Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Rangeley Lakefront Home: Main House, 3 Cabins, Dock

Bedrooms 6
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Cabin, 6 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

This beautiful, secluded home has been in our family for over fifty years. It is right on Rangeley Lake, includes a large main house and three private cabins as well as a private yard and dock with boats. It comfortably sleeps 14.

The main house features a wrap-around deck with a large outdoor table and grill overlooking the lawn and lake as well as a covered area with outdoor couches and chairs. Inside is a living room, dining room, fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, a bedroom, and a bathroom. It also has two wood stoves for cozy nights with firewood provided.

The camp also includes three private cabins, each with bedrooms, bathrooms, and wood stoves. Our camp has a large private yard and dock with canoes, kayaks, & motorboat for exploring the lakes coves and beaver dams and even going to two nearby picturesque towns.

While our camp is in a wooded area, it few miles from Oquossoc and Rangeley, towns that feature rustic charm and all the modern amenities, including many places for dining.

Keywords: private yard, wrap around deck, wood stoves, family dock, canoes, kayaks, motorboat, rustic, lakefront, hiking, tennis, lobster, camp

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 3, 2017

About The Owner

My parents bought this property during WWII, loving the area for many years before. Our family has vacationed here for over 50 summers, entertaining friends and other family members. Our waterfront property is perfect for daily swims and boating activities and occasional fishing. We have always enjoyed our meals on the porch. Each day ended with a view of the sunset from our dock. Now we want to share this beautiful home and these mountains with you.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1942

Why The Owner chose Oquossoc

Nestled on beautiful Rangeley Lake, our home is unique because of its extensive lake front and its special layout—both make it perfect for your family or multi-generational sharing. Grandparents (like me), my adult children, and their children all cook and eat and play together during the day, but at days end we have our own separate cabins for sleeping. Even with a full house, we have our privacy. There have been summers where my son’s family as well as their friends with their children and I have all enjoyed a vacation here together and our home has hosted many family reunions. Our area is protected from development by a land trust, which has given us walking paths to explore just beyond our doorstep. Many activities for old and young are available —all you might need is a walking stick or a paddling arm!

What makes this cabin unique

We still love our lakeside paradise of over 60 years. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Fortunately, little has changed here since I was a girl. Our house allows us to partake in all of the outdoor activities we love: swimming, boating, tennis, golf, hiking. And, of course, just relaxing on the porch or in the hammock with a good book. Our camp has been our perfect Shangri-La with the added touch of the attractive town, Rangeley only a few miles away. My father first came to the area in the summer of 1919 as a companion for boy suffering from hay fever. Rangeley was the perfect antidote. The grandchildren of that family still come from California every summer. Many of our other neighbors are the children and grandchildren of families who have been summering here for generations. My father found his paradise here as a young man and several years later when my parents had an opportunity to buy a home on the lake they jumped at it. My sisters and I think they made the right decision.


Oquossoc Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Bunk Beds (3) One of the cabins have two rooms of bunk beds.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
dock, canoes, kayaks, motorboat, hammock, picnic tables


3.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Secluded Rangeley Lakefront Home: Main House, 3 Cabins, Dock
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews
Wilmington, Delaware

The Delaware Duo

  • 5 of 5

My friends and we have spent a week for several summers at this great place. We enjoyed the seclusion and privacy. The cabins are rustic, interesting, and closer to the water than can be built these days. The water front dock is excellent, and there are PLENTY of toys to play with. We walk the old "Loop Road" daily, and enjoy the full moon rising over the Eastern mountains when or week is timed right. Fabulous!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2006
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Area!

  • 2 of 5

Our extended family enjoyed a vacation here for the first time. It is secluded, waterfront, rustic. We heard the loons every night. Here is our experience and observation: When we arrived, the water pump (an old-fashioned hand pump located outside, to be used for drinking water) did not work. The caretaker (a very nice elderly man) arrived, but still no luck, so we bought all of our drinking water. In the meantime, my niece had stepped from one room to the next in the bunkhouse and heard a "crack." So after the caretaker worked on the pump, he looked under the bunkhouse and found a cracked floor indeed, due to a bad support which he promptly replaced. The cabins were all clean and tidy: one looked like a tool/repair shop with a double bed; one was a cabin for two with a toilet/sink in one room and a shower in another space, and also included a sitting porch; the bunkhouse was a conglomeration of add-on rooms--one toilet room, a shower stall kind of in the middle of the house; one room (we assumed it was the original) had a full bed, and there were 2 small bunkrooms, with 3 bunkbeds in all. The main house was nicely built, pine walls and ceilings, a small but well-functioning kitchen, bathroom with a large tub (no shower), small dining room and living room, and a small bedroom with 2 single beds and a outside door. The living and dining rooms opened out to the porch, and overlooked the lake. The property is thickly forested, making the 3 cabins fairly dark. There is electricity and very old small, usable woodstoves in each facility. There is quite an eccentric collection of old, personal memorabilia/stuff on walls, in and on the desks, dressers, buffet, etc. (such as an OLD deer mount in the living room--and his 2 hooves-turned-wall-lamps, oh my, in the dining room), all of which lent to an over-crowded, musty feeling rather than charm. Furniture/decor was old--which is okay, but the seating in and outdoors was rather rickety, hard for an old grandpa to be really comfortable. The lawn chairs were all rusty, the motor on the boat was broken, and the property looked rather unkempt. Its strength was the lakefront view and accessibility, which we all loved. We did have a good time--we enjoyed poking in the town shops, etc., canoeing, visiting Mt. Washington (a good 2 hr. drive) and saw a nice moose, too. We wondered if the owner had seen it lately, and felt that it needed a good overhaul and a hoeing-out of a lot of junk, both in and out.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

This place is magical! We loved every minute of our time there. Our family rented this spot in July 2013 for a family get together – 11 of us ranging in ages from 3 to 67. Having the 4 cabins (including one with 2 bedrooms) meant each family had privacy. The main cabin provided ample room for all of us to be together. We had the canoes and kayaks out everyday – the lake is calm and calming; manageable for new kayakers and a treat for those with plenty of experience. There were enough life preservers, including ones for the little ones. Bonfires in the firepit were gorgeous, nestled next to the lake. The cabins are situated between two very cute towns with shopping and antiquing an easy 5 minute drive in each direction. The kitchen is well appointed and the cooks among us were easily able to create gourmet meals. Hiking outings were also easily accessed. The place was clean and easy to keep clean. Owner was quickly responsive to questions. Would definitely recommend this place for others and hope to be back there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Poorly maintained beautiful property

  • 1 of 5

Eight hour drive from NY brought my family to these 4 cabins: one uninhabitable due to intense carpenter ant infestation; bedding in another cabin needed to be stripped and bagged due to mildew odor and dirt; textiles throughout all cabins smelled of camphor & had ripped screens; kitchen shelving filled w/grimey old spice containers & jars filled w/residual unknown contents; sugar bowl filled w/sugar and bugs; main cabin's bathroom counter had old filthy expired items (like opened contact lense solution, rubbing alcohol, etc); dirty cutlery in kitchen & dining room drawers; rusty tools found in DR drawers and up against a third cabin's wall; pesticide warning signs on lawn. Because the forth cabin was uninhabitable, four guests could not stay after driving the 8 hours. Owner was kept informed throughout our stay, yet, reneged on verbally agreed upon 25% partial refund. This beautiful property is poorly maintained.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were disappointed with our rustic Maine camp. My own family and our friends enjoy our comfortable home and all the activities it and the surrounding area has to offer. In addition, in the past 20 years, we have had many repeat guests, and most reviewers have viewed our accommodations much more positively. That being said, it's very important to us that all our guests be pleased with the accommodations. To address your specific complaints, for example regarding spices, medicines, and other supplies, we feel that it's important to note the guests are expected to bring their own supplies. We view it as a convenience that we leave limited personal supplies available to guests, who usually replace what they use. Additionally, due to a very wet spring, like many country homes, just one bedroom in one of the four cabins did require treatment by an exterminator. Once you called us to alert us that it was an ongoing issue, we immediately called the exterminator who came within a few days to treat the bedroom. And while we had no prior agreement to a refund, we sent you a partial refund. We are sorry that this was not the vacation you hoped for, and I hope the rest of your summer is enjoyable.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great extended family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

The house and cabins are on a lovely private location, a very peaceful, private and beautiful spot. It's "On Golden Pond" for larger families. We''ve rented this cottage compound several times and had a wonderful time with our four grown children, wives, girlfriends, and friends. The swimming dock, motorboat, kyack, and canoe make it especially enjoyable. The house and cabins are old-Maine-camp rustic -- very clean and well-equipped -- but not up to new-home luxury lake house standards if that's what you are looking for. As for us, we wouldn't trade this place for any house on the lake!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2007
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes the review is fine.Ann Loeb
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.