check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Blochs Lake Retreat-Rustic Craftsman Lakefront Retreat, Lots of Games, Peaceful

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Bloch's Lake Retreat on Shumont Lake, gorgeous rustic craftsman lakefront home

Fantastic lakefront home on Shumont Lake. Located in the Rumbling Bald Resort with full resort access to golf, tennis, beach, rental boats, spa/fitness, plenty of restaurants and much more!

Fabulous mountain home with long range views. This home says wonderful mountain lake retreat the moment you walk in to this custom built family getaway. The main great room, dining and gourmet kitchen are a super 25'x40' room with exposed beams to give you that true mountain feel. The dining area has seating for 6 with another 4 at the beautiful granite kitchen bar. The master bedroom has a king bed with lake views and large master bath with jacuzzi tub. This place is equipped with a full laundry room on the main floor as well as an extra full bath to accommodate those larger family gatherings - 3 bedroom & 3 baths. When you go to the lower level, you will find a large recreation room, big screen TV, pool table and lots of seating opening in the lower screened porch. Also, in the garage is a foosball, ping pong and air hockey table. There is two very nice size bedrooms with queen beds and a full bath as well. This is truly a beautiful lake home that will make memories for years to come. This home sits on Shumont Lake which is an approx 12-acre lake in the Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure. You can enjoy fishing in this lake by your retreat. Only small 5 hp or less boats are allowed on Shumont Lake. Small pet friendly with fee.

During peak season, there is a 7-night minimum.

Ask us about our early booking special. Make your reservation today. Call 828-388-1184 for more information.

More Details

Property Manager
Cornerstone Realty of Lake Lure
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Blochs Lake Retreat-Rustic Craftsman Lakefront Retreat, Lots of Games, Peaceful
average rating of 4.4375 based on 16 reviews

Mountain retreat

  • 4 of 5

This house was pretty much perfect for us. The main floor is huge - totally open. The kitchen was designed as a kosher kitchen so there are two stoves, sinks, and microwaves. Made cooking for six a breeze.

The outside areas are also large. We spent most of our time on the deck. The screened area downstairs had no chairs or seating so we didn't use that.

The house isn't too far from the amenities at Rumbling Bald Resort - a couple of miles at most. The nearest grocery store is closer to 20-30 minutes away. We made sure to get everything we wanted in one trip!

The photos for the home are all pretty accurate - the rooms are large and comfortable. The downstairs does get a lot of noise from upstairs since there are hardwoods upstairs.

Our only complaint was that the master bed was rock hard and pretty low to the ground. And it vibrates if you like.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Folks we appreciate your comments and glad you had a great experience Here at the Bloch lake retreat . We would like to remind you that our company policy is should you like to return to Lake Lure and rent one of our properties again we will Give you a discount for choosing us again . Your trip to the grocery store is 6 miles And not sure how that turned into a 20 minute ride as it usually takes about 10 - 12 Minutes . Sometimes traveling on unfamiliar roads can cause for a longer ride than expected . Once again thanks for vacationing with us as we do thank you. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

Nice, well-equipped, spacious, and comfortable home on a small lake. Lot is private, shaded, very peaceful. Important practical detail: the air conditioning worked great! And so did the wifi!

Note that although lakefront, there is no dock or watercraft of any kind.

Also, although the array of gaming equipment is impressive, note that the foosball, ping pong, and air hockey are all located in a garage, with no A/C and a musty smell. Pool table was nice.

Good customer service, with easy check-in and out procedures, and phone call outside of office hours promptly answered.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home and location!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my family stayed at Bloch's Lake Retreat for a short vacation.. The house is beautiful and has everything you need.. The master bed was so nice and comfortable and the teenagers stayed downstairs. We all had a great time with a lot of things to do nearby. Dave was very nice and helped with any questions we had.. We will be back ! The kitchen is amazing and the view around the entire house was great..

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Folks we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and it is always our goal that you would have a wonderful time and make great memories for a lifetime . Remember that A return stay with our company will earn you a discount so be sure and tell us if You are a previous guest when placing your next reservation . Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Connecticut, USA

Amazing Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

This home is truly beautiful. The pictures are great and still don't do it justice. The area was quiet day and night. Beautifully wooded. The entire house was clean, comfortable and homey. Very nicely decorated and welcoming. So much room for our family of five and our dog that we never felt crowded. The kitchen was just a wonderful experience since we love to cook. We could cook for an army and still have space. So many conveniences.

The in-house activities (billiards, air hockey, ping pong) were a really great hit with all of us. We had one really stormy morning, but no one cared because there was so much to entertain us. We fished out back and our youngest caught his first fish, a good sized blue gill. Such a great convenience with kids. And, the whirlpool tub in the master bedroom was a pleasurable retreat. We didn't get the chance to use the grill or campfire pit, but they're two more welcome additions.

We don't really have any negatives to say, but if pressed we would have liked a few chairs in the screened lower deck, so we could use it at night. It is such a big space two families could lounge out there comfortably.

We truly didn't want to leave at the end of our week. Less than a mile down the road and we were already talking about coming back next year. Maybe for even longer. We've stayed in several homes/condos in different states through the years and this was by far the nicest.

Thank you for helping to make our first time to NC so enjoyable and memorable.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wow!! Beautiful Great Lake house

  • 5 of 5

Breath taking views. Lake had adventures of its own. Fun place to fish and relax by fire at night. Not a bad thing to say. The home itself is amazing. Very well cared for and fun activities in the home as well.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your time as you have learned this are is the #1 vacation destination in western NC. when you decide to return please don't forget that you will receive a discount on your next stay with our company at any of our properties . Thanks Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

I vacationed with my family (5 children) and this place exceeded all expectations... from the GREAT FISHING out back, to the Beautiful kitchen inside. HOME was comfortable and accommodated every need. JUST BRING FOOD and clothes. Enjoyed Fires at night, mountain views, local horse back riding, gem mining, sight seeing from top of chimney rock, much wildlife and lots of R&R inside of this beautiful home.

House was Clean, and I have no complaints...(oh.. the water pressure in the master shower could have been better) but besides that everything was great. Several things to do in around the area... we hiked to 3 different beautiful waterfalls, we watched a HUGE bear cross the creek in the back yard of home.. caught Several HUGE Crappie in lake in back of house.. rainy days were great to enjoy pool table, ping pong, foosball and air hockey.

Was a little tough to keep 2 year old and 6 year old from touching some of the beautiful things in the house. I will return again when the younger children are older, but I would like to thank the owners of the property for having such a great accommodating set up for us to enjoy. This was a LIFE CHANGING vacation and will never be forgotten.

......BTW owners.. It was the bear that knocked trash can down and went through the bags on our check out date.... I cleaned up what I could without raking before we departed.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Bald Mountain Golf Course
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Resort Beach & Marina
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $154 + Tax
Admin Fee $25
Tax Rate 11.75%

Pet fee is $25 per night for acceptable dogs

Contact us to make a reservation. We do not have online booking.We accept Visa and MasterCard.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • River
  • Town
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • jetted tub
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Swimming pools, spa, on-site equipment, pontoon boats, canoe, kayak, playgound are on resort property, not at home itself. Attractions, sports & adventure activities in local area. Need fishing permit or license for Lake Lure & Rocky Broad River. If you bring your own boat, please contact Town of Lake Lure for permit also.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties