check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Chapman Point House - beauty, history and modernity all in one

48 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Coast California House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Perched on the the bluffs of Mendocino Bay and directly facing Mendocino Village, Chapman Point House delivers a view that has been coveted by artists and sight-seers for decades straight to the comfort of your living room.

Built in 1963 by a professor of architecture, every room has a stunning ocean and Mendocino view. The house is framed with awe inspiring 150 year old hand cut giant redwood beams (reclaimed trestle) and the flooring is 3" thick maple from a San Francisco bowling alley. Modern furnishings combined with a beautiful Redwood slab dining table and bar help make the house warm and inviting. The combination of rustic and modern elements make this a truly unique and special place.

The main living area features a panoramic ocean view through which you'll be mesmerized by the ocean waves during the day... and the twinkling lights of Mendocino at night. Stay in and cook in the fully equipped kitchen or sample some of the many fine restaurants in Mendocino.

Directly adjacent to 300+ acres of open space, meadows and ocean bluffs perfect for hiking, birding and whale watching.

You’ll be dining with a view; the open space allows for cozy get-togethers... . he cooks while she watches football... or whatever.

Windows, windows, windows... on the ocean waves, on the village across the bay - even at night … windows on the world. Chapman Point House - your romantic getaway!

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.5
based on 48 traveler reviews

Chapman Point House - beauty, history and modernity all in one
average rating of 4.5208335 based on 48 reviews
Gaithersburg, MD
5

bluff heaven

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

simply great; aided by Cindy and the rest of the staff at the rental office. They were top notch in helping us find the right property for us

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, Unique House

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Mendo Preferred has the best rentals. Always a good experience

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, CA
5

Peaceful Stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great time at Chapman Point House. Very peaceful and relaxing. The house is very comfortable and the view from the hot tub is amazing.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had the most amazing mini vacation at the Chapman house. The house is amazing and the views breathtaking. We had a couple of minor issues (with the DVD player and pellet stove) but the maintenance man was there within 15 minutes of our call, and had it all taken care of. He was great! The entire rental staff was so helpful, and friendly. Loved the hotub (and the jacuzzi tub), and was able to get lots of much needed relaxation. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Chapman Point House Review

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location was great the house was unique. I was very disappointed that with such a beautiful view that no one has bothered to clean the windows in what appears to be years - really ruined the view from inside the house. Also you need to do an in depth cleaning there are cobwebs everywhere. Only half the jets are functioning on the hot tub. Disappointed that we were not able to use the wood burning fireplace and were unable to get the wood pellet stove to work. The Queen Bed was horribly uncomfortable and to be honest there wasn't a comfortable piece of furniture in the house.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re sorry that you had a negative experience with us. We aim to provide our guests with the most relaxing and pleasant stay possible and are very concerned when that isn’t the case. In your welcome letter we do ask that you contact us with any issues that you have and if we had received any indication as to your unhappiness with the property we would have worked diligently to remedy it during your stay. To address your particular points, it is standard practice to wash our windows prior to every arrival, however due to the immediate proximity of this property to the ocean, we can’t guarantee salt won’t build up quickly. We apologize for the cobwebs and will have our spa service man fix the jets in the hot tub. The fireplace is no longer operable unfortunately, but there are detailed instructions in the home’s binder for operating the pellet stove. We’re disappointed we couldn’t help make your stay better, please know we welcome and encourage our guests to come to us with any questions or problems if you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Our stay at Chapman

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Loved the home and views. However, I would say the home needs a little TLC. Both fireplaces were not working, which was a downer for our romantic getaway. Also, the home had a horrible must/water smell. I'd strongly encourage the owners to get a dehumidifier to resolve odor problem. Lastly, I thought the living room furniture was not that comfortable. For the price per night of Chapman House, I'd expect a much more comfortable couch that can accommodate 4 people easily. Maybe even six, if you have friends visiting from the cottage. I mean that is what the living room in this home is all about. Kicking back and enjoying the amazing water view. Tough to fully appreciate from a small, slippery, dated leather couch. Overall, the home and setting are unmatched, but I do think the issues I mentioned need to be addressed for the premium price paid for this rental.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate feedback that will help us provide a better experience for our guests. We apologize for the fireplace and stove being out of order, but are happy to report they’ve been addressed and will be available for use in the future. Thank you also for the helpful suggestions regarding the living room area, it is very important to us that our guests be as comfortable and accommodated as possible during their stay. We will be including your input as we continue to update and enhance the property. Thank you again from all of us at Mendocino Preferred.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes


  • PLEASE NOTE the rates shown above do not include all fees and taxes. You can also see full rate details by clinking on the Detailed Price link on this page. The rates are based on the number of bedrooms needed. Please call us at 800-942-6300 for any questions or to make a reservation and to avoid any additional online charges.

    SPECIAL RATES??? YES!... NOVEMBER THROUGH APRIL
    Stay 2 or more nights, get an additional night FREE. Not available during holiday periods. For online bookings please note once you have completed the booking we will adjust the rental amount to include the free night and contact to confirm your reservation.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Coast California House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties