Pool / Spa
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Max guests:5 (sleeps up to 5 adults)
The person making the reservation must be staying full time at the property.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Good potential, but need address few flaws
Pros: Just 30 minutes from SXM. About 7 minutes from grocery stores/cafes (by car). Only 20 feet from the surf. You have constant ocean feel/sound/unobstructed views. Very tranquil with no tourists/cars/noise. Nice size community pool (we never meet anyone). No mosquitoes. On site handyman. Swimming beach about 5 minutes from house. Plenty of beach towels.
Cons: 1. House wasn’t clean (grease on stove-top, dust at clothes shelving & floor, dirt on the fridge). 2. It was no gas at stove on day # 1 (was fixed next day) and on day #7 (was fixed same day). 3. It was no hangers, we can’t hang clothes/shirts (was delivered next day). 4. It was no kettle, spatula, salad bowl, cutting board, soup spoon, can opener, hair dryer (some items delivered on second day). 5. Internet stops working on last day. Always was very slow 1-3 mbs. 6. Not sure if water heater is the same for the building, since there is 2 bed 2 bath unit upstairs. 7. If any issues, owner always refer to his onsite manager (200 feet away), but he was not always home, plus we can’t text him since its landline. 8. Cold water shower valve was not working (was fixed next day). 9. When we shut all windows while leaving unit (as advised by owner), it was very strong smell of dust from rodent/insect repellents plugged in electrical outlets. 10. No starter kits (coffee filters, shower items, paper towels). 11. Trash dumpster was about 1 mile from unit (we didn’t rent a car, so it was too far). 12. No screen at the larger bedroom sliding door. 13. No night lamps in bedrooms, only very bright wall lights. 14. Kitchen pots & pens are heavily used, cheapest quality aluminum old ones. 15. Ugly abandon house next door (damaged by hurricane Irma in 2017) and abandon unfinished construction resort with few empty buildings about 100 feet away. 16. Patio/balcony can’t be used without passing from kitchen via larger bedroom. 17. Height of both bathroom doors is about 5’10 (with my 6’3 height I always need to remember to bend over when entering-exit. 18. Mattress was on a softer side (I prefer more firm). 19. Few homeless dogs barking around house occasionally & begging for food. 20. Second bedroom have a small window facing laundry area: gave basement feeling (with back wall partially below soil level). 21. No laundry in unit. 22. Bath sink slowly drained. 23. Toilet seat was loose, completely broke up on last day. 24. Owner offer refund on a day #3 if we move out (but no availability due to holiday).
1.If the cleaning was not to your liking, we would have sent the maid back immediately but no request was made.2.Was restored early the next day.3.Were delivered next day.4.All items were new and delivered next day.5It was restored the next morning.6.There was never a shortage of hot water. 7.The on-site manager can be texted, called or WhatsApp.8.This is true. Broke and was fixed right away.9.We do preventative pest control which includes spraying and ultrasonic plug in devices.It is possible that you smelled the spray.10.These items are addressed in our Welcome Letter.11.This is also addressed in the Welcome Letter. I tell all guests that a rental car is required. Please do not consider a stay at The Waves if you do not have a rental car. There is a community dumpster that all residents and guest use. It’s on the road to town and very easy to drop a tied trash bag in.12.Most of our sliders do not have screens. There are numerous windows with screens.13.Good suggestion.14.I will evaluate and replace if necessary.15.The house next door is not abandoned. It is in great shape! The project on the other side of the large wall has been halted for the last 12 years. It presents no negative issues for our community.16.This is true. It has not been a problem for any guests.We doubled the size of the master bedroom during recent renovations by taking space from the living area. 17.True.18.Most guests on vacation prefer a plush feel mattress.They are really very comfy!
19.There are friendly dogs around the complex. None of them are homeless.20.The window does not face a laundry area. It is a lawn area.
21.We have a laundry but It is for use of maid only.22.We have cleaned the trap. No mention of this was ever made during your stay.
23.No mention was ever made of this during your stay or at the time of your departure. We did note that you left us with a broken toilet seat that was not broken when you arrived.24. A couple days into your stay, I sensed you were not happy with the location being in an area where you needed a car. I offered a full refund of any unused days. Yet, you decided to stay another 7 days. I also never had anyone send me their review prior to publishing it. The motivation for this still escapes. You definitely have the distinction of leaving the longest list bad items that I have ever received from any guest over the past 15 years. We consider all comments as input to help us improve.
Thank you for staying at The Waves
Interesting stay. The ambiance of the waves outside was amazing. But we had a few other problems while staying there...including bathroom doors that wouldn't close (half our stay), leaks in the kitchen and bedroom, and some bugs upon arrival. Otherwise, nice stay next to a secluded beach.
We are glad to hear that you loved the ambiance of The Waves. We do apologize for the items you mentioned.
After cleaning, the day before you arrived, our maid placed “Combat” enclosed insect containers around the Waves. Apparently they did a great job but sorry you had to find a couple insects on the floor. We did offer to send the maid to pick those up but thanks again for already having cleaned them up.
The day after you notified us of the sticking doors, we sent a carpenter to remove, plane and rehang the doors. They then worked perfectly.
We have found and fixed the small leak above the kitchen.
You were the first guests since we renovated The Waves over the past 2 years. Again, sorry that you had any inconvenience.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Frank and the Staff at The Waves
Great, relaxing vacation!
We really enjoyed our stay. We spent most days traveling around the island, shopping and hitting the beaches. In the evening it was great to come back to a more private area and listen to the waves crashing on the rocks. Extremely relaxing.
Thank you for taking a bit of your valuable time to share your experiences of staying at The Waves Sint Maarten.
There are very few places that offer the solitude and connection with the ocean that The Waves offers.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon.
Great Getaway Right on the Water
This is the first condo we have stayed which was directly on the water and I'm hooked. The sound of the waves ( they can be loud) was so calming.....could sit on the deck for hours and was lulled asleep every night. We never used the pool as the beach was well within easy walking distance. The beach was never crowded, maybe 10 people at the most. The condo is away from all the hustle and bustle but it doesn't take any time to get to restaurants, shopping or sightseeing. The Waves had just what we were looking for, solitude but not isolated.
I feel exactly the same way about The Waves! The Waves is the closest residence to the ocean in all of Guana Bay. As you have experienced, it's practically like being in a yacht in the ocean but without all the rocking.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to see you back soon.
Found Paradise Part 2
This is our second stay at The Waves and looking foward to many more. Everything was more than perfect if that is even possible from the clean accommodations, comfortable beds and bedding,great wifi to day after day of beautiful sunrise from the comfort of your bed, balcony or living.The Waves is truly a HomeAway.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and happy, as always, to have you back at The Waves. We appreciate your returning to The Waves and always try to add a few new things each year to make your stay more enjoyable.
The little portable Bluetooth speaker is a favorite of mine when I stay at The Waves. I just bought that at Music Man in Philipsburg on my last visit. It has amazingly big sound for a box that fits in the palm of your hand.
The wifi booster was also added at the same time. I never had wifi in the bedroom until I just added that. Hopefully, that worked well for you.
I'll have a couple new additions waiting for you next year! Hope to see you back soon!
Lovely, secluded and restful
If you are looking for crowds, nightlife and action - this is not the place for you. But if you are seeking a quiet lovely place where you have choice of two beaches all to yourself and a wonderful swimming pool just steps from your front door, if you enjoy the sound of waves crushing on the beach and love the feel of the ocean breeze blowing through you hair then don't think twice, sign up today to stay at "The Waves". We couldn't have been more delighted with our stay. The place is very clean and offers every amenity you will need for the meals and lots of extras like beach chairs, umbrella, beach towels and even an ice chest. We really enjoyed eating our meals on the secluded patio and very much appreciated Frank's quick response to any inquiries. As secluded as "The Waves" is you just short drive away from any tourist attraction and many fine restaurants on the island. We very much enjoyed our stay and would happily return again.
I feel the same way about The Waves, as I stay there often. I feel it's like staying on a private yacht without the rocking and seasickness. The solitude and peaceful feeling of the area is what drew me to Guana Bay 14 years ago. Even though there are a few more homes around, the peaceful nature and calm character of the area has never been compromised.
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Waves. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again for staying at The Waves.
The Waves is located in a quiet residential area just 10 minutes drive from the Capital; Philipsburg.