check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

NEW 3 bedrm, 2 bath home less than 1 mile from downtown Old Forge w/ lake access

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Old Forge Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Private, close to attractions/ammenities

Come enjoy the perfect blend of privacy and convenience in our sparkling 1500 sf log home. You'll be nestled on 3 secluded acres, but with all the conveniences and fun of downtown Old Forge close by. Truly the ideal place to rest, reconnect, and play.

HOME FEATURES:

- 3 bedrooms: 1 large master with king bed and full bathroom; and 2 good-sized bedrooms (1 queen bed, the other with full bed and bunk bed) sharing a bathroom.

- Inviting living room with spacious entertaining area.

- Kitchen opens to living area. Huge island for food service.

- Laundry on main floor.

- Upstairs only.

- Wood stove does not function properly so we have it locked (ventilation)

NOTE: Well-behaved pets welcome. We do charge an additional $75 cleaning fee to ensure that our home will be as fur and odor-free for the next guest as it was for you! :)

MANY WAYS TO PLAY, including:

- Snowmobile trails (within sight)

- Shopping in Old Forge (less than 1 mile)

- First-run movies at The Strand Theatre (less than 1 mile) (URL: http://strandoldforge.com)

- Enchanted Forest/Water Safari (less than 1 mile) (URL: http://www.watersafari.com)

- Beach access (2 miles)

- Lake cruises (less than 1 mile) (URL: http://www.oldforgelakecruises.com)

- Adirondacks Scenic Railroad (3 miles) (URL: http://adirondackrr.com/thendara.html)

- McCauley Mountain (4 miles) - 21 ski trails, 653' vertical drop, scenic chair lift (URL: http://mccauleyny.com)

FOOD & SPIRITS:

Here's a comprehensive listing of area groceries, pubs, diners, cafes, and fine-dining establishments (URL: http://oldforgeny.com/restaurants.html)

EVENTS CALENDAR:

Check out what's happening during your visit. (URL: http://www.oldforgeny.com/events.html)

ATTRACTIONS, BUSINESS & SERVICES!:

For a full listing of area attractions, businesses and services, visit the Old Forge Business Directory (URL: http://www.oldforgeny.com/business.html#attractions)

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Jody Nielsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Owner

About Jody Nielsen

Brian and I have two beautiful daughters and three beloved Labrador Retrievers. We love outdoor living and built this home as an escape from everyday stresses and responsibilities. We hope it brings you as much peace and happiness as it does us. Welcome!

Jody Nielsen purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Jody Nielsen chose Adirondacks

We are looking forward to retiring in the Adirondaks in 15-20 years. This property has plenty of land and is perfectly situated between beach access and snowmobile trail access. We have never lived so close to groceries or numerous dining establishments.

What makes this cabin unique

Lake Access with property membership to an association that includes a private beach and boat launch. ~2 mile drive from Property.

Snowmobile/hiking trail within site of property.

Walking Distance to Downtown Old Forge, including Enchanted Forest.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

NEW 3 bedrm, 2 bath home less than 1 mile from downtown Old Forge w/ lake access
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Amazingly beautiful cabin in the woods!

  • 5 of 5

And I mean amazingly beautiful! Everything is updated and new and beautiful and clean and still has that Adirondack feel! Thank you, Brian and Judy and Nicole! We truly enjoyed our stay! Would definitely come back and rent again!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alyssa, thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again for many wedding anniversaries to come :). Jody & Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful family vacation at a great place!

  • 5 of 5

Our family vacation was like home away for home. Everything you could possibly need was right there. The home was absolutely beautiful and the surroundings were great. We had nightly camp fires and mid day walks in the woods. All the nature we wanted and just minutes (right down the road) from Old Forge. Jody (home owner) was very accommodating and helpful with making our visit great. I would highly recommend vacationing here so others too, can experience an awesome getaway at this truly beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. There is a peace and simplicity in the mountains that I can't explain. Sounds like your family found it too. We hope to see you again soon. Jody and Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house to spend time with family and friends

  • 4 of 5

We would highly recommend staying here. The house has all the amenities you will need. Location is great!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Jody and Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Escape!

  • 5 of 5

This home met and exceeded all of our needs!

Comfortable, Clean, & Spacious with all of the amenities that we needed.

Highly recommend this getaway to anyone!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Rental Away From it All

  • 4 of 5

Pro's: Spacious for a group of 4 to 6, owner was very pleasant/helpful, comfy, new/updated, well equipped, loooooved the kitchen, and great location as it was so close to the center of town.

Cons: wifi VERY spotty, need more hangers and wash cloths, unable to access Netflix at times due to too many users. One final thing that rubbed me the wrong way was the cleaning service/person. Check out was at 11 am, but the cleaning person sat at the end of the driveway from 10-10:15. Then around 10:20 they pulled in and blocked the end of driveway and sat there with the car running and lights still on until we loaded our cars and left. They provided no explanation, no "hello how ya doing". I found it to be very rude, pushy and passive aggressive and our group felt rushed. Word to the next occupants, be out of there by 10am.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. We have taken action on most of your feedback. We have purchased more wash cloths and hand towels and purchased 50 hangers. Additionally we have posted check out times. While we did have the check out time at 10 am on the terms page, I suspect it could get easily lost in the details. Additionally I have updated the hospitality page and put a posted frame on the counter with check out times. We are VERY sorry you felt rushed. I love that our cleaning person was there on time. I can imagine that if you thought you had more time, it would be frustrating on both ends. Finally, there isn't much we can do about the internet. We moved the wireless upstairs to enable folks to reset without going into the basement. The power goes out often and we are not eligible for cable or other solutions where we live. We are glad you stayed with us. Thanks again for your feedback. It made the property better for future rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Shauna and Brian

  • 5 of 5

The house was absolutely incredible. The owner Jody couldn't of been sweeter. I had no questions or concerns because of the detailed email I received from her a couple weeks before my stay, including places to go and how far away they were. I will be booking here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
many establishments located downtown Old Forge
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
McCauly Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Property has lake access rights with small beach

Located within site of trail 4. Winter Snowmobiling. Summer walking/biking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Forge Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 14 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $75

Change over Saturday or Sunday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Amenities

Old Forge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 off master bedroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 bathrooms. One with full tub. One with stand up shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk set up (full bottom, twin top, full futon)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties