Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

LAKE AUSTIN WATERFRONT ESTATE! BOOK NOW and SAVE for FALL & WINTER Savings!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

5 bed, 4.5 baths, Lake Austin Waterfront, Private, Hill Country/Nature Preserve

LAKE AUSTIN, main body WATERFRONT. 5 bedrooms, 4.5 baths, 2 living. Located in the middle of a nature preserve, yet minutes from WORLD CLASS SHOPPING at THE HILL COUNTRY GALLERIA, GOLFING, restaurants and LAKE TRAVIS. We can help you with MASSAGE Therapist, PERSONAL CHEFS, BOAT TOURS/WATERSPORTS, and much more .Please ask about midweek specials. This GETAWAY is almost new. All the bells and whistles of a modern home. Very private, small, stately, community. LAKEWAY AIRPORT, minutes away. Large BBQ arena, boat dock, fully equipped kitchen, KAYAKS, and fire-pit. Giant Cypress and Pecan trees line the shore. BOAT AND CAPTAIN AVAILABLE upon request and reservation. Instructors for water sports available also. Huge flat yard. River Road Retreat is located in the midst of 1000's of acres within The Balcones Canyon's Land Preserve. Along with Time Warner Cable and HIGH SPEED INTERNET, we had prepaid NETFLIX on 4 of out 6 BIG SCREEN TV'S.

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/balcones_canyonlands/ .

This Preserve was set aside for the protection of The Golden Cheeked Warbler and black-capped vireo.

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Balcones_Canyonlands/about.html . The arrival to our retreat is 2 miles thru the Preserve off RR 620. You'll know your there when you drive into the Horseshoe Bend Valley and the views are beyond spectacular. You will only see or hear from the Inn Keeper if their service is required. Events that are beyond the sleeping capacity need to be discussed as to the number attending events, number of cars/parking requirements, curfew of event and extra cost related. We do not wish to upset the tranquility enjoyed by the neighbors. Lake Austin is awaiting you. The beauty is breath taking! We can also help you with PRIVATE Chefs, Massages, live Music, Lake Activities and more!

More Details

Property Manager
Tommy Cain
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin, GOOGLE TRANSLATOR for all languages and email
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

About Tommy Cain

I have been a real estate broker in The Lake area for over 30 years specializing in waterfront properties. All of my children have grown up on Lake Austin. I have built all of my homes on this lake. This is my latest creation. The lake has been my family's life. I am a Lake Austin Specialist. My company, La Hacienda Professionals LLC is a Full Service Real Estate organization. Besides Lake Austin properties, we also specialize in Commercial, Residential, all of The Highland Lakes, commercial-residential leases and development. www.LaHaPro.com.

Tommy Cain purchased this estate in 2012

Why Tommy Cain chose Austin

You won't find another getaway like this, hidden from the rest of the world. One way in and One way out. The locals don't know about this Heaven on Earth. This area of the lake has been my home for nearly 30 years. This is the quiet end of Lake Austin with the clearest water, best fishing and perfect for all water sports. Incredibly beautiful and tranquil. Very PRIVATE. Your in a secluded country environment and just minutes from shopping, GOLD and restaurants.

What makes this estate unique

This is a constant level lake. Our dock is always in the same spot. If you were on Lake Travis, you would have to walk a mile to your dock unless it was already stuck on land. We are 25 minutes to Austin. Incredible City with incredible sight seeing, restaurants, Live Music everywhere, all the time! Its a must to go to Hamilton Pool, Krause Springs, Barton Springs, Inner Space Caverns, Pedernales Falls State Park and many more! And, the 'Sunset Capital of Texas,' The Oasis, is located just 10 minutes away. http://oasis-austin.com/

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

LAKE AUSTIN WATERFRONT ESTATE! BOOK NOW and SAVE for FALL & WINTER Savings!
average rating of 4.7352943 based on 34 reviews
5

Great place. Clean and really nice

  • 5 of 5

Great for our management retreat. Clean, nice and accommodative manager. Highly recommend for any occasion.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you! You guys really took very great care of our home, like it was your own. We appreciate your stay and please come back again soon, when the weather is nicer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great Family Retreat/Getawat

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at the residence and property. Owner was very gracious, accommodating and informative when we arrived and gave us a tour of the home and property. It was the perfect location for our family retreat and getaway. The kitchen was fantastic to use for the dinners we had planned and there were also tons of places to shop and eat at in the area! We all really LOVED LOVED our stay and would greatly recommend it to others. In fact we're planning our return for later this summer. Can't wait to come back and enjoy the lake with the Family.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your young family and parents visiting our lovely home. I'm glad you use of the kayaks and enjoyed your fishing. I've never seen anyone catch that many fish before! We look forward to your summer visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Fabulous property and very clean!

  • 5 of 5

Owners greeted us with a full tour and were available if needed for anything. Home was extraordinarily clean. Kitchen was very organized and ours beds all comfy. Tommy and his sons go over the top for their guest. The area has tons of things to do. Shopping, restaurants, golf and

much more. Great property and great value!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Please come back again. Mi casa es su casa! All of you were SUPER AWESOME!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Creepy property manager/owner

  • 1 of 5

The owner doesn't mention that he stays on property in the attached garage apartment the whole time you're there. He was creepy, always snooping and we never felt like we had any privacy. There were also cameras on the property including in private areas that he never apprised us of till someone in the group noticed. He would creepily bike or home around the property the whole time we were there. Overall, not worth the price, and feeling of being watched. Would not repeat nor recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Future guest, please call us personally if you would like more detail on this stay. Every Comment in this review is a Total and out right lie. The alleged cameras were actually infra red remote control eyes for the cable TV. I showed them the connection. I let them check in early and check out late. Bike ride didn't happen. This was hands down the dirtiest, filthiest group we ever had. They left so much garbage all over the house, diapers every where, cigarette butts, broken screens, human excrement, drugs, bodily fluids, over capacity and MUCH MORE! They are upset that they lost their deposit. It took 12 hours just to clean up, before the maid service could clean. It took two hole days to clean and sanitize our home. We pride ourselves as being a first class HomeAway, not a cheap Motel away. We were invaded by a low class group that has total disregard for other peoples property. Human Swine. We took pictures of the Carnage and made a photo album for other guest to review. It's called "HOW TO LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT". Everyone is given a tour and house rules reviewed along with another copy of contract to read. We are very polite and helpful. Our reviews reflect that. We would have rather had an empty home that weekend. It was not worth the money or irritation. They said they had a great time too. I try to screen out visitors like this. Their paranoia of being watched by non existent cameras was probably drug induced.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

It is a gorgeous home with all the amenities you can imagine!!! It is even more beautiful in person!

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome time staying in this property! We had a long 60th birthday weekend with friends visiting from Chicago. Our group also included two babies/toddlers. The upstairs worked perfectly to accommodate the two families with babies! The other bedrooms provided privacy and quiet from the early risers! The patio was perfect for sitting outside in the evenings and some of the guests enjoyed games provided by our host. We even had a couple people fish in the lake. The kitchen was perfect for cooking some of our meals and was large enough for several "chefs"! Our host was easy to work with and was very accommodating with our arrival and departure times...overall we LOVED our stay and have recommended it to others!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you sooooooo much! Your family was a blessing. Also, we really appreciate on how well you took care of our home. Please come back during warmer weather and we will take your entire family out on the lake, on us! Happy New Year!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Oversold the house

  • 3 of 5

Our family met at the house to celebrate Christmas. The owner met us there to do a walk thru. He said that 2 out of 3 fireplaces did not work. We were really looking forward to sitting outside and enjoying the fire. When we asked him about getting it fixed, he said he would. We never heard from him again. It wouldn't have mattered because when we did sit outside, the outdoor furniture was covered in dog hair and had a distinct dog smell. And, there was dog piles in the yard. On the inside, the owner also told us that the washing machine leaked as well as the fridge. We also found that 1 of the 2 dishwashers did not work. There were lots of lights that were either burnt out or didn't have a bulb in it. And, it is not a true 5 bedroom house. The upstairs has a game room type area with an attached bedroom. The bunkbeds were in this game room. The mattress was so bad that you could feel every bar in the bed. My daughter ended up sleeping on an air mattress. We were also unaware that the owner stayed on premise. He stayed in the garage. We could hear him and his 2 dogs. It sounded at times like there was some sort of construction going on while we were trying to sleep. It was definitely awkward.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We under sold the home. We had a group from the previous year, that wanted the home longer and pays more. 2 of our fireplaces did not work and needed parts, which we ordered and have to have a plumber do the work, because its propane. All light bulbs work fine. Light switches in plain sight. We also check in with our clients and do not disappear. Fireplaces get little to no use because of our semi tropical weather. We did however, supply wood and a fire pit ready to go and offer free wood. The FIRE Pit is a favorite over the gas logs. The weather was in the 70's that weekend. Main fireplace in living room was rocking. Dogs do not sleep on outside furniture and yard is cleaned before every guest. WE performed a smell test with our next clients. Passed. Its possible a few land mines were not discovered and hair was unintentionally blown on furniture. We will address this. Yes, the washing machine drips a little and we had a small rolled up towel at base. Yes, there is a small bowl in back fridge that catches leaks. Disclosed on tour. Yes, one of the dishwashers broke while guest were there. We came over and tried to repair. Almost all homes have one dishwasher. We have two. Good thing. First complaint on double bunk beds. Mostly intended for children or smaller adults. We will address more comfort for our guest.Thank you. We do supply 2 queen size, Top of the line Posture Pedic air mattresses with built in air supply. Yes we do occasionally stay in our garage apartment with private entrance and totally foam insulated. It's in the contract along with many other full disclosures that were probably not read as stated you do before you pay. Common. Our property is in The City of Austin. In order to get a Short Term Rental License, you have to have it Homesteaded. That particular holiday weekend, we were gone most of the time with dogs. There was no construction going on either. Cant tell you were the noise was coming from. Maybe the construction next door? Our deepest apologies your stay was not great. If you come back, we will give you a free day, free Captain and boat tour with a Texas BBQ for you and your guest. As you can tell from our reviews, we have few to no problems. With a phone call we could've addressed these issues. Some items not. We appreciate your input and will strive to make our home a better for future visitors. Our deepest apologies. Thanks for the review. We hope to see you in the Spring or Summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Hill Country Galleria
Iron Cactus Mexican Grill & Margarita Bar
Falconhead Golf Course
Shops at the Galleria
The League Kitchen and Tavern
H-E-B
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Austin Bergstrom
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Fore
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Lakeway
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Yaupon Golf Course, Falcon Head
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Circuit of the Americas
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Fore, Flores, The League,Santa Cantarina,
Nearest Ski
Backyard (water ski)
Nearest Beach
Backyard
Car: necessary

River Road Retreat is located in the midst of 1000's of acres within The Balcones Canyon Land Preserve.

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/balcones_canyonlands/ .

This Preserve was set aside for the protection of The Golden Cheeked Warbler and black-capped vireo.

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Balcones_Canyonlands/about.html . The arrival to our retreat is 2 miles thru the Preserve, off RR 620. You'll know you're there when you drive into the Horseshoe Bend Valley and the views are beyond spectacular. The Lakeway/Bee Cave area has Incredible shopping at The Hill Country Galleria, many, many restaurants, movie theaters, Golf Courses Galore, Live Music, Hamilton Pool, Krause Springs, Barton Springs, The Oasis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Horseshoe Bend Estates Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
$7,000
$18,000
 
 
Spring
Mar 2 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
$7,000
$18,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Oct 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
$7,500
$18,000
 
 
Fall
Oct 4 2017 - Nov 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
$7,000
$18,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
$7,500
$18,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Post Maid Service $200
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $500
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.25%

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Travel with peace of mind.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage. All Deals are final. No refunds. Vacation can be rescheduled due to availability. Please purchase cancellation insurance from HomeAway. Certain holiday weekends, make have longer minimum stays required. For example: Labor Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Thanksgiving, Christmas, COTA, X-Games, ACL.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Horseshoe Bend Estates Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , bidet , Roma Steam Both and giant Jacuzzi Tub.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Upstairs
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Comes with private bathroom and lake views.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Comes with private bathroom.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upstairs. Shares large bathroom with bedroom 5.
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Double Bunk bed, sleeps 4.
    Master - 1 king , Tempurpedic. Great Lake view with fireplace.Full bath/Sauna
    Beds 6 & 7 - 2 queen , Have 2 high quality, QUEEN, SEALY, stay inflated beds.
  • All 3 downstairs bedrooms have private baths with King Size beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Located in The Heart of The Texas Hill Country. Austin is minutes away. Music Capital of The World. Austin City Limits Music Festival, Formula 1 race track, SXSW music conference, Hamilton Pool swimming, ROT RALLY, X-GAMES, Barton Springs. The Hill Country Galleria, with many restaurants and movie theaters. We will do small events here. Details will need to be discussed, such as size, parking, catering, liquor etc..

Partner Offers