Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Ocean Front House, Just remodeled the kitchen with brand new Stainless Fridge, GE Stove, Microwave and dishwasher, Big Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free Wi-Fi

This one-level beach cottage includes brand new high thread count (450) all cotton sheets, linens and towels... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. We have also added 2 more rocking chairs to the porch which has sun and shade along with the picnic table and 4 adirondack chairs you may never leave this spot! Also for guest use are 3 bike cruisers and 4 chairs so you won't have to haul all that beach equipment from home. We try to keep beach toys available for your use as well!!

The kitchen is well-equipped with all new plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island.

The master bedroom has a king size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second bedroom has a queen and twin bed and the 3rd has a double.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

Keywords: Ocean Front, 3 Bedroom, hardwood floors & beams, huge porch partly covered, public tennis courts, skate board park, Free WiFi, Golf, Restaurants Galore, HDTV, one story, cottage charm!

More Details

Owner
Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2011

Why Sarah Davidson chose Oak Island

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Wednesday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!

Map

There is a skateboard park .6miles from the house, playground

Amenities

Long Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is located in Master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Middle room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Street side
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master faces the ocean with bathroom
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) roll away
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 bikes, 4 beach chairs, beach toys

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
17% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi
average rating of 4.6349206 based on 63 reviews
5

Cottage was just as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

It was a wonderful vacation on the beach.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frank, Thank you for taking your time and reviewing you stay! We never want any surprises for our guests so "cottage was just as advertised" is always music to my ears! I also love hearing that you had a wonderful vacation, also our mission for all guests! This is your vacation after all and that is very important and we take that seriously. That is why we provide bikes, beach chairs and try and keep all appliances new and working great! Hope to see you come again. Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
4

Wonderful week

  • 4 of 5

We've rented several beach houses over the years but this house was the closest to the water than any of the others. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the beautiful sunsets and even moon sets! The house served 5 adults and 3 dogs well. We liked having gates on the deck to keep the puppies contained (if this is something you need to do bring bungee cords to secure the gates since a dog bump or wind opens them easily). Beds and furniture were comfortable but the master bedroom could use curtains since the neighbors kept their outdoor light on all night which kept the bedroom bright. The kitchen was very well stocked. We will book this house again in the future!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear De, The house is so close to the beach we are having the dunes rebuilt after last Falls hurricane season. We had started the rebuilding process when a turtle laid her eggs early and everything had to stop. We rebuild that front gate every season after a year of hurricane winds! Rest assured there will be new curtains when you return, I love decorating and keeping all the linens and towels beautiful! I am very pleased you intend to book the house again. We look forward to having you back. Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh
5

Great beachfront cottage

  • 5 of 5

I love Oak Island, I have been visiting there for the last 8 years and this was a great place to stay. The cottage is nicely decorated and the kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, and dishes. The best part of the house is the extended deck overlooking the ocean - what a wonderful sight to wake up to every morning. Nothing like a good cup of coffee on one of the rocking chairs to enjoy the sunrise. The location is great, easy access to Island Way, our favorite restaurant on the island, and to the Food Lion to pick up some groceries. And I so appreciate that this cottage is pet friendly, my dog loved both the beach and laying on the deck.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Everyone loves Island Way and I must say that is one of my favorite Food Lion stores I've ever been too. I really love coffee on the deck as well--a sunny day or even a crisp morning with a blanket! You guys were really wonderful to work with and I loved the picture of your dog enjoying The Salt Life! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dayton, OH
5

Fire your house keeper stove filthy window sills dirty

  • 5 of 5

Scarey windows thAt would not lock back deck not safe for small children

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sally, Thank you for your five stars review I am glad you enjoyed your vacation. The back deck is secure and safe for pets and small children. There are two gates keeping everyone in and small pickets so small dogs can't fit through. It is also the most amazing view of the ocean, I love hearing the waves crash on shore. The stove can't be cleaned when people leave on a Saturday and the next renters arrive on Saturday. We do two big cleans a year when we have open time in the schedule. Thanks again, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The best thing about this house is its location just steps from the beach!

  • 3 of 5

This house could be so cute but is overall in need of serious maintenance and a deep clean. Be careful on the deck and steps for rusty nails sticking up, the rusty latch on the nearly broken gate, the sharp and rusty doorknob on the back door, and splinters from the deck floor, chairs and picnic table. The pictures showing new deck, stairs and chairs are obviously very old. The inside is cute but the walls are all suffering from severe moisture damage. The master bath is the smallest bathroom I've ever seen and needs a complete redo from the chipped and sharp floor tiles to the toilet which my husband had to repair to stop it from running constantly. In regards to the owners responsiveness, I called her 30 minutes after we checked in to the house to tell her the ice maker was broken. She said she would talk to her husband about whether their general repair man or an appliance repair man should be called. I never heard from her again and no repair person came. My guess is that they've known the ice maker is broken for some time and are trying to go as long as possible without addressing. The TV in one of the bedrooms would not work at all. I owned a beach house for years and understand the maintenance that is constantly required, but this little house needs major work and is way overpriced.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kim, I am so sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. When you get there in October for the off season and the house has had people in every single week since April it is time for a deep clean and there are a couple things in need of repair. I have already had the entire toilet replaced since you left. The TV just needs to be removed and since we have a 70" TV in the main room and two others in bedrooms I really haven't been that concerned about the broken one. We have the deck checked every other week for issues and got stained just before your arrival so I can't imagine it is really in that bad of shape. Sounds like you spent a lot more time looking down and around for issues than sitting on the deck and watching the waves roll in. The rocking chairs are one year old, I know this because the ones we had blew away in the hurricane last fall. The other two are old but are hand-made with really special wood and irreplaceable. The bikes are new this season as well since the other ones went in the hurricane too. The grill is also new this year and the house was just repainted on the outside. We do get some rust since we are ocean front and get hit daily with the sea salt and have had our share of storms lately. We also have the back door replaced every fall. The gate just has to be lifted to get out, really no need to replace it, there is no hope that everything will be shiny in our 30 year old "ocean front cottage charm" home. We are not claiming to be a new build! Sorry about the ice maker I would be happy to reimburse you the cost of a bag of ice. Hope you found time to sit on the beach and relax! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Older 50's cottage, we were looking for pet friendly.

  • 4 of 5

We were a bit disappointed upon arrival but the longer we were there the more the old cottage grew on us. Perfect for pet owners. There is a lot more renovating needed but having grown up on that beach, I enjoyed the blast from the past! High tides came around sand dune during second week and flooded front stairs but public access is only two cottages up the beach so we just had to walk down street instead normal walk to beach from stairs. Not a five star property but perfectly acceptable for a vacation at the beach.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pat, Glad the cottage grew on you. Hard not to enjoy yourself when you sit on the covered deck and listen to the ocean. We have done several projects since we purchased the house. We really listen to our renters and their feedback has driven much of what we have done. I would love to hear where your initial "disappointment" came from because I am sure that would be the next thing to get fixed on our list. Best, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

From March 29-October 9 this is a weekly, Saturday to Saturday rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties