check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

First historic landmark offers the true classic Wrightsville cottage

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Wrightsville Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14

Over the past century, Tarheelia, if it could talk, would have quite a story to tell! Built in 1910 as the Tarheelia Inn, this 6 bedroom, 3 bath, single family cottage is registered as the 1st Historic Landmark on Wrightsville Beach. It may be old, but over the years has been upgraded with modern conveniences! Enjoy superb views of the sound and ocean from its many decks and great wraparound porch.

Located in the central part of downtown on North Lumina Avenue, it's only a short walk to the beach, shops, and restaurants.

The top floor features a master bedroom with spacious sitting area, 2 bedrooms and 1 bath. Kitchen, dining areas, living room, 3 bedrooms, and 1 bath are on the main level. Ground level has the laundry, sitting area and 1 bath.

Join the thousands of guests over the years that have experienced Wrightsville Beach as it was years ago!

Off -street parking for up to 2 cars in driveway. Outside Shower. Occupancy: 14. No Smoking. No Pets.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Bryant Real Estate
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 12 hours
Calendar last updated:
October 4, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

First historic landmark offers the true classic Wrightsville cottage
average rating of 3.0 based on 8 reviews
Waxhaw, NC
4

Tarheelia

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We've stayed at Tarheelia for 2 summers. Love the location. The house is in much need of upkeep. If the owner is unwilling to put some insulation into the walls & ceilings, how about some portable air conditioning units? The heat makes it unbearable which equates to not wanting to return. We had to "lock" the bathroom door with a shoelace. The shower curtain upstairs on the very rusty shower curtain was much too long & we continually slipped on it. A real hazard for you if someone gets hurt.The dishwasher does not clean properly whatsoever. The trees out front need to be trimmed; there were hundreds of bees swarming the porch at all times. Again, this could be a real hazard for you if someone is severely allergic. The sofas were filthy. We had to sit on bed sheets all week. The refrigerator door doesn't easily stay shut. We had a leak in a room (which you sent someone out to fix). The cleaning crew you use is horrendous. Just ask the mother/daughter team that had to come out to "re-clean" for them. You were kind enough to refund 2 nights of our stay but unless that house gets a major overhaul, I believe you will have many unhappy guests. We were happy with our stay because we made the best of the situation. The pictures you use for the property are very outdated. The property is not nearly in that good of shape

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Tarheelia July 4th, 2016 week

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Good overall experience. The property is oldest in Wrightsville Beach. AC was somewhat weak and had to be supplemented by box and ceiling fans. Silverware was plastic. Bryant was very responsive to our inquiries and needs. Clearly not the most modern or well maintained property on the beach, however, pricing was reflective of that and we understood going in. With relatively modest investment in improving AC and a few other accessories, would be great. Nonetheless, it was very good stay and we may return if we have a large group seeking economical accommodation..

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location to everything, few things needed work

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The pick up of the keys, parking passes and checking in was seamless. When we got to the house, the doors were already unlocked because the A/C was being repaired. The house was the perfect location to the beach and had lots of charm. The downsides were the gas grill was not usable and the propane tank was empty when we arrived, the new grill was dropped off with a new propane tank but the old one was never picked up. The house is older so the fuses were easy to trip and needed to be reset but there were several outlets we could never get to work. The stove, oven and dishwasher worked great but the fridge door was hard to keep closed and the freezer didn't keep the foods on the door frozen. The TVs did not work. The upstairs shower leaked into the bedroom below if any part of the shower curtain wasn't in the shower. Even though there were a few things broken or missing this cottage has lots of charm and we had a lot of fun enjoying the porches every night.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay Away From the Tarheelia

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Stay away! Property is infested with Palmetto roaches - average size 3"! And the home was surrounded by rat traps. We found a dead rat laying against the garage door. Management did respond promptly when called, but it was too little too K late. Worst rental experience we've ever had.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Owner's Response: David- As mention if prior reviews, we have had the pest company to the property on numerous occasions and they are reporting no issue with roaches. We did recognize you had some other issues that were discussed and resolved with you directly. We hope you'll visit the beach again soon as we have many other options that may be better suited for you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ballwin, MO
2

Tarheelia - 2 Major Issues

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We stayed in this home about 7 years ago and rented it again because our last stay was absolutely wonderful. This time, it was a completely different story. It seems like the owners aren't keeping up the property, which is heartbreaking. The house is infested with roaches - they literally came out of the woodwork every evening. We kept our food in a giant plastic bin, but that didn't seem to stop them. When I reported the issue to Bryant, they said it was because of all the rain. I'm a bit skeptical because a) it only rained twice during our week-long stay, and b) we've vacationed in Wrightsville Beach/Wilmington for decades and have lived in coastal areas and I've never seen anywhere near that many roaches in a house. There is a newly carpeted bedroom on the 1st floor, which is where my son slept. After our 2nd night in the house, my son had an asthma attack, resulting in an emergency trip the pharmacy for a rescue inhaler that he had to use for the rest of our stay. Within a day of leaving, he quickly recovered and no longer needs the inhaler. His pediatrician says the asthma attack was likely brought on by a significant amount mold (which might explain the new carpet). I feel terrible that I exposed my son and the rest of my family to this house. We had such happy memories of the Tarheelia, but this was definitely our last stay there. We've always had good experiences with Bryant. I hope they will work with the owners to resolve these issues for the safety of other families.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Owner's Response: Stacey- Thank your for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your son had an asthma attack during the stay but are glad to hear he is doing well! The interior and exterior of the house were fully painted just prior to your arrival along with the only carpeted area being replaced, due to age a several iron burns, not due to mildew. We have had our pest control company down several times since your stay and they reassure us there is no problems with roaches. We hope you'll visit the beach again soon as we have many options that will may be better suited for your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fayetteville, NC
3

See below:

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Although we had a rocky start, we still had a great time at Tarlheelia. Firstly, we couldn't get in the house at 4:00. The cleaning people were still trying to get it cleaned up. I had to park in a no parking zone because the cleaning people were in the driveway. I stayed there with my car running for 20 minutes. We had 4 cars, so that was not a good situation. Also, kitchen chairs were broken, there was a mess in the yard (keg) and a mess in the outside basement area. A ceiling fan wasn't working, the toilet was stopped up,the sink down in the basement area had a very bad leak, and the bathroom rugs were dirty. I can't remember the rest. I know there was more. Annette came on Monday and made sure that most of these issues were taken care of and gave us a check for 10% of the rental to make up for the trouble. We were happy for that. Tarheelia is a great family home with lots of space inside and out,and the kitchen is well equipped. The house needs to be updated, painted, couches cleaned or replaced, etc. Also, it got very hot in the kitchen area. The air conditioning or insulation needs to be looked at. There are portable fans all over the house, but its doesn't really help things in the kitchen area. Also, there was standing water in the garage. We would stay there again, if the owners fix some of these problems. Like I said before, we had a great time in spite of the issues. PS On the name plaque on the outside of the house it talks about Katherine Rowe being one of the owners. My maiden name is Kathy weird! Maybe it was owned by one of my relatives back in the day.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Bryant Real Estate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Wrightsville Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 4 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers