Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Horse Country Home In 'the Woods'

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Welcome to 'The Woods'. This home is perfectly situated in a lovely community surrounded by beautiful oak trees and offers easy access to all the wonderful amenities of this Columbus/Tryon area. Horse lovers and equestrians will enjoy the convenience of being just 5 miles from FENCE and near the FETA trails and approximately 8 miles from the new amazing exquisite TRYON INTERNATIONAL EQUESTRIAN CENTER.

The charming towns of Historic Hendersonville, Landrum and Tryon are minutes away and our adjacency to I-26 and Route 74 allows for quick trips to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, Brevard, Cashiers, DuPont State Park-Forest and all the attractions of this highly desirable area.

Reasons to stay in our Woods Home

➤Attending a horse show

➤ Lake Lure... can we say 'Dirty Dancing'??

➤ Fabulous wineries and breweries to tour

➤ Leaf season is absolutely gorgeous

➤ Visitng the spectacular Biltmore Estate of the famous Vanderbilt family

Only minutes to downtown Landrum and Tryon, this home offers the perfect location for horse show exhibitors and other equestrian enthusiasts, antique-rs, cyclists and leaf lookers.

This is a wonderful place to which to retreat and is also perfect for family gatherings or for just a nice getaway.

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Tucked in the western North Carolina foothills of the Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains, the home is nestled on one acre with gorgeous horse views from the back porch all year round and woodland views in summer and fall.

The home is approximately 15 miles from Lake Lure, 32 miles from Hendersonville, and 43 miles from Asheville. This home has all modern conveniences. It is a short drive to the higher elevations and attractions of Asheville and amazing historic people friendly town of Hendersonville.

Seasonal Highlights:: Summer:

Mountain back roads; antiquing; farmers' markets; Lake Lure boat rides; fishing; golf; swimming; equestrian events; festivals; fresh air and hiking the mountains; 4th of July celebration in downtown Columbus; concerts & plays in Tryon, Hendersonville or Asheville;

Fall:

North Carolina Apple Festival in Hendersonville; leaf-looking; equestrian events; concerts & plays; hiking; fishing;

Winter:

Christmas at the Biltmore; Blue Ridge Parkway; ; roaming and exploring; dining; hiking; antiquing; arts & entertainment.

Spring:

Blooming trees and flowers; mountain festivals; Blue Ridge Parkway; shops in quaint Tryon and Saluda; Steeplechase in Tryon; antiquing in Landrum; Farmers Markets.

Minimum Age Limit for Renters- non smoking only - no pets .

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have.

More Details

Owner
Owner/ Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
July 3, 2017

Amenities

Columbus House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper sofa in the den
  • Den has a pull out couch with a full mattress
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Horse Country Home In 'the Woods'
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Lovely well decorated clean home great location

  • 5 of 5

This was a fun short trip but we will be back again for sure. Your home was so inviting and beautifully decorated . Watching the horses in the back from the screened porch with morning coffee in hand was something right out of a story book . Totally a delightful weekend

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home in a beautiful location.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home located with in a few miles of the Tryon Equestrian Center .The home was very clean and the owners were available for any questions we had. The home is centrally located to many attractions such as Lake Lure and Asheville . We look forward to our next trip back .

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A nice weekend place

  • 4 of 5

Lovely home with all the perks one would find in their own home. Great view of the beautiful horse farm that hides behind this house. We were able to maneuver the area very quickly from the close major roads. Wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice home and nice horse view

  • 5 of 5

Came to the Tryon/Columbus area to visit family for the holidays. Stayed in this lovely home that is close to everything. We enjoyed our morning coffee with a pasture view of the horse farm that is nestled behind this home. Minutes from the Pacolet River trails and TIEC. We hope to return once again and will definitely stay here.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home in a great location!!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I stayed in this very nice home during her competition at the TIEC. Super convenient location- close to the interstate and Route 9 which takes you directly to the equestrian resort. The owner was very nice and was immediately available for any questions we had. We look forward to qualifying once again so that we can return to the TIEC and this great home!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Does not meet VRBO standards.

  • 1 of 5

This house appeared clean when we arrived but soon discovered it was not. The listing stated that it slept 7 (stated 6 in another place on listing). We had 6 people and a baby. The owner reported that we had too many people and used all of the beds! She also kept $100 of our deposit because she had to pay extra for cleaning fees. The house was left in perfect shape. I have left 2 voice mails for the owner and also emailed her over a 1 week time frame and she has not responded. I think she (and maybe the housekeepers) are running a scam. I am a longtime VRBO user and this listing does not meet the standards.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As per my previous response to you the reservation you booked was for only 2 adults. You were in breach of the rental agreement when in fact you had 6 people and 1 baby stay at our home. You left our home in a complete dirty mess .
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Columbus House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change without notice until deposit is received and reservations are confirmed. Deposit is fully refundable when reservations are cancelled 30 days prior to arrival date, 50 % refundable when cancelled 15 days prior & 25% refundable when cancelled less then 15 days prior . Security Deposit due at reservation & refunded 1-5 days after departure. CHECKIN- 3PM -CHECKOUT 10.30AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties