Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Tree Tops - Well Equipped Bourdeaux Mountain Home with Pool and Spa

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Pool & Spa (sleeps 6)

Built in 1996, Tree Tops is a 3 bedroom Caribbean style home. The post and beam construction is of Brazilian red locust and cypress. The main house has a master bedroom with bath, living and dining area, and a large kitchen with granite counters and all necessary appliances. It is also equipped with cable TV, a home theater system, DSL, wireless network, computer, and printer. The private guest house has 2 bedrooms with baths. The property has many palm and bay trees, orange trees, banana trees, guava trees, and lime trees. Situated 1100 feet above sea level, breezes keep us cool at night, and we virtually never need air conditioning. The setting is quiet and private- neighboring homes are not visible from most areas of Treetops. The British Virgin Islands are visible in the distance.

The community of Coral Bay is directly below us, and Cruz Bay is a 20 minute drive. The Bourdeaux Mountain Road is paved, but the short road to our driveway can require 4 wheel drive in wet weather. Maho and Francis Bay beaches are 10 minutes away. Treetops is an excellent rental value, and we pride ourselves in keeping it well maintained.

Keywords: Centrally located, close to North Shore beaches, views of BVI, great breezes, several fruit trees.

In July, 2012 we added solar panels to allow energy independence. No more dependence on fossil fuel! We are totally self sustaining.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

About The Owner

We have traveled to St. John for nearly 20 years, making over 45 trips so far. We purchased Tree Tops in 2001, did some remodeling, added the pool and expanded the deck. We are from Minnesota, and every time we leave, we are planning our next trip. We take pride in keeping our home up to date, well equipped and in good repair.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Why The Owner chose Coral Bay

This home was the best value on the island in our price range. We have traveled to many places in the Caribbean, and always compare them to St. John. It is safe, the beaches are gorgeous, and it is part of the United States! Our neighborhood borders the Virgin Islands National Park.

What makes this house unique

It is the only place where we completely relax. Our property is very private and quiet. The central location on St. John allows easy access to both Coral Bay and Cruz bay, and the north beaches are close by. We go to a beach every day to snorkel, swim, or just read and relax. Private Homes for Private Vacations, who manages Tree Tops, maintains the property extremely well and is very responsive to ours and our guests needs.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Tree Tops - Well Equipped Bourdeaux Mountain Home with Pool and Spa
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews
Tokyo, Japan

Excellent base on St. John and the best sleep of my life!

  • 5 of 5

My family has been vacationing in St. John for over 20 years, and between us we have stayed at dozens of rental villas all around the island. We all agree that for its location, amenities and value, Tree Tops is our favorite home. At the top of Bordeaux Mountain, it has a wonderful sense of privacy, but is still easily accessible by car (only the last little bit before the driveway is unpaved) and a quick drive to Coral Bay and many of the island's best beaches. It takes a bit longer to get into Cruz Bay, but it's a nice drive and we generally only want to make a few trips into Cruz Bay per stay anyway. Because of its location, it gets the most amazing breezes, meaning air conditioning is never necessary. Thanks to both this and the quiet surroundings, I have had some of the best nights of sleep of my life here. As for the house itself, you simply could not ask for anything more. The kitchen is stocked better than my own, with every tool and appliance you could possibly need during your stay (even a wine fridge!), which really helps save money on not eating out all the time. There is a very nice gas grill on the deck, and the spacious kitchen and central island, making cooking in (and for) a group fun and easy. On various trips I have slept in all three bedrooms, and all have comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, and large closets with lots of fluffy bath and beach towels. Our last visit to Tree Tops was last November for our wedding, and we noticed that the living room furniture had all been replaced with lovely, brand new pieces. We had a very small wedding on the beach, and decided to have the reception at Tree Tops. We could not have asked for anything more - the caterers had plenty of space to work in the kitchen, and we enjoyed dinner poolside under the stars, before moving the furniture to the sides for some dancing. Everyone had a wonderful time, and we will always remember what a special occasion this was. We cannot wait to return to Tree Tops again on our next trip to St. John!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
New Jersey, USA

Great place for a wonderful St. John vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family just got back from a fabulous stay at Treetops. This was our first stay in St. John and will not be our last. We were met at the ferry dock and guided to the house, which was off the beaten path. The house was in great shape with lots of privacy. Treetops has many amenities and is very well stocked. Towels, linens, beach chairs, snorkeling equipment, washer/dryer and wifi. The pool and hot tub were in great shape and were nice to come home to after a full day on the beaches. The house even had a nice supply of liquor. Treetops is conveniently located about 10 minutes from Coral Bay or the North Shore beaches. We even found time to hike to the petroglyphs, which are not far away. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

Wonderful home for an unforgettable great vacation in St. John

  • 5 of 5

The Treetops house at Bordeaux Mountain is the ideal home for travelers who want to get the greatest pleasure from St. John, and it is the perfect setting that complements the beauties of the island. I went to St. John with my wife, and we were very fortunate to find the Treetops house, where we had a very comfortable stay. The house manager was extremely polite and helpful to us from the first encounter at the ferry dock in Cruz Bay, and escorted us up to Bordeaux Mountain.

We received a very warm reception, meticulous information materials and guidance about the house and the island. The pleasant style furniture in the living room offered us a cozy and comfortable place to enjoy the music, cable TV and video entertainment. The kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary appliances and utensils. We felt at our own home, with the great difference that we could drive down to the beaches in a few minutes enjoying the breeze and the breathtaking views of the national park forests and of the sea and neighboring islands.

The house facilities enabled us to start the day with a warm shower in the well-furnished bathroom, or with an immersion in the spa and the pool. Hot water was in a constant and unfailing supply, and we appreciated the modern ecological solar energy system installed at the Treetops house.

The guest house bedroom had a very comfortable and stylish bed and mattress, with easy access to the well-furnished bathroom. The closet was equipped with clean towels, robes, sheets, linens and every item needed and available in a home bedroom.

We miss the aroma of the fresh cups of coffee brewed in the kitchen and sipped in the mornings in the house's tropical garden, feeling the breeze and the drizzle through the vegetation. We enjoyed meals and cold drinks in the warm, breezy evenings at the poolside.

The Treetops house at Bordeaux Mountain has a central convenient location with easy and fast access to several beautiful beaches, where we had a fantastic time snorkeling and swimming in the clear waters. It was very easy and fast for us to go down to Coral Bay and Cruz bay for shopping, eating in fancy restaurants or having a sea cruise in a sail boat at sunset.

We had an unforgettable, wonderful vacation in St. John, and it was so successful thanks to our stay in the Treetops House. I recommend this home with great enthusiasm. We look forward to going back there in the near future, with our family and children to live again such joyful times.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Apple Valley, Mn.

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We have been going to St. John for 10 plus years and are so excited to have found Tree Tops. Have stayed there many times in the spring and fall and each time is more amazing than the last. The house is very comfortable, clean and well stocked. Even provides beach chairs to take to the beach! Large kitchen has every thing you need plus more (Even a wine fridge). Large deck, pool, hot tub and out door shower with comfortable patio furniture. Who needs more after a long day at the beach or in town shopping. The location is ideal. Half way between Cruz Bay and Coral Bay and many beached every where. The yard has great vegetation giving you the tropical feeling and atmosphere. Bird feeders are hanging for you to enjoy the many Banan Quits and Humming birds. A lovely two story guest house provides tropical privacy and comfort. Very calming and safe. I recommend reading the house book provided. It will tell you everything you need to know about your stay. Even has some great recipes to try! I have truly found my home away from home!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Almost like home

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Tree Tops several time and I must say WHAT A WONDERFUL HOUSE. We have stayed there with family, friends and just family. I have even stayed as a single women and felt very safe. All trips were memorable. Tree Tops is fully equiped (kitchen is better than my one at home), clean, books and games, great information binder and even has beach chairs and masks and fins. Pool is wonderful after a day at the beach - and you can't beat the outside shower. Hot tub great for that last glass of wine before bed. Banana queets greeted us every morning and the flowers are trees were beautiful - can't beat the smell of the bay rum trees. Yes, the power did go out (but that happens everywhere) and we read the house instructions so knew not to flush. Any problems we had were fixed quickly - only took a call to the manager (if you don't let someone know there is a problem you can't get it fixed). We only locked the front door when we left for the day so no problem with the lock. I noticed that someone was unhappy with the view. We went to St. John to take advantage of the beaches so don't care about the full "ocean" view at the house. We rarely got home during the day and the evenings were LOVELY on the deck. Being up on Bordeau you get a breeze (which can be helpful if you go during bug season) and can see some ocean through the trees and the view of the Jost at night is beautiful. We love this rental and WILL BE GOING BACK!!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Northern va


  • 2 of 5

I hate writing bad reviews, but this house and the management company was very disappointing. The master bed was very comfortable and the beaches in St. John are gorgeous. The kitchen was well stocked. However, the house had issues. The bottom lock on the front door was broken and the door was very flimsy. I did not feel secure. The furniture in the living room especially the couch was a bit gross and really worn; we actually put a sheet over it. We lost power the evening before we left. When we got back from the beach the power was off. There were flashlights all over the house but all the batteries were dead. We stumbled around in the dark until the power came back on later in the night. Unfortunately, we lost the water as well when the power went off and it never came back on. We had to rinse off in the pool. We left the next morning and I sent an email to the management company explaining the lack of water for over 12 hours. We have lived in Africa and Asia and can handle roughing it, but I don't want to rough it on vacation, especially when paying a decent amount of $$ to expect a decent house. I would have appreciated a reply fom the management company, but I never got a response or even an apology.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Elizabeth, I am very happy you enjoyed our wonderful island! I am very, very sorry you had a disappointing experience with our home, and our service. We did receive your e-mail, and we did send you a reply, with an apology. We have resent you a copy of that email address, and sent a copy to your husband's email address. All of the upholstered living room furniture (couch, love seat, chair and ottoman) was purchased new in October 2013, and was less than six months old when you stayed in the home. There is an older loveseat in the bedroom that your children used. We did have the cushions on that checked and cleaned. All our guests are met in Cruz Bay, escorted to their home, and then we walk through the home with them and answer any questions. We also go over our house book, and review a two page letter with pertinent information about the house and their stay. The last item on the letter, states if there are any problems, or anything is missing or does not work, to please notify us, and we ask that you let us know while you are here! The house book has a section on the home, including information on each of the utilities, and explains the water pump system, and what to do if there are problems. We are on a small island in the Caribbean, and power outages do happen. Our homes have a princess phone that will work during a power outage, extra batteries, and emergency supplies. Sending us an e-mail, from the airport, on the day of your departure, does not give us the opportunity to remedy problems! Within 15 minutes of a phone call, we would have had someone at your home to turn your water back on! It takes less than a minute to restart the pump, once power is restored. Majority of the complaints you listed in your email, could have been handled promptly during your stay, and all the repairs have been made since. We have managed homes on St. John for 40 years, and have an excellent reputation. Part of that reputation is providing clean, well maintained homes, and great customer service. We are always available and willing to do whatever we can to make sure our guests have a great home while they are here, so they can enjoy our wonderful island and enjoy a great vacation! Mary-Eileen
Did you find this review helpful?
11 5


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
St. Thomas
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Coral Bay
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Coral Bay
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Maho Bay, Francis Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Treetops location
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Upper Carolina House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter 2017
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
Summer 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Dec 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
Winter 2018
Dec 16 2017 - Apr 14 2018
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.5%

Children under the age of 12, are charged at half the guest rate.

Payment made to manager, Private Homes for Private Vacations. 50% when booking, balance due 60 days in advance of arrival. Payment can be made by VISA, Mastercard, or check. Call for special last minute discounts.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Upper Carolina House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • (2) King size beds, Tempur-Pedic in master bedroom, (2) Twin or Single Beds, which can also be made up as a king bed (1) Rollaway, Baby Cribs Available
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
All beds king size. TempurPedic in master bedroom. Separate guest house (2 bedrooms, 2 baths). Portable A/C in master. Ceiling fans in all rooms. Orange, lime, guava, banana trees. Kitchen has reverse osmosis water filter.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties