check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

The TreeHouse Too 2 Bedroom Bed & Breakfast Apt./Flat

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Hidden Springs Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Bask in the canopy of a temperate rain forest & nod off to a soothing stream and enjoy a hearty breakfast. This 1,300 sq. ft. suite-on-stilts is surrounded by green space and is loaded with amenities: spa, deck, BBQ, putting green, pool & ping pong table, home theater & Tiki Bar. This is the same space as The TreeHouse 1 BR Suite listed on VRBO just with an additional bedroom available and included. We do not double book them. Once one is booked the other is listed as unavailable. We are new to HomeAway so have few reviews, but we encourage you to check out the dozens of awesome reviews we have had for the same property on airbnb.

Centrally located in the greater Portland area with Portland proper just 15 minutes away, Mt. Hood an hour and the Willamette Valley wine country a mere stone's throw, this spacious, rustic tri-level home-on-stilts climbs into the surrounding forest with a lovely view of the creek below.

The Guest Rooms open to a spacious deck, LA Spas Oasis hot tub, BBQ and outdoor turf putting green, all at your exclusive disposal. The 1st Floor flat features your own separate private entrance, luxurious bathroom with oversize shower and dual shower heads, a great room with gas fireplace, pool & ping pong table and English bristle dart board all at your exclusive disposal.

The highlight of the space is a high end home theater room featuring a 70" HD TV and Marantz A/V Receiver with 7.1 THX Certified Surround Sound. With 7 reference quality Triad monitor & in wall surround speakers plus a 20" enclosed sub woofer, the system rivals the local Cineplex and doubles as a high end audio system as well. You can log into your Netflix, Amazon Prime or Spotify account using the PlayStation 3. You’ll find a number of Super Audio CD's (SACD’s) below the TV for your listening pleasure as well as blu ray movies and games. The system as a whole, whether it’s music or movies, is a dream come true for any video or audiophile.

The Tiki Dry-Bar (no sink) features a kitchenette equipped with a small fridge, ice cooler, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dishes/glasses, silverware and food prep items (mixing/serving bowls, spatulas, etc) and a couple of growlers to fill up at the local pub. There is no oven or stove, but on the deck you'll find a Jenn Air Gas Grill BBQ/Oven w/ Sideburner & Rotisserie and built in temperature gauge if you wish to grill, barbecue, bake or boil.

A continental breakfast is provided in the fridge, i.e. cereal, bagels, spreads, toast, juice, coffee/tea, etc.

During the winter you'll keep oh-so-warm courtesy of the natural gas log fireplace with 65,000 Btu's at your disposal (see picture of great room). There are also extra blankets, quilts or comforters in the guest room closets as well as a space heater for use in the bedroom.

In conclusion, our space is homey with character and a comfortable, lived in feel. If you are expecting a pristine, perfect, "hotel-like" experience, you would be better served finding other accommodations :-) Likewise this is NOT a party house - we have strict noise restrictions past midnight. If you want to party all night, you would be much better served with a stand alone unit which this is NOT.

Guest Access:

You have exclusive use of the entire 1st floor flat, spa, deck and backyard along with your own private side entrance. A solid core door separates your unit from the rest of the house where the owners reside.

Interaction w/ Guests:

We are people persons but also like our privacy. It all depends on the guests and how much or little contact they would enjoy. We enjoy playing table tennis and darts and will gladly oblige any and all comers.

Other things of Note:

Children are welcome, but are considered a "person" for billing purposes (including infants and toddlers).

Kitchen items—If you want to cook, we have provided plates, pots, pans, utensils, and basic supplies like cooking oil, salt and pepper. There is no sink, but we provide a daily dish cleaning service. So, no "doing dishes" during your stay (yeh! :-) We also provide a refillable pitcher of filtered water with fresh cut lemon slices.

Towels & Linens—We provide towels and linens, so no need to bring your own. If your stay is longer than 3 days we provide a fresh set of towels and a laundry service on the 3rd day.

Toiletries—We provide soap/body wash, shampoo/conditioner, toothpaste and blow dryer.

Heat & Air Conditioning—There is central heating (set at 68 degrees) with no thermostat under your control but there is a 65,000 Btu gas fireplace at your disposal. A/C is also central, but it's set at 73 degrees, though on especially hot and/or humid days we sometimes turn it down to 72 or 71 degrees for a short period time. Feel free to close the vents or open the windows if it's too cold.

We have 3 very friendly & lovable English Bulldogs, but they are kept on the main level unless you wish them to come and visit you. Bibi especially likes to hang out with you when you're in the hot tub :-)

Effective July 1, 2015, Marijuana will be legal for personal recreational use in the State of Oregon for anyone over the age of 21. We believe very strongly that you have the right to exercise your rights under Oregon law, but keep in mind said law explicitly prohibits the consumption of said product, either by ingestion or inhalation, in public or within view of the public. So, please exercise caution and good judgment when out on the deck. Thank you in advance for your kind cooperation in this matter.

House Rules:

PLEASE PARK IN FRONT OF OUR HOUSE OR ACROSS THE STREET. You may load / unload in front of the side stairs, but please don't park there. Upon entry, please remove your shoes.

A valid picture ID must be presented upon arrival. If you're doing a self check, you will need to email a copy of your driver's license in advance to eloominator at msn dotcom. Adults 21 and over only!

Upon arrival, read the House Manual placard thoroughly and give us a shout if you have any questions or concerns.

Alert us to any problem or issue immediately (i.e. quality/functionality of the unit or amenities).

Children under 13 are NOT be left unattended without consent of the owners, and are NOT to use the hot tub without adult supervision.

DO NOT attempt to operate the microwave, along with the toaster and/or coffee maker at the same time nor plug any device into any of the outlets in the theater room or you may trip the circuit breaker which is inaccessible to you. Alert us immediately. If we are here, we will reset it for you. If not, Sorry :-( So be careful! If you need an outlet to plug anything into in the Theater Room, use the Monster Power Filter / Surge Protector next to the TV. It is on a separate dedicated 20 amp circuit.

Please put your used dishes on the removable tray on the stair landing behind the curtain We will check once or twice a day (hence the privacy curtain) and clean and/or replace. So no doing dishes for you while on vacation - yay :-) Also, please let us know if you are running low on any item provided either via messaging us or by simply leaving the item on the aforementioned tray. For example, an empty milk carton means we need to get you more milk.

If you use the pull out futon sofa bed to sleep, please use the bedding materials that are in the bedroom closet. The plastic storage bag includes a mattress cover, sheets and a down comforter. There are also two pillows on the closet shelf.

We recycle so please put all glass and plastics in the gray bin outside the entrance to the unit. We will take it from there. :-)

Besides common consideration, the only other thing we ask is no pool or ping pong after 10:00 on weeknights (Sun - Thu.) and 11:00 on weekends (Fri. - Sat) and NO PARTYING PAST MIDNIGHT period since strict noise restrictions are in place from 12:00 AM to 6:00AM

There is no time limit for spa/hot tub or hanging out on the deck use for a party of one. For a couple it would be midnight, 3 or more 11:00PM. That having been said, if there is no boisterous activity (loud talking, laughing or music playing), we and/or the neighbors are going to be none the wiser (wink, wink ;-)

Finally, we will at times need to pass through the listing to access the back yard/deck/spa for maintenance purposes, i.e. check bromine/pH levels, water the garden, refresh the fridge etc. We will only do so while you are away if possible. Let us know if that is going to be an issue for you.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

John & Jereza Loomis
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2016

About John & Jereza Loomis

We are people persons but also like our privacy. It all depends on the guests and how much or little contact they would enjoy. We enjoy playing table tennis and will gladly oblige any and all comers.

John & Jereza Loomis purchased this apartment in 2005


based on 9 traveler reviews

The TreeHouse Too 2 Bedroom Bed & Breakfast Apt./Flat
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 9 reviews

Fun weekend at the TreeHouse

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I and three college buddies were in town to celebrate one of our good friend's birthday. We preferred to stay under one roof rather than a bunch of hotel rooms and the TreeHouse ended up being the perfect place. When we arrived, John brought us a fistful of beers, and there were several beverages and snacks in the kitchen area. We enjoyed using the pool table and the sound system, and the view out the back was wonderful. one of the highlights of the weekend was spending about an hour in the hot tub during the light rain. It ended up being the perfect place for our little crowd!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very romantic getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for five nights visiting Portland. We were enchanted by the privacy of this beautiful flat in the 'rainforest' every window view is stunning and the patio with hot tub is to die for! We found the bed very comfortable and everything seemed very clean and fresh. Excellent pool table and darts and humongous shower with two nozzles. Lovely hot tub.

Will most definitely return!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Caveat emptor - buyer beware!

  • 3 of 5

The positives: separate entrance from homeowner, great location (quiet neighborhood), nicely stocked fridge for breakfast, homeowner allowed dishes to be picked up overnight for washing

The negatives: Hot tub was not working (would've stayed somewhere else had we known this), there were only 4 plates, 2 bowls & limited glasses for 6 guests, homeowner argued with us once we'd arrived about adding an extra fee to our reservation (even though we'd asked for special permission by email ahead of time AND paid extra in advance), homeowner was hard to get in touch with re: why the door was locked when we arrived, needing more supplies, etc. Homeowner took LOTS of convincing to refund partial fee due to hot tub being out of commission & took several weeks to return the $.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very disappointing and disingenuous review since we gave them a refund. 1) The negatives: Hot tub was not working (would've stayed somewhere else had we known this), The hot tub broke the day before your arrival and efforts to fix it were undertaken right up to your arrival to no avail. Had you requested to be released from your rental agreement, we would have gladly done so and even helped you find other accommodations. We have so many people who want to stay here and love staying here regardless of the functionality of the spa that we would much rather have them stay than you - no offense. 2)there were only 4 plates, 2 bowls & limited glasses for 6 guests, homeowner argued with us once we'd arrived about adding an extra fee to our reservation (even though we'd asked for special permission by email ahead of time AND paid extra in advance), Argued? I don't think so. Check your text messages. I informed you that there would be an additional guest fee but soon thereafter realized that I was confusing your reservation with another and upon doing so quickly reversed myself and apologized. You can confirm this with your husband. For this reason we only had dishes for 2 and when you requested more we gladly gave them to you and, yes, in a timely manner. 3) homeowner was hard to get in touch with re: why the door was locked when we arrived, needing more supplies, etc. You arrived early without informing me. The house rules and welcome message clearly state to let us know when you arrive and to ring the front door. If I didn't hear the doorbell it was because I was not expecting you and trying to fix the hot tub. I was in the house the whole time, though upstairs. Knocking on the front door is not the means to get a hold of me which would be calling or texting me again as per the House Manual. I have my cell phone with me all the time. So please don't blame us because you did not follow the correct procedure for getting in touch with me. 4) Homeowner took LOTS of convincing to refund partial fee due to hot tub being out of commission & took several weeks to return the $. Let me refresh your memory as to what exactly happened. You asked for a refund. I agreed that a refund is in order. I asked your husband to provide me with a number. I countered with another number. He agreed to that number. How is that "needed convincing". The funds were returned within 2 weeks. You even state below it was 2 weeks. Why do then state that it took "several" as in 3 or more?
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect for our family.

  • 4 of 5

The space was perfect for our family as it had enough room for us to move around in and different rooms for each of us to have our own space.

The location is in a very nice neighborhood which reminded us of Victoria, BC which is dear to our hearts.

Our host John was lovely and all of the accommodations are as described in the VRBO description.

The only drawback was a pervasive smell of the friendliest bull dogs you'd ever meet and the too hard futon bed.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just a note regarding the "too hard futon bed":- that is actually the pull out sofa bed in the living room they are referring to. The beds in the bedrooms are mattresses and, if anything, too soft :-) Also, the dog smell is on the main level where they reside and where guests have the option of having breakfast. It is not in the lower flat as the dogs are only allowed to visit for short periods of time. The wall to wall carpet there that might have harbored some dog smell were ripped out long ago in favor of hardwood floors.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oakland, CA

A great weekend in the rain forest

  • 4 of 5

The Treehouse was perfect for my family, which includes two teenage boys. We were visiting colleges in Portland, and enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the town center, but access to Portland was quite easy. The owners were very welcoming, and John engaged in spirited ping pong games with my sons and me. We even had a visit from the bulldogs who call the place home. My sons particularly enjoyed the game room aspect of the home, which features a ping pong/pool table, a dart board, and 70 inch home theater, along with an outdoor hot tub. While the property doesn't have a kitchen, that fact was made clear, and the fridge, complete with continental breakfast food, was sufficient for our needs.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

We rented the TreeHouse Too for my birthday celebration weekend. There were 3 of us the first night and 6 of us the second night. It's a very cool location, surrounded by the forest. The owner is very attentive and easy with whom to talk and work out things. Couple of things to be aware of: It's not a new apartment but it was more than adequate for what we wanted. And it doesn't have a sink in the kitchenette. That being said, we there to enjoy being in the trees, BBQ, have cocktails, and enjoy each others company, not do dishes. I'm kind of OCD about keeping things clean so making sure our dirty dishes were on the tray to be taken upstairs was no problem. The hot tub had a few issues but the owner was VERY conscientious about showing how to stay on top of the problems so we could still enjoy the hot tub. Which we did. It was lovely. The home theatre system was very cool too. Just remember the owners are upstairs an not to have it too loud. The kitchenette was stocked with pretty much anything you needed. Mini fridge had orange and grapefruit juice, milk, sugar, coffee, butter, cream cheese, and other things that were very convenient. A tray of bagels and bread for toast was delivered in the morning. (Coffee maker, toaster, and microwave in kitchenette.) Breakfast on the deck in the morning was quite nice.

Some heads up. Even though it feels as if you are in a secluded spot, there are neighbors on both sides so late night noise doesn't go over. The fold out futons are of the hard variety so if that's an issue for you, scoop the big bed first or bring something soft to throw over the futon. My texts didn't go through to the owner, (we had guests dying for bacon! He does provide a bacon and eggs breakfast upon request). I don't know if it was my cell coverage or another issue but he ended up getting them after we checked out, so you might want to send a "test" text when you arrive.

All in all, I would stay there again, even if it's just to enjoy the hot tub and lovely, lovely trees. Think more hotel experience and not a home away from home. Oh, and he even delivered a bottle of wine for my birthday!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a lovely experience. Yes, text communication can be an issue due to our location surrounded by so many trees, so we always recommend sending messages through HomeAway. We ALWAYS get those. As with any residential neighborhood, excessive noise post midnight will not go over well. You can entertain out on the deck until 10:00 PM and can always bring it indoors after that. We sleep on the 3rd floor so you have to be excessively loud for us to be disturbed. And its important to add that between 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM there are not noise restrictions whatsoever - the only limitation being the sensitivity of your own ear drums :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Nearest Beach
120 Miles
Car: necessary

You'll get the feel of being "away from it all", yet only 20 minutes from downtown Portland and 3 minutes from a Walmart Neighborhood Market, Safeway and Starbucks. An award winning winery is less than 4 minutes away and Mary S. Young State Park no more than 5, and the lovely Tryon Creek State Park less than 15 min.


Rates & Availability

Hidden Springs Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $30
Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hidden Springs Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • oversize with bench and dual shower heads
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Living Room - 1 double , Air Mattress
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers