Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

BUCHANAN COTTAGE on Big Manistique Lake w/screened porch

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms,Sleeps 4, screened in porch, cable TV, canoe included





*LAKEFRONT (Big Manistique Lake)




What a gorgeous view of Big Manistique Lake this private cottage encompasses! You will enjoy 330 feet of private Big Manistique Lake frontage. The shoreline is rocky, though many guests have enjoyed swimming with water shoes. The Buchanan Cottage is located just north of Cooks Bay, on the Western side of Big Manistique Lake. This 2 bedroom, 1 bathrooom cottage has plenty of room to explore, play outside games or rest along the water. The screened in porch is ideal for those nights where you want to read a book or play a game overlooking the beautiful Big Manisitque Lake. Direct TV is also a great perk for those rainy days! The cottage is about 9 miles from the quaint town of Curtis. There are 2 bedrooms at the cottage. One with a king-sized bed and another with a queen-sized bed. The cottage has 1 full bathroom (including a bath tub/shower combination)

Frequently Asked Questions

Bathroom: The bathroom has a tub/shower combination + 1 sink

Cell phone service: AT&T and track phones generally have good service around the cabin. Still, cell phone service is generally unreliable in the Upper Peninsula, when you travel outside of Marquette and Escanaba.

Dock : Sorry, we do not currently have a dock available at the cottage. The nearest boat launch-Cook's Bay Launch & Boat Access is only 3 miles away on the southern end of Big Manistique Lake.

Bedroom layout:

Grill: Yes, there is brand new (2015) propane grill for your use.

Firepit: Yes, there is a firepit you you to enjoy. There may be wood available, yet please plan on bringing your own.

Fishing poles: Although you may find one or two left around the cabin, there are no guarantees. We recommend you bringing your own.

Linens: Yes, basic linens (and towels) are indeed provided. There are basic comforters on the beds.

Pets: I'm sorry, pets are not allowed at the Buchanan Cottage.

TV: Direct TV is available. We have both local and satellite channels for your relaxing enjoyment. The TV is connected to a DVD player for you to enjoy any movies you choose to bring. There are some DVDs available at the cottage.

Washer & Dryer: Yes!

More Details

Property Manager
Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Freshwater Vacation Rentals


If you are looking for a vacation rental, you have come to the right spot! We specialize in vacation rentals throughout Michigan. From your own private island to a lodge big enough to host your family reunion or a relaxing getaway on one of the Great Lakes.

Why Freshwater Vacation Rentals chose Michigan

comfortable waterfront vacation home with a comfortable screened in porch, wide deck overlooking Big Manistique Lake.

What makes this cottage unique

Sitting on the deck overlooking the lake is wonderful! The screened in porch is a great addition. Lots of room outdoors for yard games and plenty of room for kids to run around!


Germfask Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • next to the bedrooms, all on one level
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • all on one floor- w bedrooms, kitchen, bath and living room in this ranch style home
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Enjoy the Seney Wildlife Refuge, just a short 10 minute drive from the cottage! Plus, Pictured Rocks is just an hour away!


Good! 3.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

22% Complete
55% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
BUCHANAN COTTAGE on Big Manistique Lake w/screened porch
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews
laingsburg, mi

Adequate - had hoped for better access for kayaks.

  • 2 of 5

Arrived at cottage to find 18 Canadian geese had taken up residence in yard. Yard was filled with goose poop, to the point that I would NEVER have children go out there. Stepping very carefully, we checked out lakeside to see where we would be able to put our kayaks in behind cottage and discovered that the shoreline is so rock filled, it would have been difficult to do that. We ended up having to go down the road each day to the public boat access. The cottage itself smelled VERY musty when we entered, even though most windows had been opened a little. A note was left for us that stated "towels are in dryer", so had to take care of the clean towels. Also, one of the reasons we had rented this cottage was because of the washer/dryer in unit, yet there was a note to "use sparingly and may cause rust on clothes". We ended up going to laundromat in town to do our whites/light colored clothes. There is only one light in the living area, and it doesn't give off hardly any light - additional lighting is definitely needed in that area. A mouse kept us company the first night while we were in the kitchen. Housekeeping stopped by the next day and left us mousetraps/poison bait. The nice points of the cottage: deer visited quite often because of the apple trees, nice views across lake especially in morning with sunrise, cottage is very roomy (though as one other renter noted furniture is very outdated/worn), cottage is very close to a number of attractions, such as Seney Nature Preserve, Tahquamenon Falls, Pictured Rocks, Fayette State Park. All in all, the week was "ok", but we would not rent here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you were disappointed about your overall experience at the Buchanan Cottage. I apologized profusely when we spoke on the phone about the towels being left in the dryer by our cleaner. That is not our standard practice. We have also spoken to the owners about the dated furniture. I'm also sorry to hear that the mouse traps we dropped off when you expressed concerns about the mouse weren't helpful. Fall is a tough time when mice are scouting for their winter home. In the future, we will be looking for humane, natural ways to keep the seagulls at bay from the cottage. I appreciate your feedback about how challenging it is to place your kayaks in the water. Since I'm not paddler myself, I didn't realize how difficult it would be. We have now clarified the shoreline description. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on your experience. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful and beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was clean and fresh. I have allergies and I worried that, being a lakefront property, it may smell musty but it was perfect and didn't bother me at all. Very spacious. Close distance to many fun activities. We visited tahquamenon falls and pictured rocks during our weekend. We took out the paddle boat and canoe and had so much fun on the lake, beautiful sites! I picked this rental over others because of the reviews and it did not disappoint! We will definitely book again on future trips to the U.P.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place - a little out of the way

  • 4 of 5

I liked the house overall, it was nice. It does not have ac which is my fault for not catching. A couple small window ac's would have been nice to cool the bedrooms down at night. It has white carpeting and it has been requested not to wear shoes indoors. I would have recommended a darker color for a rental. The flooring has issues by the door to the deck, there is a serious gap underneath the door so the water has rotted the floorboard out by the door. I did not expect to have to go down 3 miles of dirt road to get there, which wasn't a huge a deal except the washboard is horrible! Overall it was definitely memorable and we were able to catch enough on South Manistique for a couple batches of fish so it was worth it!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The view was beautiful, the house is in a great central location.

  • 4 of 5

The house was great, it was clean and had a wonderful view, comfortable bed and was much larger than we expected. We felt it was a fair price and we enjoyed our stay. The only complaints were that the shower was lacking... just a trickle of water. I think this could be fixed with a new shower head. Also, a canoe and a paddle boat were said to be provided but they were in the garage and much too heavy for us to carry to the water. Also, there was just two small frying pans in the kitchen and one the Teflon was pealing. Other than those small issues it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Up North

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this cottage. The property is secluded and the lake setting was enjoyable. Plenty of room for the kids to run and play. Just what we were looking for with our weekend getaway up north. We hope to visit again at the end of the summer.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not bad, nice lake.

  • 2 of 5

The house was ok, very dated, beds and furniture, linens, dishes, washer and dryer, all very old and worn. The paddle boat was broken upon our arrival, we were disappointed. We took the canoe out on the lake a couple of times, that was nice. The location was good, fairly secluded, except the machinery running constantly. We probably won't be back, there are definitely much nicer places in the same price range.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I've passed along your comments about the furniture to the property owners. While I agree the furniture is dated, it is steam-cleaned on a regular basis and we were hoping it had a vintage look. Please accept my sincere apologies about the paddle boat. We were scouring for parts when it had broken with the guest prior. We were hoping to have it fixed prior to your arrival. It is fixed now. We would love you to return and offer you a discount for the inconvenience you experienced with the paddle boat not being functional upon your arrival. I was not aware there was any machinery running in the area. I'm sorry this disturbed your trip. I have not heard any other reports of this issue.I wish you would have called the office to let us know. We would have been able to see what we could do to resolve this issue immediately. I've always experienced a very peaceful setting when I've visited the Buchanan Cottage. It is private, unlike traditional resort areas with cottages lined up along the lake. We always appreciate guests feedback, especially during your stay, so that we can hopefully resolve your concerns while you are there and improve your immediate experience. I'm sorry you were disappointed. Your feedback will truly help to improve the cottage. Please feel free to contact me directly. Again, my apologies. Sincerely, Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Seney National Wildlife Refuge
"wonderful place to connect with and watch the area wildlife"
Nearest Airport
67 Miles
Delta County Airport
Nearest Barpub
5.5 Miles
Jolly Inn
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Mackinac Island- Star. Sheplers or Arnold line
Nearest Golf
2.3 Miles
Blue Heron Golf Course
Nearest Train
71 Miles
Toonerville Trolley- Tahquamenon Falls
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
14.7 Miles
Fox River Country Kitchen
Nearest Ski
42.7 Miles
Valley Spur
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
South end of Lake, near Curtis
Car: necessary

Some attractions in Germfask are Tad Lake, Seney Wildlife Refuge, Mezik Lake, Driggs River and many more! Come experience the same area where Ernest Hemingway found inspiration for his writings.


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties