check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Nannette Wilkinson

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stunning Vacation Home with River and Ocean Views!

34 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Gualala House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps up to 10)

Welcome to Riverhouse!

Walk through the door and leave the stress behind! Imagine the possibilities...a relaxing weekend with the family, a reunion of old friends, a Girls or Guys weekend getaway or a Holiday getaway! Do nothing, or do it all. Curl up with a good book in front of the fire place. Sunbathe on the deck and enjoy the view of the Gualala River where it meets the Pacific ocean. Play soccer with the kids in the fenced yard. Let the kids play in the yard while you observe from the deck above, with wine in hand! Roast marshmallows in the fire pit for 'smores. Go to Glass Beach in Mendocino, ride the Skunk Train in Fort Bragg, catch a movie in Point Arena. Or leave the kids with the Grandparents and enjoy an adult getaway. There is an endless list of activities from kayaking to hiking to getting massages...The choice is yours...

Our beach house has been lovingly remodeled from shack to chateau! You will find all the comforts of home and then some but the best part is that you're NOT home! You are here in Gualala away from the phone, the bills, the chores and all the other things that stress you out. There are 3 queen beds, and 4 twins. This house is furnished with nice linens, electric blankets and duvets for comfort, a fully stocked kitchen, satellite TV and lots of games and books. There is no dark wood or dated furnishings here...it is light, bright and comfortable! Many more photos available at http://stef.zenfolio.com/p259504011 ...check them out!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Nannette Wilkinson (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Nannette Wilkinson

Nannette and Philip Wilkinson. We are a Physical Therapist and a General Building Contractor. We have transformed this property from little more than a neglected, run-down shack, to its current form.

Nannette Wilkinson purchased this house in 1998

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Our large family made many wonderful memories throughout our 7 day stay. Sunny late mornings provided fresh air out on your spacious front deck for breakfasts, sunning, and just hanging out together before beach excursions, while the tree house and tire swing offered special old fashioned fun breaks for our grand kids' from their hypnotic digital devices. Your huge dining room table was perfect for mealtimes, conversations, and games, and we enjoyed warm, cozy evenings together by a crackling fire in your efficient fireplace in the living room. For us, the elderly parents (and grand parents) in the group, our most memorable family activity at River House was watching a special DVD one of our sons had made for us as a Christmas gift...a twenty year span of old 8 mm movies from 1965 to 1985, documenting our six children's' births, birthdays and Christmases! As Bob Hope used to sing at the close of his programs, thanks for the memories."
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 34 traveler reviews

Stunning Vacation Home with River and Ocean Views!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 39 reviews
5

This is a great place to get away from it all and relax.

  • 5 of 5

We have held our family reunion at several VRBO's across the United States, but all agreed this was our favorite. Riverhouse was a great place to relax. The kids spent time in the tree house. The adults enjoyed the deck and the quiet. The kitchen was by far the best equipped of any we have seen: spices galore, every appliance we could want, lots of kettles and utensils. It made the cooking fun. And the view is spectacular. We hope to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceeded our expectations

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful private setting but in town - we could walk to groceries, farmers market and coffee, all so convenient. The only thing we had to get into the car for was to go to the beach or river, both very close. The kids caught trout in the river and found all sorts of interesting things on the beach. The sleeping arrangements were just right for our large group - the kitchen handled the load very well. We are talking about returning next year. The only thing mentioned by the group was the desire for a more detailed "things to do" section with directions to the beaches.

Thank you for making it all work so well !

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
5

Amazing House & Location

  • 5 of 5

This place is beautiful, relaxing and secluded. Everything in the photos was there and thensome. This is highly recommended and I would defintely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A bit of a dream.

  • 5 of 5

The soft sounds of ocean waves—for desert people it makes us scratch our heads in confusion. My grandson told me the sound of the waves kept him up the first night. He just didn’t get them, but that was his only negative comment.

It is a true ocean house with huge windows, wooden floors, white wood walls, and relaxed living, perfect for fulfilling the dreams of a desert tribe on vacation. The grandchildren went to the beach every day and brought tales of their adventures back. (Nana, I found sand dollars and a pirate cave.) It was not hard to let the rafters carry their laughter till dinner. Of course, that meant a flow of sand spread throughout the house constantly and one of the adults had to sweep it up at least twice a day, but none of us cared one bit.

We have four separate families that came together on this family reunion: husbands, wives, partners and grandchildren, a total of nine in assorted shapes and sizes. The house had more than enough room for everyone to spread out and enjoy each other (although, there was the typical drama-hey, it’s a family gathering.)

Gourmet cooks, that's how everyone in the family fancies themselves, and the selection of saucepans, pots, baking paraphernalia astounded us. No one could ask for a better kitchen. Yes, there were basic supplies like olive oil and vinegars, but the most amazing was the selection of spices. Every time one of our crew opened up the cabinet they would gasp and take on the look of a gulping fish for a brief moment. That given, we ate like royalty.

I would often take my cup of morning coffee to sit in the tree-house and watch the morning fog burn away until the beach brightened with yellow sunlight. It had the best and most exquisite view of the ocean, becoming my secret outdoor room only shared with my grandson. The two of us never spoke of it to anyone although he told me it was the neatest thing ever.

At our final dinner, he let his toothy grin fill his face and repeatedly hugged me, saying it was the best vacation ever. I give it all to the house.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are beyond pleased that you enjoyed your vacation at our home and appreciated all the things we've done to help provide a unique experience. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dixon, CA, USA
4

Relaxing & Enjoyable!

  • 4 of 5

We loved this home! The owner was kind & helpful before, during & after our stay. This home will work nicely for almost any family. We only had a few glitches due to my husband’s mobility difficulties (he needs the use of a walker or wheelchair). The stairs into the home are sturdy & the railing is strong but it was a difficult for my husband. We loved sitting out on the deck with the beautiful view, sound of the ocean & occasional bark of a seal. This was a favorite spot for my husband who could come in & out of the house easily. We loved sitting out there to talk, play cards, & watch the family playing yard games down below or just look at the beautiful view (including deer). My husband & I used the bedroom next to the kitchen which has its own bathroom. He could easily get into the bedroom & bathroom using his walker but he was unable to shower due to the bathtub being too narrow for a shower chair or stool & there were no grab bars. The other downstairs bathroom has a beautiful claw bathtub everyone else enjoyed but my husband was unable to access it.

Even though the River House is in town it does not feel like it. The home is situated in a way that you feel you are away from the rest of the world. We had good cell service (Verizon). The TV was turned on a few times for sporting events & the children enjoyed the DVD player & movies in the play room. We opened up the chairs in the play room for our young adult sons to sleep on but they were not comfortable so we moved the children there & they were happy as clams. The owner had told us that room was best suited for children; she was correct. All the other beds were very comfortable.

There is a nice assortment of pots, pans, dishes that worked for all the meals we cooked. It was an easy quick drive to the store for any groceries. We also used the BBQ gas grill at the home.

We enjoyed the nearby beach just on the other side of the Gualala river bridge. You can park there for $7 & walk or ride a bike along the paved path. We brought my husband one day & took our time pushing the wheelchair. It was a lovely walk but for him to view the water we had to leave the paved path & work hard to get to a picnic table overviewing the beach. It was always windy and colder at the beach than at the River House.

The tree house was breathtaking. The preteen loved it & felt she had her own special place. I loved was the bluff overlooking the water just through the back gate – so close!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your detailed review. I'm very glad it worked out for your husband as well as it did, considering we had discussed the limitations of the house beforehand and knew what you would be up against. This house has gone through three remodels and thankfully now it is possible to get a w/c in the house whereas before it would have been impossible. When we can afford the next remodel, we will put in a ramp, grab bars and a hot tub! (So tell your friends! :)) The state park has actually done a lot of work to make it more family friendly and accessible during the last 15 years...a few years ago there were no picnic table, only benches so I'm happy there is at least progress in this area and you were all able to enjoy it. Please come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Relaxing View

  • 5 of 5

This house is just picture perfect!! In fact the pictures do not really show how beautiful it is. It is so perfectly set up with everything you could ever need. The views and the gentle sound of the ocean was so relaxing. There are beaches in every direction, we when on a different walk every day exploring. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. <3

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Gualala is North of Bodega Bay and South of Mendocino.

Other Activities: Kayaking, Wildlife Viewing, Miniature Golf, Boating, Health/Beauty Spa, Shopping, Basketball Court

Golf: The Sea Ranch Golf Course is just a couple of miles from the house!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gualala House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 27 - Nov 30
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 - Dec 26
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
New Year's Eve
Dec 28 - Dec 31
2 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Easter
Mar 29 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Memorial Day
May 24 - May 28
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 - Aug 30
2 night minimum stay
$425
From
$425
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,855
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 - Sep 2
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$395
From
$425
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning/Laundry fee $195
Tax Rate 14.0%

BEACH TOWELS NOT PROVIDED, please bring your own. Please do not take our bath towels to the beach.
Hand soap and dish soap provided, please bring your own toiletries.
Dishes must be clean and put away, clean dishes may be left in dishwasher.
Please follow CHECK OUT checklist in order to avoid extra charges.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gualala House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , These are sleeper chairs that convert to twin beds
  • The 5th bedroom is a flex space with two twin chair sleepers. These chairs can be made into beds and used separately or pushed together depending on the number of guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Basketball hoop, large fenced yard, board games, puzzles, books for adults and children, some toys. Beach view. Mountain View. Ocean view, Water View. Gas BBQ, lounge chairs, deck chairs, outdoor tables/seating. Firewood provided. Large yard good for games, tire swing. Bring your own balls and yard toys.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties