Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Country Castle, everything you need! Get off the Grid in Luxury!

Sleeps30
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Half Baths1
Space 10,000 sq. ft.
Property type castle
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

6 BR, 8BA, Large Kitchen, Library, Lots of places to relax indoor & out, Peace!

This is the place for you and friends and family to get away from it all. This is a very secluded beautiful piece of property out in the country approximately 25 minutes from Benton, AR and around 45 minutes to downtown Hot Springs, AR. The Castle is very large and very accommodating for a large group of people. You can spend all the time you want together or go off by yourself and relax, read a book, take a nap, whatever gives you the most joy. It is comprised of a large Master Suite complete with a King Size bed, it's own large sitting room. The ceiling is covered in on- site cut Cypress wood and the flooring is wide plank European Oak. The master bath boasts a large tile shower with seat and a two person air powered whirlpool with shiatsu jets on back and air bubble for circulation. The second master bedroom is on the main level and has it's own private bath, and king size bed. The 3rd master bedroom is on the top level and has it's own private bath, a beautiful 4 poster king bed, a sofa and large walk-in closet, The 4th bedroom has a Gothic shaped headboard for a very comfortable queen size bed, an en suite bathroom and large walk in closet, the 5th bedroom has a beautiful bedroom suit with a queen size bed, it has a private vanity and large walk-in closet, it shares a toilet and tub/shower with the other bedroom down the hall. This is a jack-n-jill bathroom between the two bedrooms. The 6th bedroom has it's own private vanity, large walk-in closet and shares the jack-n-jill bath. It has a queen size bed. There is a large great room with 21 foot ceilings that make it feel open and airy, yet it is very cozy. A, wonderful kitchen with double oven, a warming drawer, a dishwasher, a full size refrigerator and a full size freezer and a trash compactor. There are two laundry rooms one on the main level and one on the upper level, a huge pantry, a pool table on the walk-out basement level ,a home gym with an elliptical machine, a bowflex and free weights a, library with a variety of books, formal dining room that seats 8, the breakfast room seats 10, a raised bar in the kitchen that seats 3 on barstools. A five acre fully stocked lake and a large 20 x 40 swimming pool. We built this home for our family of four children and they used it to the max as we had planned. Lots of kids, we've had 20 kids spend the night and you could barely tell they were there until they got hungry! :) If you are looking to spend good quality time with those you love and get away from the hustle and bustle of life this is the vacation home for you!


Owner
Michele
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Michele

I am a residential developer and home builder. This was my private residence until all of my 4 children were raised. I thought I would share it with people who will appreciate it's seclusion, beauty and peace. I designed this house.When I bought the property, it was completely wooded. I am sharing my home until Labor Day 2017 then I am taking it off of the market. I have two dates left!

Michele purchased this castle in 2004

Why Michele chose Arkansas

If you want to go out and eat every night then this property is probably not for you. If you want to buy your groceries and set up shop at the house with a bunch of other family members and friends and get off of the grid,

Off the Grid in LUXURY; this is your place. There is so much to do on property and spend quality time with friends and family. To go out is 25 minutes to Benton and 45 minutes to Hot Springs.

What makes this castle unique

Seclusion, Large space, Accommodates up to 28/30 people to sleep on beds. Private pool, fishing pond, Wonderful!

Amenities

Benton Castle Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • castle
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 10000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 30
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , bidet , Large tile shower with seat
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower , Jack-n-Jill bath, private vanities, share tub/shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 Bath off of living room
    Bathroom 8 - toilet , shower , Basement bathroom with steam shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Other half of Jack-n-Jill Bath, private vanity
  • 5 Private Bathrooms connected to Bedrooms, Two bedrooms have a Jack-n-Jill Bath Steam shower bath in walk-out lower level even with pool area. 1/2 bath off of Great Room 2 Bedrooms upstairs have entrances from hallway and bedroom so can be used by guests in bunk rooms without entering through the bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen size bedroom with attached private bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , King size bedroom with private bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Jack-n-Jill bath, private vanity, share toilet and tub/showe
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , The other bedroom connected to Jack-n-Jill bath
    Bedroom 8 - 6 twin/ single , Large area at the back of theater room, 3 bunk beds sleeps 6
    Large , large Room - 2 queen , 3 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 Queen sets, 1 full set, 2 Bunks twin over full, sleeps 12
    Master Bedroom and Sitting Room - 1 king , Room has private sitting room, deck. On main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King size bed, private bath, main floor
  • 6 Private Bedrooms all with private baths
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • pond
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
This home is for a family and friends that wants to get away from it all. It is very secluded and quiet. If you want to go out and eat every night probably not the place for your group, nearest restaurants are 20 minutes away to Benton, AR. Hot Springs and it's lakes are approximately 45 minutes away. You can rent boats on Lake Hamilton, enjoy it's many restaurants, The beautiful historical buildings, the famous bath house row. Lots to do in Hot Springs, it would make a great day outing. Ideally you buy your groceries and plan on setting up shop in our home and enjoy the peace and solitude and the property. Kids will enjoy the pool (and adults!). It is simply a beautiful piece of property, I've not seen any like it. Like I said, literally you get off the grid , you get off the grid in luxury!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
26% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Country Castle, everything you need! Get off the Grid in Luxury!
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 19 reviews
4

Perfect for my big family!

  • 4 of 5

Owner was very responsive and aimed to please- was easy to contact and quick to respond. We worked through some issues but overall, beds comfy, kitchen terrific and we had so much fun at the pool. Too hot for fish to even try to bite.... and be sure to go to Hot Springs- Good times. Thanks Michelle!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good place for a reunion

  • 4 of 5

The family had a wonderful time being together. We enjoyed the fishing and the swimming. There was something for all from age 2 to 70.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation venue for large families!

  • 5 of 5

This was the second year our extended family of 20+ vacationed at this beautiful property. The house affords us the opportunity to assemble comfortably in a large group and the remote location allows us quality time with each other. We spend countless hours in the pool, fishing, grilling and lounging on the balcony. Our method is to stock up on items prior to our arrival since we prefer not to leave until checkout. Michelle, the owner, was very prompt in responding to any concerns that arose during our visit. We are anxiously looking forward to our third "country castle" family vacation in 2018! Greg and Stephanie

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hudson Nc
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Overall property served our needs perfectly! The kitchen, pool, the decks, pond and setting of property. Our crowd didn't have to worry about disturbing the neighbors. The home is showing some wear. Thanks for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you so much Debbie! I am so glad you guys enjoyed my home and it fit your needs as a family. Yes my home is showing some wear from all of the guests. I guess it is hard for everyone to keep up with 30 or so guests with how large the home is! Unfortunately for that reason, I am no longer renting it out after the last guests that have already booked get to stay there. I am honoring those reservations. I am glad you guys got to enjoy it. Take care, Michele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great space for our family gathering!

  • 4 of 5

We have two families that get together to vacation and includes parents, children and grandchildren. We have 15 in our group that need a minimum of six bedrooms. This place provided that and many more spaces in a bunk room and media room for the kids to get together. This house provided an opportunity to spend time together in the big pool, fix meals and dine together and play games. The house is also large enough to let you sneak off and enjoy some quiet time. The entire family spent a large portion of each day in the pool. When the kids needed some down time they enjoyed the media room and watched a number of their favorite Disney movies that we brought with us.

You need to be prepared for being away from town and shopping. It was a good drive to a store. For the most part we were prepared but needed to make a couple of trips To the grocery store.

Thanks Michelle for the tour upon our arrival and for making your place available to us.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you so much Gary! I am so glad your family enjoyed your stay at my home. Yes it is a drive to town, that is why I advertise it as "off the grid"! LOL. It does let you get away from it all but don't run out of toilet paper! Thanks again, Michele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cross Roads, TX (Northern Texas, just North of DFW metro area.)
2

Definitely Not as Advertised!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • 2 of 5

Here is a short list of what we arrived too:

• Front of home has not been landscaped, mowed, trimmed, etc. since last year some time. Front walk and entry concrete is all broken up, chipped up, in complete disarray.

• Patio furniture is not cared for or maintained, chairs and cushions are all blown and strewn around the patio and covered in bird poop, leaves, bugs, pollen, etc. Not suitable to use.

• Wall outlets have covers missing. (Huge safety issue with younger children.)

• Front door does not stay latched and has cracks you can see daylight through.

• Plugged up toiled in one bedroom suite that did not operate. (Had to turn supply back on and find a plunger to clear it out.)

• All outside patios and exterior has numerous bird nests overhead with bird poop all over and many numerous wasp nests. It is again apparent that the place is not being kept up and no one prepared or anticipated our arrival.

• The pool was more than green, it was full of algae, smelled, and even had a dead frog floating in it.

• The outside waterfall feature was turned off and full of algae, sticks, leaves, etc.

• All of the refrigerators and freezers had left over food in them that was spoiled, rotten, and even the freezer had an exploded frozen pop inside.

• The oven contained a casserole pan full of rotten moldy chicken breasts that completly filled the kitchen with a stench that caused everyone to evacuate it was so bad, The double ovens were disgusting.

• The dishwasher was full of dirty dishes.

• The media room did not operate and we had to have our own family technician buy parts and take his own valuable “family” time to fix the cinema room.

• Showers had dirty wash clothes left hanging in several of them.

• The back incoming main service electrical panel was wide open – cover on the ground. Huge Safety hazard. (The owner did have the electric company come out later that night to repair. I had to spend 30 minutes of my time at 10:30pm assisting with this effort.)

• The main electrical panel in the basement also had it’s cover removed with wide open panel exposed to all.

• The 2 BBQ grills were disgusting,

• Whirlpool tub in master suite was disgusting.

• Bugs where everywhere – out of site! Only center hallways and walkways were ever vacuumed!

Owner provided only excuses and no refund for these inconveniences. Pictures on website are from when new, home is in need of repairs and much attention!! Be aware!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you for your review. You did exactly as you stated when you attempted to blackmail me for a full refund after you enjoyed your stay. You sent me an email telling me what a wonderful time you guys had, then proceeded to demand a refund. I will attempt to address the issues you have mentioned. The yard was mowed 1 week prior to your arrival. There was 1 electric outlet cover missing, furniture had to be moved to see it. I called the Electric Co immediately after you told me about the exposed outside service. I doubt they needed your help to cover the service since this is what they do for a living. You mentioned you had to spend 30 minutes of your time helping them. I informed you prior to your arrival that the pool was green, that we didn't open it until Memorial Day weekend, the pool did not stink. This has been my practice with the pool while I lived there. You were told the theater room was no longer an amenity due to past abuse (it is no longer advertised on website, and that we allow the birds to nest on the back porch as they eat the mosquitoes. The waterfall is no longer an amenity as it has also been abused and has been left on all night running the electric bill up an additional $500/month. The electric panel you mentioned in the basement was actually in the crawlspace under the house, you should not have been in that area. The pictures on the website were taken in 2015. The master whirlpool was clean. The pillow on it does appear dirty however I have personally cleaned it with bleach soft scrub and cannot get it white again. The clogged toilet should not have been that way. I was very relieved when you replied no to my question if there was any waste in it. As for the kitchen, that was completely inexcusable. We have a new maid service. She is Hispanic and we have a bit of a language barrier. She did not understand that this was a commercial clean. She said she did not get into her customers refrigerators due to respecting their privacy. I assure you that this is now very clear to her that she must check these. I am very sorry that you had to deal with the kitchen and I apologized profusely for that. When you called wanting your money back post stay, you were overheard saying to someone as you got off of the phone that " I am going to get our money back." You then proceeded to call, email and text threatening a bad review if I did not refund your money. To future guests, please take into consideration all of my other reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Map

Nearest Airport
27.3 Miles
Little Rock National Airport
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Benton, AR
Car: necessary

This 10,000 sq ft Castle was built to resemble an English Country Manor, it is secluded on 75 quiet acres, with a 5 acre stocked pond. It has 6 designated bedrooms with private bathrooms, there are two bunk rooms, one sleeps six with 3 nice wooden, twin over twin bunk beds, the other bunk room , has two twin over full bunk beds, 2 queen size beds and a full size bed, a bathroom in walk-out basement with a tiled steam shower, pool table, swimming pool, a very large beautiful back porch overlooking the foothills to the Ouachita mountains and a beautiful 4 tier waterfall, the sound of it will put you to sleep. The Castle has been used for family reunions, corporate retreats, friend retreats or just a couple who wants to get away for the weekend to a luxurious home and not have to drive hours away to do it. The Castle is out in the country to truly get away from it all or you can drive 40-45 minutes to American's First National Park, Hot Springs National Park, which has many great restaurants, Oaklawn racing and gaming casino, the downtown area with Bath House Row for baths and massages, the wax museum, mountain climbing, a winery open 7 days a week of native wines, Magic Springs amusement and water park or rent a boat and fish or ski on beautiful lake Hamilton.

Here is some information for your shopping!

The Castle is supplied with beach towels, bath linens and bed linens. You will need to supply HE clothes washing detergent, dishwasher detergent and dryer sheets. The washing machines are High Efficiency so please use HE detergent only or you will have a bubbly mess to clean up!

Guests supply all paper products, toilet paper, paper towels, etc. You will also need to bring bags of ice as there is only the small ice machine in the refrigerator. There is a stand alone freezer in pantry for ice storage.

For more information, please don't hesitate to text me.

Thank-you,

Michele

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $500
Pet Fee $500
Damage Deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until reservation is complete. Check-in time is 4:00 P.M on your arrival date and check out is 10:00 A.M. on your departure date. Cancellation is 60 days or more in advance to your check in date for 100% refund. 59 days or less, no refund..
I will send a separate rental agreement to you when confirmed. Thanks!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties