check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Jerry Martin

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Villa Mar Azul is not accepting request due to a present renovation Thank Yo

9 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Huacas Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (sleeps 4 )

Between 1995 - 1997, during my travels to Costa Rica, I came upon a parcel of land in the early stages of development. I had searched from the tip of the Nicoya Penninsula to Playa de Coco for the ideal location to build my dream home and possible a few units for friends that would occasionally want to come down. When I happened on Villa Mar Azul I knew I had found my location. Situated in the foothills just above the sleepy little town of Haucas Villa Mar Azul is for the person that wants to experience the true Costa Rica. Although we have Wifi, cable TV, Air conditioning through out we would not be considered a 5 star resort. If you prefer to be waited on hand and foot Villa Mar Azul is not for you. Primarily for the reason that we are trying to attract the traveler that would prefer to steer clear of all the trappings a mega resort affords. See, you just can't get the real local feel in the resort setting. And I truly believe you will go home much more relaxed when you live the Pura VIda pace in a boutique resort setting such as Villa Mar Azul. But don't take my word for it peruse the photos, watch the video and make the decision for your self. You will not be disapointed your first or your tenth stay, I assure you.

Keywords: A secluded villa in a jungle setting with monkeys, iguanas & many species of birds. Relax where time stands still. Go zip lining, water rafting, Volcano treking or just lay underneath the waterfall cascading into the pool. The choice is yours with many attractions nearby including white sand beaches. Or you might just find the seclusion, and a massage, at our jungle location pleasing to the body and soul.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jerry Martin (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Jerry Martin

I have always loved to travel to foriegn destinations. It wasn't until I started going to Central America that I really found my calling. Being a So Calif native and surfing all my life it was the perfect destination to plant some roots. Villa Mar Azul is tucked away on the hillside overlooking the town of Haucas and the La Garita Valley. You are surrounded by wildlife with the Howler Monkeys waking you in the morning. Our security system consists of 2 dogs and a caretaker. Outside of that you will be at one with the natural setting of the jungle. Please come join me and experience the true Costa Rica.

Jerry Martin purchased this villa in 1997

Why Jerry Martin chose Guanacaste

Villa Mar Azul is not on the beach but tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist enclaves nearby. I wanted to design a retreat for small groups to be at one with nature. The tourist town of Tamarindo is 10 mins to the south and the towns of Brasilito & Playa Flamingo are just 10 mins to the north all offering restaurants and shopping. Playa Grande, with its white sandy beaches and beautiful surf is 15 mins to the west. You will find Haucas to be a very pleasant town made up of restaurants, markets, a pharmacy and curios shops for those hard to find locally handcrafted items.

What makes this villa unique

The seclusion adds to the laid back feel of living off the grid. I find myself completely relaxed during my stays and the afternoon siesta becomes a daily ritual to look forward to. In the evening a light dinner at Punta Tranquillo, the resturant at the bottom of the hill, is not to be missed. Make sure and try the ceviche. All in all if you are coming to Costa Rica for the nightlife I can recommend many other locations that will suit your needs. But if you like the natural setting, uncrowded beaches and the ocasional massage on our 180 degree view veranda you have found your Shangra La.

Reviews

4.2
based on 9 traveler reviews

Villa Mar Azul is not accepting request due to a present renovation Thank Yo
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews
Westchester, New York
5

Privacy & Beautiful Views

  • 5 of 5

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed Mar Azul. Amazing sunsets, breezes flowing and monkeys in the tree tops on the premises. It is central to several beaches all within 20 minutes away and there are a couple of restaurants at the foot of the driveway. Peaceful at nights brought stars. If you don't need to live on the beach all day everyday, this is the place for you. We even found secluded beaches with no one else on them. Carlos, the on site property manager also set us up with a great horse ride - galloping on the beaches with well trained horses rather than the typical walk along road ways. A great experience and we would return.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Manage expectations and you'll like it

  • 4 of 5

First the good: the view is spectacular, and no photos do it any justice. The view, the pool, the location close to so many great beaches all make this a great place to day trip and see the Guanacaste area, provided you have a car. 4WD recommended, but not essential. The pool was great! My 6 year old daughter went from tentative swimmer to a fish in 6 days, and her swimming instructors couldn't believe it. Nice views, comfy beds (with a caveat below), and a tasteful decor. For 3 of us, it was the right size.

Now the bad: first of all, the owner disappeared about two weeks before our arrival. I wrote several times asking for directions, etc. and no reply. Only when I was already in Costa Rica and filled out the form for prospective renters did I get a reply, the night before our arrival. Personally I don't like to travel this way. Maybe I've a lot to learn about "Pura Vida."

As I said, the place has a great view, but is poorly equipped for someone with experience staying in VRBO properties. With so many photos of the kitchen and guests dining on the patio, I expected more. The kitchen is stocked as if a bachelor lived there - more George Foreman grills than wine glasses, and that's no exaggeration. There is basically one set of dishes, matching coffee mugs, some silverware and not much else. As someone who likes to cook I was extremely disappointed with so barren a kitchen. No mixing bowls, no potato peeler, no measuring cups, nothing even the most basic of kitchens would have to make a decent scratch meal. No spices, not even salt and pepper. I'd have gladly traded the cute welcome flashlights for a few spices and essential kitchen tools.

Carlos was mostly helpful, but it always seemed like asking him for something was a little inconvenient for him. We did not realize that once we went through the stocked two rolls of toilet paper we'd have to buy our own. The Wifi was on and off; this must have impacted Carlos as well, as this was the one problem we had that carried a certain sense of urgency. That said, the TV was nice, and I encouraged our girl to watch her favorite cartoons in Spanish.

No bedspreads on the bed. Just a topsheet. Hope that suits you cause that's all you get. And the poolside grill? Just a piece of aluminum grating. Seriously, another $300 on some more essentials and this place would rock; maybe the current renovation will help. I'm ranking at 3.5 stars; round it up to 4 only for the view and the pool.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Richard, Thank you for your response. I feel you were very objective and I'm sorry we didn't have available the spices that were needed for your cooking. We do not provide any food items. It is just much easier than trying to second guess every bodies tastes. But, suggestion well taken & we will supply salt, pepper & packets of sugar in the future. In regards to our renovation, we are currently building a new 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the lower lot. It will have its own pool and upgrades such as travertine tile in bathrooms & kitchen, wood flooring, double pane windows, deticated 8mb internet wifi and, of course, [salt & pepper]. Feel free to peruse the photos, once posted, and if you are impressed I would like to comp you 2 nights on me. Regards, Jerry Martin Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Photo trompeuse et piscine pas nettoyée

  • 3 of 5

Nous sommes arrivés à 4. Il a fallu réclamer une table et des chaises pour manger. Il n'y avait pas assez d'assiettes pour 4. Notre arrivée aurait pu être anticipé.

La piscine n'était pas nettoyée et ne l'a pas été durant notre séjour : nous n'avons pas pu l'utiliser : dommage !

La photo de la terrasse avec les chaises longues appartient au propriétaire et ne fait pas partie de la location.

Par contre la maison était spacieuse, propre et agréable dans un environnement tranquille.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Orange County, California, USA
5

Perfect home to stay; excellent location

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a terrific time. The house is peeved on a hill with a beautiful view from all angles including the amazing pool. The house has all the amenities you'll need. Carlos is the caretaker in site who makes sure your needs are met..but affords you great privacy. You are within minutes from the beaches. We sorbt a day traveling to beaches. Simply hopping from one to the next. I highly recommend this home and will return.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not exactly as it appears

  • 2 of 5

We are just completing our 3 week stay at Villa Mar Azul. Having rented VRBO properties for the past three years in Nicaragua and now Costa Rica, we are writing our first review to help better inform travelers of the realities of renting.

Villa Mar Azul is a comfortable but somewhat neglected property out of the hustle and bustle location outside of Tamarindo. It is indeed centrally located to many beautiful beaches and restaurants with a beautiful view. The road up to the property was a daily challenge for our Toyota Corolla rental car but with an experienced driver at the helm, we were able to make the climb slowly and carefully without a 4x4. We imagine this would be impossible during other seasons.

The property is made up of the two bed room villa (depicted in pictures) and a carport structure which covers a small courtyard just yards away from the main house and caretaker. The main house appears to feature a large apartment upstairs (does not look like it can presently be used for rental without extensive cleaning) and two small studio apartments downstairs where the caretaker lives in one. The beautiful pool is on the other side of the main house and accessed by a small cement pathway. The mattress in the master bedroom was especially comfortable. We were going to rent the additional apartment for our guests but the air conditioning unit looked liked it leaked on the futon and had no remote, slider in room was nailed shut and sink was dirty and inoperable. In summary:

15% of our visit we had no hot water.

20% we had no internet.

Dishwasher is not functional.

Insect control/prevention was not attended to (scorpions!).

Property should be cleaner both inside and outside of the units (well beyond a “woman’s touch”)

Waste from 2-3 nice dogs on property.

Construction debris needs to be removed (old kitchen sink, remodel waste & old appliances).

Broken lounge furniture on observation removed.

Landscaping needs daily water around pool and restored around property as pictured.

Supplies to maintain pool (i.e. shock chemicals) needs to be kept in storage to use as needed.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa, After the call I received, the night you arrived, your husband yelling in the background, I was pretty sure you were the couple that viewed the glass half empty not half full. I am respectful of the fact that items did break down during your stay and when Carlos communicated this to me we got right on it. But I truly feel you longed for the nicely manicured lawns & welcoming cocktail upon arrival that is standard faire of the posh hotels along the coastline. That is not Villa Mar Azul and I try to covey that in the website. I sincerely hope during your quest to find the next dirty sink or inoperable deck chair you took the time to really enjoy the natural beauty Villa Mar Azul has to offer. Management, Villa Mar Azul
Did you find this review helpful?
5 7
4

First Trip to Costa Rica

  • 4 of 5

Our first trip to Costa Rica will be a memorable one. Our stay at Villa Mar Azul was peaceful, pictureque and private. It was great to have our own pool to cool off in. We heard the howler monkeys in the morning and enjoyed watching the beautiful birds everywhere. The caretaker, Carlos was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We would recommend it to nature lovers.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It is hard to describe the idyllic charm one feels when staying at Villa Mar Azul. I feel you have captured it and thank you for that. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huacas Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
From
$100
Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $45

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huacas Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Inflatable Queen available upon request
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers