Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Going Coastal: 6 BR / 5 BA six bedroom house in Kitty Hawk, Sleeps 14

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

6 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 14

The whole family will be "Going Coastal" in this Kitty Hawk vacation home under new ownership.The "Going Coastal" facelift for 2015 includes brand new furniture and paint, and 6 Flat Screen TV's on the inside. It is comfortably appointed and offers new baby equipment for your youngest treasures. On the outside, enjoy newly finished wrap around decks, large Private Pool, and Hot Tub. Spend long lazy days on the very private property, or on the beach. Located on a quiet street and just a short walk to the beach, there is no better way for "Going Coastal". The prime location at Mile Post 2.5 has many attractions close to this cottage. Golf, shopping, family activities, putt-putt, and go carts await the family night out! The location also eliminates the highway traffic on check in/check out days. It's all here for you at "Going Coastal".

Top Level: Great Room with Flat Screen TV, DVD, Stereo, Half Bath, Kitchen, Bar (4), Dining (10), Table (6), King Master Bedroom with Flat Screen TV, Deck Access, Captain's Watch with Study, Seating.

Mid Level: King Master Bedroom with Flat Screen TV, Deck Access, Queen Bedroom with Flat Screen TV, Deck Access, Shares Jack and Jill Bath, Duo Bunk Bedroom, Laundry with Washer and Dryer.

Ground Level: Queen Master Bedroom with Flat Screen TV, Bedroom with Duo Bunk, Flat Screen TV, doubles a Den, Entrance Foyer with Wet Bar, Full Bath.

Extras: Private Pool (12 x 30), Hot Tub (6), Flat Screen TV's, DVD, High Chair, Baby Gate, Wet Bar, Whirlpool, Mini Fridge, NO PETS ALLOWED, No Smoking, Parking: 4 Cars, Milepost 2.5, Distance To Beach: 706 ft.

More Details

Property Manager
Outer Banks Blue Realty Services
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2018

About Outer Banks Blue Realty Services

Outer Banks Blue Realty Services

+1 877-684-3402


Kitty Hawk House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Top-Level Private Bathroom in King Bedroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Mid-Level Private Bathroom in King Bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Mid-Level Bathroom shared between Queen Bedroom and Bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Ground-Level Private Bathroom in Queen Bedroom - toilet , shower
    Ground-Level Hall Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming ...


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Going Coastal: 6 BR / 5 BA six bedroom house in Kitty Hawk, Sleeps 14
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

Fantastic House!!

  • 5 of 5

Spent September 17-23, 2017 in the house. Everything was as expected. Lots of room for kids. The kitchen is great! A short walk to the beach. Short enough to just carry your beach gear and not drive.

Just a couple things that could be remedied: Floor could have been a little cleaner upon arrival. Secondly, the description said the house had 2 whirlpool tubs in master bedrooms, when, in fact, there was only 1 whirlpool tub in the top floor bedroom. This should be fixed in the description. Neither of the these are complaints that affected our enjoyment of the house.

Overall, greatly enjoyed our stay! I Would recommend it and do it again!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice house and the location is great.

  • 4 of 5

The house is great and so is the location. The 3rd floor a/c definetly needs some attention and both refrigerators struggle, loved the house itself.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kenneth. I have passed the information to our maintenance team to take a look at the A/C and refrigerators. We greatly appreciate the heads up. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location and perfect house

  • 5 of 5

I usually don't go back and take the time to leave reviews but felt compelled to do so. We decided last minute with 3 other couples to take a trip to OBX for some much need fun and R&R. We found this place online and were a bit skeptical due to the cost of the partial week. We could stay here for less then 2 hotel rooms that were down the street. When we arrived to the house and pulled up we were surprised to see a large home that was beautiful and looked just like it did in the pictures of the house. We went inside and were further surprised, the online pictures must of been outdated as the inside was better then the pics and the house must of recently under went some interior upgrades. The 6 large bedrooms were more then enough for the 8 adults, we could of easily brought along our 6 kids and had plenty of room for all. The main level was beautiful and very comfortable. The large kitchen was perfect for the several meals we cooked and the dinning table was huge and big enough to sit a army of people for a meal. The living room furniture was super comfy with plenty of comfortable viewing areas for all while we settled in to watch some of the NCAA March madness action.

The close proximity to several restaurant/ bars, golf courses, beach, and a new water park opening this Summer had us all looking to book our 2017 Summer vacations back at this house. We were sad to see it already booked for weeks we could come back but not surprised. We are jealous of the people that beat us to this week. Needless to say we will be planning other weeks at this house and are already keeping a eye open for them to open up 2018 Summer weeks so we can jump on the week we want.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. Staying at one of our vacation rentals is always a better choice than a hotel. You were also correct in that the photos had not been updated. The owner of the property has done a lot of updating and we had not yet gotten the photo updates at that time. They are now up-to-date as of last week. We look forward to having you back and if we can help in any way please reach back out to us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Going Coastal is the perfect house for a large group. My family had a wonderful time here and made fun memories. The house is quite spacious and has a great beach vibe. Having both a pool and hot tub was an added bonus. The location is ideal as it's a short walk to the beach and close to many restaurants.

I can't wait to go back in a few months.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Very Nice

  • 5 of 5

This place was amazing....private, spacious, with a great location. The place must have had recent renovations because it looked and felt like a new house. We will be back this summer!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this property in July 2016 and were not pleased for the amt of money spent. The house has a nice look upon arrival. ,No immediate red flags. But we experienced one problem after another during our stay. The management company was slow to respond to the many issues we had. You should not waste your money here. Find a place that is clean and doesn't smell like mildew from the leaking shower.

The outside: The carport and area around the pool was dirty. No worries... the pool guy is coming, right? Well, the pool guy doesn't clean the trash, BROKEN GLASS and general uncleanliness around the pool. He only cleans the pool itself. The property manager's response was that each owner arranges their own pool service... so it's not their fault. Awesome, thanks. Broken glass around a pool is unacceptable. Previous shoes left from other renters, broken pool toys strewn about.

The inside:

Most importantly, the shower in the king bedroom was leaking. Not a small leak, but one that POURS water into the bunk BR below it. NO wonder the smell down there was a mixture of dank foulness and mildew. Our first calls to the property manager were ignored. A few days later we finally got a response but for the duration of the week we couldn't use the bathroom or the bedroom below. The maintenance guy indicated that this shower has caused a leak four times. Apparently the owner doesn't want to fix the problem. I'm telling you... RUN AWAY from this place.

Not enough kitchen silverware or bowls. If the place rents to 13-14 people, then there should be enough for people to use. It's that simple. (Manager response... people steal things)

Top floor bathroom sink won't drain. (Manager response... we didn't know) They have a cleaning service... are they actually cleaning?

Kitchen cupboard shelves broken (couldn't store our food anywhere)

Missing batteries for remote controls

Blinds missing from the windows

Doors to deck wouldn't lock

Broken kitchen chairs

So after we complained for weeks after we left they offered a small amt of compensation. It wasn't enough. Would you want to take the chance?

This is a two fold problem.

1. The owner doesn't care enough to provide a clean, safe, well-appointed home for the money.

2. The property manager (Outer Banks Blue) already has your money and is not motivated to compensate you for the poor quality of the house.

There are a ton of houses in the Outer Banks... stay somewhere else.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 4


Nearest Airport
78.3 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
More Options within 5 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.4 Miles
More Options within 10 miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
More Options within 5 miles
Nearest Beach
0.15 Miles
810 ft from the beach.





  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties