Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Christmas Palms: Private Oceanfront Villa with Pool and Excellent Snorkeling!

Bedrooms 4
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Tremendous Snorkeling! 4BR/3.5BA Christmas Palms Villa sits directly oceanfront in Old Man Bay on the north coast. The villa offers luxurious interiors that are complemented by beautiful multi-windowed views, an oceanfront freshwater pool, and--of course--excellent snorkeling in the sparkling Caribbean waters. Many coral heads hosting schools of juvenile fish await you!

Silver Thatch Membership Included

Christmas Palms has light, airy interiors and bedroom balconies that are designed to maximize the gorgeous ocean views; the large windows and glass doors flood the home with sunshine all year.

Christmas Palms Notable Features:

-The property includes the sandier beach lot next door to the east that has a small area for private sunbathing. Either way, every marine environment in the Caribbean requires foot protection (swim fins or pool shoes).

-There is excellent snorkeling directly behind the villa as well as for another 500 yards to the east behind famous Connolly's Cove.

-As all beaches in Cayman are public, we also have 3 nearby resorts/clubs with barefoot swimming that are open to our guests. They also have watersports and serve meals and drinks.

-From the dining room, living room and kitchen, you can step directly onto seaside decks or screened porches to enjoy the ocean air while you dine, lounge, or just have a cocktail after a day of sun and surf.

-The large, modern kitchen offers all the standard amenities, dishware, cookware, and cutlery.

-THREE (3) King Master Suites on the second floor each enjoy a wide ocean view and breeze. Each bedroom has its own screened porch or balcony overlooking the ocean.

-Twin bedroom on the first floor with adjacent half bathroom opens directly to the oceanfront screened porch.

-Pull-out couch in living area for children or smaller adults

-Christmas Palms now has (2) kayaks and is only half a mile from Grand Cayman's newest attraction; Cayman Crystal Caves. 10 minutes to the east are the resorts, grocery store, package store as well as some shopping and restaurants.

-Outdoor shower by the pool area as well as masonry charcoal grill.

-Central A/C

-Free WiFi



-Linens, towels and beach towels provided.

-Plenty of off-street parking.

-There is no home to the east of Christmas Palms, so our guests do enjoy their privacy. We have a new neighbor to the east that just finished construction January 2017.

Accommodates up to 10 people (8 adults max.); Excellent 3-couple villa and twins can be made up as a king bed for a 4th couple. (3) King Suites, (1) Twin Bedroom.

13% CI Government Occupancy tax added to all rates

10% Guest Service Fee includes Silver Thatch Membership

Owner requires Refundable $500 Excess Cleaning Fee/Damage Deposit.

Minimum Stay:

5 Nights Minimum

Minimum Stay, Dec 21-Jan 6:

7 Nights Minimum

Minimum age of 25 yrs old to lease any of the villas and lessee must occupy the villa during the entirety of the rental period.

Security System Available for Guest Use.

For arrivals beginning January 8, 2018 that have paid the guest service fee:

Silver Thatch Guest Membership

Centralized on-island guest services & welcome center

Unlimited Use of Silver Thatch Fitness Center (18+ yrs.)

Business Center Access: computers, printer & Fedex/DHL supplies

Proprietary Silver Thatch Guest discount card

Jacques Scott Wine & Spirits pre-order | hold for check-in

Referral to preferred vendors, reservation assistance

At-Villa Benefits

Early check-in gratis (if no check-out on same day)

Day-after-arrival guest services follow-up

Gilchrist & Soames bath products

Pre-stocking of groceries & beverages ($ delivery fee applies)

Arrange chefs, cooks, babysitting & family photography

$1,500 of Villa Accidental Damage Protection

Pack-n-plays, booster seats, baby gates— gratis

15% Nearby Construction Discount until August, 2018

Although Christmas Palms owner has no control over her neighbor two lots east; that neighbor has begun construction on a home and will take about 10 months on Grand Cayman. There is a heavy line of hedges and 100+ feet between the properties, but in the interest of fairness and notification...Christmas Palms owner offers a 15% discount for the potential for any nuisance due to noise.

More Details

Property Manager
Grand Cayman Villas & Condos
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Grand Cayman Villas & Condos

I bought the land in 2003 in a hormonal post divorce moment, and despite Hurricane Ivan, which devastated the island of Grand Cayman one year later in 2004, I never once regretted the decision. I have always dreamed of building a beautiful triple aspect house on the ocean. So I designed Christmas Palms (it started life on the back of an envelope) and finally - after much planning, begging and borrowing - managed to break ground in May 2009. This picture was taken at Over the Edge restaurant in Northside, Grand Cayman, just after (with equanimity and no regrets all round) I had ceremoniously thrown my wedding ring into the sea!

Why Grand Cayman Villas & Condos chose North Side

It is quiet, private and beautiful up here on the North Coast of Grand Cayman. It is well away from the noise of Seven Mile Beach, yet within easy distance of the supermarket, diving facilities, trips to stingray city, botanic park and at least half a dozen excellent restaurants, including The Lighthouse and the fine dining at Rum Point. The best of both worlds.


North Side Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King Suite - 1 king
    King Suite - 1 king
    King Suite - 1 king
    Twin Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
26% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Christmas Palms: Private Oceanfront Villa with Pool and Excellent Snorkeling!
average rating of 4.6538463 based on 26 reviews
Watervliet, NY

Everything as expected.

  • 4 of 5

Property was as advertised. Very quiet and peaceful. Only complaint is pool lights are on a timer and don't come on until 9:30 pm well after dark.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: *** UPDATE *** Timer was reset this afternoon. I will have the manager set the timer earlier. Wish you had reached out to the manager when you were on island. That could have been taken care of in short order... Please come back soon. Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful rental but with some issues.....

  • 3 of 5

I would love to give this beautiful property a 5 star rating but there were some problems with the rental. First, I want to say that the house is lovely, with 3 big bedrooms, a good kitchen, and great outdoor space. The pool is small, but the view couldn't be better. Our one major complaint was the lack of privacy between Christmas Palms and the two houses built next door. We were unaware when we rented that there were new homes being constructed, as the pictures clearly show a beautiful buffer of lush trees. We were expecting a quiet, isolated home, but found construction still being completed and absolutely no buffer at all. The homes are quit close together. The workers were relatively quiet, but outside during our entire vacation. We have rented many Caribbean homes, and have always had the privacy we enjoy. This would have been fine for some, however, the pictures and description of our rental was not accurate. I would certainly have taken this into consideration prior to booking. The booking agents were very good up to the point of our submitting an email expressing some of our concerns. At that point, we were made to feel like we had not followed "our contract" by not making them aware of our concerns. The air was not working the first night, but after contacting the manager, it was fixed the following day. The agent implied that we needed to let them know. We felt we were being courteous by emailing them, but that was not the case.

Also, as a side aware that there are no beach chairs provided to use at local beaches.....we had never encountered that before, but were told we could rent them! Also, the cleaning people arrived at the home at 8 am although we were not required to leave until 10 am. They were very pleasant and did not enter the home, but they did sit outside by the pool making it uncomfortable for us to relax on our last morning.

Again, the home itself was basically well equipped, with an amazing view of the ocean and lovely rooms. We felt the representation of the house was not accurate in terms of privacy.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Overall as expected in the rental, however...

  • 4 of 5

There were only 3-1/2 bathrooms, not 4. We could not get into room with water toys due to humidity from rains in previous weeks. Lights in pool did not come on. Kitchen not as equipped as previous rentals. Also, there was no sandy beach as the photos showed.

The bedrooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. The outdoor area around pool was wonderful. The pool was small, but very good.

There was nothing major that would have kept us from renting again, however it wasn't our favorite overall.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good review! Our apologies for the bad weather. We had record rains in May and that always crushes a beach vacation. Glad you had a good time regardless at Christmas Palms. Totally our fault for listing 4 bathrooms instead of 3.5. At the time we listed this home HomeAway only had whole numbers...that changed long ago and we have made it 3.5. With 3 adults and 4 children, I hope it wasn't too inconvenient not having the 4th shower. As far as a pool toy closet; that is the owner's closet and remains locked. The owner doesn't have pool toys to include. On the beach; we do have a beach description on our booking site (see below). But these guests may have booked through HomeAway, Flipkey or VRBO and not seen it. Our large photos on our booking site show the beach has sand and pebbles...the seasons do change this however and we often have sand. Beach Description With a central location on the island…the homes in Old Man Bay offer perhaps the best shore diving and snorkeling on the entire island. The beaches are mostly sand, but also can be have some pebbly beaches as well as natural rock formations . Either way, with the varied marine life we have in the water, you will want to wear foot protection (pool shoes or fins). The beaches here offer great seashell collecting and turtle sightings in summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Christmas Palms Review

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I just returned from a week at Christmas Palms. It is a lovely vacation home, wonderful view of the water. The house is well maintained and very comfortable for not only 2 but for large families. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The air conditioning system is wonderful. The entire house is cool. A great surprise. The patio and pool area were wonderful. The pool was bigger than expected. The only people we saw were a few divers, a few dive boats and occasional person fishing off the shore. It is close to Rum Point, which has the best beach for sitting. We found snorkeling to be a disappointment. The other beaches nearby while easy to get too are NOT great for long easy walking. If you want to go to Georgetown will take you about 30 minutes one way. Restaurants near by are Over the Edge, The Lighthouse and the Restaurant at Rum Point.

There was a constant breeze (sometimes real wind) so bugs were not an issue, which we loved.

I would recommend this home but as with all vacation rentals there are the cons. There is no beach giving easy access to the water. The only sand is on the property. The area below the house is very rocky and not easy to walk. While there is a small water access area to the right of the property but with the surf, gaining access is difficult to go snorkeling. My husband did and found it hard to get around in the water due to waves and rocky areas.

I would recommend you get the beach shoes from the local dive shop. While expensive made beach walking and dealing with some of rocks easier. The house is very close to the road but the traffic noise was not an issue.

There is no housekeeping provided with this rental. We wanted the sheets and towels cleaned and the floors swept. We treat the house like it was our own. Cost is $90 US for 3 hrs minimum. A bit pricey but she did a good job. We have rented many homes on different islands and only one other time did we have to pay for housekeeping at this price range. I guess this is the Cayman way.

Overall it was a great get away and would recommend Christmas Palms.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Review of Christmas Palms

  • 4 of 5

Review of the Christmas Palms in Grand Cayman:

We stayed for 5 days at the Christmas Palms in the Grand Cayman. The home was in excellent condition with 180 degree view of the ocean. The four bedrooms, four bathrooms home was what were needed for a family of five. The home had all the amenities of your personal residence while being on a beautiful tropical beach. The pool and patio area were great for sitting and watching ongoing fishing boats while relaxing with a drink and dinner. The privacy was great while being nearby to two of the major resorts within a five mile radius.

We took tours of the bay, and snorkeled at the edge of the reef just to find that the best snorkeling was in the back yard of Christmas Palms. We saw Sting Rays, Barracudas, Lion Fish, eels, and all the variety of Caribbean species.

The location was close to many gourmet restaurants, or if you wanted to buy groceries and create your own meals the store was five minutes up the road.

The home is centrally located with famous rum point beach five miles west of the location. We made a day of it, the resort at Rum Point has restaurants; water sports equipment rentals, and a full functional beach.

The home is about eight miles from George Town and Seven Mile beach great areas for tourist type activities.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Estero, Fl.


  • 5 of 5

This house is simply beautiful, and exceeded our expectations. The picture don`t do it justice. We were {3} couples and we all had a king size beds with balconies over looking the ocean. We spent most of the time, outside taking in the views and sunsets, by the pool. Very relaxing. House was immaculate and kitchen and entire house was well equipted. Beach was a litte rocky and rough, for swimming and snokeling. Rum Point is only about 20mins away and has every kind of Water activities, Diving, snorkeling and Stingray city trips, a must do with you with any visit to Grand Cayman. Overall one of the best places, we have ever stayed at, and one of the best R&R`s we have ever had.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Owen Roberts
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Driftwood Beach Bar
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Kurt's Corner
Car: recommended

With a central location on the island…the homes in Old Man Bay offer perhaps the best shore diving and snorkeling on the entire island. The beaches are mostly sand, but also can be have some pebbly beaches as well as natural rock formations . Either way, with the varied marine life we have in the water, you will want to wear foot protection (pool shoes or fins). The beaches here offer great seashell collecting and turtle sightings in summer! Old Man Bay is only 5 minutes from (2) large resorts in the east end ( and ) that offer manicured beaches as well as restaurants, a modern grocery store, liquor store, gift shops, SUBWAY sandwich shop (and even a Coffee/pastry shop!).

Heading west, "Kurt's Korner" is a local restaurant within walking distance; and then "Over the Edge" restaurant is about one mile away. They serve breakfast, lunch AND dinner and offer a varied menu that offers a value choice. These two resorts also offer scuba, snorkel trips, jet skis, windsurfers, kiteboarding, ocean front pools and bar service. You are also only 5-10 minutes to the best SCUBA diving operations/dive sites on the entire island. and are two of the best. About 15 minutes to the west of Old Man Bay is the famous Rum Point Club…with watersports, restaurant, bar, gift shop, grill and a barefoot beach with table service. Here is where the catamaran departs for stingray sandbar/snorkeling tours.




You might like these similar properties