Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake House-Great Location, Renovated , Quiet Cove,Wonderful Water Views"

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Waterfront Lakehouse 3 Bedroom, 2 Baths, 2 Family Rooms and a Game Room

This lake house has a great location near Bridgewater Plaza and Downtown Moneta for restaurants and shopping. Also, Bridgewater Plaza includes boat rentals, putt-putt, pizza, ice cream, rock climbing, live music on weekends, etc.

This house is completely renovated (finished Spring 2015) inside with new baths and hardwood upstairs. Three sliding glass doors open onto the brand new deck. It also has, 4 HD TVs, satellite, linens and limited Wi-Fi for surfing and checking email.

First floor: Kitchen,equipped with dishes and pots/pans for basic cooking, has dishwasher, microwave, flat top stove, and new refrigerator. The dining room and vaulted family room each have sliding glass doors overlooking the deck and lake. The family room includes a HDTV. Also upstairs is a full bath with shower and double sinks. The front Bedroom that overlooks the lake has a Queen bed, double closets, HDTV, and sliding glass door that open to deck. The other bedroom upstairs has 1 full bed and 1 twin bed.

Downstairs: New floors throughout the lower level. Laundry has a new washer and dryer. The lower level bath is a full bath with tub. Bedroom has a lake view, Queen bed, HDTV and double closets. Den has new comfortable couches with HDTV and doors that open to the lake. Game room with Air Hockey table and Foosball table.

The driveway is paved and parking near the house and kitchen door. The path to the lake is also paved but for walking only. There is a large yard near the road to park boat trailers. The deck has table and chairs. There is also a canoe for your use. The lot has trees for shade throughout the day. The front of the house has a grill for cooking.

More Details

Sheri & Dale Wood
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2018

About Sheri & Dale Wood

We love spending time on the water with family. We know the lake is relaxing and hope that you and your family can enjoy this wonderful place, too.

Sheri & Dale Wood purchased this house in 2013

Why Sheri & Dale Wood chose High Point

The house has a great layout with many areas to enjoy -- two family rooms inside and large deck outside with many sitting areas to enjoy the lake. The lot has a gentle slope to the lake and beautiful views.

What makes this house unique

Every room in this house has been updated and modernized. New hardwood flooring in the entire upstairs. Upstairs family room has big windows that let in lots of sunlight. It has a new deck that looks over the water. It has a nice dock in a deep cove that is great for swimming and fishing. Also there is a new floating dock for your boat.


High Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bath - toilet , shower , Double Sinks
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen , Lake View, double closets and HDTV
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Lake View,Double Closets,HDTV & Sliding Glass Door to Deck
  • Books
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake House-Great for Families, Quiet Cove,Wonderful Water Views, Great Location
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
Washington DC

A Well-Kept Gem with All of the Amenities

  • 5 of 5

We were very happy with our stay here. The home feels more like a home than a rental, with nice, well-kept furniture, a newly paved path to the dock, air hockey and foosball tables for a little light competition after spending a day on the water. The kitchen was surprisingly well appointed with good quality knives, pots and pans, pie tins and even some tupperware containers. The wi-fi was fine for what we needed (checking email, looking things up). The owners were a pleasure to deal with. My recommendation to renters is to consider bringing your own sheets and towels. With a 10:00AM checkout, you probably can't finish the laundry unless you get up really early. I would highly recommend this property. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good week. Just for future reference, all sheets can be placed in the large washer and turned on before you leave. Our cleaning service will finish the load when they arrive. Thanks so much and we are happy you had a great time. Sheri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Another great year at Blue Lake Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

2nd year we've had a great time with our adult kids at this home. House is spacious and beautiful. We love canoeing, kayaking and swimming off the dock, visiting local wineries, and hiking the state park.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved the home and access to the lake , we had a great time swimming fishing and just relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Awesome experience we had a great time relaxing , thank you Sheri and Dale, everything was perfect !

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One of the best family vacations we've ever had! The location on Smith Mountain Lake was ideal!

  • 5 of 5

This property has everything and more that you could want for a relaxing and memorable vacation at Smith Mountain Lake. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the kitchen had all the amenities of "home". We enjoyed the outdoor grill, and the gorgeous deck allowed for quiet coffee time or evening gatherings around the table. The house is large enough for everyone to have and enjoy their own space, and yet cozy for plenty of family time too! We absolutely loved our choice for this property and would not stay anywhere but here! It's our new "Home Sweet Lakehouse Home"!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice water and nice house. Some additions are suggested

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time, as usual at the lake. I missed having a master bath. Additionally, we needed more dinner plates and forks and knives. We had to turn on the dishwasher after every meal. The renovations were very nice and there were adequate TVs for the 7 of us.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your suggestions. Just to clarify, the house is listed as three bedrooms and two baths. It does not claim to have a master bath. While the bathroom is not connected to the master, it is directly beside it. Our listing also states there are basic cooking supplies. It has adequate plates and utensils for the number of guests the house accommodates. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great getaway and so much fun

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property. The house and location was perfect so my kids could swim right outside or we could go boating and tubing.

We had some issues with wifi, which normally I wouldn't mention but we had a school online assignment due. The wifi comes and goes. So we sat at the bar and grill Moosies and finished it there. Once I finally did that, it was a smooth trip.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time. With the location, internet options are limited. We try to describe the internet use as best for "emails and browsing" not for streaming or uploads. Sorry for your inconvenience. We are glad you had a nice stay. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Roanoke Airport (ROA) and Lynchburg (LYH)
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Bridgewater Plaza
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Amtrak Lynchburg
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Bridgewater Plaza or Downtown Moneta
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake Park
Car: necessary

You will find amenities and plenty to do as it is located near a grocery store, two wineries and a state park. Also in the area is Bridgewater Plaza with restaurants, bar, boat rentals and shopping. Also there are restaurants and shopping in Downtown Moneta. Smith Mountain Lake Park is also close for hiking trails and lake swimming at a beach area.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $130
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.3%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.