check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Spacious Beachfront One Bedroom Apartment on BEST Beach & TURTLES !

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
6 nights

About the property

Ideal For A Couple Wanting To Stay Directly On A Wonderful Beach.

This modern, spacious apartment is DIRECTLY on the beautiful Hoopers Bay beach--regarded as the best beach to stay on in Exuma..Just a few steps through the tropical garden is the 1/2mile (1 Km) long safe and calm sandy beach which is protected from the prevailing winds so guests can enjoy swimming, watching the turtles, kayaking ( and these are included) snorkeling or just relaxing in the shade of the coconut trees !

The apartment is fully air conditioned and with ceiling fans in all rooms and faces the sea with a large ,covered veranda with outdoor tables and chairs for meals or relaxing. A full kitchen, large lounge (with cable TV) and broadband Wifi ensures comfort for our guests whilst the bedroom can either be a King, or Queen or Twin to suit requirements.

Located very conveniently on the island as only 10 minutes from the airport and 6 minutes from Georgetown the capital, and with a number of local shops an easy 5 minute walk away

Flying to Georgetown, Exuma ( code GGT ) is straightforward with DIRECT flights on AA from Miami and United from Fort Lauderdale as well as Delta from Atlanta and Toronto on Air Canada. From Nassau there are several flights a day on both Sky Bahamas or Bahamasair which takes about 35 minutes.

Guests are met at the airport by our dedicated taxi driver and you will be welcomed by us at Coral Sands as we live only a short distance away and therefore available to help guests when required to arrange activities or recommend restaurants etc.

More Details

Property Manager
Betty & Peter Oxley-owners and personal operators since 1999
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, A little French, German & Italian is spoken
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 9, 2017

About Betty & Peter Oxley-owners and personal operators since 1999

We designed and built 'Coral Sands' to provide spacious and flexible accommodation to take full advantage of its exceptional position on the Hoopers Bay beach.

We had moved to Exuma in 1999 on our retirement from England and after an extensive search of many areas in the world to find the best place to live to suit our requirements. We have not been disappointed with our decision !!

We live here all year round except for occasional holidays as we love to travel

Betty & Peter Oxley-owners and personal operators since 1999 purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Betty & Peter Oxley-owners and personal operators since 1999 chose Bahamas

Ideal for beach and water sports lovers in an unparalleled location

What makes this apartment unique

Magnificent sea views and 'on the beach' position

Reviews

4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Spacious Beachfront One Bedroom Apartment on BEST Beach & TURTLES !
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
5

Relaxing week on amazing beach!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful week at Coral Sands. The apartment was cozy, comfy and had everything we needed.

Our highlight of the trip was the amazing beach on Hoopers Bay. Warm water, amazing sand (thanks for the oolite lesson Peter 😀) and very private. Throughout the week we saw no more than 10-15 people on the beach at its busiest. Exactly what we needed! So beautiful than we had a hard time leaving.

We spent countless hours sitting on the deck taking in that view.

We wouldnt hesitate to return and are hoping to do so in the near future .

Peter & Betty were wonderful and helpful hosts. Arranged taxi to and from airport, car waiting in the driveway for us to rent and Peter's most useful advice and tips for exploring the island.

Thanks for an unforgettable anniversary trip!

Yasam & Derek

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You really enjoyed your vacation to Exuma & we shared the pleasure of your different experiences & activities by reading your HomeAway Review. We hope we can welcome you again to stay at Coral Sands in the not too distant future. Best wishes & many thanks, Betty & Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Most relaxing vacation ever

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at Coral Sands. The apartment met all of our needs. The view from the balcony cannot be beat. It was wonderful to enjoy our coffee outside every morning. The beach in front of the property was fantastic. VERY quiet. Most of the time we were the only ones on the beach. Peter and Betty were great hosts. We are already planning on coming back later this year and bringing our children. Exuma now holds a special place in our hearts.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was so lovely to read your Review about your first visit to Coral Sands & we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit. Your Review will certainly help other potential guests & we look forward to welcoming you again with your children hopefully later in the year. Best wishes from the warm sea & sunshine. Betty & Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean, well-constructed,comfortable, with unbeatable location on a fantastic, nearly private beach.

  • 5 of 5

This is a very special property, handsomely built and situated with private sandy walkway to a picture-perfect (calm) beach. The furnishings are simple but all was clean, and functional. We had a terrific time on Exuma, and saw some terrific beaches, but none we liked better than Coral Sands. The owners were very responsive via email conducting business and advising (they were away so we didnt' get to meet them), and made sure a grill was delivered for our use very promptly. The taxi driver, and agent who met us at the apartment were on time and very helpful. We would love to return someday, and I would highly recommend to friends and family who share our taste for the simple luxuries of peace and cleanliness over stylish and excess furnishings.

I do recommend that when visiting you arrange to stop for some supplies and foodstuffs before getting to the unit, unless you have a car with you. First time driving on left (with a right side steering wheel) took some getting used to but all was well. We realized that everything is relaxed and laid back on Exuma, so if you've never driven on the left before, don 't hesitate to do it here....it's a snap after a short while. We enjoyed a private 1/2 day snorkeling/sightseeing boat tour and our veranda the most of all, along with the flavors and colors of foods, flowers etc. Perfect for a couples week away from hustle and bustle, without having to deal with the downsides of corporate controlled resorts. No cruise ships come to this island at all!

One note: the property description says there "is an on-site laundry facility" but in fact we learned that our unit did not have access to one. (A laundromat is in nearby Georgetown though).

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much enjoyed reading your detailed review of your stay at Coral Sands & regret that for medical reasons we were away from the island when you stayed. Your Review certainly will help others who are thinking of visiting & hope that we can personally welcome you on a future visit. Sorry about the mistake regarding the on-site laundry as this previously applied & we apologise for not fully changing the listing details but glad that the Laudromat in Georgetown helped you when required. Best wishes & many thanks, Betty & Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice and quiet vacations

  • 5 of 5

July 12 2015 for one week in the 1 bedroom appartment

Beach at the villas: Very nice beach with a lot of turtles on the right side near the two peers. Great view and directly on the beach. Almost alone. Saw only twelve different persons for all the week on the entire beach in front of the villas. Not the best island for snorkeling except for the turtles from the shore.

You must visit the tropic of cancer beach for the beach, the view and the living sand dollars. We visited other nices beaches. Did a trip of 2 dives with one wreck and it was nice. It was our second visit to the island, so we did not do the full day trip in boat in the Exumas cays land and sea park (a must).

Appartment : We were lucky, we had the villas for ourself most of the week. Nice appartment. Shade is provided by some palm trees. You can use kayaks and a tub chair. No safe in the appartment but the place and the island are safe. Kitchen well equipped. Owner is very nice and friendly.

Car rental : Thompson's car rental was cheaper. Almost a must to rent a car.

Groceries : If you want to make you meals like we do, you can manage well with the three following stores : Smithy's, Prime Island Meats and Deli (Cooked chicken, steaks) and the 'main' grocery in Georgetown.

We would like to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Lovely, but...

  • 4 of 5

The house was lovely, but we did not have an operating phone at the house. The hard-line phone service was out and we were left with no choice but to rent a car for the entire trip because we were unable to call for a taxi. The unplanned cost of the rental car was completely unexpected, causing us not to be able to do everything we had planned for our vacation. Not having a phone also kept us from making reservations for certain activities that we'd planned to enjoy. We were vacationing from out of the country and neither of our cell phones had an international plan.

Nice rental home and good location.... Just had problems with the phone and other issues stemmed from that unfortunately.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review & we also share your concerns with the telephone & internet service which collapsed on most of the island for about a week after a major fire in the telecommunications company building. Our representative who saw you (as we were away from the island for those days) make strenuous efforts to try to get you back on line but she did advise us that you had told her you were unconcerned and enjoying the break from communication. We always like to ensure that our guests received the service that we offer & although the circumstances were outside our control, we will be sending you a payment to at least compensate you for the inconvenience that this caused. Glad that you liked the rest of our Coral Sands property & hope we can welcome you again on a future occasion. Betty & Peter - owners
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Georgetown (Code GGT )
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Splash at Hideaways Resort
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Georgetown
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Greg Norman's at Sandals
Nearest Motorway
Queens Highway
Nearest Restaurant
2.25 Miles
Latitudes at Exuma Beach Resort
Nearest Beach
ON THE BEACH !!!
Car: recommended

Hoopers Bay area consists mainly of private houses with some local shops for groceries, deli, pharmacy and liquor within 5 minutes easy walk.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Exuma Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$245
$1,475
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Utilities $150
Refundable damage deposit $400

Arrivals and departures can be any day of the week.
There is enough space for a crib or rollaway bed for a child.
No charge for children under 3 years - otherwise $25 per night.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Exuma Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Tub with shower, WC and hand basin
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom can be a King or Twin to suit guests requirements and a crib or child's bed can be added. The extra bed charge is $175 per week + tax. A/C and ceiling fan, clock radio, closet and dressing table/drawer unit.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
We can arrange boat trips to the Exuma Cays or elsewhere for snorkeling, fishing or sightseeing and some trips can be booked to leave directly from the beach.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties