Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Views from Luxurious 6 Bedroom Home in the Smoky Mtns.

Sleeps21
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 21)

Your family and friends will absolutely love this HUGE mountain house called King of the Mountain in Gatlinburg, close to Dollywood, Smoky Mountain National Park and tons of fun attractions including great live shows, awesome shopping and tons of great hiking in the National Park.

Distinctive and Elegant 6- bedroom, 4 Bath Chalet Offers 3 Levels with Exquisite Furnishings throughout; many are hand-crafted. It is spacious and comfortable, sleeping up to 21 people with plenty of room to spread out! Very private and secluded with breathtaking expansive mountain views, an outdoor hot tub & two decks with a grill...also has Wireless Internet and FREE Long Distance Calls! 2 DVD/VCRs.

The bedrooms have premium posturepedic plush-top mattresses and include: The Eagle's Nest: loft master bedroom has king-size hickory bed and sofa sleeper sitting area with TV; bathroom & private deck; The Bear's Den: main-floor bedroom with striking, hand-tooled aspen king-size bed, bath next door; The Dogwood Room: main-floor bedroom with king-size bed, shared bath on main floor; The Flower Bed: downstairs bedroom with king-size bed & adjoining bathroom; The Cubby Hole: downstairs bedroom with custom log bunk beds (double/twin); adjoining Jack & Jill bathroom; The Mountain Memories Room: Downstairs bedroom with queen-size bed & Jack and Jill bathroom shared with the Cubby Hole

The main floor great room with cathedral ceiling has a wood fireplace, TV/DVD and plush, comfortable couches and rocking chairs. The adjoining dining room seats 18, with additional seating for 6 at the kitchen bar.

Downstairs is a game room with pool table, foosball, a pub table for playing cards, and extra seating around the pool table. There is a TV area with a 50' big-screen television and 2 queen-size extra thick futons. This room also has another sleeping area with a full size twin bed with a twin trundle bed.

The fully equipped kitchen has a bar with 6 barstools. Washer & dryer downstairs. Linens & towels are provided.

The neighborhood of Cobbly Nob is close enough to all major attractions (8 miles from Gatlinburg), but far enough away from the noise and congestion of the tourist areas. There is access to three (3) community swimming pools at no extra charge, a tennis court, and a Gary Player golf course.

Keywords: Spacious, luxurious, rustic but elegant, distinctive, family fun, comfortable, spectacular mountain views from every level

More Details

Owner
Susan and Jim Smith
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Susan and Jim Smith

We live now in Raleigh, NC but grew up in Tennessee and love the Smokies, vacationing there many times throughout our lives. We love to travel, especially in the mountains, and wanted a place that we could meet our relatives from Nashville and where we could go with our children and grandchildren. We planned to retire to this area and bought this home ahead of time so that we and our families could enjoy it and build happy memories in this beautiful spot! We never tire of coming to the Smokies!

Susan and Jim Smith purchased this chalet in 1996

Why Susan and Jim Smith chose Tennessee

We hoped to retire in the Smokies one day and thought it would be ideal if we could buy a vacation home here. That was 15 years ago, and we have truly enjoyed being able to come here to the King of the Mountain. We love the Cobbly Nob area because it overlooks the national park and is far enough away from the crowds and tourist attractions to feel like you're immersed in the mountains. We have continually upgraded, remodeled and refurnished this mountain house over the years from a pink and gray, Japanese modern style (for real) to the rustic, craftsman-like decor it now has We continue to upgrade it (just finished totally remodeling 3 bathrooms which we stripped down to the studs) and try to make it a welcoming mountain retreat

What makes this chalet unique

King of the Mountain is 3 floors of spacious living with a lot of room for several families to spread out. We fell in love with this particular house originally because of the view. It is truly spectacular and inspirational --makes you truly appreciate God's creation! I have never seen as many stars in the sky as when we're there. We have seen black bears a few times and you can drive a couple of miles down the highway to the Greenbriar entrance to the national park and be in one of the most private places in the park -- a rushing mountain stream, lots of wildflowers, and just nature! We drive to the town of Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge every day or so for a variety of restaurants and activities, but we really enjoy retreating to our mountain house in Cobbly Nob.

Amenities

Gatlinburg Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 21
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 23 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1-loft/Eagle's Nest - toilet , shower , Recently remodeled
    Bathroom 2-main floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , Completely remodeled in past year
    Bathroom 3-off Flower Bed; lower level - toilet , shower , Completely remodeled in past year
    Bathroom 4-Jack & Jill bath on lower level - toilet , shower
  • The bathrooms were remodeled in 2012-handmade Alderwood vanities with granite tops; slate tiles, etc.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 1-Eagle's Nest - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft bedroom with private balcony, bath & TV
    Bedroom 4-The Flower Bed - 1 king , Lower level, king bed and adjoining bathroom
    Bedroom 5-Mountain Memories - 1 queen , Lower floor-queen bed; shared bath with Cubby Hole
    Bedroom 6-Cubby Hole - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has double on bottom; twin on top
    Convertible bed(s)-rec room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , 2 queen-size futons, extra thick mattresses;double/twin bunk
    Bedroom 2-Bear's Den - 1 king , Large aspen hand-made bed on main floor; shared bath
    Bedroom 3-Dogwood Room - 1 king , Main floor-king hickory bed; shared bath
  • King size beds (4) Four of the six bedrooms have king size beds. They are exceptionally comfortable. Queen size Beds (1), Double/twin bunk beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3), and 2 additional twin beds. The two futons in front of the lower level TV easily make into comfortable queen-size beds with extra thick mattresses. The Cubby Hole bedroom is a real treat for the young folks. It is a full-size bed under a twin bed. Built from logs, it is very safe and stable, yet fun for kids. There is another daybed with a trundle bed in the corner of the rec. room (not pictured).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Views from Luxurious 6 Bedroom Home in the Smoky Mtns.
average rating of 4.864865 based on 37 reviews
3

The property had a great location but needed maintenance and repairs

  • 3 of 5

We loved the picturesque views from the cabin. The cabin had plenty of room and the cabin did look as the pictures showed. We did not like that there were not any sheets for the 4 twin beds(I spent $50 for 4 sets of sheets at the General Dollar so that my grandchildren had sheets to sleep on). I did email the owners who did reply within a few hours but when we arrived at the cabin we were set to put the little children to bed and therefore bought the sheets before discovering that there was an after hours maintenance crew shat brought some to us later that night. However, once I purchased the sheets and washed them, it was too late to return them. Additionally, the ice maker did not work and therefore had to fill and dump 4 ice trays every day. Other than the refrigerator, the rest of the appliances worked fine. The granite counter tops looked very nice and we loved all the dining room tables to accommodate all of our family.

The master bedroom wall had a rather large hole in the wall behind the door that had been patched but not repainted. The TV in the master bedroom did not work. It would not turn on. I didn't feel like calling maintenance and waiting for them to fix it or have them come there with all our belongings there. They may have fixed it if I called; however, I typically just live with the place that I have. I did miss watching the news at night though.

In conclusion, the owners did respond within a few hours of any email and seemed to be very nice. I believe their maintenance crew could have been more attentive to the property.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time, but we are distressed to hear of your problems. Our management company which keeps our cabin for us is supposed to have all sheets, towels, etc. in place before you arrive. Sometimes they have a quick turnaround (out at 11 and in at 4) and they do not bring enough of everything for the house - or get too busy to count. They do have the 24/7 line for you to call, but obviously you didn't get that information soon enough. We will be glad to reimburse you for the sheets you purchased at General Dollar as a gesture of good will. We will also make sure the TV in the upstairs bedroom works properly. We strive very hard for our guests to have the best we can provide and to have everything in working order. Obviously sometimes we miss, but we do take it seriously and are disappointed that your expectations were not met. We will work to do better in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

King of the mountain..indeed!

  • 5 of 5

The ride up to the house was a bit challenging for the two 15 passengers vans used but by my family. However, once we reached the house, it was amazing. The view, amenities and the living space exceeded my expectations. Great place!!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome views! Extremely nice cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The views was absolutely amazing. The cabin was spacious and properly equipped with anything and everything you could possibly need! Especially for 12 girls and 10 adults! (All females by the way!) The home owner is extremely nice and so easy to work worth. The downstairs had leaked a little inside the door and maintenance was there within minutes to clean it up and fix the problem. The only complaint that I do have, would be to whoever cleans after guests leave. Our young girls that stayed down in the bunk room, found something very inappropriate and unpleasant under the bed. Things happen and I'm sure it was simply just overlooked. We would definitely come back regardless!

Thank you for sharing your home with us!!!

13 SCVC (Sullivan County Volleyball Club)

Blountville, TN

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dedra, I'm so glad you liked the cabin and had a good time. Really sorry about whatever was under the bed. I will let the management company know that their cleaning crew needs to check there too! Thanks, Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin. Beautiful views. Easy access to essentials.

  • 5 of 5

King of the Mountain is nicely appointed with amazing views. It was surprisingly accessible - the road up the mountain was windy, but almost all of it can allow for two cars to pass one another (unlike a lot of cabins we have stayed at in the area). Best of all, it coupled a sense of seclusion with still having a convenience-store type place within a five or ten minute drive, so if you forgot any of the essentials, they were easy to pick up on the fly.

There was plenty of space in the cabin, and a ton of exterior deck space as well. Everything was clean, and a good amount of the basics (dishwasher soap, toilet paper, soap, etc...) was provided.

There are no on-site exterior garbage cans (I doubt a dump truck would be able to make some of the switchback turns, so this is understandable) so you need to be willing to make a run every day or so (depending on number of people) to the off-site dumpsters, but this was only about a five minute drive, so not a problem. We generally just combined it with a run for whatever nit or nat we had forgotten to bring along with us.

Overall, it was a great experience with absolutely amazing views of the mountains. We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you were happy with our house and thank you very much for leaving a positive review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Knoxville, Tennessee
5

King of the Mountain

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin with lovely vistas. Will highly recommend to friends & family. Convenient to Rocky Top Sports World (15 min). Would not want to negotiate the mountain during bad weather, but no problem in nice weather.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jack, for leaving this positive review! The resort has its own snow removal crew and seem to start clearing roads while it is happening, so hopefully people won't have problems in bad weather. We have not had any, ourselves, but it is a steep climb. Glad you enjoyed your visit! Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

amazing view..lots of space...great proximity to area attractions

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing place and we will definitely be returning. With 20 family members you need room to breathe and this cabin was great. Game room with pool table and Foosball downstairs. Amazing kitchen. Great proximity to area attractions. About 20 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed our mountain home, and would welcome you back on your next mountain vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gatlinburg Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$399
$2,394
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

1 night free with 7 nights rental; minimum nights required to reserve increase for holidays such as Thanksgiving and Christmas; from early January - April there are specials with rent 2, get third night free

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties