Linen packages are available at additional cost. Please contact owner for information. Kitchen is well appointed with microwave, coffee maker, toaster, rice cooker, slow cooker, blender, food processor, all pots, pans, dishes, glasses and silverware. Private hot tub and brand new outdoor shower. Property next to wild life preserve. See the horses right in your own yard. Beach is approximately 400 yards away. Ocean views from both wrap around decks. Gazebo in fenced yard with swing. You do need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get to the house.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

4x4 Beach, horses, private pool! Weeks going fast. BOOK NOW!!!
average rating of 4.892857 based on 28 reviews
5

Awesome property, very unique and lots of character.

  • 5 of 5

A great place to stay and in an amazing location. Plenty to see and do just from walking from the Red Octopus. Corolla has a lot to offer and learned a good deal about the OBX. Absolutely one of our best vacations and Thanksgivings ever. Thank you for sharing your treasure.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! It always makes us happy when a guest lives and enjoys our home as much as we do. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Red Octopus 10/1/16 - 10/8/16

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing week. The house was wonderful and well stocked. The location to the beach was wonderful with an awesome view of the dunes and ocean. Saw the horses the first three days, then they went into hiding as hurricane Matthew made its way up the coast. We were spared having to leave early. Very windy and high seas. Our street were flooded the whole time we were there due to so much rain the previous weeks. We decided to make an adventure of it all - driving through big puddles and walking through them on the way to the beach. Sometimes up to our knees. Made alot of use out of the pool and hot tub. A big bonus having them both. My only complaint if that our welcome basket was not there when we arrived. Because of this we had no toilet paper until managment brought it the next day. Two rolls for the whole week. Disappointed that such a basic item was not included in the rental. I have NEVER had to supply this item myself and we have been alot of places over the years. Would rent this place again! Loved the suclusion of it all.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So very happy you enjoyed our home. Thanks for the kind words. Just a side note, henceforth we will make sure toilet paper in all bathrooms and several rolls under the sinks! 😀 Remember, return renters get a 10% discount the following year. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

the red octopus was perfect for us (sept. 17th - sept. 24th)

  • 5 of 5

Really not much to say. Our stay was just what we had hoped it to be. Unfortunately the remains of a tropical storm dumped rain on us for 3 days straight and the roads ended up flooding out. The pool helped to keep the kids minds off of trying to make it out to the beach. On our final two days we were visited by three horses grazing in the backyard. It's been two weeks since our trip and my daughter keeps asking "when are we going back?" That's proof enough for me to know that our stay was perfect. Thank you for providing a memorable place to stay for a week. Would love to return again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a good time. It always makes us happy when someone loves our home as much as we do. Hope to see you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

October at the Red Octopus is Magnificent!

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay at the Red Octopus was this October and we loved every minute. The raw beauty was stunning as the sky seemed to change from storm clouds to sunshine in moments. We watched a fisherman work hard to bring in a huge catch before he lost it in front of a small cheering crowd that had stopped to watch. Most of the time we felt like we owned the fine-sand, wonderfully broad beach. The clean, cozy home has every amenity you can imagine and then some. Gourmet cooks will be delighted with the fully equipped kitchen. Maybe our favorite time was in the morning sipping coffee and watching the day break on the upper deck as the horses came to visit below. This property has our highest recommendation!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We love October in the OBX. We have the Mustang Festival and the Seafood Festival, lots to see and do and the weather is usually great. Hope to see you there again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Red Octopus Beach House

  • 4 of 5

Very well organized beach house in great condition. Loved the quiet environment and wild horse viewing. The sunrises and sunsets were spectacular.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Red Octopus Beach House

  • 5 of 5

It was a fun adventure to get there because we had to ride on the sand dunes to get to the beach house! It's a cozy beach house away from the other houses. We got to see the horses in the morning and sometimes in the evening. I love beach living and this is the right place to go.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed our home! Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Corolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early spring
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Week before Memorial Day
May 27 2017 - Jun 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
 
In Season
Jun 25 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
After high
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
Labor Day week
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
Late fall winter
Oct 8 2017 - Dec 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
2018 early spring
Dec 31 2017 - Mar 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
2018 Spring
Apr 1 2018 - May 26 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
2018 Week before Memorial Day
May 27 2018 - Jun 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
2018 Early Summer
Jun 3 2018 - Jun 23 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
 
2018 In Season
Jun 24 2018 - Aug 18 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
2018 After High Season
Aug 19 2018 - Sep 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
2018 Labor Day Week
Sep 2 2018 - Sep 8 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
2018 Fall
Sep 9 2018 - Oct 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
2018 Late Fall-Winter
Oct 7 2018 - Dec 29 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

There are wild horse tours you can take but, the ponies come right to the front door. Why pay to see them when they come to see you!

Photos

Partner Offers