Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Beach! Spectacular snorkeling 30 ft away! Beautiful hidden getaway!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

' 2 story, 3 bedroom, 1 bath, wooden cottage on the beach, open kitch & terrace

JUST BECAME AVAILABLE!!!

Beautifully remodeled wooden cottage, 3 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 8. Right next to the ocean, and hidden from view! Spectacular sunsets and views of Vieques and Luis Peña islands. The house sits right next to the Marine Biological Reserve. The best snorkeling in Culebra right at your front door! Only about a 10 minute walk from town!

Air conditioned. It has 2 rooms with queen size beds, 1 room with 2 dbl bunk beds, 1 foldaway futon couch. Nice L shape balcony upstairs with views of the beach. The kitchen and the bathroom are located downstairs along an open/airy terrace were you can lounge on the many hammocks available to snooze the afternoon away!.

Two showers available (1 hot water, 1 outside shower). Cottage comes with linens, regular towels (sorry no beach towels!), kitchenware, micro, blender, ice chests, lounge chairs on beach, hammocks. 2 double ocean Kayaks and 1 paddleboard are available for rent upon request. The owner will be more than happy to receive and welcome you into his house and to make your stay an unforgettable one! We know you will be back in the near future!!!

Suitability - NO SMOKING in premises, perfect for a large family or for 2-3 couples looking for an adventure getaway, NO PETS!

More Details

Owner
Tulio Ortiz
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Tulio Ortiz

I grew up in San Juan but spent all of my Summers, X-mas breaks, Easter vacations, and holiday weekends living in Culebra with my grandparents and family. Joined the USNavy for 5 years at the age of 19. I graduated from Loyola University in New Orleans and after 12 years of living in the US mainland returned to PR. I have three beautiful children.

Tulio Ortiz purchased this cottage in 1886

Why Tulio Ortiz chose Culebra

My family has lived in Culebra since 1886. Back then, Culebra was pretty much developed as an agricultural project by the Spanish Crown. My great great grandfather came over from Spain and became owner of some land, bought some more, and the rest is history. Sardinera beach II (Melones we call it!) has been owned and loved by my family and friends forever. Come share it with us for a while!

What makes this cottage unique

From the moment you disembark or fly into the island you will fall in love with it. It's hard to describe but, if you ask anyone that has been to Culebra and they will tell you. The moment you get off the main road into the access road you will feel transported into a different world. Pass the tunnel of acacia trees and at the end you will see the yellow house sitting in the sunshine. A nice open area downstairs filled with brightly colored hammocks invites you in! But what really catches you eye and ears is the view and the sound of the ocean right in front of you. Lots of trees run along the beachfront. They provide a nice shade for when the Caribbean sun gets a little too frisky. Pass the trees and on the edge of the water, you'll see the island of Vieques in the distance. The small waves that run along the top of the reef in front of the house come towards you to die at your feet! If it's late in the afternoon you can just have a seat on the sand and enjoy one of the most spectacular sunsets you will ever see! Make sure you have a 'sundowner' in hand. Want to eat out? Town is just a 8 min walk away. Want to snorkel in the Biological Reserve? Walk 20 steps into the water,

swim to the right, and you are there! Want to go to world famous Flamenco beach, Soni beach, Tamarindo, Carlos Rosario? Take the public transport or better yet, rent a golf cart or 4x4 and go exploring. Want to go to Tortuga beach in the island of Culebrita, or Luis Peña? Want to go diving? We'll arranged it for you! Come on down and enjoy!

Amenities

Playa Sardinas I Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , Playpen
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
We believe that you will enjoy this property even more without TV, stereo, and phone.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Beach! Spectacular snorkeling 30 ft away! Beautiful hidden getaway!
average rating of 4.885714 based on 35 reviews
Fort Collins, Colorado
5

It was like staying in a tree house on the edge of the Caribbean Sea.

  • 5 of 5

The house was as described and Tulio went above and beyond helping to ensure we were prepared for our journey to Culebra and our stay in his home. This is the perfect place to stay if you want privacy, yet quick and easy access to the best snorkeling and the main town and port area. My husband and I and our two adult daughters enjoyed 8 nights in air conditioned comfort, while mornings usually started with homemade breakfasts in the open air kitchen with the resident rooster and large, beautiful iguanas meanering about the grounds nearby - and an occasional deer and cat! Our favorite place for coffee was steps away on our private little beach in a chair with our feet in the water staring at the gorgeous view. We ate out at some of the great nearby restaurants (Dinghy Dock, Heathers Pizza, Zacos Tacos and Susies were our favorite!), or cooked jerked tofu or Caribbean black bean burgers with plantain in our well stocked kitchen occasionally alongside itty-bitty lizards or iguanas. (There is a wonderful little grocery store not far away) We walked or drove a minute down the road to Melones for snorkeling around beautiful live coral and colorful fish, went to Tamarindo beach and snorkeled with sea turtles and a sting ray, enjoyed days at my favourite Flemenco Beach, well worth the once titled 2nd best beach in the world, and spent afternoons lazing in the many hammocks downstairs and upstairs. (I also spent some time every afternoon in the heat of the day in our upstairs bedroom with the air conditioner on and from bed I felt like I was in a tree house, with tropical tree tops out one window and a glimpse of the sea out another). This was truly a unique home, comfortable, yet, if you're not used to it, quite the adventure! You can only access the kitchen and single bathroom - even at night - from the outside. So, while you absolutely need bug spray, and perhaps a little flashlight, and there may be an iguana on your basil jar while you're cooking - it was so much fun! My family and I are more familiar with hotel suites and more than one luxurious bathroom on our travels, but we also appreciate and are grateful for local living when we are in a new place. Culebra has such a rich history (Go to the museum!!) and is such a wonderful little island. Tulio's roots on this island and his love for it enriched our experience there and we all look forward to going back some day!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your feeling about our place and Culebra is precisely what we want people to experience when you come to our beautiful island!!! Peace, tranquility, relaxation, gorgeous places, water activities, and more...!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spring, Texas
5

Wonderful house right on beach close to town

  • 5 of 5

Tulio the owner was extremely helpful with our planning even before we arrived. He met us at the airport to take us to the house and show us the town. the house is right on the water with crystal clear water. The kitchen and bathroom are downstairs with hammocks and eating areas where we spent most of our time. Cooking breakfast while looking out to the beach was a treat. The kitchen had everything you need to cook with. The upstairs rooms each have AC units so it cooled down quickly. The location to town is great. It was literally about a two minute ride to town on the golf cart. I would recommend the golf cart because the streets in town and parking at the market is tight. All the beaches are beautiful there. We went one day over to Culebrita island and it was awesome. We will hopefully be back again someday and would stay at Tulio's house again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This beach house is fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this beach house. Fantastic location with snorkeling right in your backyard. This house is clean and we'll maintained.

The open air kitchen with hammocks was perfect for spending time with family and afternoon snoozing. The kitchen had everything one would want to cook meals.

Tulio was a gracious host and made sure our transportation on the ferry was arranged in advanced. Our family loved our stay in Culebra! Some of the other places we considered were very run down and I am thankful we chose this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice enough

  • 3 of 5

The house is nice enough although the beds and linens are definitely not deluxe and I found a few black hairs on the sheets which kind of grossed me out.

Because the downstairs/kitchen is open to the elements you have to be fastidious about putting ALL food in refrigerator or the birds, cats, crabs, bugs, etc. will destroy it.

The owner, Tulio, is helpful to the point of OVER helpful in some ways and less so in others. He talks a LOT, repeats himself, and doesn't take hints when you'd rather he leave than tell you MORE about Culebra's history when it's late, you're tired, have been traveling for almost a day, and really just want to sleep.

My main gripe with Tulio was that when we booked the house we did so knowing we might have to change it but knew that we had four days to do so and that we would still have the requisite three days for our stay. Shortly after having booked it (less than an hour?) we discovered we couldn't get flights from San Juan and so decided to get there the next day. I called Tulio and asked for a refund for that one night. His response was dramatic and almost theatrical: he couldn't do the refund because it would be SO much trouble, a real HASSLE to go through VRBO to get our one night refunded as he'd already cashed in. He suggested we get the $350 (?) back in rentals of kayaks and paddle boards. I agreed to this arrangement only because I wanted to be cooperative and thought it would work out. Well, it rained much of the time we were there and we did not have opportunity to use the equipment. He was gone the entirety we were there and phone service is spotty at best so when I got back I asked for the refund of the night we did not use. His response? "If you think that renting a car and not driving it...would entitle you to a full refund, you are wrong!...that is not the way business is done in the real world..." He also claimed that the idea to pay for the equipment rental in lieu of a refund was my idea which is a falsity: how could I have known in advance that there was equipment to rent that would not be included with the rental? He had to tell me about it and at that point he suggested the exchange.

Also, while it's close to the water you can't really access the water well because of the dead and dying coral all about.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OMG...lies and half truths I'm just going to copy/paste some of the texts and responses so you guys can judge... May 5 "Hello Tulio!...we had already paid when we needed to change dates so we decided you would exchange it for kayak rentals, etc...." May 9 (flight delayed because of rain)"Do you have any ideas or solutions?Does your cousins boat work to come get us? Thanks, Tulio" "We're taking taxi to ferry..." (flights had not been cancelled!) "That'd be amazing since I'd prefer not to have to pay $76 to get to the house then" (jeep rental) May 13: "Hi-- We left yesterday... We enjoyed ours at your place even though it was briefer than planned." May 19: "Hi to Leo, we need to talk about the refund. Please text or call me at your earliest convenience VRBO keeps asking me to rate you and I would like to give a good rating." My response to the "conditions" for a good review: "The day you wanted to change your reservation dates for one less night I told you that I could proceed to do it but since i had not received any payment yet i had to ck on procedure with vrbo first...i mentioned it and you decided that instead of the refund you and your family would much rather use that refund or money to rent the kayaks and paddleboard. On the 9th, I waited for you until past 10pm. Gave you a ride to the house so you could get your rental jeep in the morning instead of paying an extra day by getting it that night. I unlocked the equip, paddles, lifevests, and went over the maps for places to kayak. I went over and beyond of what any homeowner would have done after your delay getting to the island...it would have been very simple to leave the keys accessible and give you instructions and directions to the cabin...if you guys had waited at the san juan airport for a little longer like i ask you to do, the delayed flights came in around 6pm but you decided to go and take the last ferry out of the east coast delaying your arrival half a day... ...you did not even call me during your stay to discuss this issue. You even left the island early without even notifying me that you had left the property unlocked... If you are going to condition a good vrbo review on wether i accept to refund you the equipment rental charge, so be it...! Thank you... Sincerely, Tulio" pd: funny you didn't mention hairs as soon as you ck in...i was right there... Dead coral? At the reserve? Are you serious? Read prev reviews about snorkling in front of the house...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Portland, OR USA
5

Paradise doesn't do it justice

  • 5 of 5

3 generations of my family spent a little more than a week at the yellow house the last week of March. It was glorious. It is a challenge to describe the experience since the house reflects the island in that it marches to the beat of a different drummer – refreshingly so. The location was a treat for all of us and that’s quite a statement with an age range in the group from 13 to “north of 75.” A quick and very incomplete listing of the charms of the house would include: backyard coral reef, 10 minute walk downtown, 15 minute walk to Milkas (grocery store), hammocks, hammocks, hammocks, blender, iguanas, pelicans…Did we miss TV? No. Did we miss cell service? No. Did we live and breathe tropical charm? Yes! Was driving kept to an absolute minimum? Yes! (Which helps maximize the absorption of the tropical charm mentioned earlier).

A small side note however, if you are over 6’ 2” (~190 cm) the support beams for the upper floor will be something to look out for when walking about the lower floor.

In all seriousness, we would be remiss to review the charms of the house without mentioning our host Tulio. His extensive knowledge and experience regarding the island’s history and natural history made our trip significantly more interesting than what our three guidebooks had provided. Before we arrived he answered all of our questions, then he met us at the airport, led us to the house, and gave us the low-down on the house/town/beaches/natural history/grocery shopping etc. That kind gesture took the uncertainty out of our arrival and allowed us to settle in (to paradise) immediately. He also helped get us a trip out to Culebrita!

We spent our time at the house downstairs, only venturing upstairs to sleep. The only detail perhaps of interest to others about that sleeping situation was that we could sleep with the doors open until the last 2 nights when a mosquito hatch from the rain that preceded our arrival forced the doors shut. Otherwise we snorkeled, cooked, hammocked (it’s a verb now!), blendered, and were consistently stunned by the jaw-dropping Caribbean tropical beauty right there in front of us. Exploring the island was certainly a treat, however we never felt we were missing out on something when we returned to the house. It is that beautiful and comfortable.

Like Culebra itself, this house is greater than its parts (which are impressive on their own). This isn’t a tropical resort with turn-down maid service. This is a much rarer commodity – Paradise.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect get away and beautiful beach

  • 5 of 5

This is the perfect beach front house. If you dont mind cooking and enjoying the company you came with. You can snorkle right at the beach. Lots of iguanas to watch and hermit crabs crawl around, so watch your step. I feel very relaxed after spending 5 nights here. I hesitated writing this because I dont want this secret perfect place to get to popular. You can also drive or walk to the closest big beach. Beautiful, just beautiful beach cabin.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Playa Sardinas I Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,000
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties