Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Castaway Cove: Oceanfront Northside Villa with Excellent Snorkeling!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Castaway Cove Villa is directly oceanfront in the district of Northside. Offering excellent snorkeling, the airy, sun-filled two-story beach home features breathtaking views from almost every room in the house. Vaulted ceilings and open architecture amplify the effect.

Includes Silver Thatch Membership

Enjoying a protective coral reef, Castaway Cove is perfect for snorkel enthusiasts; the sandy beach and private dock with cabana and ladder are perfect for long afternoons under the Caribbean sun and enjoying the vibrant marine life.

Castaway Cove’s Notable Features:

-Private pier ends with a thatched cabana offering built-in benches, allowing guests to fish, lounge or dock rented watersports equipment!

-An elevated, oceanfront deck spans the entire width of the house, with stunning views, oceanfront dining for 8, and rocking chairs for reading or relaxing.

-The comfortable oceanfront living area with flat-screen TV lets you admire the scenery even when you’re relaxing after a day of sun and sand.

-Indoor dining for 6 just in front of the glass doors to the oceanfront deck

-The full modern kitchen offers all of the standard appliances, along with an oceanfront view and bar seating for a quick breakfast or pre-dinner drinks.

-Two oceanfront first-floor King suites, one of which opens onto the deck

-Upstairs, another King bedroom shares a bath with a Twin bedroom—which has XL twin beds for taller guests!

-Pull out sofa in the living area for children only

-Central A/C

-Free WiFi



-Linens, towels and beach towels provided

Combined with the convenient Northside location, it’s easy to see why 4BR Castaway Cove is an inviting destination and an excellent value. No properties on either side assure privacy.

Accommodates 10 people (8 adults max.)

13% CI Government Occupancy tax added to all rates

10% Guest Service Fee includes Silver Thatch Membership

Minimum Stay: 5 Nights Minimum

Minimum Stay, Dec 21-Jan 6:

7 Nights Minimum,

Weekend to Weekend

No Weddings or Events

Minimum age of 25 yrs old to lease any of the villas and lessee must occupy the villa during the entirety of the rental period.

Security System Available for Guest Use.

For arrivals beginning January 8, 2018 that have paid the service fee:

Silver Thatch Guest Membership

Centralized On-Island Guest Services & Welcome Center?

Unlimited Use of Silver Thatch Fitness Center (18+ yrs.)?

Business Center access: computers, printer & Fedex/DHL supplies

Proprietary Silver Thatch guest discount card?

10% Discount for Silver Thatch Charter stingray/snorkel?

Referral to preferred vendors, guest services desk assistance

?Early check-in gratis (if no check-out on same day)

$500 of Villa Accidental Damage Protection

More Details

Property Manager
Grand Cayman Villas & Condos
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018


North Side Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King Suite - 1 king
    King Suite - 1 king
    King Bedroom - 1 king , Shares bathroom with Twin Bedroom
    Twin Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Shares bathroom with King Bedroom
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
The entire island is only 22 miles wide from west to east; so you are never too far from anywhere on Grand Cayman. The homes on the oceanfront in Rum Point offer great reef protected snorkeling. The beaches usually have plenty of white sand, but also can have spots of rocky “ironshore” with natural rock formations. The closer you get to Rum Point, usually the sandier the beach as well as swimming. Either way, with the abundant marine life we have in the water, you will want to wear foot protection (pool shoes or fins). The prevailing breeze (trade winds) from the east also make flying insects less of a nuisance—many of the homes in Rum Point don’t even need a screened porch. The big draw to this area is the proximity to the “Rum Point Club”; a public beach club that offers a fantastic barefoot beach…many watersports, a restaurant, bar, grill, gift shop and pick-up beach volleyball games. ( )


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Castaway Cove: Oceanfront Northside Villa with Excellent Snorkeling!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews

Some highs some lows.

  • 3 of 5

The view was phenomenal but couldn’t really get into the water due to grasses and rocks so a pool was very much missed. The inside is large and the kitchen was very well equipped but the microwave didn’t work (so they have another one on the counter?) and the fan by the stove didn’t work (which leads to a lot of smoke and odors) and a security detector inside kept beeping. We called the management company who came out to fix the detector 5 days into our visit. The Mgmt company fee, by the way, is ridiculous. It’s supposed to give you discounts and high quality bath products. We got 3 small soaps. The pier and shack at the end were delightful and the location is our favorite

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly, we cannot do anything about the rough seas that have recently brought in so much sea grass and piled it up on the beach. We’ve had it cleaned repeatedly only to have it right back within a day or two. It does indeed take away from the normally beautiful view. (The last several months have been much worse than we have ever seen!) We had a major power outage after an electrical storm in November and have been working to get everything repaired...thus the extra microwave on the counter. Not our choice either, but we are doing our best to accommodate guests while we wait for the correct parts to come in. The exhaust fan was working when we were there in late January, but I will make sure that our property manager follows up on getting that fixed. I’m sorry it took so long for the security system people to correct the beeping problem. One way to get to the wonderful snorkeling without having to deal with the seaweed is to use the ladder at the end of the dock (inside the gazebo) and swim right out to the coral outcroppings. It is worth it! Thank you for your review, and we will continue to work through these issues...except the weather which we haven’t had much luck with!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Went with a group of friends and we loved it!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Private, Clean, Rum Point/North Coast Home

  • 4 of 5

Pictures are very accurate and the home has plenty of amenities, as if you were staying at a friends house. Games, books, extra chairs and everything in the kitchen. The property owners, along with Silver Thatch AND the cleaning lady Chloe, were very personable and helpful! Be aware the north side of the island has plenty of wind so snorkeling off our beach front was not possible. That was strictly due to weather though. With calm/warm weather snorkeling would be possible. Also, FYI, there is a enormous amount of seaweed on the beach, limiting space to lounge or lay out in the sand. The seaweed is piled up along the entire stretch of coast 2 feet high and litter is abundant! Again, nothing against the property, more a public service announcement for the northern part of the island.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately it is impossible to contain Mother Nature. Storms in early in mid-Jan came from due north, and brought in seaweed and debris. Normally the weather is from the east and the north side of the island does not have a large seaweed problem. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the home. Scott Reservations Grand Cayman Villas
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Everything was perfect.

  • 5 of 5

It was great to have a few paper products already there, plus extra pillows, beach towels, light switches were labeled and phone numbers for anything we needed. The home is very comfortable and nicely decorated with plenty of space, rooms and bathrooms for everyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house and view, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time! Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great private home rental!

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was 12/28/16 - 1/4/17. Our party of 8, 2 families of 4, had a wonderful time at this home. Description of property is very accurate. Very private location. You have to have a car to stay here. The house was very clean, and was perfect for us. We loved snorkeling from their pier, and even if the water seemed a bit rough (not every day), the current conditions were not bad for swimming. Very pretty coral! The beach is not your clean white sand at a resort, but was very enjoyable. The only issue I had with the house (reason for 4 stars) is that I slept in the master suite and at night I love the windows open to listen to the ocean and you cannot open the sliders at all, they are completely caulked on the outside and the room has no windows so we had to have A/C on. I think overall weather is hit or miss, 5 of our 7 days were windy and 2 were not. The 2 that weren't were buggy and the other 5 weren't. But you are in a tropical location so bugs are to be expected. We enjoyed the deck everyday and wonderful stargazing at night. I have to say, overall the house was very nice and I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We will look into the window situation and rectify that for future guests. Thank you! Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Owen Roberts (GCM)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Over The Edge
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Over The Edge
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional