check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chelcey Dunham

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

FALL SPECIAL! SEE RATES FOR DETAILS! Quaint, Cozy, Ocean View Cottage

12 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)

Couples and families of up to 5 have loved this quiet, woodsy, ocean view cottage with a deck. Enjoy the best of both worlds: the path to private beach is steps away, but when the Maine ocean proves too cold, there is a beautiful, huge, saltwater pool that kids and adults love. Originally built in the 1930s, Rugosa Cottage will undergo yet another renovation for the 2017 season. As always, we plan to preserve the 1930's charm but will make the space even more comfortable for families of 4 and 5. Updates will include: a fully renovated kitchen, the addition of a washer and dryer, new flooring, air conditioning, and a replacement of the loft ladder with a staircase. This cottage is lovely and private enough for a couple's retreat, or, if you are looking for a great spot for a family reunion, we have 2 other cottages for increased capacity on the same property...please search for Queen Anne's Cottages for more information and an up to date availability calendar. Rentals are by the week only: Saturday to Saturday.

Keywords: Cottage, Bungalow, Camp

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Chelcey Dunham (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chelcey Dunham

We live in Bar Harbor year round with our 3 children, dog and 2 cats. Tony is the owner of a computer software company; Chelcey is the manager of Queen Anne's Cottages. We feel lucky to live in one of the most beautiful places on earth, and are happy to share it with others!

Chelcey Dunham purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Chelcey Dunham chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

This property is all of the above: woodsy/quiet/private, close to town (10 minute drive), super close to Acadia National Park (5 minute drive), and has amazing views of Frenchman's Bay!

What makes this cottage unique

We can spot on any given day: Bald Eagles, Deer, Porposes, Hummingbirds, Seals, and a variety of other birds and wildlife.

Reviews

4.9
based on 12 traveler reviews

FALL SPECIAL! SEE RATES FOR DETAILS! Quaint, Cozy, Ocean View Cottage
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
5

Heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5

Words can't express the beauty waiting for you in Maine! Pictures can't do justice to the breathtaking property and words can't relate what considerate hosts Chelcey and her husband were during our stay at the Rugosa. My family and I loved the convenient location near Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and the complete privacy of the cottage. We were able to spot porpoises, harbor seals, sea otters, loons, and whitetail deer without even leaving our deck! Our daughters loved exploring the private beach at both low and high tides, and the fire pit was a beautiful location for watching the sun set in the evening. For the kids, the beautiful pool are was a great treat-- even our 5 year old dove off the diving rock into the deep end! What a confidence builder! If you are looking to unplug and relax, and just renew your spirit, this is the property for you!! We are eagerly looking forward to staying here again-- the sooner the better!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage in great location

  • 5 of 5

We were quite pleased with the location and cleanliness of the "Rugosa" cottage. It is minutes away from the Hull Cove visitor center of Acadia National Park and the village of Bar Harbor. The cottage was clean and well maintained. The loft proved excellent for reading and napping after a day of hiking. The two pools were also great for a late day swim especially since we had a couple of hot days.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Stay

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend staying at any one of Queen Annes cottages! This was our second experience there and it is such a fantastic location. Quiet, private with an amazing view. Not to mention your very own private beach to explore! Our family of four truly enjoyed and relaxed in the cozy cottage! The location was just outside Bar Harbor and was clean and maintained very well. The owner is very attentive and welcomes feedback from the customers. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5

You know you LOVED a place when you really don't want to write a review because you're hoping it will be available the next time you want to reserve it. I LOVED this place. . .It is quiet, tastefully appointed, beautifully located, sweet, charming, clean, safe -- really just perfect. I came up for a "retreat" with my little dog. We both loved it. It is close to everything, but feels far away. I hiked in the park, drove around the island, walked on the beach, and ate my body weight in lobster and crab. I woke up in solitude and ended my day in beautiful sunsets. They have thought of everything -- the little kitchen has everything you need, the sitting areas are cozy and comfortable, the deck areas sweet. I even grilled. This is a perfect place for a couple or a single person -- but if the other units are anything like this one, then the larger ones would be great for groups. All three units were booked while I was there, and it was still so peaceful. I cannot recommend Rugosa Cottage more. . .but please don't book it when I want to come up again! :)

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, such a nice review...thanks so much!! We're so happy that your vacation was so great! Just a note to prospective guests: Rugosa is equipped to handle a family of 4, or a young family of 5, as well as couples and singles.:) The loft area is a great nook with a view or doubles as a sleeping area for 2. There is also a sleep sofa in the main living area. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for us

  • 4 of 5

The property was very quaint, clean, well stocked and well organized. The location was very private and had a great view. We always enjoyed coming back to the comfortable bed in the cottage and the fire pit after a long day of hiking in Acadia National Park. We loved Bar Harbor and hope to come again and stay in the same cottage.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Me, my husband and 2 dogs stayed at the Rugosa and it was perfect. The cottages are a little closer than I was expecting, but our "neighbors" were very friendly. The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Even though we didn't use it, the loft was a nice addition. When we weren't in town we were relaxing on the porch admiring the view or walking along the shore with the dogs. We are already planning a trip back with friends!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

The main entrance to Acadia National Park is located about 5 minutes down the road from Rugosa Cottage. Just 5 minutes beyond that is downtown Bar Harbor, with loads of great shops and restaurants! The exact address of Rugosa Cottage is 63 Shore Acres Road, in Bar Harbor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Oct 1 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Leaf Peeper
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 22 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Spring 2017
May 20 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,525
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 10 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,725
 
 
Leaf Peeper, 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,525
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

ONLY 2 REMAINING WEEKS IN 2016! Each week is $1000 plus tax and applicable fees. That is more than $500 off our standard rate!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bar Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Stall shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Loft - 2 twin/ single , Daybed with trundle has 2 regular sized twin mattresses.
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
2 TVs with DVD/Blueray players. The pool is open from the beginning of June until Labor Day.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties