check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


18 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Pittsburgh House Rental Photos and Description


A lovely, privately owned, Single Family Home situated in a residential neighborhood in the EAST HILLS OF PITTSBURGH. Enjoy this lovely fully furnished 'Home Away From Home!' UNIVERSAL HOME is located minutes from the Penn Hills Exit off Interstate 376, a major auxiliary route within the Allegheny Plateau of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Quick access to many Pittsburgh Locales!

*Exceptionally Clean and Newly Remodeled

*Beautiful Fully Furnished Single Family Home

*3 Bedrooms; 1 and 1/2 Baths

*Spacious Living Room

*Large Open Dining Room

*Huge updated Kitchen Fully Equipped Including Dishwasher

*Charming Sunroom With Tiki Bar looking out onto a Gorgeous Private Lush Backyard

*Cozy Downstairs Family Room

*Laundry Room - Fully Equipped and Super Clean

*Central Air Conditioning/Heat

*Single Car Garage and Driveway parking with up to 2 spaces as well as front street parking

*Rate includes all utilities, cable tv, and high speed wireless internet



All 3 bedrooms are fully furnished with 'lovely comfortable surroundings' the number one objective.

Master Bedroom has a Queen Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser, Wardrobe, and 1 Night Stand as well as flat screen wall mounted Cable TV. There is also an integral hanging closet.

Guest Room #1 has a Queen Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser, Nightstand and flat screen wall mounted Cable TV, as well as an integral hanging closet.

Guest Room #2 has a Full Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser and Cable TV, as well as an integral hanging closet.

Downstairs TV Room has a Queen Size Sleeper Sofa


The Bedrooms share a beautiful ceramic, newly remodeled bathroom that features a Bathtub with Shower, and Linen Closet that sports luxurious bath towels, hand towels and wash cloths. For added convenience, a Half Bath is located downstairs off the Family Room.


Warm colors with a new ceramic floor, cupboards, and new countertops creates a beautiful and welcoming kitchen that is quite roomy. To get you started, the pantry is stocked with the basic amenities (i.e. sugar, tea, coffee, sweetener, salt, pepper, as well as a spice rack). It is also fully equipped with everything you need; microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishes, glassware, silverware, cooking utensils, pots and pans, serving dishes, etc.!


This lovely Living Room is furnished with super comfy micro-fiber furniture and nicely decorated with a softly lighted, warm ambiance to create the perfect harmonious mood. Enjoy the cable tv options, and other amenities this beautifully decorated, open space will provide you and your family.


An elegant dining room table and 6 chairs provides a lovely eating area where your family can gather for meals. It is a wonderful gathering area as it is open to both the Living Room and Kitchen.


A warm and cozy Family Room provides another space for playing games or watching tv. Sofa pulls out into queen size bed.


Includes a charming Bamboo Tiki Bar with 4 Stools, an artificial Lighted Palm Tree, and comfortable swivel/rocker Wicker Chairs and Glass Tables. This is a wonderfully private room where you can be close to nature while viewing the lush backyard without a neighbor in sight!


Find serenity and peace by stepping outside the glass Sunroom doors and onto a huge manicured back yard surrounded by lush greenery that provides cooling shade and complete privacy. Especially nice for pet owners! (though it should be noted that the backyard is NOT fenced-in but there is plenty of room for a pet stake and provides lots of roaming room)

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Barbara Dawson, Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2016
Call Manager

About Barbara Dawson, Property Manager

Russ and I are the owners of Universal Home. A series of life-changing events led us to this venture of providing Furnished Short Term Lodgings. While some of the events may have been difficult, we are forever grateful for the doors that were opened and believe God has always been guiding us! We are focused on providing a clean, beautiful and comfortable home for you and your family. We will do everything we can to meet your expectations. If you have any concerns or questions, please feel free to contact us at 412-403-266. We believe you are guided and protected as well. Hope to see you soon! Barbara & W. Russell Dawson

Barbara Dawson, Property Manager purchased this house in 2013

Why Barbara Dawson, Property Manager chose Pittsburgh area

We absolutely loved this home the moment we walked through the front doors. The huge welcoming kitchen and downstairs sunroom are our favorite rooms! We were so excited to furnish it and share it with Pittsburgh travelers. We love how it is literally minutes from Interstate 376, so it's easy access to just about anywhere in Pittsburgh. And right at the top of the street is a huge shopping plaza where just about everything you need is can be found, including a grocery store. It's so close you can walk there!

What makes this house unique

We've had many guests comment on the deer and other wildlife they've been able to observe in the backyard from the sunroom that is basically 3 walls of windows.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house was very neat and the owner was very helpful. The host, Barbara, responded to msgs and requests quickly. Also, the location was very convenient. It was close to grocery shops, restaurants and not far from downtown area. The nice thing about the property was we got to use the garage and it added a lot ease for entry and exit. However, it would be more handy for guests if the owner could leave a hairdryer in the bathroom and some aluminum foils in the kitchen. Overall, we had a great stay there.
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1


based on 18 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.2222223 based on 19 reviews

Nice House and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

The house was exactly as advertised and we were definitely satisfied. We stayed there with three kids for a week and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The only things that I felt could have been stocked better were trash bags and toilet paper as we had to go out and buy both of these items after just a couple of days. (maybe also add a corkscrew as we had a heck of a time opening a bottle of wine!) We were also serenaded many, many times by the fire department just up the road. I think it was just a busy week as it was Thanksgiving and people must have been burning things left and right! The alarm went off seven times one day, with the earliest being 7:10 am and the latest being 11:30 pm. We started to get used to it after awhile and it just became a running joke for the family. I wish it would have been warmer so we could have taken more advantage of the really cute tiki room downstairs and the great backyard. We did see deer out back almost daily which was a nice treat! How comfortable the house was, along with the great location close to supermarkets, shops, and restaurants, made it a great choice for us and if we need to stay in that area again, we will likely choose this house.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review, it really means so much to us! We give our guests complete autonomy and never want to interfere with their visit, yet always at the back of our minds is our sincere wish and hope that you're finding the house comfortable and are enjoying your stay. Thank you for letting us know that the corkscrew has gone missing - we will certainly replace it pronto - every good vacation home needs a corkscrew! About the toiletry items and paper products, thank you for your comments and bringing up the subject for further clarity. Because our guests vary in number and length of stay, our goal is simply to get you started with the essentials. Following are many of the basics we provide in small quantities or sample sizes: (soaps, shampoo, conditioner, toilet paper 2 rolls for each bathroom, hand soaps, kleenex, paper towels, 3 garbage bags, dishwasher detergent, dish soap, spray cleaner, laundry detergent, fabric softener, fabric softener sheets, coffee, coffee filters, assortment of teas, sugars, creams, spice rack, etc.). So whatever your family will be needing more of you'll definitely want to put on your shopping list! Super cool family to not let the fire station siren get under your skin. 7 times in one day is unbelievable - and certainly far from the norm! We hope you'll be back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Past Guest

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 5 days and had a great time! We took advantage of the BBQ and the Tiki Room during this time. One of the things we enjoyed was seeing all the wild animals run through the the back yard , deer, fox and some animal we could not make out, at dusk. The place was very clean and comfortable. I like the fact there was a "throw" blanket to cuddle up with in the living room. We were able to prepare our meals, as there was ample cookware and dishes. We never had to purchase anything during our stay. Shopping was very close, for whatever our needs were.I liked the fact, even though there are TV's in every bedroom and living room, I could go down to the family room, turn the TV on early in the morning, and not bother anyone. I would totally recommend this home for those that want "A home away from home". It was very nice that the property manager left a "welcome letter" giving all info needed to stay or questions we might have. I would recommend this property .

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the home and it's amenities! Thank you also for leaving the home in such pristine shape! I am thinking perhaps the animals you saw at dusk that you couldn't identify may have been our groundhog couple that have been dubbed by our guests as Mr. & Mrs. Pittsburgh Pete. Hope to have you back in the near future!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some maintenance work

  • 3 of 5

The property was in a good location and the wildlife in the garden was wonderful. The property itself needed some work done. There was a mixed smell of damp and air fresheners. Ceiling tiles were held up (some unsuccessfully)with sticky tape, the crockery was chipped, the cutlery partly plastic, no garden furniture, towels threadbare, a screen door had a panel missing. It would not take a lot of investment to make this a high class holiday home but not there at the moment!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously replacing the ceiling tiles in the downstairs bathroom due to guests allowing water to accumulate on the bathroom floor upstairs when showering. The house is thoroughly cleaned between guests, sometimes twice per week, so it is an extremely clean home! We provide very nice silverware, and previous guests who have entertained have left boxes of plastic silverware there, which we leave behind for the use of our guests. The towels are plentiful and are of very high hotel quality and are replaced as needed. I am beginning to understand that I can offer the exact same clean, comfortable, well-appointed, nicely decorated space with amenities galore, to different guests and their experience of it may be completely different. I am also beginning to realize that it usually has little or nothing to do with me or my efforts to provide a true “home away from home”, but more to do with where a guest focuses their attention, whether it be on the blessings or imperfections. I also realize that I have no control over which direction one chooses to focus, so I am letting that go. I will, however, never let go of providing a clean and lovingly prepared home for each and every one of my valued guests. I honor them and their freedom to perceive it as they choose. With that said, my hope is that all Beings are able to choose tuning into the blessings of life because their journey will be one of joy. Many Blessings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place. Very close to shopping. Owners are very nice. Would love to stay again.

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time. A home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much - hope to have you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay! Very clean!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great experience overall. The front bedroom bed was REALLY hard...which is great if you like a hard bed...unfortunately...I do not. That was the ONLY complaint that I had. The driveway's slope was a little scary at first but was ok once you got the hang of how to get out. We really loved the decor of the house it was very modern and stylish. The kitchen was very nice, which is good because that seems to be where I spent a lot of time! Would definitely stay again and recommend anyone to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thumbs up regarding our rental property and taking the time to give us some constructive feedback as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

golf getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in this home was great. Close enough to downtown Pittsburgh and far enough away so we had short rides to a couple beautiful golf courses. If we ever came back, this is where we would stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great feedback. So glad you had a nice visit and we hope we can host you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Pittsburgh House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Prep/Linen/Towel Fee $85
Tax Rate 7.0%

Once booking has been confirmed, you will receive a "Welcome Letter" that includes pertinent information about the property such as address, personal passcode to the front door, internet passkey, garbage dates, etc.

NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE – While linens and bath towels are included in the unit, daily maid service is not included in the rental rate.

PLEASE NOTE: The $85 cleaning/linen/towel fee that you pay is to prepare and disinfect the home, linens and towels PRIOR to your stay. It does NOT INCLUDE cleaning up after guests post stay. Any extra time required by our cleaning crew to prepare the home for our next guests, due to uncleanliness, furniture moving, excessive garbage removal/bagging, dirty dishes/counters, etc. will be deducted from your security deposit at the rate of $25/hour/cleaning crew member. Please understand that to clean the entire home as well as prepare linens and towels for a 3BR 1.5 single family home costs much more than the cleaning fee that we are charging. In order to continue to keep this cost low for our valued guests who value our property, additional cleaning required to restore the property post stay will be charged to the party who left it as such. This is rarely a problem and we thank you for the care you take with our property and furnishings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Pittsburgh House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • The full bath is newly remodeled with ceramic floors and walls. It also has a beautiful unique opalescent pedestal sink.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Basement TV Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • All 3 bedrooms are beautifully decorated with quality sheets and comforters and an abundance of pillows. There is plenty of dresser, wardrobe and hanging closet space. The downstairs TV Room provides additional sleeping space with a Queen Size Sleeper Sofa.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
This home also has a wonderful and completely private Sunroom that sports a Tiki Bar and comfy rocker/swivel chairs. This sweet room sits alongside the gorgeous backyard where deer and other small wildlife have been observed.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties