Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bar Harbor In-town Home Air-conditioned and Quiet

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bath sleeps 8 people

Our charming house is perfect for visiting Acadia Park . Close to all the free explorer buses that can take you anywhere on the island and Acadia Park . Take a walk one block and you will able to walk over to Bar Island at low tide . We are 3 blocks to the Bar Harbor Wharf where you can go Whale Watching or fishing . Bike right from your rental to the carriage paths in the park . Take a leisurely walk to go shopping in town or visit some of the best restaurants Bar Harbor.


Owner
Margaret ONeil
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2017

Amenities

Bar Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Bar Harbor In-town Home Air-conditioned and Quiet
average rating of 4.590909 based on 22 reviews
5

Loved it !

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Margaret's place for a girls weekend in Oct, 2016. It was fabulous. The house was very clean, nicely decorated, and plenty of room for 5 women. The kitchen was great. Living room and dining room gave us plenty of space. The front porch is a great place to have coffee in the morning or drinks in afternoon and the back patio is great for grilling and meals. Location was great and a short walk to town and the ocean. The owners were fabulous and very helpful. Overall a perfect long weekend. Would definitely come back and recommend to others

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Family Recommends this House

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay here in August with six people. Very comfortable and perfectly situated to tour Bar Harbor and Acadia. The kitchen is well outfitted with just about everything you would have in your own home to cook and bake. House is clean and roomy, beds are comfortable and setting right in town . Questions and messages to the owners were quickly answered and helpful. We will be passing the house info on to others in the family to rent in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Comfortable home, but dishonest owner

  • 1 of 5

As other reviewers have said, the location is great and the home is comfortable. However, after renting through Homeaway in 2015, Margaret asked me to rent outside of the site for 2016 (to avoid Homeaway fees), and I did so. For the entire week, we were very easy, pleasant guests. We spent nearly all day in the park. There were seven of us for the first three days, then six for the remainder. At the conclusion of our stay, Margaret acknowledged that everything was in order. Six weeks after we left, I still hadn't received my security deposit back. I emailed Margaret three times in the next two months, with no response. Finally, I called and she said that I had more than 8 people and she wouldn't give the deposit back. While her contract said no more than 9, I never had more than 7 at any point that week. I told her I could have someone else confirm that, to which she responded "I'd like that." So when that occurred, she still refused, and then stopped answering calls. I emailed two weeks ago and offered further evidence that there were no more than 7 in the house, but she continues to not respond. My concern is not so much the money, as it is the principle of withholding a deposit with no valid reason. I do not want anyone else to be the victim of Margaret's dishonesty. She doesn't have any evidence to support her (false) claim (and couldn't possibly, as it isn't true), and I want any potential renter to be warned that she has demonstrated a tendency to avoid correspondence and facts that do not align with her (incorrect) opinion.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this is the last time we will be renting to this women's "running club". They went over the amount of people in our contract and we had to hire a service to unplug our sewer after they left. When they left, late, we counted 13 people with luggage. We pride ourselves in providing nice home for families and not a flop house for her club.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 adults wanted a house in Bar Harbor, centrally located so we could enjoy Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and the surrounding area. This house was perfect! Great location, plenty of room and enough space for everyone!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Super clean, comfortable, well equipped accommodations conveniently located in downtown Bar Harbor. Nearby entrance to Acadia National Park and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and food market. Would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends or family.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Accommodations were great and location was perfect. Margaret was a great host.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
 
Spring
May 21 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Fall
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

We accept only e-checks or regular checks from your bank.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties