Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Bar Harbor In-town Home Air-conditioned and Quiet

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bath sleeps 8 people

Our charming house is perfect for visiting Acadia Park . Close to all the free explorer buses that can take you anywhere on the island and Acadia Park . Take a walk one block and you will able to walk over to Bar Island at low tide . We are 3 blocks to the Bar Harbor Wharf where you can go Whale Watching or fishing . Bike right from your rental to the carriage paths in the park . Take a leisurely walk to go shopping in town or visit some of the best restaurants Bar Harbor.


Owner
Margaret ONeil
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Bar Harbor In-town Home Air-conditioned and Quiet
average rating of 4.55 based on 20 reviews
1

Comfortable home, but dishonest owner

  • 1 of 5

As other reviewers have said, the location is great and the home is comfortable. However, after renting through Homeaway in 2015, Margaret asked me to rent outside of the site for 2016 (to avoid Homeaway fees), and I did so. For the entire week, we were very easy, pleasant guests. We spent nearly all day in the park. There were seven of us for the first three days, then six for the remainder. At the conclusion of our stay, Margaret acknowledged that everything was in order. Six weeks after we left, I still hadn't received my security deposit back. I emailed Margaret three times in the next two months, with no response. Finally, I called and she said that I had more than 8 people and she wouldn't give the deposit back. While her contract said no more than 9, I never had more than 7 at any point that week. I told her I could have someone else confirm that, to which she responded "I'd like that." So when that occurred, she still refused, and then stopped answering calls. I emailed two weeks ago and offered further evidence that there were no more than 7 in the house, but she continues to not respond. My concern is not so much the money, as it is the principle of withholding a deposit with no valid reason. I do not want anyone else to be the victim of Margaret's dishonesty. She doesn't have any evidence to support her (false) claim (and couldn't possibly, as it isn't true), and I want any potential renter to be warned that she has demonstrated a tendency to avoid correspondence and facts that do not align with her (incorrect) opinion.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this is the last time we will be renting to this women's "running club". They went over the amount of people in our contract and we had to hire a service to unplug our sewer after they left. When they left, late, we counted 13 people with luggage. We pride ourselves in providing nice home for families and not a flop house for her club.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 adults wanted a house in Bar Harbor, centrally located so we could enjoy Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and the surrounding area. This house was perfect! Great location, plenty of room and enough space for everyone!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Super clean, comfortable, well equipped accommodations conveniently located in downtown Bar Harbor. Nearby entrance to Acadia National Park and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and food market. Would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends or family.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Accommodations were great and location was perfect. Margaret was a great host.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, Convenient and Clean

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time renting a house in Bar Harbor. Previously we stayed in Bed & Breakfasts but this time we were vacationing with our 3 adult children, son-in-law and our toddler grandson. This house was perfect for us. Bedrooms were all comfortable and roomy. The place was clean and there was plenty of room to sit together as a family outdoors and indoors. The location is great - quiet and just a short walk into town. The only thing to consider if you have small children is there is no bathtub, just a shower in each of the two bathrooms. Fine for adults but a little tricky with an 18 month old! Still, I would recommend to friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very great experience - would definitely recommend this property

  • 5 of 5

We were really happy with this property. The location was perfect: just far enough from the busy harbor/shopping areas to have great peace and quiet, but close enough to walk (stroll) there in about five minutes. The air conditioning was a huge plus, since it was somewhat hot and very humid the week we were there. The layout of the house was really good, with most of the sleeping area upstairs, a nice family room on the ground floor (with a great TV, which was a factor since we were there during the Olympics), and one bedroom on the ground floor just off of the kitchen/dining area. The earliest-risers used that bedroom, and all was well: we could be up early and not disturb the later sleepers upstairs.

There's a terrific side deck just off the kitchen: shaded, with plenty of privacy. We used the gas grill (worked fine) and ate on the deck several times. The front porch was also really nice, and it was great to relax out there since the street is so not-busy. The only neighbors were a very friendly older couple, and pleasant to chat with.

The things we can critique are pretty minor: if you really want a yard this is not the place for you: there's literally no yard at all; the towels and wash clothes (of which there were plenty) were relatively cheap, and rough. The kitchen floor squeaks a lot, which wasn't an issue for us but could be if the ones using the ground floor bedroom are light sleepers.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
 
Spring
May 21 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Fall
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

We accept only e-checks or regular checks from your bank.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bar Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties