Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

TWO HEARTS COTTAGE overlooking Ely's Harbor - SPECIAL Autumn and WINTER Rates

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, fully equipped Garden Cottage with a private spacious Wooden VERANDA

This Bermuda Pink Sand Color COTTAGE is nestled between Ely's Harbour Inlet, Somerset Bridge Boat Rentals & Ferry Stop and Scaur Hill Fort with Bermuda famous Railway Trial below.The 2 Bedroom Cottage is furnished with Tropical Wall Hangings throughout, living room overlooking the beautiful Harbour Inlet and fisherman's dock, separate dining room and a fully equipped kitchen with adjacent back-yard dining. Get the FRESH DAILY CATCH from The Captain below OR DO IT YOURSELF with a Boston Whaler Rental that you can pull up at THE DOCK BELOW.

You also have guests rights to the owner's Private Beach, Cross Bay Southampton

More Details

Owner
WENDELL SIMONS
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 29, 2017

About WENDELL SIMONS

This Person who also has LOCATION! LOCATION! on the South Shore at Cross Bay

Home Away #3510103

G.R. Wendell Simons

40 Years in the Hospitality Business

Winner of the 2011 Best Front Desk Person Award at Surf Side Beach Hotel

WENDELL SIMONS purchased this cottage in 2000

Why WENDELL SIMONS chose Bermuda

THE SERENITY, THE NATURE, THE EXPLORATION of Old Bermuda with Modern Amenities. Whether you need the relaxation of just chilling on the spacious Veranda to walking down to the Dock where the Inlet meet the Sea Birds with the Fisherman OR take the top trail through the lovely large Gardens of the Bermuda National Trust that includes the Horse Stables. Get to know the Local Farmer who will gladly show you all of his Seasonal plantings of every vegetable you would want and more.

What makes this cottage unique

THE DOCKYARD in SANDYS PARISH and is on the Bus Route right from the main road entrance to Scaur Hill Lane, that only takes 15 min. to get there.

Amenities

Sandys Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • 1st Bedroom - QUEEN SIZE BED 2nd Bedroom - DOUBLE BED
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • pond
  • reefs
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
TWO HEARTS COTTAGE overlooking Ely's Harbor - SPECIAL Autumn and WINTER Rates
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
West Chester, PA
5

Absolutely perfect! Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I planned our trip to Bermuda a few months beforehand and throughout the entire process Wendell was so helpful and responsive. He provided a very detailed overview of his home and what he offers to all of his guests, which is much more than what other homeowners on HomeAway offer. Even when our trip had to be postponed due to a hurricane, Wendell was so accommodating. He allowed us to change our reservation at no additional cost and worked with our new schedule to ensure he would be available to pick us up from the airport and drop us off.

Upon arrival, Wendell picked us up and gave us a very informative and breathtaking tour of the entire island! He gave us recommendations for pretty much everything - restaurants, beaches, hikes, excursions, etc. He also highly recommended that we rent scooters for the week rather than taking the bus and it was a game-changer for us! We had planned to buy a weekly bus pass, but we decided to take his advice and it was so worth it! Everything he told us was absolutely accurate and it allowed us to do everything we wanted to while we were there.

Overall, our experience was absolutely amazing. The home was quaint and comfortable. There were several brochures on the table for us to read through and Wendell offered beach towels and chairs for our use the entire week. I could go on and on all day about how perfect Wendell and his home were for us! If you're on the fence, I highly recommend you stop your search and make a reservation with Wendell right now!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Very Memorable Family Vacation and Experience

  • 5 of 5

My wife, college-age son, his friend, and I enjoyed everything about our week long trip to Bermuda! Wendell's cottage and provisions were exactly as advertised, thus the 5 star rating. Having been to Bermuda before, we enjoyed staying in the more country-like setting of Sandys Parish yet we had plenty to do and utilized the Oleander Moped service to enjoy the entire island at our leisure. Wendell and his neighbors were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful from day one. Quinton Bean provided superb shuttle service to and from the airport. Make sure you play the miniature golf at the Dockyard if that's your thing. It's worth it. We sought out fish sandwiches all over the island. Woody's was excellent. Art Mels outside Hamilton is the biggest sandwich you will ever eat if you can find it...half the fun. Raisin bread and cole slaw the key to sandwich. Jet skiing at Somerset Bridge a must if you like some excitement. Thanks Wendell...Your place was the "perfect" fit for us...We hope to make it back some day for sure!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

Highly Recommend The Two Hearts Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location. Off the beaten track yet close to public transit. Spent a month there an thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Neighbors are absolutely amazing and extremely friendly. Wendell, the host, could not have been more hospitable.

Would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Two Hearts Cottage was a disappointment

  • 2 of 5

While in Bermuda, we stayed in two rentals - one in St. George's and the other at Two Hearts Cottage. Two Hearts cottage was in a great location and was very convenient but the accommodations were a big disappointment. We enjoyed the lovely deck but the place was not comfortable. First, the cottage was dank, musty and smelled of mold. We opened all of the windows to air out the place, and that helped, but didn't get rid of the problem. My wife and daughter awoke each morning coughing, congested and with a sore throat. Wendell said that living on an island, every place is like this, but we did not have this problem in the other place we stayed. The second issue was cockroaches, mainly in the kitchen. Wendell said that he sprayed before we arrived and he put down traps, but we saw at least a half dozen scurrying around! When we complained to Wendell, he said that this was part of "island living". Again, we did not have this problem in our location. While Wendell was very nice and friendly, we found that he discounted our concerns and tried to convince us that every place was like this. We were not convinced. Also, considering that eating out is so expensive in Bermuda, we cooked in a lot. The kitchen had just the basics, and nothing else. More pots, pans, utensils, etc, would have been a welcomed touch. Since we paid cash in full, and up front, we couldn't find a new place to stay, but we would have liked to. We were uncomfortable with the smell, disgusted with the roaches and would definitely not recommend this place..

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let me open by saying I felt the disappointment when I read your review. You have included your comparison with the previous property which I knew nothing about other than your comments. What I do know is I pre-arranged the Taxi that your Husband asked me to assist and I confirmed back to him the FLAT COST well in advance. The taxi driver called me before leaving THAT property and informed me the fare was now being questioned. He had already discounted the fare as it was, even a further distance to travel. Upon CHECK-IN I gave a full tour of Two Hearts Cottage and surrounding attractions. Also there was a whole list of the restaurants in the area, including their Menus that would serve everyone's budget. I did receive an email later about finding a few roaches and was asked to bring some traps, plus Tupperware for protection. I brought all & more the following morning and then was confronted with dank. I did explain that most Bermuda homes have dampness, especially as they are built with LIME-STONE. However, two of the air-conditioners have BUILT-IN de-humidifiers, plus there are separate heaters. Most Bermuda houses do not have central-air, as the lowest temps are 60 degrees in the Winter. At that time, there was no mention of the Kitchen not being fully equipped other than the plastic containers which I provided. My website clearly shows it is well-stocked, perhaps MORE for the average stay. I was never informed thereafter of any other matters of concern until receiving the review. Unfortunately I did not have the pleasure of saying goodbye, as you had arranged your own transportation back to the airport, which I had offered to help if needed. If I had known the day after your arrival you were not pleased and wanted to change to another property, I would offered a full refund to make your Bermuda holiday happier. Finally, you were my first family I had staying over the Christmas period and I was so delighted to have you, which INSPIRED me to get a small Tree, even though you arrived on the day before New Year's Eve! I do thank you for the kind words you said of me and my well located Bermuda cottage enjoyed by most.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

Lovely place for Cup Match 2016

  • 4 of 5

My family went to Bermuda for Cup Match to visit family. This location was perfect for us. My husband / son rented a scooter and my daughter and I took the bus. The bus stop is at the end of a short walk to middle road. Wendell went to town to get our weekly bus ticket which was perfect. Wendell and his wife were very hospitable and brought us items we needed for cooking (pot holders etc). The air conditioning in the unit was great. Ft Scaur is very close by and a walk away. Definately worth taking in the views. There were several items which needed some attention in the unit when we stayed in August and brought it to the attention of Wendell. I am sure he will attend to them. We would stay here again the next time we visit Bermuda.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Wonderful Bermuda Location

  • 5 of 5

My parents, my boyfriend, and I decided to stay at Two Hearts for vacation. We had an amazing week in Bermuda. Wendell was so kind, responsive, informative, and personable. We encountered a plumbing issue during our stay and he immediately came over with his wife to help remedy it. When that didn't work, he had a plumber come over as soon as he was available.

The neighbors were super kind and gave us ideas of where to go - they also tried to contact their fisherman friend to get us some local fish and while that didn't pan out, their attempts were much appreciated.

This location, though, was truly the shining component of this home. Not only is the home in very good condition with pretty views of the harbor, but it's very close to Dockyard amenities/restaurants and the drive to Hamilton was easy, too. Additionally, it's an easy drive to the beaches on the Southern shore - Horseshoe Bay, Church Bay, etc.

We adored Wendell and his wife and would recommend this rental to anyone who is considering it.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
L.F. Wade
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Pompano Beach Club & Port Royal Club
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Somerset Bridge Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Port Royal Golf Club & Restaurant & Bar
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Somerset Village Eateries and Port Royal
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Somerset Long Bay

MOPED & CYCLE DELIVERY TO YOUR DOOR

SOMERSET BRIDGE BOAT RENTALS & LOCAL FERRY STOP

SCAUR HILL PARK & BERMUDA RAILWAY WALKING TRAIL

SCUBA DIVING PORT PLUS REEF AND DEEP SEA FISHING

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

RATE is based on 2 persons, ADD $50.00 per night, per additional guest (No Cleaning Fee, No Taxes & No Grats. added on)

CONSULT OWNER

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.