check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

A romantic getaway for two people…. Once you get to Ocean Splendor, you won't

27 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Coast California House Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 2

OCEAN SPLENDOR

Just 3 1/2 miles south of Mendocino (and immediately south of Little River), Ocean Splendor is the finest vacation rental on the Mendocino Coast. Ocean Splendor is designed as the romantic getaway for two people... and only two!

You'll see in the accompanying pictures that this private, oceanfront home has a fantastic, impeccable ocean view from the setting just a few feet from the ocean bluff. And from the top of the bluff it drops down 200 feet to the dramatic, surging Pacific.

From the house, from the deck, from the hot tub... you'll feel like you're on top of the world!... and you will be. Ocean Splendor is wonderfully designed and beautifully decorated. Once you get to Ocean Splendor, you won't want to leave. It is very special.

There’s a large, beautiful master suite with a fireplace, a luxurious bath with a spa tub and a separate shower. It’s a wonderful suite for reading, for sipping champagne, for an afternoon nap... and a desk for your laptop.

The living room is large with a massive brick fireplace, lots of windows on the ocean - with window seats - for watching the waves, kayakers, the soaring birds, and, yes... whales! There’s a cozy corner with an exceptional view... for lunch, for board games, for intimate conversations. A private deck just steps from the house... a conversation area, a special place for sipping wine or just watching the drama of the sea and, of course, spectacular sunsets.

Ocean Splendor... it is very special.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 27 traveler reviews

A romantic getaway for two people…. Once you get to Ocean Splendor, you won't
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
5

Spotless property with a phenomenal ocean view!!

  • 5 of 5

We were a little nervous after reading the comments from Janice's April stay but instead found the property to be perfectly clean and spotless. Janice was either having a bad stay or the property manager took her message to heart. The carpet, floors and fabrics are best top hotel clean. The coffee maker is a new Kureg model with the ability to use your own ground coffee. The kitchen is well outfitted with it's owe spectacular view.

The guest book is brimming with all sorts of accolades and "oohs" and "awes" and the word "wow" is used repeatedly. Dating back to June of 2010, I did not find one negative comment, just raves.

The house is very well decorated with comfortable contemporary seating and

many fine quality antique furnishings.Certainly not the typical home rental fare.

The quiet, the privacy, the unparalleled ocean views, the peaceful gardens, numerous decks, ridge beam skylights, quality artwork, abundant wild life, off shore islands, crashing surf all of which add up to a splendid way to while away some lazy Summer days.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk Grove CA, CA
3

Mendocino Vacation

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

You already know we had a power outage. The generator didn't work because it was covered with a tarp and the emergency kit was soaking wet. The coffee pot needs to be replaced. Unless you are VERY careful, it overflows everywhere--which it did twice. The desk chair in the bedroom is filthy--fabric on the arms are coated with ??? Fabric on the bed frame looks pretty bad too. We rented this home 2 years ago and were so pleased we chose it this time. Now I'm worried about the future. What it does have is an incredible view and lovely furnishings. Our future with you depends on your response to this survey.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello and thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that your experience was substandard, but we do very much appreciate that you took the time to let us know about it. The state of our homes and the comfort of our guests are absolutely primary to us, and we can assure you we’ve taken immediate steps to remedy the issues you had on your stay. The coffee maker has been replaced, and we have arranged for a cleaning team to clean the upholstery. The state of your emergency kit was completely unacceptable and has been addressed with our staff. We have our generators serviced annually and, while we were fortunately able to get it fixed during your stay, we must apologize again for the inconvenience. These sorts of issues are the absolute last thing we want our guests to be concerned with on their vacations. We have high standards and when they aren’t met we take it very seriously. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and we hope you come stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Merced, CA
4

Amazing!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Perfect honeymoon home with amazing views!! Loved the turkeys and deer in the meadow too!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pleasanton, CA
5

Ocean Splender for the Fourth Time

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It is always such a wonderful retreat and the location is perfect.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Ocean Splendor is aptly named! From the initial rental to checkout we enjoyed every minute of the stay. The home is gated so privacy is ensured. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and help relieve any stress you made have had getting to Little River. The views are breathtaking from inside and on the multiple decks. The spa is secluded and also allows for a wonderful view of the ocean. The birds and wildlife were so much fun to observe. The home is beautifully furnished and has two fireplaces which were ready to light when we arrived. Hearing and seeing the ocean while having a roaring fire was heavenly. The kitchen is well equipped and a joy in which to cook. Since we enjoy staying put we normally do most of our own cooking and only go out a few times during the week. A herb garden is located right outside the kitchen in a wooden planter. We love the raised bed as it makes ocean viewing wonderful. It is a bit of a leap but there is a small stool should you need it. Overall this is by far the nicest property we have found on the North Coast.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ocean Splendor

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Beautiful setting, beautiful house.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes


  • PLEASE NOTE the rates shown above do not include all fees and taxes. You can also see full rate details by clinking on the Detailed Price link on this page. The rates are based on the number of bedrooms needed. Please call us at 800-942-6300 for any questions or to make a reservation and to avoid any additional online charges.

    SPECIAL RATES??? YES!... NOVEMBER THROUGH APRIL
    Stay 2 or more nights, get an additional night FREE. Not available during holiday periods. For online bookings please note once you have completed the booking we will adjust the rental amount to include the free night and contact to confirm your reservation.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Coast California House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • 1 Queen bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Partner Offers