Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Loft in the heart of Heidelberg

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Right in the historic center and inmidst of the nature at the same time.

The apartment is situated in the perfect spot between University Square and Castle.

On the lower level there is a double bedroom, living room with cable-tv, fully equipped kitchen and a toilet. In the attic you will find an open area with a double bed and a separate room with another double bed. On that level there is also a small bathroom with combined shower/bathtub and a WC.

The apartment comes with a spacious private terrace with weber grill, beer barrel fridge ( request filling in time pls.:-) and a beautiful view over the 'Altstadt'.

Other amenities - all free of charge of course - are W-Lan, a set of linen and towels and parking in our own garage.....

where you might as well leave your car for a while if you brought it along. Because you just turn left outside of the house and take a 5 minutes walk to the university square which is right in the middle of the 'Altstadt'. Or you turn right - 5 minutes to the castle.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Volker

We are a German - American family and Heidelberg is our adopted city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Comfortable and in the perfect location - few minutes walk to Altstadt & Castle. Owner really friendly!
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1


Heidelberg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Loft in the heart of Heidelberg
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 40 reviews

Great location, but dirty and has vermin problem

  • 1 of 5

The property has the potential to be very nice (due to its location) but was dirty and we found mouse droppings in the lounge, and evidence of rats in the roof. We raised it with the owner who apologised and said they were aware of the issue. Had this happened in a hotel I would have expected a full and sincere apology as well as a significant refund. On contacting HomeAway we were told they had also contacted the owner to try to resolve this, but the owner did not respond to HomeAway. As they would not communicate with us to resolve we feel forced to write this review to warn other potential customers. Our 3 year old daughter was playing on a floor covered in mouse urine and the owner seemed to think that was acceptable. Sadly, we would advise you avoid this property if that is the owner’s attitude to cleanliness and customer satisfaction.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest send me an email after she had left complaining about lots oft things that I could not relate to and that were just not true. We don't have a vermin problem and we always keep our apartments very clean. She was obviously looking for a reason to get a refund so I contacted HomeAway and told them that there was no reason for that at all – hence the above review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

What a fantastic stay in Heidelberg!

  • 5 of 5

I can only say positive things about our stay in Heidelberg. The host was waiting for us when we arrive, and even the beer fridge on the back deck was stocked with a local brew! This home slept five of us (one child) comfortably! The loft is only a short walk from the beautiful castle and old town Heidelberg is a short walk the other way! Thank you!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Durham, North Carolina

Loft in the Heart of Heidelberg

  • 5 of 5

Out of all the traveling that I have done, staying in Heidelberg was the best. The loft that we stayed was beautiful; the design, the location, and most of all the Volkers. One of the marvelous attractions at the loft was the terrace. Having a grill and a beer dispenser was a highlight for our barbeques and evenings with family on the terrace. The location to downtown Heidelberg was awesome because every morning we took a walk to various areas of downtown Heidelberg. What a great city to visit with its history, buildings, and the old Castle. The last comment is the layout of the loft. It was very comfortable for three; however, five members would have been comfortable as well. The loft was well equipment for everyday living with all the necessities available. I would recommend the "loft" to any visitor wanting to enjoy the attractions of Heidelberg.

Merice from USA

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great little bolt hole in Heidelberg.

  • 3 of 5

This was the second time I have stayed at Volker's loft apartment. It is superbly situated only minutes walk from the centre of the Altstadt. The first time I stayed, two years ago, everything was fresh and new. The apartment is still in fairly good order but is looking a bit "tired". Shrubs, trees and weeds have grown, so that the view across to the Philosophenweg on the other side of the river is mostly obscured. Volker still provides cooled beer on tap, which is very welcome after climbing the sixty seven steps up from the road!

Having the use of the garage is a great bonus, as parking in

Heidelberg can be something of a nightmare. Once tucked away, the car can be left, while exploring the delights of the town and needs only to be taken out for excursions away from Heidelberg.

It is by no means Volker's fault that, due to Brexit, the pound sterling has fallen in value but it does mean that the apartment is now much more expensive for British visitors. Whereas two years ago it represented very good value for money, now it has become less.

Nevertheless my stay was most enjoyable and given a little care and attention, provided that the sixty seven steps are not a problem, I would recommend this as a great little bolt hole in Heidelberg.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy loft in the heights of Heidelberg!

  • 5 of 5

Great place - exactly as it was advertised. Clean and comfortable. Volker was a wonderful host! Convenient to the Hauptstrasse and the castle- easy access to trains and buses so you could get anywhere you needed. Only downside might be that it was up on a hill and then you had to go up a lot of steps to get to the apartment so it could be difficult for some people but it was fine for my family (good way to burn off the calories we ate at the nearby restaurants!) Wished we could have stayed another night or two. Thanks Volker!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, great location

  • 5 of 5

The owner was friendly and welcoming, and gave us usable advice in getting around the city and to the castle. The apartment was comfortable, clean, and ample for the five of us. The location made it easy to walk to the old city, and we were close enough to walk to the castle. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $49.22
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.