check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi

50 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Oak Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Ocean Front House, Just remodeled the kitchen with brand new Stainless Fridge, GE Stove, Microwave and dishwasher, Big Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free Wi-Fi

This one-level beach cottage includes brand new high thread count (450) all cotton sheets, linens and towels... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. We have also added 2 more rocking chairs to the porch which has sun and shade along with the picnic table and 4 adirondack chairs you may never leave this spot! Also for guest use are 3 bike cruisers and 4 chairs so you won't have to haul all that beach equipment from home. We try to keep beach toys available for your use as well!!

The kitchen is well-equipped with all new plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island.

The master bedroom has a king size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second bedroom has a queen and twin bed and the 3rd has a double.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

Keywords: Ocean Front, 3 Bedroom, hardwood floors & beams, huge porch partly covered, public tennis courts, skate board park, Free WiFi, Golf, Restaurants Galore, HDTV, one story, cottage charm!

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 7, 2016
Call Owner

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2011

Why Sarah Davidson chose Coastal North Carolina

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Wednesday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!


based on 50 traveler reviews

Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi
average rating of 4.72 based on 50 reviews

It was not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

My over all review was not good the dishwasher would not work the comode sound like it was dieing ever time we would flush it the comode was dirty we had to clean it there were big water bugs in the house and on the deck the blinds are falling a part we were scared to open them I would not stay at this house ever again and something was wrong with one of the showers!!!thanks Kay and Mac Grantham !

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kay, I really wish you had communicated with me just once over your stay. As you can see from the last 5 5-star reviews I have received, one thing that always comes up is how quickly I respond to my guests. I would certainly have had a plumber there within the day to check out the "dying" commode sound and the dishwasher. I haven't had anyone before or after you mention this, but because you have now put it out there the plumber has already been there. All seems well. Also "bugs" are a never ending issue at the beach and we have a person come 4 times a year to be deal with it, but whenever anyone has an issue he runs out there to deal with it ASAP. Sorry the blinds scared you we replace them about every other year due to all the use they receive. Thanks for letting us know it is time to replace them again. Again, I really feel like I could have handled all your issues very quickly and I am really sorry you did not use my number that I put in the check in letter to give me a quick call or text. Kind Regards, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location. Close to Food Lion and seafood shopping. Perfect security for pets.

  • 5 of 5

Traditional beach house. Brought back long time memories of Carolina Beach trips. Loved having a washer/dryer and full sized refrigerator. Kitchen has almost everything you need to prepare a meal and bake a pie or cake (but I was on vacation for baking). Oak Island is very leash pet friendly!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Libby, I think it's the best Food Lion I've ever been in and I love that it is about one mile away. Make sure you go to the Mondays Farmers Market in the park before buying too many fruits and veggies! Sounds like the two gates keeping pets on the deck worked for you too! What our family loves about this house is the traditional beach house feel with the real hardwood floors and exposed ceiling beams! The open floor plan keeps us all interacting, so we love being here! I am so pleased you had a great vacation (you already have a great name)! Hope to have you back again. Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I found heaven, and it's not a baseball field in iowa (sorry, Field of Dreams).

  • 5 of 5

Oak Island is a fantastic place; quiet, scenic, low key, and no hurries. We cooked locally-caught fish 2 nights on the grill. This beach house was great, everything we needed was there, and we are already making plans to return.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mark, So glad you had a great week! Oak Island is a wonderful place. I love that is laid back as well. No better complement then you plan to return next year. Can't wait to have you back! Thank you, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing experience

  • 4 of 5

It was a great vacation home. Enjoyed every minute we were there. Very convenient and cozy.

Can use a little update to the home, nothing major but I'd definitely love to go again.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is such a convenient location being 30 feet from the beach, 1.5 miles from the grocery store, 1 mile from the farmers market and so close to many restaurants. I am so glad you "enjoyed every minute" because vacations are very important and we want all our renters to have fabulous ones. Thanks for staying with us. Since purchasing the home we have rebuilt the front and back stairs, bought new furniture, painted twice, bought all new appliances and we buy new towels, bedding and linens every year. The pictures on the wall are all new and TVs are large and new. It is hard to "update" a 30 year old beach cottage and I guess that's why we title it "old cottage charm" which is why it is hard wood floors and exposed beams in the ceiling. The next project is to update the kitchen cabinets and re-do the flooring in the bathroom and then every inch of the house will have been updated since purchasing it! The projects never end in a beach house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

All we needed was here with an awesome view!

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay!

For years we have gone to Cherry Grove and this year decided to switch it up and found this spot and so glad we did. Travelling with 2 yr old twins, 9 yr old, my wife, and doggies we needed what this place has. Gated back deck area with chairs, table, and grill was perfect for hanging out and taking in the breeze and view of the beach. Home is closer to the beach than how it appears in the photos which makes setting up everything at the beach easy. We utilized some of the chairs offered along with ours and since bikes were provided, we brought down my sons and we rode down the street in the evenings. Inside the home, like other reviews state, you can tell things are getting updated but I have no complaints as I know how it must be to have a home and renting out and allowing animals as well and could not be happier we stayed here. Very nice washer , dryer, dish washer, fridge, plenty of dishes and cooking items, towels, sheets, and more. If travelling with little kids, just watch the side door as it has a keypad entry door handle so from the inside you just pull the handle and its open, no deadbolt, we always made sure the screen door was latched. Sarah was so quick in communication when reserving and even when I emailed during our stay. Oak Island is beautiful and this place is great if you want the old school beach house feel! View is awesome awesome awesome and can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jerry, Sometimes the review says so much all I can say is Thank you! You go into wonderful detail and it sounds like you had a great vacation which is always our goal! The washer/dryer are brand new this summer when the old 3 year old set gave out one week...bummer! You are right an older ocean front house is a lot to keep up with but we update every year! This year we redid the front stairs, painted the inside, got new ceiling fans/lights in the kitchen and we are always getting new linens!! I think the gate on the deck is a great feature as well. It keeps our dog in! I am glad you found OKI and us! We look forward to your return! Thanks again, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our one week of NOTHING for the year and, being just steps from a beautiful beach, it was perfect.

There were 6 of us, Mom & Dad, 3 teenagers, and a dog. It was just the right sized house and could have held at least one more with plenty of room.

We cooked in most meals and the kitchen, dining table, and porch were all we needed. We went to Haag Bros seafood most nights for locally caught, fresh cut seafood. There were plenty of local vegetable stands around daily and a great Farmers Market on Monday. I would advise taking in at least one days meals to skip the long lines at the grocery on Saturday. There is a new Lowes Foods just off the island that has amazing food at great prices.

The new washer and dryer are top of the line. The cabinets held s&p, coffee filters for the drip machine and the refrigerator was huge.

The porch was the perfect place for so many activities. We ate local blue crabs, washed off after the beach, sat in rocking chairs and watched the waves, let the dog bird watch, used the new gas grill (with propane provided by the owner) and found new sea turtle nests.

The kids played cards and board games after long days on the beach.

We came home happy, relaxed, and ready to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear JoJo, Your review was wonderful. One of the aspects I really enjoyed is how you help other renters by letting them know where you can find great seafood, the stuff you found at the house, and your favorite grocery store, so helpful! What I hope for every renter is exactly what you communicated...a relaxing week! There should be no frustrations on vacations. Thank you again for such a throrough and well written review! Come back! Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


There is a skateboard park .6miles from the house, playground


Rates & Availability

Oak Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Late Fall
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
March 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 10 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 11 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

From March 29-October 9 this is a weekly, Saturday to Saturday rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Oak Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is located in Master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Middle room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Street side
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master faces the ocean with bathroom
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) roll away
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
2 bikes, 4 beach chairs, beach toys

Partner Offers