check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

8 Miles From Cedar Point, One Block From Private Beach

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Huron Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath, Sleeps 10

Our property has a master bedroom with a half bath attached and a queen size bed, bedroom 2 with a twin over full bunk bed is perfect for the kids, and bedroom 3 with another queen. The living room has a queen pull out sofa and a twin daybed is in the back room of the house. We think you'll be comfortable in our newly renovated home and make many happy family vacation memories in our 1100 sf bungalow. There are towels, linens, pack and play, dishes for 10, fully stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, 52 inch tv with satellite and internet access.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, hindi, telegu, kannada, tamil
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Owner

About Owner/Manager

The Michael's live in Grove City, OH, but Danielle, the wife, grew up near Huron and has always loved the North Coast in the Summer. We find ourselves returning regularly to visit family and enjoy the lake, so decided to buy a piece of this lovely lake front for ourselves. This house has been a labor of love for us and we put many touches into it that we appreciate. We use the Lake House and our three littles (I was 8 month's pregnant with #3 in this picture) love staying here. We have already made many happy memories...we hope your family and friends have the same experience, along with peace and rest (that so often eludes us on vacations!)

Owner/Manager purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Owner/Manager chose Ohio

Its beautiful, unique, and close to everything you need.

What makes this cottage unique

While you are visiting, make sure and check out our unique 1950's bomb shelter in the backyard. A very interesting story came with the home and shelter about the previous owners....It's a must see! Did you also know that Huron was voted one of the coolest small towns in the US by Budget Traveler for 2015. Check out for yourself why!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

8 Miles From Cedar Point, One Block From Private Beach
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
Avondale AZ
5

Beautiful surroundings, relaxing and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Danielle for having you home in Huron Ohio on Lake Erie open for rent and for being so accommodating on the check out time that helped immensely when it was time to pack it up. It was perfect for myself, my daughters, and their children. Ten of us in all and everyone was comfortable. It was a relaxing time on the lake, playing, visiting with family, and reconnecting. It is an older house and it was perfect for us - I love old architecture. With beautiful surroundings to take leisurely walks and the quiet sounds of nature and plenty of room for the children to play. Overall a beautiful vacation. Thank you, Jody

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Arrived later than planned, had booked for one week, stayed one night. We (4 adults, 2 children, 1 infant) drove up to Michael House and felt the outside of the home was overgrown, tired looking. Still had hope for inside as Homeaway photos looked bright and sunny, clean and inviting. This was not the case. Walked into mildew smelling, living room with no A/C. Ceiling fans were present. Although the Homeaway photos did NOT show window unit A/C's (leading us to believe there would be Central Air), there were 4 rooms with beds and only window units in 3 of them. Duct tape around them. A bed was in a room off the kitchen, without A/C, although the dishwasher was also in this room. There were no A/C units in the main living spaces such as Living, Dining and kitchen areas. The bathroom shower was old and bowed, most likely from moisture and had a window inside the shower that was taped all around. We knew the children could not stay in this house. Laundry in basement (we did not see this for ourselves) as going down the steps was difficult.

The Willow Grove Beach is not the best for children as there were rocks and shells mixed into the very small sandy area. At this point, I did not walk to Rye Beach as we had decided we could not stay in this home.

This is a true description of the Michael House. I contacted the owner and asked for any type of refund, however, I was told that was not possible.

This was my first experience with booking a Homeaway Property. It will be difficult to trust this site moving forward as there should be some way of checking photos placed by owners.

Sandy C.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I certainly do not try to misrepresent anything about our property. I try to clearly list all of the amenities. We love our "tired little place" and I think other travelers do too. I think maybe your issue was the fact that you showed up late (four days into your reservation) for whatever, in our peak season, and wanted a refund because you didn't use your time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canton, Ohio, USA
3

Lake Erie House Stay

  • 3 of 5

We attended a conference in Sandusky over several days of a weekend. This house provided that comfortable bed we each needed. The kids really enjoyed each having their own bed. The location was very convenient to the venue where our activities were. The refrigerator was full sized, which helped as we brought our food for the weekend. When we arrived the floors were swept, the beds were made and the toilets were clean. It definitely served its purpose for us.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Decent Stay

  • 3 of 5

It was a pleasurable stay. It was very comfortable for everyone. The neighbor hood was nice and quiet. The only problem we had was the one bathroom didn't accommodate all our guest. I love the modern vintage look throughout the house. Great stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

Everything was excellent! We enjoyed our stay. The kitchen was equipped enough that we could entertain a dinner party. The house is cozy even in the winter! The location is perfect, easy access to entertainment, and easy to find. The owners are very nice and welcoming. They aimed to make our stay easy, homey, and enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great stay at the Michael house!

  • 5 of 5

I was in town for a wedding and had arranged for a group of ten friends to stay at the Michael house. We had a great time! The house is small but very well suited to getting friends together. The decor is cute and the beds are comfortable. I can't comment on the proximity to cedar point but it seemed like it was very close (same highway exit). The bottle of wine when we checked in was a nice touch, and the fact that we had a fire pit, coffeepot, and a kitchen made this a million times better than staying at a hotel!

The house was in a nice location and parking wasn't an issue. We all parked on the street in front of the house (and we were 5 cars).

Overall, the house was wonderful! The best part was how communicative Danielle was. Every time I messaged her, she would respond within hours. I felt like there was really an open line of communication and that made things easier.

Overall, wonderful stay. I would definitely stay here again if I'm back in town!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Cleveland Hopkins
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Sandusky, OH

Cedar point amusement park is located exactly 8 scenic coastal miles from our property to the entrance of the park. Sheldon marsh and old women's creek, popular attractions for birders, is also within a couple of miles. Sandusky is one exit away, with all of the restaurants, stores, and super centers a family on vacation would need. There are several very good local winery's that you need to visit while here, including paper moon and quarry hill. Take time to walk around the old boat basin in huron or see a summer play at the huron playhouse. A wonderful get away to plan around your cedar point vacation.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huron Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
Spring
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,350
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $100

We are always open to booking two night stays if there is a gap between visits that is two days. Please just ask.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huron Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1085 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
We would be happy to recommend local services, restaurants, experiences, if you are looking for something in particular. Just ask!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties